Weather

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,518 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Macker1 wrote: »
    When I was a bit younger and perhaps less critical I would have had a similar outlook. But now I get so feckin annoyed when I get out to play some golf and get the day ruined by absolute ****ty weather. I played twice last week and got destroyed both days by lashing rain.

The secret is to get wet but not annoyed. Dont let it ruin your round. Dont try or expect to play as well as you will on a perfect summers day.
    If you can do they above then all you have let to do is beat the small percentage of others who can also do it. Thats a lot easier than trying to beat the entire field on a lovely sunny day. Anyone can play golf in the sun.
    Only men (and ladies) can play in the rain.:P

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,888 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Can't complain about this evening, last off the course in Esker Hills, putting on the 18th in twilight, glorious evening, tomorrow good and Sunday even better!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭sodbuster77

slave1 wrote: »
    Can't complain about this evening, last off the course in Esker Hills, putting on the 18th in twilight, glorious evening, tomorrow good and Sunday even better!

Last medal of the year tomorrow and the weather looks good. Last chance for some glory.

slave1 wrote: »

played a quick 9 after work,was all wrapped up in the winter gear, 2 holes in I was peeling off the layers.
    That said as I was searching for my ball on 18 around 8pm I was glad of the extra layers!

No idea what weather to dress for tomorrow, roasting in the sun and can be chilly enough out of it......SHORTS!:D

GreeBo wrote: »
    played a quick 9 after work,was all wrapped up in the winter gear, 2 holes in I was peeling off the layers.
    That said as I was searching for my ball on 18 around 8pm I was glad of the extra layers!

No idea what weather to dress for tomorrow, roasting in the sun and can be chilly enough out of it......SHORTS!:D

Jaysus....been raining for 4 days solid now....at least it will have washed some of the sand away! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

Jaysus....been raining for 4 days solid now....at least it will have washed some of the sand away! :(

And possibly the course with it !?!? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭dan_ep82

Its giving it ok ish from tomorrow until late next week beside me. Hope it holds up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭sydneybound

Giving good calm weather this weekend and Sydney has himself three rounds planned on a nice links course, can't wait!

Well that monsoon that fell down here may just end qualifying for the year on my course :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,865 ✭✭✭TRS30

alxmorgan wrote: »
    Well that monsoon that fell down here may just end qualifying for the year on my course :(

Yep, my course was soft enough last week so can image it will be placing soon.

TRS30 wrote: »
    Yep, my course was soft enough last week so can image it will be placing soon.

Placing on fairway last w/e in my gaff so this might be it.
    Of course we have a scramble this w/e so no cut possible and I'm stuck on 12.5 :mad:

alxmorgan wrote: »
    Placing on fairway last w/e in my gaff so this might be it.
    Of course we have a scramble this w/e so no cut possible and I'm stuck on 12.5 :mad:

Bad to worse. Really looking forward to the scramble as have never played in one. First on time sheet. Arrive at club to see closed sign going up :mad::mad::mad:

Man I hate winter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,349 ✭✭✭Wombatman

We had it good for a while there lads......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,015 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Yes was out today and you could feel something on the way. It was meant to be 10 oC - But felt below 5.
    Played awful - but the wind was picking up.

Out tomorrow. My only day off in a good while.

But I can't complain. I've had near perfect weather for 2 months now.

Don't worry the 21st is 2 days away - we are on the way back to golf again soon.

Think I'd get out in Meath for a game Monday or will the weather be too severe?

dan_ep82 wrote: »
    Think I'd get out in Meath for a game Monday or will the weather be too severe?

Didn't go out yesterday with the forecast's (turns out it would have been alright) and decided for today only to wake up to gale force winds:mad:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,888 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Can't remember a darker day

Got out for 3.5 holes today...then it started to snow so we called it a day.
    The wind was one thing, funnily strong, but when the temp dropped by about 5 degrees and our hands were turning to ice it became less fun!

Got out for 3.5 holes today...then it started to snow so we called it a day.
    The wind was one thing, funnily strong, but when the temp dropped by about 5 degrees and our hands were turning to ice it became less fun!

The wind this morning is what called it for me,couple of crows getting thrown around about 100ft in the air.

Next Monday looks decent though if it holds up

Will head out tomorrow for 9 holes before the dinner. The weather since Thursday has been desperate which has been a shame as I wanted to get out a few times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭clown2brown

Played a full 18 holes at Lisheen Springs in 20-60 knot south westerly gales today. It was great fun and a real test of ones ability. The snow wasn't too bad ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

Portmarnock Links on Stephen's Day. Forecast decent, just a little nippy. Hope it doesn't deteriorate!

Would love 18 holes on Stephen's Day but hope I'm not blown away or lashed on! Last Xmas was great golfing weather. At this time of year it's great to get out for a few holes to break up the day.

Course closed due to frost and it's lovely out there now, what a bitch!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,062 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

We're promised some gale force winds friday too. Damn it as few of us are playing in the K club, as if its not hard enough!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Cracking weather down here in Tralee, hopefully it'll keep good tomorrow, the 26th, for Ballybunnion
    (I've already gotten to the stage where I've forgotten what day it is, days go out the window at this time of year, I work on dates from 24th Dec - Jan 2nd)

Enjoy the K Club on Friday Charlie, whenever that is ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,015 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

charlieIRL wrote: »
    We're promised some gale force winds friday too. Damn it as few of us are playing in the K club, as if its not hard enough!!

Charlie.

Not as bad in straffan and drifting more into Thursday.
    So will be a strong breeze. But weaker each time I look.

Jaysus lads. Should we not forget about golf for 1 day :)

Hush yo mouth ;p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭DuckSlice

Hoping to get out in the morning here in west mayo. Promised a good morning but frost so will have to wait and see what it's like! Final of our society league too so need the good weather!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

Should be fine in galway tomorrow and bursting to get out with me new toy. Should add at least 5-10 shots but at least i will know how far away each shot goes off target.