Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The NoFap Challenge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭HomelessMidge

Just seen this and started reading it.... said why not I'm gonna go for it! Today I start.

I have an addictive personality and I'm quite surprised I haven't ran into a major problem over it. I used to smoke cannabis quite heavily and was psychologically addicted. Been **** since around 11 and at one stage I was having at least 3 a day. Its gonna be tough but seems the outcome will be worth it. I'm sure my girlfriend will find it pretty good too haha.

Well ill update my status every now and again.

Anyone any tips to help?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,773 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Anyone any tips to help?

Don't touch your tip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭C14N

Just seen this and started reading it.... said why not I'm gonna go for it! Today I start.

I have an addictive personality and I'm quite surprised I haven't ran into a major problem over it. I used to smoke cannabis quite heavily and was psychologically addicted. Been **** since around 11 and at one stage I was having at least 3 a day. Its gonna be tough but seems the outcome will be worth it. I'm sure my girlfriend will find it pretty good too haha.

Anyone any tips to help?

Good for you for giving it a go. 3 a day sure is a lot, I don't think I ever got quite that bad, mainly because it would actually hurt.

If you feel sexually aroused, watch the Miley Cyrus VMA performance to instantly kill that boner! ;)

Seriously though, one thing I've found important is to not let yourself get lured in to hot-looking pictures. A lot of websites will either have ads, video thumbnails or links to other websites with pictures of attractive women (not porn, just sexy pictures) that basically act as click-bait. Don't click those thinking "well I'll just take a look, I'm not going to jerk off or anything" because it's the first push down a slippery slope. That's just my experience anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 letssee7

Anyone any tips to help?

Download an app called habitstreak. You can try and add 3 or 4 new habits to your life and quite easily keep yourself accountable. Definitely working for me. Plan on developing 2 new habits ever month and ingraining into my mind over a 2 month period!

I was as bad as you, I'm sure there have been weeks I jizzed 40 times, impressive in a sense but what the **** was I thinking :(

Have to say I feel unusually energetic today and for the first time maybe ever I feel really like a sexual being. Glad to have started this, it's pretty clear that I had a problem with this!

Well I've been **** a lot lately - going to give it a go starting from now!

The first week will be OK as I've done it before.

Weeks 2 and 3 are where I'll start to weaken - going to give it a genuine go and update my progress from time to time

C14N wrote: »
    I sometimes felt kind of ashamed but most of the time it was no more shameful than going to take a leak, even when an unfortunate roommate knocked on the door and didn't pay attention to me shouting "NOPE" :o

It's been 7 days and I only started having small urges to relapse today. Didn't help that I'm in a new city with very little to do and where I still know almost nobody and have the house to myself for the whole evening but I guess that's just a good chance to exercise willpower :pac:

Still feeling kind of down and not very motivated but when I went out for a walk this evening, for some reason I felt way more genuine confidence than I have in weeks. Hopefully this gets better.

As an adult I've never been consciously ashamed, but as a kid I certainly was. Unfortunately early experiences build into your subconscious and from my current experience this seems to have been a root of social anxiety and depression. As an adult I used it to cope with depression and anxiety so it seems as though it may have been an unexpected vicious cycle for me.

I'm aware how ridiculous this might seem to most people. I'm not doing this for religious reasons and don't think there is anything morally wrong with porn or masturbation, but seriously I'm getting major benefits from leaving it all behind!

letssee7 wrote: »
    As an adult I've never been consciously ashamed, but as a kid I certainly was. Unfortunately early experiences build into your subconscious and from my current experience this seems to have been a root of social anxiety and depression. As an adult I used it to cope with depression and anxiety so it seems as though it may have been an unexpected vicious cycle for me.

I'm aware how ridiculous this might seem to most people. I'm not doing this for religious reasons and don't think there is anything morally wrong with porn or masturbation, but seriously I'm getting major benefits from leaving it all behind!

Maybe there's the difference. I didn't actually start until I was nearly 17. It gets joked about so much that by the time I did it, it occurred to me that it was pretty normal. I started during summer exam time as something to help relieve stress and because I like distracting myself from study.

Anyway day eight, seem to still be okay, aside from more frequent sexual thoughts. I have gone this long without doing it before easily enough (usually on a holiday where I've got something else to do all day) but it's usually not very long after this that the urges start seriously creeping back. I've never made the conscious effort to abstain before though so hopefully I can fight it.

Day 1 and I'm already struggling, woke up and first instinct was to knock one out. Then later on found myself in the queue at lunchtime behind a bird I fancied the hole off.

This is going to be a long ordeal :(

How's everyone else getting on?

Day 12 for me and it's finally starting to get tough. Really wanted to go at it this morning when I woke up. I still haven't had any of the supposedly abundant wet dreams that make the whole thing easier either. Twice I had dreams where I hired a hooker (which is a weird way for one of these dreams to go) but woke up before anything happened and last night I actually had a dream about just watching soft porn.

I hope I can hold out through this bit, I have to imagine it doesn't get better until it gets worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

I lasted three days. I had a massive chunky this morning and had to do something with it

Day 8 and still holding out without any problems.

Chilly weather helps :)

Day 8 and still holding out without any problems.

Chilly weather helps :)

Yeah, I guess that's true. I'm day 16, still haven't given in, although I've been tempted. Living in Montreal, you see a lot of "massage parlours" who will do the job for you but I'll not be swayed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

Week 7 now and it doesn't really cross my mind much :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭MonaPizza

Would you not start having wet dreams again if you gave up draining the spuds for an extended period of time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

I guess so. I'm surprised to say it hasn't happened yet. I'm told that once it does, it will occur fairly frequently. Something, if I'm honest, I'm not entirely comfortable with. However I think it is better than the alternative.

Eathrin wrote: »
    I guess so. I'm surprised to say it hasn't happened yet. I'm told that once it does, it will occur fairly frequently. Something, if I'm honest, I'm not entirely comfortable with. However I think it is better than the alternative.

Yeah I kind of agree. I haven't actually gotten any yet either but to be honest I don't really see much problem with them unless you still live at home and your mammy does your washing :pac:

MonaPizza wrote: »
    Would you not start having wet dreams again if you gave up draining the spuds for an extended period of time?

Hehe well that will be a trip down memory lane!

Day 9 is surprisingly easier than Days 1-2.

I thought I'd cave very quickly but so far doing well, don't feel any different physically or psychologically though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

Ye guys are amazing, I keep starting on a monday and failing on a thursday :(

astonaidan wrote: »
    Ye guys are amazing, I keep starting on a monday and failing on a thursday :(

I'm actually kind of worried about how easy its been. For a while before I quit I didn't really get strong urges any more. When I was like 18, I would spend some days just looking forward to getting home from college and having a fap. It hasn't been like that for months though which makes me kind of uneasy.

Made a deliberate decision to relapse (without porn) on Wednesday, had been a bit down for a few days before this which may have been the root if the decision. Felt like crap the next day, not sure if it was just coincidence. Starting to feel ok again and it looks like my blue funk is over. No porn for almost a month now, probably saved myself 40-50 hours...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭HomelessMidge

Right, last time didn't work out (girlfriend was away, bad time to start this sort of ****). I am now on day 5 and I'm feeling pretty good. I have had urges and last night I had an amazing sex dream (not a wet one just a good sex one).

Anyway, GTA been helping alot so hopefully I can keep this up!

Well I've finished 3 weeks now anyway. Still haven't really noticed much of a difference to be honest, I guess it's hard to tell when I'm just incredibly stressed and get no free time anyway. I'll go to the end of the month just to finish the challenge because I know I can beat it (no pun intended) but I reckon I'll return to fapping after that, although in more moderate amounts (maybe once a week instead of once every two days).

Maybe you weren't so addicted, once every two days seems healthy. I was more like 3 times a day on average

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭nbar12

jesus this is exactly what I need to do and boards is perfect to express my struggles. I once went just over 3 weeks without having a cheeky fap and a horrible hangover made me give up! I've been home from a summer in NY nearly a month now and being unemployed and the stress of trying to find work has resulted in me fapping 3-4 times a DAY just so I could feel better. I feel better for approx 2 minutes and then I hate myself! So I'm starting from right now...going to block porn etc

**** me luck

letssee7 wrote: »
    Maybe you weren't so addicted, once every two days seems healthy. I was more like 3 times a day on average

I dunno, it still felt like a really systematic thing for a long time, like I deserved to get a gap after those 2 days. I think the most I ever did was twice in a day around when I started out and the second time just wasn't much fun. I've heard a lot of guys joke about trying the challenge and then giving up after 2 hours, does it really get that bad for some people? I always felt like I did it more than most other guys but at the same time it's not something many other guys want to talk about sincerely.

And for people who do it 3+ times a day, do you guys manage to actually get off all 3 times? Because I'm fairly sure I couldn't do that even if I tried.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 277 ✭✭BBJBIG

Jayz, lads - yis must have de Baby gravy cummin ourra yer Ears by now ...
    Yis will soon be fantasisin about de shop windaw dummies.
    Well ...
    I'm off to de Noody Gurl site. Knock a few out loike.
    I'm not called "BBJBIG" fur Nuttin, don't yis know.

I dunno, it still felt like a really systematic thing for a long time, like I deserved to get a gap after those 2 days. I think the most I ever did was twice in a day around when I started out and the second time just wasn't much fun. I've heard a lot of guys joke about trying the challenge and then giving up after 2 hours, does it really get that bad for some people? I always felt like I did it more than most other guys but at the same time it's not something many other guys want to talk about sincerely.

And for people who do it 3+ times a day, do you guys manage to actually get off all 3 times? Because I'm fairly sure I couldn't do that even if I tried.

Sometimes I could get off 3 times or more, sometimes just once. I can remember going through a month when only really hardcore things would get any reaction out of me... That was really worrying...

Gave myself a test out (without porn) after 3 weeks and my libido is as strong as I ever remember. Tbh I don't find avoiding it that difficult though and have pretty much lost all interest in porn, pretty sure I can go the 90 days without touching myself, and definitely am finished with porn forever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Apocalypse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Has anyone mentioned Seinfeld yet?

They did it.

And then Seinfeld went a bit further in Oz....

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x18kvo_seinfeld-in-oz_people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

After stumbling across this thread last night I have decided to give it a go.
    I don't really feel like I have a problem but I could do with the extra time to just get general crap done. I found it hard enough already because the lads are in college later than me today but Instead I used the time to lift a few weights and oiled the chain on my bike. I'm not going to set a specific target for myself, just going to see how long I can last :)