Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

dgt wrote: »
    Careful now! That's a double entendre :pac:

It only does it when I'm in the Bravo (factory Grundig has TA on) I tore out the original Pug radio and the Pioneer hasn't TA so I can keep listening to my radio in comfort :p

I still remember being freaked out and wondering was it a throwback to the British Secret Service and their monitoring abilities :D

Fecking thing followed me all the way home to Dundalk as well that evening!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

518d is on sale here now: http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/5-Series/518d-SE/36513807764885140/advert?channel=CARS

I had a search for 523, 525, 528, 535 or 550 models from 09 onwards, there isn't a single one for sale. :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Cold enough this morning 0 degree at 5.30 am when I was leaving for cork this morning. 4 degrees in cork now. That's the coldest my temperature gauge has read due to it having a faulty one last winter. Had the snow flake on the dash flash between red and yellow and beeb the whole way up. Anyway safe trip anyone who's driving this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Bpmull wrote: »
    Cold enough this morning 0 degree at 5.30 am when I was leaving for cork this morning. 4 degrees in cork now. That's the coldest my temperature gauge has read due to it having a faulty one last winter. Had the snow flake on the dash flash between red and yellow and beeb the whole way up. Anyway safe trip anyone who's driving this morning.

Freezing in dublin too.

But this dublin bus driver is really doing well on the handling. I think this is the fastest ive gotten across the town.... overtaking 2 other buses of the same route number !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

This morning it was -4 in kildare, had to break out the de icer!

Winters officially here lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

518d is on sale here now: http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/5-Series/518d-SE/36513807764885140/advert?channel=CARS

I had a search for 523, 525, 528, 535 or 550 models from 09 onwards, there isn't a single one for sale. :/

Ugh... Sickening. If no one buys them new now, what will be left for us in a few years :P
    Bpmull wrote: »

Yeah it was 1 degree this morning according to the car, iced up and all. Well past the summer/fall now lads !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Ha ha I was in bmw blackrock the other day for a new lock nut key, I had to sit down and have a "meeting" with a chap so they could assess my situation :rolleyes:
    I just wanted them to try their lock nuts and find the correct one :)

Funniest thing was they were suprised by me driving the 530d? I thought blackrock would be full of far bigger bmw's?
    Walking around the forecourt I realised wrong, 8 of 10 were 520d's.
    As Cleveland says, someone needs to buy them for us :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Stheno wrote: »
    You're grand :) At "normal" speeds, it sits between 2.5 and 3.5k revs. At pred speeds/gears, it hit 5k :)

That was just a little 2 car overtake, come see me on a dry day and I'll take you out in the 159 and show you proper 'pred speeds':D

I thought I was quite restrained in your car, nice long spin though, thanks again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

Ugh... Sickening. If no one buys them new now, what will be left for us in a few years :P

Yeah it was 1 degree this morning according to the car, iced up and all. Well past the summer/fall now lads !

Feckin left without the coat. It's bloody freezing on this bus!:(

Ah lads sure we'd be going to the uk anyway, where all the nice stuff is!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Harcrid

My car goes bong and pops a snowflake on the dash when it hits 4 degree's. Scares the bejaysus out of me every time as I think its the engine management light for a split second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Harcrid

And I had to laugh at all of the "safe" drivers this morning doing 60km per hour ..... in the fog with no lights on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Spotted earlier that November is going to have record breaking snow.... yay? :(

In fairness, BMW Ireland doing a somewhat reasonable deal. Copied from FB:
    For every set of winter wheels & tyres purchased, each customer will receive a free half-day’s BMW Winter Driver Training. The training will take place at the Rally School Ireland, Co. Monaghan. This would normally cost €175 for a half-day’s training.

Please contact your local BMW dealer to avail of this promotion.
    Valid until 31st March 2014. This applies to alloy wheels only (steel rims excluded).

And in other news, spotted this over in YLYL

8876666.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Harcrid wrote: »
    My car goes bong and pops a snowflake on the dash when it hits 4 degree's. Scares the bejaysus out of me every time as I think its the engine management light for a split second.

Same here at 3 degrees.
    Similar to other stupid alarms in the car. The EML has the same "bong" sound as the alarm for "window washer fluid low" :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

-6 in Belfast this morning, and the traffic was brutal, 70 minutes to travel twelve miles :(

Never complaining about Dublin traffic again!

Spotted earlier that November is going to have record breaking snow.... yay? :(

In fairness, BMW Ireland doing a somewhat reasonable deal. Copied from FB:

And in other news, spotted this over in YLYL

8876666.jpg

Snow.....yay:D

How much are the wheels and tyres? (just curious they'd look funny on mine)

I've driven a tractor with 3 wheels before, because its an axle with no suspension, you can stick a wedge between the good side and the frame and the other side sticks up in the air. Alot easier than trying to take off a tractor wheel on the side of the road. Only works for the front unfortunately;)

Got my insurance renewal today, gone up from €400 to €600 quid!

no claims this year either!

They obviously heard that you let me drive your car:pac:

Start ringing around so! Liberty seem to like alfas! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭pajor

Or even just ring your current company. The I'm-going-to-leave-unless-you-do-something-about-this tone of voice does actually work. :D

pajor wrote: »
    Or even just ring your current company. The I'm-going-to-leave-unless-you-do-something-about-this tone of voice does actually work. :D

Did this last year shall rinse and repeat. Anyone any experience with the aviva multiquote offer?

I'd get out the phone book and get ringing.
    Put the savings towards some nice parts

Scortho wrote: »
    Start ringing around so! Liberty seem to like alfas! :D

They might like alfas, but they dont like me.....€710:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Carpet diem

Quick question - what are Peugeot 407 Petrol 1.8 Engine like on juice?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

pred racer wrote: »
    They might like alfas, but they dont like me.....€710:eek:

That's a years tax for me :o

Which reminds me, must tax it this week. I hate going t that c*nt of a place to deal with cows and bullocks :mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

Fifth gear on disco +

savage volvo touring car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

I hope we dont get snow, after a mild start to October I went for ContiSportContact 3 which I then found out are only summer tyres, not designed for use under 0 degrees:eek:.

If I get winter tyres are they better on the front or back if I want to be a cheap bastered.

dont snow, dont snow, dont snow.....

I hope we dont get snow, after a mild start to October I went for ContiSportContact 3 which I then found out are only summer tyres, not designed for use under 0 degrees:eek:.

If I get winter tyres are they better on the front or back if I want to be a cheap bastered.

dont snow, dont snow, dont snow.....

Media hype etc, it won't snow. They just like to create a bit of panic so consumers will panic buy fuel etc....

Or maybe I've drank too much already :pac:

dgt wrote: »
    That's a years tax for me :o

Which reminds me, must tax it this week. I hate going t that c*nt of a place to deal with cows and bullocks :mad::mad::mad:

You forget, I'm even older than Stheno:eek: my insurance is normally about 400ish

Do it online man, I'd rather set myself on fire than go to the tax office:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Meh just let a good bit of air out of your tyre and your sound then.... My little clio got up the wicklow gap when it was snowy last.

pred racer wrote: »
    You forget, I'm even older than Stheno:eek: my insurance is normally about 400ish

Do it online man, I'd rather set myself on fire than go to the tax office:P

They raised my insurance.... Newer old car and all that jazz! :rolleyes:

Naaaaah I get a kick out of seeing how obnoxious and irritating I can be to those hoors and getting away with it :pac: