Things about places you've worked at that they don't want the general public to know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,158 ✭✭✭✭Degag

DazMarz wrote: »
    Express post services (especially those for international destinations) are a load of rubbish.

Domestically, 94% of all items posted before the Last Time Of Dispatch in any office, will arrive at their destination the next working day. 94%. That is good odds.

Express post around Ireland does guarantee the item will be there the next working day, but you're paying €5.75 for the pleasure of knowing that (that's for a standard sized envelope; roughly 10 times the cost of a standard stamp). This is despite the fact that, as mentioned, 94% of all items will get there the next working day anyway.

But the biscuit is really taken by International Express Services; it even says on the computer that your average 90c stamp will get your letter to the UK in 2-3 working days, Europe in 3-4 working days and everywhere else in 3-4 working days.

You'd think International Express would be quicker, right? Wrong. UK, 2-3 working days, Europe 3-4 working days, R.O.W. 3-4 working days. And it costs a whopping €9.00 for this. Fair enough, you have a tracking number and all that, but it does not get there any quicker than your bog-standard, everyday normal 90c stamp does.

I could never suss why it was called express when it was not really any quicker than the standard airmail service.

So, bottom line, you're pretty much better off using the standard stamp for items that need to be rushed through, because paying through the nose for it is not going to get it there any quicker, really.
    Good post.

I imagine though, like myself, a lot of people send items by express post not just for speed but for security. I personally have never sent something express to get it somewhere quicker but because I want to make sure it gets there.

If you drive a French car, car salesmen will hide and run away from you if you drive onto their forecourt.
    Completely untrue, all French cars break down therefore preventing their owners from driving anywhere.
    Nurses take strong, prescription only painkillers when they have a hangover.
    I heard that this is true for 100% of Nurses. They also test how "bouncy" newborn babies are just before they wrap them in a blanket by dropping them on the floor from a height of exactly 5 feet.
    When you ask a butcher to mince a steak, if he walks in the back, he'll hide it and bring out something he minced earlier.

The key word here is "something".
    The majority of retail staff that are in work on Sunday mornings, are hungover, coming down off ecstasy or both.

This one is actually true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Howard Juneau

Nurses have also saline drips to rehydrate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭Bassfish

Nurses have also saline drips to rehydrate

A few whiffs from the oxegen tanks also does wonders for a hangover.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Yep as a nurse if I was working with a hangover, I'd offer ventilate myself because I'd be too tired to breath. Mighty job. So if you see a nurse pulling a machine behind them, you know what they're at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭ash23

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Dunno about this, I've been engaged in a ding-dong battle with UPC for about a year now over service quality issues, finally my patience snapped recently and I told them that they either had to basically bribe me to stay with a discount or some other offering, or I'd be off to another provider. Made it clear that I'd much prefer to stay but wasn't going to put up with their service not working properly any more. I was offered a fiver towards a film on On Demand! Other than that, the poor sod on the phone who was given the task of dealing with me just kept bleating weakly that "there's nothing more we can do".

Maybe I was just doing it wrong, but they didn't seem to give a toss if I stayed with them or not :mad:

I work in similar environment and we don't really care if we retain the customer who frequently complain. The amount of time spent with frequent complainers tends not to be worth the business.

Not saying that comes from above or or anything but I know I wouldn't try as hard to retain a customer where I could see there were frequent complaints or where they were telling me I had to offer a discount.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Degag wrote: »
    Good post.

I imagine though, like myself, a lot of people send items by express post not just for speed but for security. I personally have never sent something express to get it somewhere quicker but because I want to make sure it gets there.

Register it. You get a tracking number, it has to be signed for and it's cheaper. To register a letter within Ireland (Republic and North) is €5.25 and to register a letter to international destinations is €5.17. Why it's cheaper to register an item going overseas, again, is just one of those things I could never suss. Add in that registered post is looked after better than most children are and I've never, ever encountered a registered item getting lost/stolen.

It's a lot cheaper to register something and it's more secure. You'd also be entitled to compensation if the thing does go missing (something I've never encountered in 10 years of on/off working for An Post). Even if you declare the item to have "No Commercial Value", you'd still be entitled to roughly €25 compensation if you kick up enough fuss about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,158 ✭✭✭✭Degag

DazMarz wrote: »
    Register it. You get a tracking number, it has to be signed for and it's cheaper. To register a letter within Ireland (Republic and North) is €5.25 and to register a letter to international destinations is €5.17. Why it's cheaper to register an item going overseas, again, is just one of those things I could never suss. Add in that registered post is looked after better than most children are and I've never, ever encountered a registered item getting lost/stolen.

It's a lot cheaper to register something and it's more secure. You'd also be entitled to compensation if the thing does go missing (something I've never encountered in 10 years of on/off working for An Post). Even if you declare the item to have "No Commercial Value", you'd still be entitled to roughly €25 compensation if you kick up enough fuss about it.

Sorry, I meant registered post, I didn't really realise there was a difference (or much of a difference) between registered and express post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,541 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

Lad that I went to college with about 10 years ago has worked for numerous software companies who supply software to stores in the retail industry - coffee shops, hardware stores,motor factors, convince retail etc. He explained to me that nearly all of them intentionally design their software with a function to allow the stores to record sales on the tills as normal as far as the joe soap customer is concerned but those sales are never officially recorded in the 'back office' meaning these sales are not registered for the audited reports/vat purposes therefore denying the exchequer 100's of 1000's of revenue every year.

Ever see a till in a shop with a sign that says 'cash only, no credit card' .... More often then not thats because credit card sales leave an electronic paper trail, records with the bank and so on and they only want cash sales because they can be hidden using the function I mentioned above.

You are referring to "training mode" - its designed to allow new staff learn to operate the till and the sales never hit the back office for this reason. It can be used by feckers to dodge VAT easily - even though the receipt has "training mode" on it most customers don't care as they don't realise this.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

You are referring to "training mode" - its designed to allow new staff learn to operate the till and the sales never hit the back office for this reason. It can be used by feckers to dodge VAT easily - even though the receipt has "training mode" on it most customers don't care as they don't realise this.

Very clever.

Dodgy as fúck of course but clever nevertheless. Id say "training mode" on cash tills is a widespread practise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭Jen Pigs Fly

Work in a pet shop ... Let's just say sick or old animals are moved on very quickly, animals only sell when they're cute and small and most small animals for sale in pet shops are way to young and often die from stress related to their young age. Any animals that are around longer than a week or two have no chance, they get big and turn no one wants them, most develop aggressive tendencies or OCD issues such as pacing or chewing. They get moved back to the breeder who won't disclose how they dispose of them let's say.

And fish that are dying don't stand much chances ..... Can't leave a dieing fish in a sale tank unless it's worth enough money to move to a quarantine ....

Im about to watch this recent inside look at Amazon. Its a Panorama programme so Im expecting a) tabloid style sensationalism and b) the company to be painted in a very bad light by ex employees

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭fussyonion

I've said this before in a previous thread, but while working as a deli assistant for a well-known supermarket, we were told to stir the ready-made coleslaw/egg mayonnaise/tuna & sweetcorn sandwich filler every few hours to stop a skin from forming.

At the end of the day, we had to cover them all with clingfilm and the next morning, uncover them and stir again.
    This went on all week until it either smelt off or a new delivery came in.
    The meat we sliced every day was kept in the big fridge until needed and a few times, whilst retrieving the meat to put on display, it would fall on the floor.

We were never to throw that out; it was simply put out on display.
    I never get sliced meat from deli counters now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

campo wrote: »
    I once worked for a company who sold bottled water , one day the machinery that filled the bottles with water broke down so the owner filled the bottles with tap water

Have my suspicions I know what company that was!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,924 ✭✭✭billie1b

Ryanair?

No, in Ryanair you're allowed join a union, he just doesn't recognize them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Worked in a large bookies head office. If odds were going to be reduced on something (due to irregular betting) all the lads would head down to a rival bookie and bet on it before they reduced their odds.
    Not exactly insider trading on the stockmarkets, but best I've got

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭kinkygirl

Work in a pet shop ... Let's just say sick or old animals are moved on very quickly, animals only sell when they're cute and small and most small animals for sale in pet shops are way to young and often die from stress related to their young age. Any animals that are around longer than a week or two have no chance, they get big and turn no one wants them, most develop aggressive tendencies or OCD issues such as pacing or chewing. They get moved back to the breeder who won't disclose how they dispose of them let's say.

And fish that are dying don't stand much chances ..... Can't leave a dieing fish in a sale tank unless it's worth enough money to move to a quarantine ....

Just one of the zillion reasons I will never set foot in a pet shop. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,751 ✭✭✭bigron2109

Budget plans for certain electrical companies are not mad out to be what they are, as you usually get hit with a huge bill at the end of the year, even though your "budget plan " is meant to prevent this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,273 ✭✭✭Hoop66

bigron2109 wrote: »
    Budget plans for certain electrical companies are not mad out to be what they are, as you usually get hit with a huge bill at the end of the year, even though your "budget plan " is meant to prevent this.

As I understand it, from only anecdotal evidence mind, the electricity companies deliberately deflate bills at the start of the cold weather so that after the cold weather people are generally behind on their bills - we got a bill for over €1000 one year through "estimated" readings. This makes it more difficult for people to switch providers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,751 ✭✭✭bigron2109

Hoop66 wrote: »
    As I understand it, from only anecdotal evidence mind, the electricity companies deliberately deflate bills at the start of the cold weather so that after the cold weather people are generally behind on their bills - we got a bill for over €1000 one year through "estimated" readings. This makes it more difficult for people to switch providers.

No there is no way they can deflate bills in fairness . But what they do is estimates and the way they work is they go on your previous consumption. So if your bills are quiet low in the summer and there hasn't been a meter reading given in, in months or the person who comes to read your meter can't gain access to the meter, you or going to be charged roughly the same the whole time . Until some one gives in the meter reading and that's when you get the huge bill and you get all the bull **** that goes along with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

+ 1 to the own brand milk being the exact same as the premium brand milk. The customers are only paying extra for the label

No big secret, already mentioned in this thread and lots of us got our first summer job in the local creamery.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

newmug wrote: »
    Nope. You would be very surprised though, a big name computer chip manufacturer. I'm not saying any more.

apparently if anybody upsets certain businesses worldwide some very nasty agencies from across yhe pond get to work to protect their cosy little profits by any means possible, there in lies the problem trying to get anyone to listen, they're either freaked about the men in black or most likely know what side their bread is buttered, the smart ones are both i bet

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

gw80 wrote: »
    worked in a place that made parts for nato tanks, it was all hush hush, i think it had something to do with Irelands nuetrality.

dont think they were,nt allowed make the parts iust didnt want any hippy types giving out about it.

name it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

gw80 wrote: »
    worked in a place that made parts for nato tanks, it was all hush hush, i think it had something to do with Irelands nuetrality.

dont think they were,nt allowed make the parts iust didnt want any hippy types giving out about it.

Lots of Irish companies make component parts for NATO machinery.

There was also an Irish company making Head Up Displays (HUD) for Israeli F16 jets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭Jen Pigs Fly

kinkygirl wrote: »
    Just one of the zillion reasons I will never set foot in a pet shop. :mad:

At least my one has someone who cares (me) who had changed my specific store quite a lot in regards to animal welfare. I have set up quarantine for sick small animals and am currently setting up an account with local vets for emergencies that normally were sorted out with a plastic bag and a freezer or a sole of a heavy boot

Taken from an unaired part of Stephen Fry's QI (unaired cos he'd sue)

Apparently Bernard Matthews was overfeeding his turkeys so much that they were unable to walk without falling over forward.

So he paid people to try and develop a turkey with a third leg in the middle to support it, and there'd also be another joint to eat as a bonus :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,639 ✭✭✭feargale

Frynge wrote: »
    Which of the rat pack was the rat?

Please! This is a serious thread and most useful.

Name 5?

Leo Varadkar, Eamonn O'Cuiv, Joan Burton, Joe Higgins, Catherine Murphy, Roisin Shortall, Robert Dowds, Peter Mathews, Michael McNamara, Michael McGrath.

loveBBhate wrote: »
    Name 4 so.

Four ministers that work hard, just that? Noonan, Shatter, Bruton, Varadkar.

Frynge wrote: »
    Which of the rat pack was the rat?

Please! This is a serious thread and most useful.