Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rate My Team thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

Whats the name of that screen grab extension again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭darego

Whats the name of that screen grab extension again?

gyazo, handy little thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

darego wrote: »
    gyazo, handy little thing

Cheers boss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭Danger781

darego wrote: »
    right, last :rolleyes: few changes unless people start getting injured

Why Reid? Surely Coleman or O'Shea would be better?

Unless you have a specific reason for picking him that you're not sharing :o

Edit: Otherwise I like it :)

Edit two: Could downgrade Silva to Yaya Toure to save 0.5 and upgrade your defence. I don't hold much faith in Toure or Reid (More so West Ham)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭x43r0

FYI for anyone worried about Sturridge, I heard he played in a 'closed doors' friendly last night and scroed twice so should be good to start at the weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭v3ttel

Danger781 wrote: »
    Why Reid? Surely Coleman or O'Shea would be better?

West Ham have very favourable fixtures, kept more than their fair share of cleansheets last season, and teams under Allardyce are generally solid defensively, especially at home.

Also, Sunderland have a relatively tough start, with lots of tricky away games as well as Arsenal, Liverpool and United all before GW7.

jamesbere wrote: »
    What's the thinking behind Giroud

Giroud has been banging them in in pre-season tbf. I'll probably get him after gw3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

Right lads, great to have this back, I've put together a team quickly just now, here it is!

Cech, Westwood

Brayford, Toure, Coleman, Cuellar, Terry

Walcott, Hazard, Mirallas, YaYa, Huddlestone

Sturridge, Soldado, Anelka.

.5 left in the bank, will probably downgrade defence once the 4m starters become more obvious, Bale to replace Hazard probably if the situation sorts itself.
    Anyway I think its not a bad starting team. What ye think? Haven't read the other threads here yet, so much to get through, ye really are a sad bunch of f##ckers:P

Great to have you back Swiper. Sad f##ckers you say? From the man who joined me in the Lions game :pac: I'll be reigning champion for 4 whole years now :D

I wouldn't be picking Cuellar myself especially when a certain Mickey Turner is available. The reasoning being I think Wes Brown could be 1st choice alongside O'Shea, Sunderland's start isn't the greatest and Norwich should be relatively solid and have better fixtures.

Huddlestone's a good shout as of today, a clever move from Hull. I'd have said it'd make Koren even more appealing with Hud feeding him balls.

Also I think Yaya is way overpriced although I've never taken to him in FPL terms. Do you have some cash lying spare as with no RVP or Bale Anelka looks a little out of place in an otherwise decent looking team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭Swiper the fox

Great to have you back Swiper. Sad f##ckers you say? From the man who joined me in the Lions game :pac: I'll be reigning champion for 4 whole years now :D

I wouldn't be picking Cuellar myself especially when a certain Mickey Turner is available. The reasoning being I think Wes Brown could be 1st choice alongside O'Shea, Sunderland's start isn't the greatest and Norwich should be relatively solid and have better fixtures.

Huddlestone's a good shout as of today, a clever move from Hull. I'd have said it'd make Koren even more appealing with Hud feeding him balls.

Also I think Yaya is way overpriced although I've never taken to him in FPL terms. Do you have some cash lying spare as with no RVP or Bale Anelka looks a little out of place in an otherwise decent looking team

Thank you sir!
    I figured not having Mickey T would be a differential around here:pac:

I like Sunderlands start so gone for Cuellar but shouldn't actually need to use him

Indeed YaYa was the one I was most concerned about but I've a feeling he could be a danger in the box now that Fernandinho will hold the middle.
    I've only .5m to upgrade Anelka, I'd like Berba and will probably make the space for him early on.
    I've only done it in the last few hours so there'll be changes made no doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

Thank you sir!
    I figured not having Mickey T would be a differential around here:pac:

I like Sunderlands start so gone for Cuellar but shouldn't actually need to use him

Indeed YaYa was the one I was most concerned about but I've a feeling he could be a danger in the box now that Fernandinho will hold the middle.
    I've only .5m to upgrade Anelka, I'd like Berba and will probably make the space for him early on.
    I've only done it in the last few hours so there'll be changes made no doubt.

Yeah I actually thought Sunderland's was worse, still wouldn't have any idea what they'll do under Di Canio. Mickey T is pretty much marmite at this stage I think in here :pac:

Yeah it's hard to know, a lot seem to fancy Coutinho and I'd have him myself but I've succumbed to RVP's charms as things stand. WBA have signed Vydra this week though so a potential rotation option with Anelka there.

Would it be fair to say you'll be downgrading Cech after the first week or two? As that would free up cash down the line alright.

Any Spurs players you'd recommend outside of Soldado who explains himself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭Swiper the fox

Too much choice at Spurs to see any value yet, I don't think I'd have a clue who will be in and out of favour by week 4 or 5, Paulinho will certainly be there and he could be a danger, Dawson is still great value this year as AVB clearly rates him but I think Kaboul will take his place in time, Kaboul will have more of an attacking threat as well, this is assuming they don't sign anyone else.

I'm ready to downgrade any of my back 8 to free up money, just waiting to find the guaranteed starters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭Reservations at Dorsia

While Verthongens injured, Dawson is great value

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,612 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Mignolet (Boruc)
    Toure, Ivanovic, Jenkinson, Vlaar (Coleman)
    Hazard, Walcott, Coutinho (Shelvey, Morrison)
    Soldado, Benteke, Bony

Mignolet is nailed on to start for a club with a tight defence. His price still reflects his Sunderland price, but I'd expect him to provide good value.

In Toure and Ivanovic, I have guaranteed starters in two tight defences, and hopefully Jenkinson will hold down a spot as well. Vlaar in for the double gameweek, but I'll rotate him with Coleman, who'll hopefully provide quite an attacking threat under Martinez.

Hazard, Walcott and Coutinho again are three creative guaranteed starters in attacking teams. Hazard has the double gameweek, and Walcott should be classed as a forward. Question marks over both Shelvey and Morrison to hold down first team places, but there's big potential for both of them to rise in price if they do.

Soldado is a no-brainer for me; he's the only top-class striker at one of the top clubs in the league. Benteke is also the focal point for his team. Bit of a gamble on Bony, but hoping it will come off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭darego

jenkinson will not start most weeks, sagna will be first choice week in week out in the premiership

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,143 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

I think I'm going to settle on this lineup:

Lukaku to Berbatov after GW1.
    Oscar to Nolan after GW2.
    With the 2m I've saved I will invest into defense to improve rotation coverage.
    I plan on keeping Hazard for the season, so he'll be benched for GW3.

Whenever I get a chance I'll get a playing 4m keeper to cover Mignolet, but that's low priority.
    All this goes out the window if RVP hits the ground running.

From what I can gather my bench will play bar Davis.

If there are more nailed on 4m defenders then please advise.

Had Morrison(WHam) as my 4.5 mid, but with the arrival of Downing he may be further down the pecking order.

9511797748_e6809aa743.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

Jax Teller wrote: »
    It's a 12 hour flight to and from Japan that's a full day travelling , that's bound to affect anybody never mind a professional footballer . I don't think he started many games last season after coming back from International duty .

the biggest problem is sleep after a midweek evening game. The adrenalin is pumping and players complain they generally cant get a proper nights sleep. If utd want him they will fly him back asap and he will be as fresh as most players come training friday morning. He didnt really start many games last year anyway so we have nothing to go on. I think he will start and didnt play sunday as his game today was kicking off before all other international games aswell as the travelling he had to undertake. Im not advocating picking him I just think if moyes rates him he will start as he has 10 hours more recovery time over most players. Im sure moyes picked tim cahill after international games.

My team for the coming season. Opinions or critic both welcome.

vamoooooooooooooooooos004.jpg

Not sure if Mata will start on Saturday after his international

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭RB100

Set up my team last night but have a few concerns.

Will Ivanovich play or is Cole safer bet?
    Navas or Silva?
    Bellemy or sterling?

Also does Vorm still start for Swansea?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

Not sure if Mata will start on Saturday after his international

He ain't in the Spain squad .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭OneColdHand

RB100 wrote: »
    Set up my team last night but have a few concerns.

Will Ivanovich play or is Cole safer bet?
    Navas or Silva?
    Bellemy or sterling?

Also does Vorm still start for Swansea?

Cole
    Silva
    Neither (IMO)

Yep, Vorm starts.

Cole
    Silva
    Neither (IMO)

Yep, Vorm starts.

Cheers. He's def not injured or anything no?

Yea I know but I need a midfielder for 5.5 or less..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

You are running out of disk space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭bodking

I have been building this team for my son , I think its not too bad and I will give reasons .

http://gyazo.com/6c0bde36c4f3fbabfd4e9f49d28b4878

Cech - GW1 ( benched for GW2 for Boruc who is home to Sunderland ) I may transfer Cech to Hart ill see how it goes .
    O'Brien - GW1 to Pieters GW2 back for GW3
    Mert - GW1 to Coleman GW2 back for GW3
    Torre - GW1/2 to Coleman GW3

Cazorla - GW1/2/3
    Hazard - GW1 to Koren GW2/3 Bit of a gamble
    Schneiderlin - GW1/2/3
    Hoolahan - GW1/2/3

Anelka - GW1/2/3
    RVP - GW1-38 hopefully
    Lukaku GW1 Transfer to Kone or Jelavic GW2/3

Comments on a post card or here if you prefer .

Just cfor sh*ts and giggles, I did a full Arsenal squad from fantasy football. All either trained at the academy or played for Arsenal:

gunnerstatgoons_zps68c3a966.jpg

Can't see many transfers happening!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Father Larry Duff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭highgiant1985

looking for feedback on my initial suggestion. Any areas of improvements people can offer. I'm not sure how to post team so manual method for me unfort :( my main question is will toure start for liverpool as well. If not I'd swap him in first XI for Evans.

starting XI

Keeper:
    Mignolet - STK (H)

Defense:
    Ivanovic HUL (H), AVL (H)
    Zabaleta NEW (H)
    Mertesacker AVL (H)
    Toure STK (H)

Mids:
    Fellaini NOR (A)
    Arteta AVL (H)
    Mata CaptainHUL (H), AVL (H)
    Silva NEW (H)

Forwards
    Bony MUN (H)
    Lukaku HUL (H), AVL (H)

Subs:
    Evans SWA (A)
    Anelka SOU (H)
    Lucas STK (H)
    Guzan ARS (A), CHE (A)

looking for feedback on my initial suggestion. Any areas of improvements people can offer. I'm not sure how to post team so manual method for me unfort :( my main question is will toure start for liverpool as well. If not I'd swap him in first XI for Evans.

starting XI

Keeper:
    Mignolet - STK (H)

Defense:
    Ivanovic HUL (H), AVL (H)
    Zabaleta NEW (H)
    Mertesacker AVL (H)
    Toure STK (H)

Mids:
    Fellaini NOR (A)
    Arteta AVL (H)
    Mata CaptainHUL (H), AVL (H)
    Silva NEW (H)

Forwards
    Bony MUN (H)
    Lukaku HUL (H), AVL (H)

Subs:
    Evans SWA (A)
    Anelka SOU (H)
    Lucas STK (H)
    Guzan ARS (A), CHE (A)

Are you thinking of keeping your 3 strikers? I don't think they will give you as many returns as if you had at least on big striker such as RVP. Maybe downgrade one of your mids for better forward?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭highgiant1985

RB100 wrote: »
    Are you thinking of keeping your 3 strikers? I don't think they will give you as many returns as if you had at least on big striker such as RVP. Maybe downgrade one of your mids for better forward?

Thanks for the feedback. I had considered it but who is a better forward that will get points.... Anelka as a forward is only 5.5m which is cheap and he's the back up.

Torres - I'm not convinced he'll fire this season either

Robin V P - would love to but hes just to expensive I think the stronger mid field will hold up more point in the first few weeks esp given Utds tough start to the season though I might try to bring him in after a while if I can.

Rooney - at Utd he'll not be the main striker so see him as good but not great and not certain to get lots of points. Funnily if he moved to chelsea id be more inclined to bring him in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Little Bubbles

First draft. Please comment on possible changes.
    Cech, boruc

Reid,mertesacker,Coleman,turner,brayford

Wallcott,mirallas,courtinho,hazard,wilshire,

Lukaku,benteke,anelka