Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Stupid ads about how wonderful alcohol is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Skin cancer rates in Ireland are the highest in Europe even though we get little sun in comparison. By your logic should be ban the sun?
    That's a new obscure analogy/comparison, a ban on kettles was also mentioned. The one usually trotted out is obesity.

Not sure why people try so hard to find odd comparisons, when the elephant in the room is staring them in the face, alcohol is a recreational drug. The lancet medical journal listed it as the most dangerous recreational drug, ahead of heroin, crack & meth.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-11660210

If it was given a new hidden name and subjected to the same criteria as other drugs it would be banned. I would love to see it banned, just to see all the hypocritical cunts having to buy contaminated shite on the black markets -the hypocrites who are glad to see other peoples drug of choice made illegal.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 447 ✭✭Pen.Island

Captain Morgans:

Legends aren't made staying in.

It's the first time I've looked at an add and thought it was pretty clever.

Or how about having a personality that is legendary sober?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

seanie_c wrote: »
    Of course they don't glamorise drunkenness, they imply you'll have a fantastic time drinking it though and yet rarely do I see anyone enjoying themselves after a few drinks in a bar or club.

I see more people lying collapsed on the street among broken glass and the contents of someone's stomach than happiness overall.
    Or some fight is breaking out, or a couple are arguing...it's pure BS.

It's a complete waste of time, money, health...and yet these ads would have many believe it's great stuff.
    Grayditch wrote: »
    Incredible post. I'm speechless.

Well if your speechless, you must be living under a rock or going to bed at 10pm every night, because every point he makes is bang on the money, don't even reply if your in denial. I drive a taxi(sober)so I see all this sh!t every weekend night I work, both in Town and surrounding areas. And it's getting worse don't know what the kids are fcukin drinking now a days, but I see a lot of 'new' alcoholics not too far down the line...... Now I will say I do see a lot off people enjoying them selves, but again as I say it is getting pretty rough out there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Of course they don't glamorise drunkenness, they imply you'll have a fantastic time drinking it though and yet rarely do I see anyone enjoying themselves after a few drinks in a bar or club.

I see more people lying collapsed on the street among broken glass and the contents of someone's stomach than happiness overall.
    Or some fight is breaking out, or a couple are arguing...it's pure BS.

It's a complete waste of time, money, health...and yet these ads would have many believe it's great stuff.

Ive thanked this post only because I think something so mind bogglingly condescending, po-faced and completely devoid of common sense and balance should be officially acknowledged in some way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Pen.Island wrote: »
    Not everyone who does coke is a complete disaster.

Ok. Not sure what that has to do with anything. Cocaine isn't advertised on T.V.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Starscream25

Don't like Guinness' new ad where the lads are playing with their friend in a wheel chair, I'm all for helping or having the Craic with people who are not able bodied but having a bit of alcohol anyway associated with it looks shocking on tv I think. Yes camaraderie is rife when we all drink Guinness.
    See ya next week buddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,158 ✭✭✭Arawn

Don't like Guinness' new ad where the lads are playing with their friend in a wheel chair, I'm all for helping or having the Craic with people who are not able bodied but having a bit of alcohol anyway associated with it looks shocking on tv I think. Yes camaraderie is rife when we all drink Guinness.
    See ya next week buddy.

It was one of the greatest ads on tv, especially with alcohol where men are men arrrrgggghhhh. The comraderie is the lads making it a fair game and being in chairs with their mate treating him no different because of the chair.

It is hailed as one of the best ads to come out for years and for good reason

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 447 ✭✭Pen.Island

Grayditch wrote: »
    Ok. Not sure what that has to do with anything. Cocaine isn't advertised on T.V.

So things that are advertised on tv are all good? How about smoking? Good for ya? Doesn't harm ya no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

So things that are advertised on tv are all good? How about smoking? Good for ya? Doesn't harm ya no?

I mean it doesn't compare to the original argument, so I have no idea how it fits in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

UCDVet wrote: »
    Things aren't good or bad. Alcohol isn't good or bad either.

Some of the best memories from my life involve alcohol. I enjoy alcohol. I enjoy the effects of alcohol. Alcohol *is* wonderful, to me.

Alcohol is perfectly predictable. It has no choice, no free-will. It's just a thing. It isn't good, it isn't bad. *PEOPLE* have choice. People have free-will. People do bad things or good things.

Don't blame alcohol for people making bad choices.
    Don't blame alcohol for people doing stupid things.

It's up to individual people, who enjoy freedom and freewill, to be able to control their actions. If alcohol *isn't* wonderful, to you, then you need to step-up, be an adult, and control yourself. Not, control *everyone*. Not pass ridiculous laws that stops me from enjoying myself. We don't need regulation to prevent 'stupid ads' - if you find them stupid, don't support the company by purchasing their products. If you find alcohol to be depressing, don't drink it....or don't spend time with people who do.

Real Dr. Phil stuff there :). But a solid summary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Smoking isn't advertised on TV :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Starscream25

Arawn wrote: »
    It was one of the greatest ads on tv, especially with alcohol where men are men arrrrgggghhhh. The comraderie is the lads making it a fair game and being in chairs with their mate treating him no different because of the chair.

It is hailed as one of the best ads to come out for years and for good reason

Ya I understand the meaning and message behind it and that's great and it's quite artistic too but because it's associated with alcohol I wouldn't be gone on it. Have the same ad but the lads at the end around a table drinking orange juice or something. I don't think alcohol should be advertised aswell as gambling for that matter, adults are aware enough of them without have adds thrown in our faces often enough. That be my 3 cents anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭seanie_c

mikom wrote: »
    Talk to the Gardai, Health services incl. womens refuge you say............ the ones paid by workers taxes you say..........

Get ta fuck..

Nice work there detective . . . you sound like you're out of work too.

DeanAustin wrote: »
    Ive thanked this post only because I think something so mind bogglingly condescending, po-faced and completely devoid of common sense and balance should be officially acknowledged in some way.

Thanks for sharing that thought although I have to respond to say I don't care what you think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Nice work there detective . . . you sound like you're out of work too.

Currently nipping in and out of house work after working my day job.
    I'll probably relax with a drink or a smoke later on.
    You?

Currently nipping in and out of house work after working my day job.
    I'll probably relax with a drink or a smoke later on.
    You?

I'm protesting outside the Vintners HQ in Ballyboden smoking a joint, you should come down for the craic.

I have an early meeting in the morning, so I'll have to take a raincheck on that.
    Craic and all as it sounds.........

I'll have cans of excelsior and linden village cider too ...amber leaf tobacco but i also got this new stuff called Domingo, tax free baccy but as good as the government approved stuff.

I'll have cans of excelsior and linden village cider too

Rookie mistake............. that should have been Taurus cider.
    Must try harder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,698 ✭✭✭tricky D

It BeeMee wrote: »
    Wow.
    An article in a Seattle newspaper about a film produced by a New York agency with a British director.

...and it's for the US market, so impact, if any, over here will be negligible.

In other news, every one in the local last night was well behaved and had a nice civilised evening. Nothing of note, certainly nothing of the sort the OP is on about, happened bar some conversation.

No storm, no tea cup, move along now.

Rookie mistake............. that should have been Taurus cider.
    Must try harder.

Linden village is what I always drink.
    The Domingo tobacco is top quality stuff, it's so strong, it'll give you cancer.

tricky D wrote: »
    In other news, every one in the local last night was well behaved and had a nice civilised evening. Nothing of note, certainly nothing of the sort the OP is on about, happened bar some conversation.

I don't know what kind of bar you were in, were they all drinking tea?

Any night I'm out, I always see fights, always see couples arguing with each other, always see people getting sick, always see ambulances taking drunk people to hospital, always see criminal damage to property. Always see puke on the foot paths the next day and the odd time blood from a fight.

Always thought it would make a fantastic TV show for RTE but then I remembered the Vintners wouldn't allow it to be shown what a fcking mess Ireland is.

And I'm willing to bet the gardai + health services see enough themselves.

I'm not entirely sure where any of you have been living lately but you mustn't be in the same parts of town I am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

I'm not entirely sure where any of you have been living lately but you mustn't be in the same parts of town I am.

and thank **** for that

Linden village is what I always drink.

Scan, you're on the self-imposed dole now.......... so time to tighten that belt and opt for the Lidl Taurus cider.

Any night I'm out, I always see fights, always see couples arguing with each other, always see people getting sick, always see ambulances taking drunk people to hospital, always see criminal damage to property. Always see puke on the foot paths the next day and the odd time blood from a fight.

Where is this ninth circle of hell that you live in?

wexie wrote: »
    and thank **** for that

Well, you're clearly not in a town so how can you know what damage alcohol does to people?

I'll come up with a TV show and call it something catchy..maybe RTE will buy it? You can then sit in the comfort of your home and watch all the chaos that unfolds in a lot of towns up and down Ireland at the weekend.

You'd love it.

Scan, you're on the self-imposed dole now.......... so time to tighten that belt and opt for the Lidl Taurus cider.

I drink Burgundy Pinot Noir and Bollinger most days. I don't smoke though, cuz it gives you cancer and heart disease and stuff like that...high blood pressure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

Well, you're clearly not in a town so how can you know what damage alcohol does to people?

I'll come up with a TV show and call it something catchy..maybe RTE will buy it? You can then sit in the comfort of your home and watch all the chaos that unfolds in a lot of towns up and down Ireland at the weekend.

You'd love it.

yeah, never been in a town, never spent a night in a town either.

only just getting used to this new electricity lark, missionaries only left a few months ago :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭SparkySpitfire

You'd love it.

You're clearly a sensationalist making **** up to suit your agenda.

I live in a large town, sure you get the nightclub staggers, maybe a bit of vomit from a few but the majority of people walk out, straight into taxis and head home with zero fuss.

I don't doubt that in Dublin city the problem is worse as I've seen it myself but it is nowhere near as bad as the tripe you're spewing.

Of course you're going to deny this because you reject all reason on your crusade against alcohol. :rolleyes:

You're clearly a sensationalist making **** up to suit your agenda.

No I'm not. Do you think the 3.7 billion euro spent on HSE dealing with drunks is sensationalist? The numbers don't lie.
    Of course you're going to deny this because you reject all reason on your crusade against alcohol. :rolleyes:

I don't have a crusade against alcohol, I drink alcohol. I do however have a problem with the attitude of the country towards consumption of alcohol and especially tolerating advertisements which for the most part glamorise its use.

Doctors are talking about epidemic health problems in future, what agenda do they have? Your argument makes no sense at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭SparkySpitfire

No I'm not. Do you think the 3.7 billion euro spent on HSE dealing with drunks is sensationalist? The numbers don't lie.

I don't have a crusade against alcohol, I drink alcohol. I do however have a problem with the attitude of the country towards consumption of alcohol and especially tolerating advertisements which for the most part glamorise its use.

Doctors are talking about epidemic health problems in future, what agenda do they have? Your argument makes no sense at all.

Yes you are, re read the post I quoted. Anecdotal evidence IS NOT FACT. You do have an agenda (they're not inherently negative) and you're using shady anecdotal evidence to back it up.

You refer to the figures in Shenshen's post there, those figures are irrefutable. But you did not produce them.
    So you're angry... about an ad... which is made to portray products in a postive light... in...America? What effect does that have on Ireland's attitude towards alcohol consumption?

I don't think anyone would argue that too many go too far when drinking and that we need to change, but it's your argument that makes no sense.