Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Stupid ads about how wonderful alcohol is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

Don't you hate pants?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭seanie_c

All this happens EVERY time you go out?
    There are two possibilities here -
    1 - you're waffling and you don't actually see all this madness every time, in which case stop waffling!
    2 - you're actually the cause of all this madness - in which case behave yourself!

Let me guess, you spent Saturday night curled up in front of the fire watching Gossip Girl and drinking hot cups of cocoa?

These things do happen but you've just not seen them.

Ask bouncers, taxi drivers, ambulance workers, gardai, hospital workers..people on the front lines, battling it out. They see the stuff going on weekly and the €3.7 bln euro is being spent on something, you know. To babysit a bunch of monkeys that can't handle alcohol.

You don't see it cause you're either at home in bed with your water bottle or you're jumping straight into a taxi as soon as you exit the club.

It's funny how you say these things don't go on, then you're scared to walk the streets at night....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

seanie_c wrote: »
    And does that mean you agree glamorising it in media like radio and TV is a good thing?

How exactly does this substance enhance the lives of Irish people the way it's depicted in TV advertisements like Tullamore Dew?

Does any product enhance peoples lives the way the ads say they will?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,380 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Let me guess, you spent Saturday night curled up in front of the fire watching Gossip Girl and drinking hot cups of cocoa?

These things do happen but you've just not seen them.

Ask bouncers, taxi drivers, ambulance workers, gardai, hospital workers..people on the front lines, battling it out. They see the stuff going on weekly and the €3.7 bln euro is being spent on something, you know. To babysit a bunch of monkeys that can't handle alcohol.

You don't see it cause you're either at home in bed with your water bottle or you're jumping straight into a taxi as soon as you exit the club.

It's funny how you say these things don't go on, then you're scared to walk the streets at night....

When all you pay attention to is noise, you don't seem to notice much of anything else. Just because you find the few occurrences frustrating and it completely saps your ability to concentrate on what else is going on around you, doesn't mean it's the same for the rest of us.

A few people are nuts and would be spoiling for a fight with or without alcohol. It's true there is a problem with people's attitudes towards alcohol in this country. The problem is due to mindlessly associating it solely with negativity.

Does any product enhance peoples lives the way the ads say they will?

You make a valid point but the vast majority of ads don't impact society the way alcohol does unless you can provide examples of other products/drugs that do?

We encourage alcohol consumption through advertising when we should be actively trying to discourage it due to the economic cost incurred, not to mention its detrimental effects on society in general. (people's mental and physical health)

If people want to drink, fine...but encouraging it? Actually telling people it's great to drink alcohol through advertisements? ....I don't agree with it, it's no different from telling people it's cool to smoke cigarettes.

I'm a drinker so there's no agenda. I just disagree with advertising it, the promotion of it, because I'm aware of the damage it's causing to society which the government neglects to say publicly probably because of all the vested interests related to its sale.

When all you pay attention to is noise, you don't seem to notice much of anything else. Just because you find the few occurrences frustrating and it completely saps your ability to concentrate on what else is going on around you, doesn't mean it's the same for the rest of us.

A few people are nuts and would be spoiling for a fight with or without alcohol. It's true there is a problem with people's attitudes towards alcohol in this country. The problem is due to mindlessly associating it solely with negativity.

Nobody is saying you have to stop drinking alcohol or that it should be banned or restricted.... but advertising it should be banned because it's costing the state billions and lots of misery for many people. There's no point conveying it as something that's going to enhance your life in any way because it just doesn't.

That Tullamore Dew ad is pure shyte.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I auditioned for that ad. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Xeyn

Depends on what A&E you go into and where the hospital is located say a large urban centre vs suburb, there not all crammed with pissed up people fighting each other. I would say more often than not it's people off there head on drink and drugs not just drink. I wonder what the figures are for the combination of drink/drugs to the amount of aggressive just drunk people are. I would wager there both lumped together to make out just drink is the problem

I don't think any sane medic would ever question the significant role alcohol plays in disease and trauma in this an any country where alcohol is legal.
    Of course alcohol can be safe but people trying to downplay its significance are working against reality.
    Anectdotally I've never come across so many people who are either in denial about alcohol abuse or honestly think their drinking is normal than I have in Ireland.
    Just look at the fact that between 30-80% of Irish women continue to drink alcohol in pregnancy.

Bottom line is alcohol can be safely drunk in moderation but people should take their heads out if the sand if they don't think it's a problem in this country.

PS. Is does not make a difference which hospital you go to, 'urban' or peripheral. They all get drunks in on a daily basis.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,380 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Nobody is saying you have to stop drinking alcohol or that it should be banned or restricted.... but advertising it should be banned because it's costing the state billions and lots of misery for many people. There's no point conveying it as something that's going to enhance your life in any way because it just doesn't.

That Tullamore Dew ad is pure shyte.

A lot of the alcohol advertising i've seen the last few years are about celebrating what someone has achieved. None of them are about ending up face down in a gutter, or with a fight. Which is what you seem to want to promote.
    Xeyn wrote: »
    I don't think any sane medic would ever question the significant role alcohol plays in disease and trauma in this an any country where alcohol is legal.
    Of course alcohol can be safe but people trying to downplay its significance are working against reality.
    Anectdotally I've never come across so many people who are either in denial about alcohol abuse or honestly think their drinking is normal than I have in Ireland.
    Just look at the fact that between 30-80% of Irish women continue to drink alcohol in pregnancy.

Bottom line is alcohol can be safely drunk in moderation but people should take their heads out if the sand if they don't think it's a problem in this country.

We're not in denial, we are challenging in response that the extreme circumstances of society, are not representative of what is normal in society. 30% to 80% is an extremely large margin, with your accusation that so many consume alcohol during pregnancy. Do you have a break down on the amounts consumed, along with when through out the pregnancy as well? Such a number pushed out, with little meaning is of no use other than to shock, or guilt people away from alcohol.

Is it wrong for me to tell you that the vast majority of about 90% of people are going to have little more than a stomach upset and a head ache as a result of alcohol?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Nobody is saying you have to stop drinking alcohol or that it should be banned or restricted
    I was.
    rubadub wrote: »
    the elephant in the room is staring them in the face, alcohol is a recreational drug. The lancet medical journal listed it as the most dangerous recreational drug, ahead of heroin, crack & meth.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-11660210

If it was given a new hidden name and subjected to the same criteria as other drugs it would be banned. I would love to see it banned, just to see all the hypocritical cunts having to buy contaminated shite on the black markets -the hypocrites who are glad to see other peoples drug of choice made illegal.
    AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I auditioned for that ad. :(
    Do you know if it was ever intended to be shown on TV here? I know a guy in another tullamore dew ad which was never to be shown here.

I wonder if this could actually be shown here, as I presume they are breaking the law, public drinking in graveyards. They have some other rules for alcohol ads, I think people cannot be drink, and be clearly above a certain age.

A lot of the alcohol advertising i've seen the last few years are about celebrating what someone has achieved. None of them are about ending up face down in a gutter, or with a fight. Which is what you seem to want to promote.

But you're pretending these people don't exist in society already when government statistics indicate an average of 88 deaths per month are attributed to over consumption of alcohol.

People get drunk every single week, are they celebrating something? If so, what is it?

I would say in a country the size of Ireland, 88 deaths per month from alcohol is pretty serious.

€3.7 Bln a year addressing the effects of alcohol on society isn't peanuts.
    It doesn't even factor in the human cost...

List me 5 benefits of alcohol to society. Can you do that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

rubadub wrote: »
    Do you know if it was ever intended to be shown on TV here? I know a guy in another tullamore dew ad which was never to be shown here.

It's not going to be shown on Irish TV - or at least that's what we were told. I think it's for the European market (can't remember which countries exactly)

The money being offered was fairly daycent (10,000 US Dollars for each of the actors) which is why I went for it.
    I wonder if this could actually be shown here, as I presume they are breaking the law, public drinking in graveyards. They have some other rules for alcohol ads, I think people cannot be drink, and be clearly above a certain age.

You have to be over 25 to appear in an alcohol ad here and you cannot look under 21 (or something like that). They're very strict on it. I know a guy who was cut out of a Guinness Ad because someone standing behind him in some of the shots had lied about their age.

Also in alcohol ads here you cannot imply that social or sexual success is achieved because of drinking alcohol. I think that's the jist of it anyway.

I'm not sure whether bylaws about drinking in public would affect them. I think technically they could show that ad on Irish TV, it's just they won't because it's Oirish Shoite.

But you're pretending these people don't exist in society already when government statistics indicate an average of 88 deaths per month are attributed to over consumption of alcohol.

People get drunk every single week, are they celebrating something? If so, what is it?

I would say in a country the size of Ireland, 88 deaths per month from alcohol is pretty serious.

€3.7 Bln a year addressing the effects of alcohol on society isn't peanuts.
    It doesn't even factor in the human cost...

List me 5 benefits of alcohol to society. Can you do that?

maybe you should read what I said again, how I wrote it. Because you are translating it to your own mumbo jumbo.

I never said there wasnt an issue with alcohol abuse. I said the issue isn't as prevalent as one makes it sound, because all you are doing is focusing solely on what stands out as problematic, without considering any sense of context in relation to the total amount of people who consume alcohol.

Just because some pubs are full every week, doesn't mean it's the exact same people in those pubs every week. Nor does it mean they are drinking excessive amounts.

You are still focusing on the minor group of all of these people and looking for a rather tedious common link. If Alcohol and the glorification of alcohol was such a problem, we'd all be fúcked. But we are not.

We're not in denial, we are challenging in response that the extreme circumstances of society, are not representative of what is normal in society. 30% to 80% is an extremely large margin, with your accusation that so many consume alcohol during pregnancy. Do you have a break down on the amounts consumed, along with when through out the pregnancy as well? Such a number pushed out, with little meaning is of no use other than to shock, or guilt people away from alcohol.

Is it wrong for me to tell you that the vast majority of about 90% of people are going to have little more than a stomach upset and a head ache as a result of alcohol?

The 30% is from a study only looking at educated pregnant women only, the up to 80% is from a study conducted by the Coombe on all groups.
    You can argue all you want but do you know what the consensus is about how much alcohol is absolutely safe in pregnancy in the medical field? Zero alcohol. So yes regardless of the number i 'pushed out' it has meaning.
    Do you want to look up that stats on Fetal Alcohol spectrum in ireland?
    Using emotive responses like my so called 'accusation' doesnt further your argument. I did not accuse anyone of anything and your phrasing is out of order.
    I acknowledge that alcohol is safe in moderation but alcohol related pathology is a considerable burden on society and that is a fact you cant run away from.
    Im not trying to guilt anyone, but playing down the significance and awareness is doing a huge disservice to your fellow countrymen.

maybe you should read what I said again, how I wrote it. Because you are translating it to your own mumbo jumbo.

I never said there wasnt an issue with alcohol abuse......

List me 5 benefits of alcohol to society please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,977 ✭✭✭lertsnim

What a load of SH!T.

Nice of you to give a warning of what was to follow in your post.

Alcohol is wonderful OP!

It doesn't agree with some people fair enough.

The vast majority of people have no problem with it though bar the odd hangover.

lertsnim wrote: »
    Nice of you to give a warning of what was to follow in your post.

Do you want to try list 5 benefits of alcohol to society and look like a fool?
    Have a go. I can't wait to see some lists. It'll brighten up Monday morning.

Mod

If you're incapable of posting in a civil manner and without personal snipes, don't post at all.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,296 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Saruman wrote: »
    That's what the wine drinkers want you to believe. Fact is, most beer has better health benefits than wine, including a lower calorific content
    Untrue. Well first we have to throw out the calorie count nonsense, cos it's completely bogus. Petrol or sawdust have a high calorie content, but wouldn't make you put on weight. :D This is exactly the same for alcohol. The body can't convert alcohol into fat. Now the usual "beer is less fattening" stuff(usually coming from beer producers) sticks with this calorie BS. IE alcohol is very high in calories, beer has less alcohol than wine, therefore beer is less fattening. Utter nonsense. Of bioavailable "calories" beer is well ahead of most wines because of the malt sugars(which are very bioavailable). Your average glass of red has a tenth of the sugars of your average beer and they ain't maltose. Secondly beers don't contain reversitol which is one of the biggies in wine, particularly red. Higher flavinoids in wine too, though dark beers have that good stuff too.
    All alcoholic drinks are beneficial in moderation but beer especially.
    I agree, especially dark beers unsullied by additives, though red wine still has it by a nose overall health wise.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Do you want to try list 5 benefits of alcohol to society and look like a fool?
    Have a go. I can't wait to see some lists. It'll brighten up Monday morning.

I couldn't possibly. I have a wonderful hangover. One of societies evils

List me 5 benefits of alcohol to society please.

It doesn't have to benefit society.
    Xeyn wrote: »
    The 30% is from a study only looking at educated pregnant women only, the up to 80% is from a study conducted by the Coombe on all groups.
    You can argue all you want but do you know what the consensus is about how much alcohol is absolutely safe in pregnancy in the medical field? Zero alcohol. So yes regardless of the number i 'pushed out' it has meaning.
    Do you want to look up that stats on Fetal Alcohol spectrum in ireland?
    Using emotive responses like my so called 'accusation' doesnt further your argument. I did not accuse anyone of anything and your phrasing is out of order.
    I acknowledge that alcohol is safe in moderation but alcohol related pathology is a considerable burden on society and that is a fact you cant run away from.
    Im not trying to guilt anyone, but playing down the significance and awareness is doing a huge disservice to your fellow countrymen.

Don't get me wrong, I wouldn't be looking for my girlfriend to knock back a brew or 2 right now. I just think your earlier comment seemed like it was plucked and challenged it. I find a range of "30% of pregnant women consumed alcohol while pregnant" to "80% of pregnant women consumed alcohol while pregnant" to be incredibly hard to take in. It in itself doesn't make any sense why such a simple question would have such an uncertain answer.

As I said, there is no arguing over how alcohol has a negative impact. It's the level of the negative impact on society, which seems to be portrayed as larger than it is, that I have issue with.

lertsnim wrote: »
    I couldn't possibly. I have a wonderful hangover. One of societies evils

Can you list 1 benefit to society?

Can you list 5 benefits to society from;

Tea
    Coffee
    Mars Bars
    Page 3 Tittites in The Sun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭April O Neill II

TBH, I'd be more bothered about ads for sugary shíte being marketed at childers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

The usual one is that its a "social lubricant", but so are plenty of other banned recreational drugs.

It has health benefits at certain doses, including stress relief.

It doesn't have to benefit society.

But it doesn't serve any benefit what so ever.
    minstrel is probably at work and costing his employer money because he thinks consuming alcohol is great craic.

Huh Huh...alcohol is evil..huh huh

But it doesn't serve any benefit what so ever.
    minstrel is probably at work and costing his employer money because he thinks consuming alcohol is great craic.

Huh Huh...alcohol is evil..huh huh

Huh huh or maybe Minstrel hasn't a hangover. Some people

Can you list 5 benefits to society from;

Tea
    Coffee
    Mars Bars
    Page 3 Tittites in The Sun

How many of these cost the state €3.7 Bln to address?
    The cost is the issue.

You could say sugar has impact on health of people but I doubt it's anywhere near €3.7 Bln annually.

You certainly won't see people fighting with each other, causing criminal damage to property after eating mars bars or drinking tea.

Or do you think i'm still talking mumbo jumbo?

Don't get me wrong, I wouldn't be looking for my girlfriend to knock back a brew or 2 right now. I just think your earlier comment seemed like it was plucked and challenged it. I find a range of "30% of pregnant women consumed alcohol while pregnant" to "80% of pregnant women consumed alcohol while pregnant" to be incredibly hard to take in. It in itself doesn't make any sense why such a simple question would have such an uncertain answer.

As I said, there is no arguing over how alcohol has a negative impact. It's the level of the negative impact on society, which seems to be portrayed as larger than it is, that I have issue with.

Fair enough.
    I suppose it depends on what youve been exposed to in terms of how bad the impact is. As someone who sees this on a daily basis I get the impression that a lot of people simply arent aware.
    Its a difficult subject with contradictory studies coming out all the time and one has to be careful in associating causality as well.

If youre interested in a recent local study on alcohol and pregnancy :
    http://alcoholireland.ie/wp-content/uploads/2011/04/alcohol-and-pregnancy2-bmcpregnancy-and-childbirth-april-2011.pdf

I dont think it would do any harm if alcoholic adverts were banned.
    I think sensible drinkers arent overly influenced by ads.