Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

I like my full time job, its 5 days a week and work phone is turned off Friday at 4, not turned back on till 7:30 Monday. Its intense but the pay is good
    If my dad wasn't at home doing 6 fays a week, the place would be neglected. I either go back full time and stuggle financially or keep my job and rent out the farm and be financially comfortable and have plenty time for my young family.

It's a no-brainer so. If you have an intention of returning to the farm in the future the best tenant may not be the one with the highest bid. If you are giving a longish term lease then soil sample yourself beforehand and build it into the lease that land must be returned as the tenant got it with a value put on how much it will cost him if he loses an index level on P for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭mayota

I like my full time job, its 5 days a week and work phone is turned off Friday at 4, not turned back on till 7:30 Monday. Its intense but the pay is good
    If my dad wasn't at home doing 6 fays a week, the place would be neglected. I either go back full time and stuggle financially or keep my job and rent out the farm and be financially comfortable and have plenty time for my young family.

You mention two important things, family and fulltime job, look after both of these. Sounds like you can get a good tenant who will maintain/improve the farm so go for it. Maybe father will enjoy the break too! Good luck anyways

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Fair dues, not an easy decision to make. Highest bid not always the best, soil sample as Free said.

One word of warning is that a lot of dairyfarms are incorporating. If you are dealing with a limited company you cannot get tax relief on the rental income if it's a long term 5yrs+ lease. Of course if your dad is the owner and his income is the pension it would be ok as he is far from the income threashold.

An incorporated business is oblidged to inform you but that doesn't mean they will, you must ask the question.

Al the best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,695 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Last of stock in yesterday ,everything well settled in shed.up early this am to check everything ,foddering all done by 10.in for breakfast with wife and daughter and made stupid comment jobs all more or less done for day grand time of year.went back out to do few bits and bobs.got phone call to come in that wife had surprise,we're going to Galway for night and daughter going to granny and grandad.normally I'd be delighted but I'd organised to go on lash tomorrow with lads,Munster match at dinner time and back to town for a heap of pints.me and my stupid gob!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

It's a no-brainer so. If you have an intention of returning to the farm in the future the best tenant may not be the one with the highest bid. If you are giving a longish term lease then soil sample yourself beforehand and build it into the lease that land must be returned as the tenant got it with a value put on how much it will cost him if he loses an index level on P for example.

I have nearly a full year to plan it if that's the route I want to go, but it has been my intention to go back farming in some capacity. In 3 to 5 years. (But time will tell)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

I have nearly a full year to plan it if that's the route I want to go, but it has been my intention to go back farming in some capacity. In 3 to 5 years. (But time will tell)

Always nice to have it in the back pocket for the future

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

What muscle us the best to inject a calf in??

The neck?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭fredweena

Work christmas do tonight. Have the christmas jumper ready and managed to get some poor sod to do all my feeding and mucking out in the morning. Think i'd die if I had to look after 20 horses in the morning. With nothing to do in the morning i'm going to be a right state. If you see someone staggering around shop street in a christmas tree jumper tonight, that'll be me! Only problem is that I get up at half five for work usually and was wide awake this morning so I hope I don't fall asleep at 11.

fredweena wrote: »
    Work christmas do tonight. Have the christmas jumper ready and managed to get some poor sod to do all my feeding and mucking out in the morning. Think i'd die if I had to look after 20 horses in the morning. With nothing to do in the morning i'm going to be a right state. If you see someone staggering around shop street in a christmas tree jumper tonight, that'll be me! Only problem is that I get up at half five for work usually and was wide awake this morning so I hope I don't fall asleep at 11.

Hey I'll prob bump into u so I'm also in Galway having a pint in front door at moment watching rugby,night be hard pick u out with Xmas jumper every second person is wearing them

I'm already half drunk. Made a christmas cake today and everytime I put a bit of alcohol in the cake I had some myself.

Hey I'll prob bump into u so I'm also in Galway having a pint in front door at moment watching rugby,night be hard pick u out with Xmas jumper every second person is wearing them

Disaster, my replacement has to go to a funeral so I'll have to do the horses!!!! Damn. Can't be drunk doing it eirher as have to drive to them. Ah well.

I'm already half drunk. Made a christmas cake today and everytime I put a bit of alcohol in the cake I had some myself.

Galway is some spot ,just gave an hour or so wandering aroubd the Xmas markets ,credit to the city.herself gone to get hair done or something so I fecked off for some peroni and rugby!

Disaster, my replacement has to go to a funeral so I'll have to do the horses!!!! Damn. Can't be drunk doing it eirher as have to drive to them. Ah well.

Horses driving you so in am!!!!.id give u a hand .......maby!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Galway is some spot ,just gave an hour or so wandering aroubd the Xmas markets ,credit to the city.herself gone to get hair done or something so I fecked off for some peroni and rugby!

Don't let your foot slip off the clutch tonight!!!!

Heading into town at 6 to get loaded

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

hitting Galway for a day or 2 next week , great city , they look after their own and the visitors

delaval wrote: »
    Don't let your foot slip off the clutch tonight!!!!

Heading into town at 6 to get loaded

Firmly on the break del!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

managed to make a hash of my time keeping today, bloody 3 feeds to do and the out farm 6 miles away. Fooking out for the evening and then only a mineral for the taxi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

Jaysus its a long long day when you're head is in a state from the night before.

Horses driving you so in am!!!!.id give u a hand .......maby!

I'll buy you a pint if you do the horses!!!

not a fair deal IMO

Shhhh, he might agree if he's got a few drinks in him;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

quick shower and light shave and off to the pub and on to wexford later. Should be good :D

Shhhh, he might agree if he's got a few drinks in him;)
    Ahem, of course.....why are you being so generous

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Tis alright, here now in the front door getting dinner. Wander around the Christmas Market then for a start and ice skating before I go home!!

Can anyone tell me if therre is anything on in the midlands or general counties tomorrow such as christmas fairs or such

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Jameson a decent drink, are you mad, watery ****e

Give me a Green Spot any day or as its called locally - the G spot
    or also a glass of Redbreast to appreciate decent whiskey

Bob all 3 are the same strength at 40% abc. Jameson is a blend if pot still and grain. The other 2 are what's called pure pot still Whiskeys. This gives a more full taste. This was the traditional type of Irish whiskey. It's getting a bit of Renaissance. If u like them look out for one called powers john lane. Lovely whiskey.

There all made from the one company anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭case 956

showered and shaved, heading out the door to a going away party and guess what meeting a doll from school at it also :) but 1 problem fecking ex going to be there too :P

Throw in a captain and coke or 5 and were sorted!!!

you ll be in no state to do it after that lot :cool: