If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Child removed from Roma gypsies-This time in DUBLIN *Mod Warning Post #1*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,232 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭Smiles35

What?

One of main things that come up after Greece (and was used by the foreign complainer) were things about benefit fraud.

So, the poster I replied too said the fact that the child in Greece was Roma, cleared up everything to do with negative banter. No it does'nt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭petrolcan

Let's crucify the Gardaí for doing their job.

No, let's crucify the police for not doing their job which is what happened in this case which led to a child being removed from her parents.

The same happened in American when George Zimmerman defended himself by shooting a dead a black thug who was trying to beat his head off the concrete.
    Who came out of the wood work?
    Al Sharpton and Jesse Jackson and the whole race baiting professional class to try and lynch a man who was defending himself.
    The ultra left in Ireland are trying exactly the same tactic here.
    Vilify the Gardaí for doing their jobs and making sure a kid was safe.
    The ultra-left were up to the same nonsense in Northern Ireland when they were banging on about the human rights of terrorists.
    Nowadays they have changed their tack and become supposed champions of the downtrodden against a supposedly racist state.
    Internationally the Irish ultra-left is anti-American, anti-Israel and opposed to the War on Terror while domestically they seek to try and subvert the institutions of the state and scream about supposed Garda brutality at Rossport, in the policing of political demonstrations and try to portray them as a racist police force.
    They tried the same trick with a Nigerian woman who claimed she was refugee and they backed her up to the hilt in the courts before she was finally put in a sling and sent back to where she came from.
    This is their new angle.
    Typical political opportunism and cynical race baiting of the worst kind.

Holy sh1t :eek:

This is beyond a joke now.

Don't insult my intelligence.

Ummmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭TommyKnocker

Agreed, and that's what I find a little bizarre. It seems that even to raise the concern, to check it out, to do all the tests to be sure etc...this in of itself is being called out as racist?

The reason it is being considered racial profiling is because it is believed to be a direct result of a incident that happened in a different country in another part of Europe, where a Roma couple where found to be acting as parents to a pale skinned girl with blonde hair and blue eyes which DNA proved was not a child of theirs and their responses to questioning raised suspicions .

While I suspect it cannot not be proven, I believe the the person who filed the initial report with the TV3 fb page had seen this report of the incident in Greece, knew there was a Roma family in the area with a young girl with pale skin, blonde hair and blue eyes and put 2 & 2 together and came up with 5 and so jumped to the conclusion that if the the Roma family in Greece are being investigated for possible child abduction, then maybe this local Roma family are also guilty of child abduction, so best report it to be on the safe side. But lets not report it to the proper authorities, Lets report it on a TV channels FB page for the attention of a Journalist :rolleyes: Also lets say nothing about John and Mary next door or down the road who both have dark hair and sallow skin and have a red haired pale skinned child living with them.

Now I have said before and will say again, I am all for child protection and I have no issue with people reporting where they suspect a child is in danger, I would do this myself. But I would report it to child services or the gardai, not to a TV stations FB page. And I will not be filing a report based on the fact that because somebody in another part of the world from a specific ethnic group committed a crime or because of ethnicity, skin colour.
    Gatling wrote: »
    Exactly ,

Racial profiling had nothing to with it either ,

A concerned citizen makes a complaint ,the gardai responded and get wishy washy dates of birth ,different names , an infants passport ,

But no its all racism

This looks exactly like racial profiling to me, an ordinary Joe.

There is nobody logging on to the TV3 website and reporting Pedro and Maria from Spain who have dark skin, dark hair and brown eyes have a young pale skinned, blonde haired, blue eyed child living with them.

Or that Jonathan & Margret who are both blonde have blue eyes have a dark haired brown eyed child living with them.

But a two Roma families who happen to have pale skinned, blonde haired children get reported because another Roma family in a different country are under investigation for suspected child abduction.

To me this is the very definition of Racial Profiling.
    dj jarvis wrote: »
    3 different agencies involved , they all have to do one , you are assuming they are going to be found in the wrong

On the contrary, I am expecting that the investigations will find that the correct procedures were followed and everything was just dandy :eek: *** Sure we all know what Roma are like. All of them, all the same, world wide :eek::eek::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

***Just for the record, the highlighted statement above is meant as sarcasm. This is not a belief I hold or would support. There are good and bad apples in all walks of life, all nationalities and ethnic groups.

The Gardai investigating the Gardai, the HSE investigating the HSE and I am not sure about the third investigation. Sure we are bound to get open, transparent and impartial results to these investigations....

.... NOT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

The reason it is being considered racial profiling is because it is believed to be a direct result of a incident that happened in a different country in another part of Europe, where a Roma couple where found to be acting as parents to a pale skinned girl with blonde hair and blue eyes which DNA proved was not a child of theirs and their responses to questioning raised suspicions .

While I suspect it cannot not be proven, I believe the the person who filed the initial report with the TV3 fb page had seen this report of the incident in Greece, knew there was a Roma family in the area with a young girl with pale skin, blonde hair and blue eyes and put 2 & 2 together and came up with 5 and so jumped to the conclusion that if the the Roma family in Greece are being investigated for possible child abduction, then maybe this local Roma family are also guilty of child abduction, so best report it to be on the safe side. But lets not report it to the proper authorities, Lets report it on a TV channels FB page for the attention of a Journalist :rolleyes: Also lets say nothing about John and Mary next door or down the road who both have dark hair and sallow skin and have a red haired pale skinned child living with them.

Now I have said before and will say again, I am all for child protection and I have no issue with people reporting where they suspect a child is in danger, I would do this myself. But I would report it to child services or the gardai, not to a TV stations FB page. And I will not be filing a report based on the fact that because somebody in another part of the world from a specific ethnic group committed a crime or because of ethnicity, skin colour.

This looks exactly like racial profiling to me, an ordinary Joe.

There is nobody logging on to the TV3 website and reporting Pedro and Maria from Spain who have dark skin, dark hair and brown eyes have a young pale skinned, blonde haired, blue eyed child living with them.

Or that Jonathan & Margret who are both blonde have blue eyes have a dark haired brown eyed child living with them.

But a two Roma families who happen to have pale skinned, blonde haired children get reported because another Roma family in a different country are under investigation for suspected child abduction.

To me this is the very definition of Racial Profiling.

On the contrary, I am expecting that the investigations will find that the correct procedures were followed and everything was just dandy :eek: *** Sure we all know what Roma are like. All of them, all the same, world wide :eek::eek::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

***Just for the record, the highlighted statement above is meant as sarcasm. This is not a belief I hold or would support. There are good and bad apples in all walks of life, all nationalities and ethnic groups.

The Gardai investigating the Gardai, the HSE investigating the HSE and I am not sure about the third investigation. Sure we are bound to get open, transparent and impartial results to these investigations....

.... NOT

what are you on ?
    that make no sense at all - stop banging the keyboard and take a breath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

But sure you have no proof that they were going to do a runner!

circle jerk alert !!!!

how many time are you going to repeat that to try make your point relevant ?
    4 / 5 times?

you have no proof they would not - end of
    mine is an opinion , not fact

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

I think we all established that - very early on. ;)

what are you on ?

Is that your best rebuttal point?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

circle jerk alert !!!!

how many time are you going to repeat that to try make your point relevant ?
    4 / 5 times?

you have no proof they would not - end of

Your opinion was irrelevant to the discussion

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,028 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Interesting...genuine question then. To the posters on this thread that believe the Gardai were racist...had they simply monitored the family, followed them everywhere they went, camped outside their home etc etc, would this not also have been racism?

Yes. Because if someone reported two irish people who had a child with different coloured hair, they wouldn't have done it either.

It's racism when you behave differently to different ethnic/racial/etc groups.

Nodin wrote: »
    And again, I don't believe those were the only options open to them. Normally it's a dragged out process to remove children from parents who are clearly unable to cope (I'm primarily thinking junkies). Yet here we have a quick look at documents and its off out the door - it speaks of horrendous overreaction.

Let's not forget horrendous under-investigation.

what are you on ?

Excellent points, well made :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Okay let's say a black couple had a baby, the baby was white, this couple lives beside you. Now just imagine there was a case in Greece where a black couple stole a baby,

What would you do?

If anyone had a suspicion that a kid was abducted and the parents could not prove they were the parents of the kid, the kid would be taken off them.

That's what the Gardaí would do in all cases.

There is no shadow of doubt about that.

These racism accusations are the usual drivel that are spouted by the rent a crowd ultra left mob who turn up at every lunatic protest.

The same shower are forever protesting for the rights of Al-Qaeda murderers held in Gitmo to be released so they can kill again, the rights of dissident Republicans to be let out so they can launch another Omagh attack, the rights of Hamas to rocket Jews in Israel without being killed by IDF helicopter gunships, the right of the Taliban to enslave the people of Afghanistan in peace. When Saddam Hussein was executed they held a protest at the supposed murder of a tyrant to killed hundreds of people.

There's this mad old guy with a beard who always turns up outside Government Buildings hail rain or shine with a piece of cardboard giving out about the CIA flying hog tied captured terrorists through Shannon.

The differences between loons like this and the slick well dressed and articulate ultra left NGO spokespersons who bang on about what a fascist police force the Gardaí are is the money they get donors who had a political agenda against this country.

These fifth columnists are a menace.

Oh my :(

people seriously have to fix their quotes before posting.

Oranage2 wrote: »
    I can't for the life of me see what the police did wrong!

They failed to investigate thoroughly and as a result have made themselves look a bit stupid.

Okay let's say a black couple had a baby, the baby was white, this couple lives beside you. Now just imagine there was a case in Greece where a black couple stole a baby,

What would you do?

think they adopted?

Tony EH wrote: »
    The Gardai acted on a claim made.

The investigated the family concerned.

No they didn't, not properly anyway.

Grayson wrote: »
    think they adopted?

My point is people have the right to be suspicious, the police may have looked a little foolish now but what we are forgetting is that now we are sure a child is with her real mother, takes the weight of worry off my shoulders anyway

When I look at the TV show modern family I don't think there are two sexual deviants who kidnapped an asian girl.

I don't automatically assume that a kid that looks different to their parent is kidnapped. I'm not even suspicious.

And like I said, if I rang up the cops and said that two irish people had kidnapped a baby and had raised them as their own, and that my only proof was that the kid had different hair colour, I'd be laughed out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭Curly Judge

No matter what shenanigans or scams Travellers, Roma or Nigerians get up to it's racism to suggest that they ever do anything wrong?

What would you do?

Nothing

I don't assume that because 1 black couple stole a baby that all black people are abducters

Terry Pratchet

What would you do?

OMG, the baby Jesus wept

Nothing, unless of course I hear the baby crying for excessive amounts of time, or see it covered in bruises, or looking unkempt and dirty, or malnourished or some other markers which would cause me to be concerned for that child's welfare.

If I was to report this solely because it was a black couple with a white child I would be guilty of RACIAL PROFILING!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

What would you do?

Are you saying that all black people are now more likely baby snatchers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

.... NOT

We've already heard the Taoiseach and the Minister for Justice say that race or ethnicity played no part in the way these incidents were handled and Frances Fitzgerald, as Minister for Children, has said that the Gardai and the HSE acted in good faith. Seems to me that those statements would be prejudicial to the inquiries and that it would be unwise to expect much from them.

Grayson wrote: »
    people seriously have to fix their quotes before posting.

Sincere apologies, now corrected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

What would you do?
    My neighbours adopted a Romanian girl a few years back, great girl. There have been lots of stories down the years of people 'buying' babies in Romania. In fact it used to be pretty endemic, not sure of the current situation.

Imagine if I went to the Guards and said "Jesus gard I wonder if the Roches bought that baby, that time..." and he **went to the house and took their daughter***???

What???!

Okay bad example, what would people do say if a traveller couple had a chimese 56654 baby and there was a case in cork of another traveller family abducting a Chinese baby ?

What would you do then?