Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stupid ads about how wonderful alcohol is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

Fairly sure that's wrong. Ireland's alcohol consumption soared during the boom years AFAIK.

Year on year decrease in alcohol consumption in Ireland since 2001.

I'll try and get a link.

Decrease in Ireland's alcohol consumption

The figures are from the revenue commissioners who are not known to skew figures so as to suit their agenda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Alcohol- a social prop for insecure people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Boombastic wrote: »
    Alcohol- a social prop for insecure people

Kinda like Boards, really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Davelarson wrote: »
    While I do think seanie_c is going a bit Maude Flanders on us, I remember teaching English to a class of foreign students. As I recall there was Japanese, Koreans, Italians, Spanish, Saudis, and few others. I asked them do they think Irish people drink too much and everyone of them said yes.

Pots and kettles come to mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Oh I'm soooooo offended and worried about this. Oh thank you soooooo much OP for bringing this to my attention :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 213 ✭✭Davelarson

Pots and kettles come to mind.

Are the Koreans heavy drinkers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Davelarson wrote: »
    Are the Koreans heavy drinkers?

Very much so. Big drinking culture and you see a lot of obvious public drunkenness. They do seem to avoid the fighting, destruction of property and general loutishness which occurs in Ireland however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

1 in 11 kids say their parents alcohol intake has a negative effect on their lives. So for every one kid who has this problem, ten do not. Sounds good to me!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 213 ✭✭Davelarson

Very much so. Big drinking culture and you see a lot of obvious public drunkenness. They do seem to avoid the fighting, destruction of property and general loutishness which occurs in Ireland however.

Interesting. I wasn't aware of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭SnakePlissken

seanie_c wrote: »
    Of course they don't glamorise drunkenness, they imply you'll have a fantastic time drinking it though and yet rarely do I see anyone enjoying themselves after a few drinks in a bar or club.

What bridge do you go for drinks under?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭It BeeMee

Another vomit inducing advertisement about the Irish and our romance with alcohol by Tullamore Dew is being praised as "beautiful" by pseudo journalists on the internet.

Wow.
    An article in a Seattle newspaper about a film produced by a New York agency with a British director.

I hope I never have to go that far out of my way to get offended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,468 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Of course they don't glamorise drunkenness, they imply you'll have a fantastic time drinking it though and yet rarely do I see anyone enjoying themselves after a few drinks in a bar or club.

I see more people lying collapsed on the street among broken glass and the contents of someone's stomach than happiness overall.
    Or some fight is breaking out, or a couple are arguing...it's pure BS.

It's a complete waste of time, money, health...and yet these ads would have many believe it's great stuff.

You need to start going to different places. I had a few pints last night and enjoyed myself. So did the group I was with and most other people in the pub seemed to be having a good time although I didn't survey them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I hate people telling me what I should and should not be offended by or what my reactions should be.
    I also hate being made to feel like some sort of junkie because (and I'm not exaggerating here, 2 or 3 nights a month I want and) look forward to having a couple of drinks with friends.

In fact I'm getting married next year, I'm looking forward to buying a limited edition bottle of whiskey opening it with my Dad and having a wee dram before I leave the hotel. He can then keep the bottle. For what it's worth it won't be Tullamore Dew!

Or Johnnie Walker, plagerists that they are!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

Imagine that!
    Ads are being made by people who's job it is is to make sure they sell stuff.
    Oh the horror!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,605 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

I see more people lying collapsed on the street among broken glass and the contents of someone's stomach than happiness overall.
    Or some fight is breaking out, or a couple are arguing...it's pure BS.

It's a complete waste of time, money, health...and yet these ads would have many believe it's great stuff.

If you ever went out and enjoyed yourself instead of sitting in watching those 'Coppers after dark' TV shows on Sky you might realise how ridiculous this notion is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

If all you see is people having a bad time on the drink then you're going to the wrong places.
    seanie_c wrote:

Where the hell do you be going?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

Things aren't good or bad. Alcohol isn't good or bad either.

Some of the best memories from my life involve alcohol. I enjoy alcohol. I enjoy the effects of alcohol. Alcohol *is* wonderful, to me.

Alcohol is perfectly predictable. It has no choice, no free-will. It's just a thing. It isn't good, it isn't bad. *PEOPLE* have choice. People have free-will. People do bad things or good things.

Don't blame alcohol for people making bad choices.
    Don't blame alcohol for people doing stupid things.

It's up to individual people, who enjoy freedom and freewill, to be able to control their actions. If alcohol *isn't* wonderful, to you, then you need to step-up, be an adult, and control yourself. Not, control *everyone*. Not pass ridiculous laws that stops me from enjoying myself. We don't need regulation to prevent 'stupid ads' - if you find them stupid, don't support the company by purchasing their products. If you find alcohol to be depressing, don't drink it....or don't spend time with people who do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

They probably were enjoying themselves until you rocked up on your high horse, lecturing and judging.
    Calm the fúck down - alcohol does not ruin the lives of everyone it touches - I love a scoop, no crippling addiction, no fighting, no cancer, no arrests - just a few scoops and a laugh!
    Some people over do it yes, but it's really more their own fault than the bloody product or the people who advertise it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭megaten

yet rarely do I see anyone enjoying themselves after a few drinks in a bar or club.

I do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

I kind of agree with the OP but if your a copywriter then it's your job to glamourise the product. A lot of the problems come from the notion rooted in the culture that excess alcohol = manliness = the best time you could possibly have = this is what we do aren't we great craic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Mr.McLovin

I've learned from the latest Guinness advert that drinking Guinness makes people in wheelchairs happy :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

We need to stop pretending consumption of alcohol is normal because it's setting a poor example to young people in Ireland that it's perfectly okay to do.

Add was cringey alright but your still a dry ****e.

Consumption of alcohol is normal and common practice in virtually all cultures.

Everything is damaging if it's abused.

Skin cancer rates in Ireland are the highest in Europe even though we get little sun in comparison. By your logic should be ban the sun? Should we sue that Spanish lady who "owns" it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

Go home OP. You're not drunk, but you're talking shíte

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 447 ✭✭Pen.Island

Grayditch wrote: »
    Some people who drink alcohol are not a complete disaster.

Not everyone who does coke is a complete disaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Another anti alcohol rant with statistics showing the dark side of alcohol without balancing that with the benefits of it.

You know that alcohol abstinence leads to an increase risk from life threatening conditions. So no alcohol is bad, a little is good and too much is bad.

Alcohol in moderation is beneficial to your health. Too much of anything is bad for you, and that includes water.

Under no circumstances do I condone paddywhackery though.

Waste of time and money? Alcohol, beer specifically is the cornerstone of civilisation. Without beer, we wouldn't even have money. It was in the production of beer that moved us from hunter gatherers to farmers in the first place. Most strides in human ingenuity, including writing is down to beer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Captain Morgans:

Legends aren't made staying in.

It's the first time I've looked at an add and thought it was pretty clever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

No amount for emotive advertising is gonna make me buy a glass of Tullamore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

I'm not trying to hijack this thread, but here's something interesting :

Alcohol - €3.7billion* a year in health, crime/public order and other ancillary costs, such as work-place absenteeism. (as per OP)

Obesity - €1.13billion a year Source

Yet every thread on obesity on this very forum, people will shout about the costs of it, call for taxes on processed foods, sugars and fats, anything short of putting obese people into camps to starve them down to a size where they wouldn't be costing society that much.

Someone comes on here showing how much alcohol and related abuse is costing society, incidentally over 3 times as much, and people tell him to get over himself?

Seriously?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Seriously, go to any major Irish town and ask Gardai, Health services incl. womens refuge how many times a week they have to deal with physical assaults, criminal damage, rapes, domestic violence, car accidents, suicides, self harm...ALL because of alcohol....

Talk to the Gardai, Health services incl. womens refuge you say............ the ones paid by workers taxes you say..........
    I left my job because of tax I was paying and not really seeing any benefit.
    Now I'm on the dole and plan to take full advantage of the system.

Not one bit ashamed either, Ireland is a fcking joke and it doesn't reward hard work what so ever. I realized in short time it rewards useless bastards.

Get ta fuck..