If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat III

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

dzer2 wrote: »
    You can make one out of an old big feed bag Jersey.

how can you do that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

bbam wrote: »
    Thanks guys.
    She got Vecoxin first time she was in as I thought the scour was black enough to warrant it. No signs of blood in dung and she's not pressing at all.
    She is BVD tested.

She's eating and drinking for the moment, vet later in the week will tell a story.
    some need a second or even 3rd go of vecoxan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

jersey101 wrote: »
    Anyone know where you can get the weight bands for weighing calves?

Magenta direct

put a calf in off cow this morning, she is 5 days old, she broke out of single pen through the gate at front where they get milk, put her back in and tied up so she couldnt get out. Came back 10 minutes later she was out again , put her back in and put a gate along side side of pen, these are o donovan galvanised pens, she was out again there now :eek: i put a pallet over the top of the pen , hopefully that will keep her in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭simx

whelan1 wrote: »
    put a calf in off cow this morning, she is 5 days old, she broke out of single pen through the gate at front where they get milk, put her back in and tied up so she couldnt get out. Came back 10 minutes later she was out again , put her back in and put a gate along side side of pen, these are o donovan galvanised pens, she was out again there now :eek: i put a pallet over the top of the pen , hopefully that will keep her in

Shell have some job to get through a pallet anyway pallets are a bit like twine in farmers world they have so many uses

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

did you know that if you fill the sink up with cold water before you shower, the mirror above it will not fog up at all, making it easier to shave!!

I'd look a fair sight shaving my legs standing on the sink:D
    kovu is on the missing list again

Yes but I'm back now.
    must be the brazillian

Tut tut tut, and Bob, you were meant to keep quiet about that. Have your handcuffs for next time made stronger :rolleyes:

I'm in bad form at the minute, gave myself food poisoning and haven't been able to eat since Saturday:eek: Can't even drink water as it comes straight back up, got tablets this morning and took one, then was promptly sick again. How am I meat to take the fecking things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    I'd look a fair sight shaving my legs standing on the sink:D

Yes but I'm back now.

Tut tut tut, and Bob, you were meant to keep quiet about that. Have your handcuffs for next time made stronger :rolleyes:

I'm in bad form at the minute, gave myself food poisoning and haven't been able to eat since Saturday:eek: Can't even drink water as it comes straight back up, got tablets this morning and took one, then was promptly sick again. How am I meat to take the fecking things.

The sister brought 3 german students out for good irish seafood saturday night and all four of them are sick in bed since . I wouldnt mind but the place she brought them has just won an award for one of the best seafood places in ireland !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

freedom, whats this about False Widow Spiders on the loose in waterford,

have a cow sick to calve, looked at her , just tail up, went into house upstairs and looked out the window and shes licking a calf, she went from tail up to calf out in less than 5 minutes, never saw 1 like it before

But the real question is......Is it a heifer:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

did you eat dodge meat or what

No idea, I had eaten pork on Friday, maybe that was it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

didnt they say in the journal that brazilian beef was banned, no traceability:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

any word of new suckler scheme in budget?

But the real question is......Is it a heifer:p
    just checked its a bull:mad: cant complain though, had a dealer here yesterday wondering if i was selling calves from yard as i hadnt been to mart in a while , i just said the calves where all heifers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭naughto

Farmers' flat rate addition from 4.8% to 5% from 2014

CGT reliefs being extended to encourage older farmers to lease out their lands on long leases

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

God ya know it's great to get away for a bit but it's even nicer coming home. Just on bus down from airport. Looks to be plenty of grass about the place yet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Muckit wrote: »
    God ya know it's great to get away for a bit but it's even nicer coming home. Just on bus down from airport. Looks to be plenty of grass about the place yet!

It's nice to get grass under your feet when you're after being away on concrete!
    I noticed in work the last few days a lot of grass mown, and plenty baling away. Even today I saw a couple of lads at silage.

Sold four calves there on Wednesday night

White twin bull 380kg €1160
    white twin heifer 320kg €820
    white PIO heifer 330kg €860
    Blue heifer 385kg €970

Happy enough!

Bizzum wrote: »
    It's nice to get grass under your feet when you're after being away on concrete!
    I noticed in work the last few days a lot of grass mown, and plenty baling away. Even today I saw a couple of lads at silage.

That's for sure. Not a bad little country we have here at all. Probably won't be saying that after catch up with all the budget stuff !!

Young lad home in tears today, says he's being picked on at school and in the village :mad:
    how did he get on today?

plenty of empty seats in the aviva

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

how did he get on today?

Ok, there was one small incident, but nothing serious. Will see how things evolve for a while, everyone who should know at the moment does. Have to give the school a chance too.

ye, no harm to stand back and see how it goes, good luck with it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

moy83 wrote: »
    The sister brought 3 german students out for good irish seafood saturday night and all four of them are sick in bed since . I wouldnt mind but the place she brought them has just won an award for one of the best seafood places in ireland !

That will teach them to ****k about with our corporate tax regime. Ja!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭flat out !!

Was in local veterinary supplies shop, two rough looking skangers came in looking for needles to "ye know inject the dogs". Owner told them sorry he doesn't sell them. We both knew what they were going injecting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

Was in local veterinary supplies shop, two rough looking skangers came in looking for needles to "ye know inject the dogs". Owner told them sorry he doesn't sell them. We both knew what they were going injecting.

They were telling the truth. They are dogs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭naughto

They were telling the truth. They are dogs!
    thats not fair to the dogs.

Are things gone so f***ed in the country that we've resorted to strip grazing the aviva??? Looks strange on lhs.....

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,961 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

They could have given them a blunt 16g needle to share:eek:

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.