Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

CianRyan wrote: »
    Get a defender.

Some difference between a Defender and a Disco

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

Peugeot, citreon and merc are on the main strip. When I was there a few weeks ago there was a classic car auction too !

I've been to see them already!:)
    I was wondering if there were anymore.
    Or is it more just stumble across classics?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

I'm far too amused by this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Scortho wrote: »
    Headin to Paris tomorrow with the woman. Anyone know where to spot some old French classics there?
    I know Peugeot and Citroen have dealerships with some restored classics.

Key problem there is you think that your lady will actually let you go to look at cars when you're in the Romantic Capital of the world! It ain't gonna happen! :

On a side note a beach is one place my car will never go, too nervous of sand getting everywhere and salt water corroding the eff out of my suspension etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

@Paris: my girlfriend came into every car show room with me. :D

@Defender: You're all correct but they just look much tougher. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

@paris: went to everything car related also. Paris doesnt have much ti do in it anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

I'm far too amused by this

After my last "holiday" I will not even watch that film!

Max Power1 wrote: »
    After my last "holiday" I will not even watch that film!

Ah it's a good laugh, I'm not one for bashing them, but it has all they stereotypes rolled into one video

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭thecomedian

All going well ill have my new (to me) car in the morning :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

All going well ill have my new (to me) car in the morning :)

And as usual, you leave us in suspense!!!! Come on...out with it!!!!! :D

Ooh I think I might know ;)

No :)

Well it's no v8 or v6.
    It's a smaller engine than the last one.
    It's an auto, I wanted a manual.
    It's got 4 doors, there you go Dave.

Ooh I think I might know ;)

It's changed since the last few questions I asked.

Ah well then I don't know, I look forward to seeing what it is though :)

It's a very clean car.
    I'll have pics up once i have it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Ah it's a good laugh, I'm not one for bashing them, but it has all they stereotypes rolled into one video

Thanks for sharing, some Googling and I found the name of the show thats from, Monkey Dust. Cant believe I didnt hear of it before, it seems hilarious!

Matt Simis wrote: »
    Thanks for sharing, some Googling and I found the name of the show thats from, Monkey Dust. Cant believe I didnt hear of it before, it seems hilarious!

The brother showed it to me, he's more the cyclist in the family and I thought I'd stick it up on here for the giggles

No :)

Well it's no v8 or v6.
    It's a smaller engine than the last one.
    It's an auto, I wanted a manual.
    It's got 4 doors, there you go Dave.

330i???

330i???

Were you searching all that time :)

Didn't search anything actually, just a guess!

166man wrote: »
    Key problem there is you think that your lady will actually let you go to look at cars when you're in the Romantic Capital of the world! It ain't gonna happen! :

On a side note a beach is one place my car will never go, too nervous of sand getting everywhere and salt water corroding the eff out of my suspension etc.

Ah you see we were in Paris last year as well so we've done every main attraction.
    Invalides is on my list while Paris plage (beach on the banks of the seine) is on hers. Other than that we've done them all, so it'll mainly be wandering around and cafes and stuff.
    Oh and trying to not get caught looking at the ladies of the night who'll be on our street (she wouldn't let me book and ended up booking the red light street.:D)

Anyway She thinks old cars look cool so hopefully have no problem there. She just fears driving them.

And feck no a car and sand should never be seen together.

Ah man, you making me jealous.
    Two nights was not enough on that city, might have to drive over with herself when I get the Mazda going. :D

CianRyan wrote: »
    Ah man, you making me jealous.
    Two nights was not enough on that city, might have to drive over with herself when I get the Mazda going. :D

Haha if you do, take her around the roundabout at the arc du triomphe, sideways! :pac:

Although I nearly preferred Berlin. Something has to be said about stumbling out of tresor 2 hours before your flight. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,842 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Scortho wrote: »
    Haha if you do, take her around the roundabout at the arc du triomphe, sideways! :pac:

Although I nearly preferred Berlin. Something has to be said about stumbling out of tresor 2 hours before your flight. :D

The secret about the etoile junction is that it isn't a roundabout and Parisian drivers entering at (say) 5pm on the clock face wanting to get off at 10pm will just drive directly across and not conform to any roundabout style driving. Maniacs, but it works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Starter motor gone in the focus :(

Bad buzz. Need to go online and look up prices after work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Fair play to the security gaurd in Dundalk motor tax office.

He walked in and ate the head of a taxi driver who had blocked 4 disabled spots and the wheelchair ramp in the car park. He made him go out and move it.

My Deatailing Shed goodies have been shipped. :pac:
    I am excited, my next day off just won't come quick enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Ronnie Beck

Starter motor gone in the focus :(

Bad buzz. Need to go online and look up prices after work

recon ones off ford are supposed to be your best bet

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056900662

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

recon ones off ford are supposed to be your best bet

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056900662

Reading up alternator could be a possibility too but when I opened bonnet to look at starter the alarm went off so I'm stumped.

Will get a mate out to have a look tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Reading up alternator could be a possibility too but when I opened bonnet to look at starter the alarm went off so I'm stumped.

Will get a mate out to have a look tbh

Dunno about that, they do entirely different things.

Dead starter - car wont turn over, like Immobiliser issue, might make high pitched screaming as the starter spins without engaging flywheel, but likely no noise at all as its siezed.. try whacking it with a big iron bar.

Dead alternator - battery wont charge, car should turn over and start assuming you have power in battery, however will discharge battery in minutes (depending how bad alternator is), misfire, then engine will cut out (and obviously then not start as no power in battery).