If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Anglo Irish Tapes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Montroseee

Time heals everything eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,668 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Still nobody in jail or even close. Protected by the political elite. You scratch my back and i'll scratch yours. Worse than Syria.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭hansfrei

If what is posted in this thread becomes widely known, I think it might do the trick.. (you have to read in 4 or 5 pages to get the bigger picture... some real gems in there)

Gas how I could read that thread without even one idiot bickering or trolling "boards schtyle", a liberal trying to make a name for himself or a righteous hijacker. A conversation among grown ups.

What am I doing here.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Birroc wrote: »
    I thought the Anglo tapes would be the straw that broke the camels back in terms of initiating widespread protests on banking practices, banking debt etc but it looks like people are already forgetting about it. Sad really. What will it take?

Meanwhile we are happily creating our own doom...
    http://www.financedublin.com/debtclock.php

There is no straw and the camels back in this case is infinitely strong.

Our government could be spraying sarin on the streets of dublin and you'd have people saying "proper order". Its almost like taking sh1t from the government makes some people feel better about themselves.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

Irish 2013 Lock-out sept 18th

a lot of us are finally ready to make a stand and feck the begrudgers/trolls paid or otherwise etc, we don't need endless suggestions to do this, that or the other thing and not be wasting our time going ahead with what we've planned, this is happening and no amount of waffle from authoritarians can stop it, how many are willing to stand up and be counted??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭Almaviva

how many are willing to stand up and be counted??

Willing to stand up and be counted and so staying miles from any nonesense like a lockout.
    It wont achieve anything, but ts harmless, and if it makes some people feel that they are 'doing something', let them off tilting at their windmills.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 876 ✭✭✭RiverOfLove

I wonder is David Drumm still seeking damages for mental distress:
    http://m.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055985248

New anglo tapes reported in the Irish independent today:

http://www.independent.ie/business/world/new-anglo-tapes-weve-fking-let-the-world-down-29580091.html

I read this. Now, these tapes were around the bank guarantee in 2008 so it's going back around five years.

In today's article, it states email correspondance between these Anglo chiefs and Enda Kenny who is refered to as Enda K. Another name that cropped up is FF's Beverely Cooper Flynn.

Why was Enda Kenny mentioned? What was his involvedment in this mess?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭bgrizzley

http://www.independent.ie/business/world/new-anglo-tapes-weve-fking-let-the-world-down-29580091.html

I read this. Now, these tapes were around the bank guarantee in 2008 so it's going back around five years.

In today's article, it states email correspondance between these Anglo chiefs and Enda Kenny who is refered to as Enda K. Another name that cropped up is FF's Beverely Cooper Flynn.

Matt Moran is from Castlebar too. There were stories earlier in the year about him briefing Moran on government strategy towards Anglo.

http://www.independent.ie/business/irish/anglo/enda-kenny-the-anglo-connection-29436123.html

FF brief Kenny=> Kenny runs to local-lad-turned-Anglo-exec to pass on info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,668 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

FG just like FF look after their friends in high places.
    Politics is rotten to the core.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭donegal__road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Dancor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,337 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Plus the intervention of Noonan to overrule company law where Anglo's creditors/depositors will not be listed on the company's Statement of Affairs - unlike every other liquidated company. I take it this will also include Irish Nationwide's creditors/depositors.

So we'll never get to know how much the political and legal elite - like Phil Hogan - owe these rotten institutions. How very convenient.

The more they deny this country is a Banana Republic, the more it becomes obvious! :mad:

And coming up to the lockout protest, it received many critisisms on the lines of it being stupid.

Plus the intervention of Noonan to overrule company law where Anglo's creditors/depositors will not be listed on the company's Statement of Affairs - unlike every other liquidated company. I take it this will also include Irish Nationwide's creditors/depositors.

So we'll never get to know how much the political and legal elite - like Phil Hogan - owe these rotten institutions. How very convenient.

The more they deny this country is a Banana Republic, the more it becomes obvious! :mad:

Anglo should never have been included in the bank gaurantee. It wasn't systematic to the economy and wasn't a peoples bank.

Anglo was going downhill and hoodwinked the government into bailing them out letting on at first they only needed a small amount of 7BN.

My guess is that many members of the politicial establishment were shacked up with investments with Anglo and wanted to see their money back. At our expense and that of future generations.

It was due to that bank guarantee we needed a bailout for the banking sector and deficit which goes hand in hand. Something we'll be paying back for a long time to come with interest.

How can this be legal?

Has anyone come out and questioned Noonan's actions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,840 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

TheTorment wrote: »
    How can this be legal?

Has anyone come out and questioned Noonan's actions?

Because the government was incompitant. Noting illegal to prosecute. The Anglo guys knew that even the CB and FR were clueless. Even simple clauses in the guaratee would have avioded this mess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭donegal__road

if any of us borrowed millions from the bank, and were caught on tape conspiring not to repay it, they would have us in front of the courts in record time with the tapes on the judge's desk ready to play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭up for anything

This is where we need a whistleblower and if the worst came to worst we'd give him or her sanctuary down here in Kilkenny right under Phil Hogan's nose.

Has it all been hidden so well that the names haven't crossed at least one disgruntled ordinary Joe's/Jospehine's desk or have they brown bagged the lot of them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,978 ✭✭✭Worztron

Rotten to the core. :mad:

Mitch Hedberg: "Rice is great if you're really hungry and want to eat two thousand of something."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

This is where we need a whistleblower and if the worst came to worst we'd give him or her sanctuary down here in Kilkenny right under Phil Hogan's nose.

Has it all been hidden so well that the names haven't crossed at least one disgruntled ordinary Joe's/Jospehine's desk or have they brown bagged the lot of them?
    Regulators at the central bank have given immunity to senior bankers, yet have refused to give immunity to lower-down whistleblowers within banks, and have actively threatened whistleblowers trying to expose fraud (like Jonathan Sugarman) with jail if they actually expose it - the exact opposite of how things should be in a non-corrupt political/economic/legal system.

It's a ridiculous state of affairs, which looks pretty much exactly like protecting people (always those 'higher up') from prosecution, and in general preventing evidence coming to light of crimes/fraud, so that nobody is held accountable (except the public of course, who are currently on the hook for the whole lot...).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭hansfrei

Potatoeman wrote: »
    Because the government was incompitant. Noting illegal to prosecute. The Anglo guys knew that even the CB and FR were clueless. Even simple clauses in the guaratee would have avioded this mess.

This is all balls. No evidence anyone was incompetent. Spreading lies like this makes prosecution more difficult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Can anything be done about this?

Regulators at the central bank have given immunity to senior bankers, yet have refused to give immunity to lower-down whistleblowers within banks, and have actively threatened whistleblowers trying to expose fraud (like Jonathan Sugarman) with jail if they actually expose it - the exact opposite of how things should be in a non-corrupt political/economic/legal system.

It's a ridiculous state of affairs, which looks pretty much exactly like protecting people (always those 'higher up') from prosecution, and in general preventing evidence coming to light of crimes/fraud, so that nobody is held accountable (except the public of course, who are currently on the hook for the whole lot...).

Is there not a way that the Irish people (if they can stop sniping at each other long enough) can take some sort of a class action suit (I know they don't exist here and they're usually for compensation but individuals acting together) demanding the revelation of names, loans and withdrawals etc of the whole financial imbroglio?

Or even some huge indication of everyone's dissatisfaction with the whole situation - a national sitdown/stand up/shout out or whatever someone can come up with which won't disrupt business as usual longer than 1 minute, along the lines of Earth Hour - Ireland's Minute perhaps. I'm so tired of feeling that I don't count and I'm sure the rest of the country except those at the top that are guilty of this mess feel the same way and would like a way to 'voice' it. Maybe on Arthur's Day at 17.59 we could all dress in black with white hats and spill a glass of the black stuff on the ground. Anything, anything at all just to make that collection of shites realise that 4.5M pissed off people would like to smack them in the chops. :mad: I'd love if they slept as badly for just one night as I do every night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

Ah for fecks sake!

So the Irish Central Bank is where Pontius Pilate was promoted laterally after embarrassing his employers in Jerusalem.

I didn't expect anything different.
    Politicians protect their friends in the Banks.
    The Banks protect their friends in politics.
    They work together.
    Cozy cartel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,340 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Jesus, if they can do that and not break any laws, then the laws need to be changed!

MadYaker wrote: »
    Jesus, if they can do that and not break any laws, then the laws need to be changed!

Laws are only for ordinary citizens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,340 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Laws are only for ordinary citizens.

Maybe, but if you think of it from the governments point of view they would look great if they were able to send these bankers to jail for the rest of their lives. So you'd think they would if they could.