If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

horrible or awkward dating experiences

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Amerika wrote: »
    After graduating high school I got a summer job at the largest beer festival in the US, which ran for about a month, before heading off to college. One morning................

Amerika, you need to write a screenplay based on this stuff!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

The girl he was dating was Sarah Palin. True story.

• Site Banned Posts: 4 onslow_murphy

most horrible were the ones where all appeared to have went well , the girl claimed to have really enjoyed herself , agreed to another date yet then never followed through

lesson = just because a woman seems to like you , she may not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭shane9689

most horrible were the ones where all appeared to have went well , the girl claimed to have really enjoyed herself , agreed to another date yet then never followed through

lesson = just because a woman seems to like you , she may not

wouldnt worry about it, girls flake all the time for loads of different reasons, maybe she did like you but just wasnt attracted to you, or she had a boyfriend secretly or shes gay or she doesnt want a relationship...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,706 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Posted this on a similar thread a couple of years ago, but I know a guy who pulled a girl at college party. They were going at it upstairs when halfway through, the girl says "this is ****" and got up and left.

Never felt so much pity for a lad in my life

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Posted this on a similar thread a couple of years ago, but I know a guy who pulled a girl at college party. They were going at it upstairs when halfway through, the girl says "this is ****" and got up and left.

Never felt so much pity for a lad in my life

Wow, that's rough.

(That's what she said...)

• Site Banned Posts: 4 onslow_murphy

shane9689 wrote: »
    wouldnt worry about it, girls flake all the time for loads of different reasons, maybe she did like you but just wasnt attracted to you, or she had a boyfriend secretly or shes gay or she doesnt want a relationship...

I don't even consider myself attractive and would not be remotely offended by someone who stated such a fact

my gripe is with those who claim to have enjoyed dates , agreed to another one , then welch , now that is slightly obnoxious and borderline dishonest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Esoteric_ wrote: »
    Had agreed in theory to a date with somebody I'd been chatting to online for a few days.

Was out with friends, a bit drunk, when he messaged me, asking to meet up. I figured it was a good time, because I could go back to my friends after.

Guy spent the whole time talking about how his ex broke his heart, even crying a little at one point.

I eventually left (after about 20 minutes!) and got a text to say how lovely I am and that he thought he might be falling in love with me. :eek:

Needless to say, I changed my phone number.

I only cried because you told me you liked a guy in touch with his feelings. You are like that other harpy :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

First time I ever met someone from the Internet, we both travelled a distance and I freaked out so bad I didn't think I was gonna go meet him. Thankfully wed been texting a while and he was really sweet and patient and I eventually calmed down enough to go through with actually meeting him.

Second time about a week later, we made plans to meet again and go cinema. I was super nervous (but not as bad as first time) and I waited for him at a pub, shovelling many many double vodkas and west coast coolers into me. It got to the stage where the barman put up the last round of drinks, and was like "eh are all these for you". Mortifying now when I think about it. Anyway, we went to the cinema and I fell asleep on him. :/

We're still really good friends though, so meh! Was grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,594 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

I don't even consider myself attractive and would not be remotely offended by someone who stated such a fact

my gripe is with those who claim to have enjoyed dates , agreed to another one , then welch , now that is slightly obnoxious and borderline dishonest

Maybe she just didn't want any awkwardness at the end of the first date by saying she wasn't interested in seeing you again? I've been on' internet' dates with guys who agreed they'd like to see me again, we ended the night on a nice note (or maybe even a kiss) and then....nothing. I got the message after a couple of days. At least we were spared an awkward goodbye at the end of the initial date, if they had told me they weren't interested in pursuing it any further. Maybe not the best way to go about it, but such is dating :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭Dark Artist

Here's an awful one that happened to me.

About a month after myself and my boyfriend broke up (I'm a dude), I was feeling kind of sh*tty so I checked out Grindr to see if there was anything on there that could potentially make me feel better. I came across the profile of a guy I had seen on the train previously and thought was cute - never even considered he might be gay, but here he was, so it was kind of perfect. I sent him a message, he came over for a few drinks. Really cool, nice, interesting guy. Things were going places - I'm a designer so I asked if he wanted to see my portfolio.

In my portfolio was a sketch of my ex that I had been meaning to take out. My date recognized him.

Turns out they had hooked up with each other the weekend before and gone home together from a club. Talk about a bizarre happening, but also quite hurtful and weird to hear it from the horse's mouth. I told him he had to go and he understood. In all fairness he felt absolutely terrible and even texted me the next day apologizing again, but it wasn't his fault. It was just really unfortunate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Katgurl wrote: »
    Way too many bad dates -

I was once introduced to a guy by a mutual friend via email.After a bit of email banter we arranged to meet for a drink in two days. He seemed clever, articulate, amusing so I was looking forward to meeting him. I then went for some apres work drinks and proceeded to get completely annihilated. I looked like cr@p too. Despite this, I managed to score some bloke but not before having a public row with his obnoxious mate who I told to f**k right off in no uncertain terms. Obviously I was thrilled when I turned up for the blind date two days later to be greeted by Obnoxious Mate (even worse I didn't even recognise him, I'd been so buckled). I tried to fob it off by pretending I had a similar looking sister but he was having none of it.

If you're completely annihilated drunk, tell someone to f*ck off and can't recognise them when you meet them 2 days later he may not have been the obnoxious person in the situation!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Went on a first date where we got in an argument over "rape" - she was off the opinion that if a girl dresses "like slut" she is asking to be raped- i disagreed..

I wrote an unneccesary long post about it here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭Amerika

LOL… Perhaps I should start with the time I ran off to the Woodstock Festival in 1969, at 12 years old, and was returned back by authorities when I got across the New York border hitchhiking. "I tried to get to Woodstock and all I got for my efforts was a severe beating from an rabid Irish mother."
    The girl he was dating was Sarah Palin. True story.
    LOL... she was a bit after my time… but here is a picture I did take of her (true story)
    Palin.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Horribly coincidental really, but having posted this in the trivial annoyances thread-
    Czarcasm wrote: »
    Continuing the urinary theme, when you're on "the baby train", well, that's what it fcuking feels like right now-

I'm afraid to look up because there's kids everywhere, and I know before the train took off one child had already pissed on his seat.

I can't move carriages because I'm wedged in beside the window by a rather large lady, normally I wouldn't even mind that, but she's a rather large and aesthetically challenged lady with a temper that could only compete with her stroppy two year old. Two more hours of this....

Thank fcuk for headphones at least.

I realised about ten minutes later that I recognised this girl! There was no mistaking that ginger hair that even 20 years later was done in the same pony tail, fringe out front style!

I went out with her 20 years ago, she's from my home town, and her and her friend here were organising drinks at 6 down the very same pub that 20 years ago we were drinking in!

I don't think she recognises me. I'll just keep staring into the phone :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

Just got this message on a dating site, really made me laugh.

'Eh I've already told my mam you're my girlfriend so I suppose we should start chatting now'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

'Eh I've already told my mam you're my girlfriend so I suppose we should start chatting now'

His opener is better then my usual of sending a penis pic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭mad turnip

I keep reading posts with you talking about your boyfriend and now dating websites are you in some kind of open relationship?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭harney

mad turnip wrote: »
    are you in some kind of open relationship?

He asks wishfully while crossing the fingers on his mouse hand

harney wrote: »
    He asks wishfully while crossing the fingers on his mouse hand

Really wanted to ask this question in an innocent way, but being on a tablet its not easy :'(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Christ the Redeemer

Dude looked like a lady. Worst **** ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭harney

Really wanted to ask this question in an innocent way, but being on a tablet its not easy :'(

I am sure it's hard no matter what way you look at it :/

I keep reading posts with you talking about your boyfriend and now dating websites are you in some kind of open relationship?

We used to be boyfriend/girlfriend, now we just sleep together but spend loads of time together and everyone thinks we're going out. Just easier to say he's my boyfriend. Meh...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

Went online dating with a pal in London years ago...he had organised for us to meet these 2 aussie girls. Walked in, they were sat at the table and they seemed grand. Noticed they were fairly aggressively pouring back the drinks, ...fair enough. The one i was sat with gets up to go to the jacks, can hardly walk due to some problem with her ankle. Transpires they were wrecked the night before climbing up building sites and she hurt her ankle jumping off stuff. Hmmm...bit worrying. Few more drinks...the two of them start ripping stuff off the wall. Stuff like posters and decorations from a party the night before, they started throwing them at random punters. Naturally we were kicked out. Shuffled them off to another pub, on the way (had to almost carry her due to rickety foot) the 2 girls started shouting racist abuse at some black guy (starts with n, rhymes with bigger) and demanding he sold them drugs. Apologised profusely to him and got rid of the guy before he got punchy which did look imminent, we then told them we were off to the cash machine to pay us all in to some club or other and quickly jumped in a black cab (all happened in London) to escape. Saw one of them getting stuck into to some homeless lad with a beard sat on the footpath as the other one shouted at both of them as we sat in a cab at the traffic lights beside them.

Pair of savages...sad to say my pals & I didn't take off after they tried wrecking the first pub, but they were fairly well built for savages !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

We used to be boyfriend/girlfriend, now we just sleep together but spend loads of time together and everyone thinks we're going out. Just easier to say he's my boyfriend. Meh...

This always ends well....

I am pie wrote: »
    This always ends well....

I know, I know. We're both happy with the situation as it is and if either of us meets someone we'll just be friends :)

I think he has a different idea

I won't come crying to you if it goes tits up then.

Silly post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,928 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

I fart once a year. He caught me on a bad day! I burp like a monster though.

Ever.... burp up a chicken bone?