Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

beef price tracker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

I think that it is 70 days in your herd. This could become a real issue down the line. I saw an article in either the FJ or FI about a supermarket in England that wants only 1-2 movements during an anomals life, they want a vet to carry out casteration under annasetic abd there was other hoops to jump through as well. I think they wanted no movement after 6 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

MfMan wrote: »
    QA question.

Does the 70-day retention period mean that they have to be in your own herd for 70 days, or just have spent the last 70 days in a QA herd? e.g 30 days in herd of previous QA owner followed by 40 days in your own herd. Always thought it was the former....

70 days in your herd irrespective of what they done in their past lives

I saw an article in either the FJ or FI about a supermarket in England that wants only 1-2 movements during an anomals life, they want a vet to carry out casteration under annasetic abd there was other hoops to jump through as well. I think they wanted no movement after 6 months.

and they want them cheap as well after that. Allot to be said for the stack them high and sell them cheap model without such crap involved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

I think that it is 70 days in your herd. This could become a real issue down the line. I saw an article in either the FJ or FI about a supermarket in England that wants only 1-2 movements during an anomals life, they want a vet to carry out casteration under annasetic abd there was other hoops to jump through as well. I think they wanted no movement after 6 months.

Just think of how many stock could potentially qualify for that :rolleyes:

20% - max :confused:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,842 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I thought if they came from a QA herd they can be slaughtered after 22 days and qualify for the bonus.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote: »
    I thought if they came from a QA herd they can be slaughtered after 22 days and qualify for the bonus.

No, not around here anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 yupyupyup

thanks guys sorry for going off track, I'm defo gonna take this advice on board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

Quoted 3.20 o/p cows and 3.50 r grade cows on tuesday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

quoted 3.40 os
    3.20 ps
    3.50 rs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,673 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Lads have a cow going to factory tomorrow am,she has cancer of the eye and ain't too pretty to look at..got paperwork sorted from vet to clear her for slaughter but just wondering if factory vet may have any issues.she is still milking and in decent condition and will walk I. And out of box with no problem..only thing is was doing all cows for flys yesterday(didn't do this girl) and as she was going up the crush she whacked the eye off the crush and it literally burst and ai t too pretty Ti look at.not too worried what I get for her as just want her gone now as I'd say she is suffering a bit but don't want any probs with dept etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Lads have a cow going to factory tomorrow am,she has cancer of the eye and ain't too pretty to look at..got paperwork sorted from vet to clear her for slaughter but just wondering if factory vet may have any issues.she is still milking and in decent condition and will walk I. And out of box with no problem..only thing is was doing all cows for flys yesterday(didn't do this girl) and as she was going up the crush she whacked the eye off the crush and it literally burst and ai t too pretty Ti look at.not too worried what I get for her as just want her gone now as I'd say she is suffering a bit but don't want any probs with dept etc.
    Get your vet to send her in with a cert stating she's ok otherwise. If it's a local factory he could very well be inspecting her when she gets there?!

just do it wrote: »
    Get your vet to send her in with a cert stating she's ok otherwise. If it's a local factory he could very well be inspecting her when she gets there?!

Thanks Jdi have that done,he ain't the vet there tomorrow but the lad that is has already phoned him twice looking for info.right sticky whore too by all accounts

:eek:. Not much more you can do. Best of luck ;)

For such often your better sending off with the knacker.

Sound boss!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

had one last year with cancer of the eye too, sent her to factory , was no problem, i try to send such animals to the factory if possible so i dont have to pay the knacker

whelan1 wrote: »
    had one last year with cancer of the eye too, sent her to factory , was no problem, i try to send such animals to the factory if possible so i dont have to pay the knacker

that may cost you allot some day when Ag officials come knocking, they are following up allot of those type casualties and I would not like to be on the receiving end of their punishment if they deem it necessary

if you have a vets note with her, you are not chancing your arm....its not as if he's going with a similar one everyweek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭adne

Do cows need to have been bloodied with 6months brfore going to factory?

adne wrote: »
    Do cows need to have been bloodied with 6months brfore going to factory?
    no

if you have a vets note with her, you are not chancing your arm....its not as if he's going with a similar one everyweek

you guys seem to have a much more lax veterinary inspection at the slaughter houses :mad:. As you mentioned before aswell

She's gone anyway and dept vet had a right loon at her as well as lots of questions.sticky arrogant sort of fecker too.didnt like his attitude you'd swear I was after doin a number on the cow.i just wanted her killed on welfare grounds and didnt even look to see what price I was going to get.i

just hope there isnt something registered under your herd number and flashes a light about her and turning up in such a state. It really doesnt do much for the PR of the food chain with such animals going into it, considering the work allot of people are putting in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Blue Holland

just hope there isnt something registered under your herd number and flashes a light about her and turning up in such a state. It really doesnt do much for the PR of the food chain with such animals going into it, considering the work allot of people are putting in

I was told by my vet who does a day or two a week in factory that any animal with a tumour in head can't be killed in factory.
    Aren't all animals sent to knacker also inspected by vet.

I was told by my vet who does a day or two a week in factory that any animal with a tumour in head can't be killed in factory.
    Aren't all animals sent to knacker also inspected by vet.

No, only animals over 4 years are inspected for BSE testing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

had a white head cow with a bad cancer eye as well. factory had no issue.
    not uncommon with white heads apparently.

items like these are trimmed away anyway. joe public would probably not approve but there would not be scentific grounds for condeming the whole carcuss for such an item.

I don't know, I wouldn't willingly eat meat from an animal with cancer if I'd the option. Cancer can travel through the body....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Gman1987

just do it wrote: »
    I don't know, I wouldn't willingly eat meat from an animal with cancer if I'd the option. Cancer can travel through the body....

Every have a tough roast? there does be a good few silversides with growths due to needles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Anyone ever use Liffey Meats in togher, Ballinasloe? Have 3 heifers fit to go soon and thinking of giving them a go. It'I be there or Kepak Athleague.

Do all factories offer the QA bonus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

Muckit wrote: »
    Anyone ever use Liffey Meats in togher, Ballinasloe? Have 3 heifers fit to go soon and thinking of giving them a go. It'I be there or Kepak Athleague.

Do all factories offer the QA bonus?

Going there tomorrow with 30 month bullock 410 ,+qa