If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

hugo29 wrote: »
    so tomorrow is bend over and take it from the government day, cant wait

Dont think they can take anymore from me!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

td5man wrote: »
    Dont think they can take anymore from me!!

i know the feeling but they will find something, dont you worry,
    as far as i can see its only fools who work and pay a mortgage in this country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭Bactidiaryl

reilig wrote: »
    Lucky feckers.

I am looking for that stuff for to put on a laneway to my house. If you spray old diesel on top of it, it helps to reactivate the tar in it and then you can roll it together with a vibrating roller and it will stick together lovely!!

What's the difference between old diesel and new diesel. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

i know the feeling but they will find something, dont you worry,
    as far as i can see its only fools who work and pay a mortgage in this country

You're right , they will find a way to screw another few bob out of us . I hope to have my house sold and mortgage cleared in the next few months . It will be the happiest day of my life knowing that myself or the wife wont be lumping money into the dirty thing !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

What's the difference between old diesel and new diesel. ;)

Try putting 5 year old diesel from a metal tank into your tractor to see the difference. I was suggesting that it was a great way of using it up as opposed to buying new diesel to spray on it :eek:

so tomorrow is bend over and take it from the government day, cant wait

Is the SFP not out tomorrow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

Bank out of the red for a couple of hours so :-(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

hopefully tomorrow or wednesday, fingers crossed

great dont know why i had the 16th in my head

give with one hand and take with the other eh

great value in aldi at the moment on bodywarmers and thermal hats and gloves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

Speaking with a contractor friend there now who had his Fendt 936 Profi stolen yesterday with a set of triple mowers on it. Was stolen from his yard in Omagh on sunday morning and found in a yard in roscommon yesterday afternoon. It's one of only a handful in the north and he was able to send a text msg to it and received a reply back from it with the co-ordinates of where its at - just shows how much ground a machine can cover when its got a 60kph box. Whoever took it had a key that fitted as theres an immobiliser on it too. He's getting a bit fed up with contracting between doing work and not getting paid and machinery being stolen and having to pay extortinate insurance cover.

Interesting to hear. There was a spate of machinery robberies around these parts in recent years and a lot of it was found in Roscommon. Other machinery found in Sligo and both thieves from Roscommon and Sligo were linked. Interesting to know if this was linked to either?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

had to pay 15k to merchant there, jes sfp is needed! a costly year

Interesting to hear. There was a spate of machinery robberies around these parts in recent years and a lot of it was found in Roscommon. Other machinery found in Sligo and both thieves from Roscommon and Sligo were linked. Interesting to know if this was linked to either?

yea, and one of them is now behind bars, and the ring leader has a case pending.
    id have a good guess as to where in roscommon it was found

they are now branching into livestock or so rumour has it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Young lad home in tears today, says he's being picked on at school and in the village :mad:

what age is the lad con, fcuking awful thing that

been there, its a hateful feeling ya want to stand up for them but at the same time they have to fight their own battles, have you contacted the school? dont bother contacting the culprits parents let the school do that

Its an awful dose , I hope it gets sorted quick .
    Kids can be cruel to one another without knowing , but its up to the parents to tell them whats right and wrong . Unfortunately alot of parents these days dont care

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

moy83 wrote: »
    l hope to have my house sold and mortgage cleared in the next few months . It will be the happiest day of my life knowing that myself or the wife wont be lumping money into the dirty thing !

Are ya going renting or wha lad? Ya mortgage free would be a nice place to be

great value in aldi at the moment on bodywarmers and thermal hats and gloves

Mad. Baking here so can't imagine having to wear a body warmer. But know come wed in ballinasloe mart I'l need every bit of it :-)

what age is the lad con, fcuking awful thing that
    whelan1 wrote: »
    been there, its a hateful feeling ya want to stand up for them but at the same time they have to fight their own battles, have you contacted the school? dont bother contacting the culprits parents let the school do that
    Its an awful dose , I hope it gets sorted quick .
    Kids can be cruel to one another without knowing , but its up to the parents to tell them whats right and wrong . Unfortunately alot of parents these days dont care

11, not like him to react like he did, which makes me think there might be something to it rather than regular run of the mill rowing that kids do be at.

Have the feelers out now to figure out what's going on first before I make an eejit of myself. Just off the phone with the principal and my sister has a kid going there so will get him to keep his ears and eyes open.

Playground politics, you'd want to be in your health :eek:

11, not like him to react like he did, which makes me think there might be something to it rather than regular run of the mill rowing that kids do be at.

Have the feelers out now to figure out what's going on first before I make an eejit of myself. Just off the phone with the principal and my sister has a kid going there so will get him to keep his ears and eyes open.

Playground politics, you'd want to be in your health :eek:

Let him grow a pair before you squeeze him. Easy for me to say with no kids yet. But if he has trouble with his peers he has to figure that sh*t out for himself. What place has daddy taken on a 12 year old or less??

Muckit wrote: »
    Let him grow a pair before you squeeze him. Easy for me to say with no kids yet. But if he has trouble with his peers he has to figure that sh*t out for himself. What place has daddy taken on a 12 year old or less??

I agree with your second sentence :) No offense Muckit, but there's more to the situation.

Look sorry. I came across a bit rude and harsh there. I'm sure if l was in the situation I'd be doing the same as you. Apologies again. Forget my last post

No bother, I understood the point you were making and to a degree agree with it. Sometimes intervention is needed, not all kids are equal when it comes to defending themselves and when this type of stuff gets out of hand it can affect them negatively. That is what I want to prevent, not wrap him up in cotton wool at all, there'll always be rough and tumble and rows but he's new to that school so it's tough enough for him.

Are ya going renting or wha lad? Ya mortgage free would be a nice place to be

I had intended building again but I approached a lad with an old house and five acres next door to land we have and he wants to sell so hopefully we can knock out a deal and save me the hassle of planning because its not easily got around here .

My sambos were getting stolen in school once and the grandfather was trying to teach me how to box to stand up for myself . I was useless at boxing and my father told him to stop teaching me how to be a thug !
    He snuck me away anyhow and said if you cant box its no bother . He gave me a long stick and told me to wait inside a gate till the boyo was cycling past and aim to put it into the spokes of the front wheel .
    I did the deed anyhow and sent the boyo head over heals , the poor fecker never took my sambos again .
    Moral is if the grandfather didnt get me to stand up to him the only way I was able he would probably still be 'atin my lunch but id never have managed him on my own or figured out ways of doing it in the future either

in our case it was going on years , i had had enough and when my lad said he wanted to die, i had to step in, little fooker(the bully) , my lad ended up having to go to counselling and now he is a totally different chap than this time last year, awful worrying time:mad::mad:

My sambos were getting stolen in school once and the grandfather was trying to teach me how to box to stand up for myself . I was useless at boxing and my father told him to stop teaching me how to be a thug !
    He snuck me away anyhow and said if you cant box its no bother . He gave me a long stick and told me to wait inside a gate till the boyo was cycling past and aim to put it into the spokes of the front wheel .
    I did the deed anyhow and sent the boyo head over heals , the poor fecker never took my sambos again .
    Moral is if the grandfather didnt get me to stand up to him the only way I was able he would probably still be 'atin my lunch but id never have managed him on my own or figured out ways of doing it in the future either

I'd be first in the Q telling our fella to line up the biggest of them and wallop him between the eyes as hard as he could, if it was when you and I were in school. Problem now is he'd be seen as the bad guy and he'd be put in a worse position as the bullies would know they can make up stories about him and have a good chance of being believed.
    whelan1 wrote: »
    in our case it was going on years , i had had enough and when my lad said he wanted to die, i had to step in, little fooker(the bully) , my lad ended up having to go to counselling and now he is a totally different chap than this time last year, awful worrying time:mad::mad:

I can imagine, awful thing for any child or person to be driven to say. Exactly why I want to nip this BS in the bud here. This sort of craic can lead to the Depression thread on here or remember them sisters I think in Donegal. Kids are under a lot of pressure now compared to when I was in school.

principal said for our lad to give the other lad a wallop but he's not like that, things are alot different from when we where at school they have alot of pressure from other kids now