Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

beef price tracker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,886 ✭✭✭mf240

The sceptic in me cant help but think that 30 months is just that bit too handy for the factorys as feb mar april bullocks come to 30 months in august sept oct and can often prevent a farmers selling as tough as they could.

There is no reason at this stage not to move it to 36 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

mf240 wrote: »
    The sceptic in me cant help but think that 30 months is just that bit too handy for the factorys as feb mar april bullocks come to 30 months in august sept oct and can often prevent a farmers selling as tough as they could.

There is no reason at this stage not to move it to 36 months.

or similarily they could move it down to 24month to suit your system:o, 30month rule was imposed with BSE testing many moons ago. Would there a willness to shift up the age limit up to qualify for the quality assurance bonus, doubt it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

i got 4.12 for a 35 month limousine bullock yesterday, came to 420 kg weight graded u and 2 for fat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

6 cull cows to go myself. Know little about factories and grades and all that.
    All char crosses, 9 / 10 year olds. I'm not reducing numbers, as 10 heifers calved / due to calf any day.
    In good enough condition, with calves still on them.
    I'm giving them mix of beef nuts, barley and maize. 5kgs per head per day, to put a bit extra condition on them.
    Planning to wean calves off them mid October, and straight to factory with cows.
    Any recommendation for best place to send them, in the west / mid west region?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

i got 4.12 for a 35 month limousine bullock yesterday, came to 420 kg weight graded u and 2 for fat

What factory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

Marooned75 wrote: »
    What factory

liffey Ballinasloe, they prefer heavy cattle from what I gather

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

6 cull cows to go myself. Know little about factories and grades and all that.
    All char crosses, 9 / 10 year olds. I'm not reducing numbers, as 10 heifers calved / due to calf any day.
    In good enough condition, with calves still on them.
    I'm giving them mix of beef nuts, barley and maize. 5kgs per head per day, to put a bit extra condition on them.
    Planning to wean calves off them mid October, and straight to factory with cows.
    Any recommendation for best place to send them, in the west / mid west region?

Heard Ballyhaunis is supposed to be good for cows. Would you not try wean now and you'd fatten them quicker. Rough geound grand for them when mealing and put your calves on best ground you have til your selling them

3.90 bullocks, 4.00 heifers for next week and factories getting loads of animals at that price.:( Is further to go before the bottom of the barrel???

One thing to note is that this is the same price as paid this week last year:rolleyes: back then most cattle were after spending most of the summer indoors on a high cost regime and we were glad to be getting the price

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

3.90 bullocks, 4.00 heifers for next week and factories getting loads of animals at that price.:( Is further to go before the bottom of the barrel???

One thing to note is that this is the same price as paid this week last year:rolleyes: back then most cattle were after spending most of the summer indoors on a high cost regime and we were glad to be getting the price

Same with the lambs ....they were waiting all year for a wet week, they've got it now so it'll be a race to the bottom now

Non QA in for another land so next week.Two even three tier system?

SFA can be done with non-QA meat, even non-QA cows are just not wanted. Short term the only place for non-QA is through the ring

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

Muckit wrote: »
    Kepak athleague . You really need big numbers and a serious increase in c/kg offered to make it worthwhile travelling l think. The small guys options are always limited! !

I never think the small farmer.. one or two culls a year does get fairness:mad:

Bodacious wrote: »
    I never think the small farmer.. one or two culls a year does get fairness:mad:

sell them live so if you dont think your not getting a fair deal. If you dont like what your getting when selling live you have other options. Once on the hook its whoever your dealing with, desecration what they write on the sheet as payment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

Bodacious wrote: »
    What if she slips into an O + at 330c though bob? 330 x 350kg = e1155 minus deductions diesel etc be lucky to get 1100 I'd say .. Ill let u know wed/thur

R -, 4+, E1174

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

3.00 for O's
    3.30 for R's

Qa cows this morning's quotes

€4 QA €3.85 non QA today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭tatoo

€4 QA €3.85 non QA today.

Where's this ?

tatoo wrote: »
    Where's this ?

Midlands areas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭TUBBY

Any of ye hit for Tesco Maynooth today for the annual IFA token rally about beef prices.

Think it is a joke. IMO the IFA are in the factories pocket. Why do you pay an IFA levy on all cattle killed in factory.

Might be naïve but if the IFA always go on about how the factories are doing farmers and the price is so poor, why don't they set up a few Co-op factories and provide some competition instead of just whining year in year out with no result from it.

I have yet to see MII come out and say - sorry lads, ye are right, quotes up by 20c.

Same scutter this time of year and every other year can't see any change happening soon unfortunately

TUBBY wrote: »
    Any of ye hit for Tesco Maynooth today for the annual IFA token rally about beef prices.

Think it is a joke. IMO the IFA are in the factories pocket. Why do you pay an IFA levy on all cattle killed in factory.

Might be naïve but if the IFA always go on about how the factories are doing farmers and the price is so poor, why don't they set up a few Co-op factories and provide some competition instead of just whining year in year out with no result from it.

I have yet to see MII come out and say - sorry lads, ye are right, quotes up by 20c.

Think it was proved in the sixties that farmer owned factories are a waste of space, I know my father put money into one that wasted it for him. Think it's best left to the experts.
    Obviously your predecessors wasn't caught by it.
    Yea it was good crack today, got a bit rough in Tesco, we also hit supervalue and aldi

rancher wrote: »
    Yea it was good crack today

Good to hear your having a laugh, thats the main thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

Yep talk about a great PR image for farmers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,886 ✭✭✭mf240

Not having a laugh with my money.

If we all made sure that the factories are told not to steal money from our cheques
    Rancher and his little friends might have to stay at home and do a bit of farming.

mf240 wrote: »
    Not having a laugh with my money.

If we all made sure that the factories are told not to steal money from our cheques
    Rancher and his little friends might have to stay at home and do a bit of farming.

Farmers on the national sheep committee and national livestock committee looked for support at a protest and I went, where's the crime
    No one got paid for being there and 200 turned up on short notice.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,843 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

rancher wrote: »
    Farmers on the national sheep committee and national livestock committee looked for support at a protest and I went, where's the crime
    No one got paid for being there and 200 turned up on short notice.

Election year is it?
    Opened my IFA envelope yesterday and some of the 'benefits' are a bit of a joke, 300 off the FIRST year of accounts with IFAC, I could almost get a set of accounts done for that elsewhere. FBD 75 euro is ok, but I haven't shopped around lately. When am I ever going to use 10% off stena sealink? If I go to UK I fly Ryanair. There are better deals to be got for the phone packages too.

I really think IFA should break the link with the factories.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭thetangler

"There are better deals to be got for the phone packages too."
    Hi
    Where are the best phone deals. My contract up next month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

thetangler wrote: »
    Hi
    Is it mobile or land line . The missus got a good deal with vodafone on the landline and internet , I think its 50 p/m for unlimited broadband , free uk calls ,free landline calls and 100 free minutes to mobile numbers each month

thetangler wrote: »
    Hi

you dont bite off the hand that feeds you;)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,843 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

O2 are giving my old builder's nokia 150 texts, 150 minutes talk time (Ireland)
    and I think 2 MB which I never use for 16.40 a month.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.