Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The NoFap Challenge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

Eramen wrote: »
    About a year ago before my own NoFap experience I would have happily categorized myself as the latter, a moderate user with absolutely no detrimental effects on my life. But it's only when a person stops do they fully comprehend the effects, big and small. And I found there actually were serious effects, and negligible ones that porn/fap had on me.

I don't think it can be fully appreciated without actually trying out a period of abstinence, how much of an affect these things are having on you mind and body [Unless it's very rare that you use hardcore porn and/or masturbation, in that case it very well could have minimal negative effects.]

Celibacy has it's own effects, and on the whole they are much preferable to the short term gains of regular fapping, IMO. But a person needs to actually try and compare before disrespect one side or the other. There's plenty of rushed conclusions on this thread, but only one or two who've actually completed the challenge and have an all-round perspective.

What if you're going out with a girl who has a high sex drive and wants to ride you every day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,773 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    What if you're going out with a girl who has a high sex drive and wants to ride you every day?

Then you're a lucky fcuker.
    Sex is both allowed and encouraged on nofap. It's just ****. And mainly **** to porn that's not allowed.

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Nah man, I'm really doing it, completed day 3 and a good few hours into day four.

Its getting tough, all I can think about is not fapping, I couldn't sleep last night either and I'm getting blue balls I think its called when your testicles start hurting.

So far to the no fapping challenge I've only suffered negatives, as I said all I think about is "don't fap don't fap, before id fap and move on with my life.

Maybe someone can tell me when the benefits start happening, I'll stick with though see how long I can hold out though I'm off work at 7 and I can see me coming home and having a marathon **** session.

Apparently after the first few days or after a week or so, there's a massive lull where you just can't get a hard on at all. It's supposed to be the point where your body begins to reset.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

3 days done. No problems so far. I haven't even been keeping that busy...it's just all about self control.

Grayson wrote: »
    Sex is both allowed and encouraged on nofap. It's just ****. And mainly **** to porn that's not allowed.

What about pillow humping? ;)

No I'm aware of the concept, its just Eramen was talking about dopamine levels and all that jazz with relation to ejaculation. I was just pointing out that if you're riding a lot you'll still be ejaculating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭snausages

The biggest differences I noticed when I tried it was to my attention span. Much better focus and less likely to be distracted. You'd want to minimise the amount of time you spend on the internet. Obviously though the internet is an unavoidable aspect of life for a lot of people and even more difficult to avoid if you have an internet enabled phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭MarriedButBi

I try this from time to time but never get much beyond a week, and that's with getting action at home. the hornier I get the less str8 my fantasies and desires become, so fapping is a selfless pursuit really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭KingFling

3rd day into the challenge. Not too difficult so far. Not seeing the wife for another 10 days so gonna do my best to go that far and see how I get on. If she or I notice any 'differences' then I be going 'NoFap' for good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Just completed day 4,

When I have something to do I'm grand, its my idle time at home when it becomes almost unbearable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭shootie

Good tips for people struggling that helped me when I first started...

1) Install K9 web protection on your computer. Block pornography. Enter a random password and set it for however many days you wish to do the challenge. Use http://www.futureme.org/ to email you this password at the finish date.

2) Feeling the hardness of the challenge? Stretch, it sends blood away from your mushroom tip.

3) Write a short note about how you currently feel mentally and physically. Every few days look back on it and compare to the present moment. Progress is motivating.

Eramen wrote: »
    It could be argued that a significant number of young men especially have dealings with porn and **** where it has gone beyond healthy or normal. Most of my friends would be on some level, be forming or have formed addiction to hardcore porn, accompanied by the solo handshake. They are not an exception. They are not 'oddities', they are average, normal guys.

There is a danger in anecdotally extrapolating a society wide view of things from your own circle of friends. Perhaps - for example - you merely attract masturbation addicts as friends.

I can tell you my anecdote is the exact opposite of the above. I have a wide circle of friends - almost none of whom appear to have any work or social or porn or masturbation or relationship issues at all. In fact I can think of one single person in the entire large group who I think spends too much of his time gaming - engrossed in DVD movies - and porn.

It really comes down to something that has nothing to do with porn at all. Moderation. In all things. ANYthing taken to an extreme will have negative impacts on your life. Those of us who have no isse whatsoever with moderating our use of things - masturbation included - simply fail to recognise any utility in what you preach.

Those whoever who can not - such as your chosen circle of friends - will clearly benefit from abstaining from whatever it is their failure to moderate may be. Including masturbation.

That is the bit I still am not getting about the thread. What is the difference really? In terms of any actual harm I mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭CdeC

I can tell you my anecdote is the exact opposite of the above. I have a wide circle of friends - almost none of whom appear to have any work or social or porn or masturbation or relationship issues at all.

When did you move to Stepford??

No way, everyone has issues which come and go. Part of life. Maybe your friends don't tell you their issues??

what are the advantages of no fap any who ?

I'm on day 4 now. With the long weekend and being at home for long periods it's been tough. You'll have better sex when the time comes, you be quicker to reload, you'll have huge desire for the other person i.e. less likely to be turned off if they have slight imperfections and don't look like porn stars etc.

You'll feel better for it and as a human you should be able to resist urges to prove to yourself that you are mentally strong. Similar to quitting smoking etc. You won't feel the benefits until you feel them ;)

What about pillow humping? ;)

No I'm aware of the concept, its just Eramen was talking about dopamine levels and all that jazz with relation to ejaculation. I was just pointing out that if you're riding a lot you'll still be ejaculating.
    That is the bit I still am not getting about the thread. What is the difference really? In terms of any actual harm I mean?

It's about the trigger that causes the release of dopamine. If you're constantly **** to porn, your body/mind becomes attuned to that. You start getting aroused at the thought of porn, but not at the thought of women. Guys who only **** occasionally (even with porn) are not doing it so much that it changes their brains reward response.

Imagine this scenario, a guy **** so much to porn that he tries to have a **** without porn but can barely get it up. That's because the mind has adapted it's reward response to porn rather than the idea of women. If that guy goes without porn for a while, the body resets itself. That's all this is about. It's about porn addiction.
    A bit of porn every so often is ok, but if a guy constantly watches it and **** his brain will eventually rewire itself to reward one behavior and not another. Eventually the reward response stops rewarding thoughts of women and only rewards for porn. This is because the brain can't tell the difference between something real and something that isn't.

So screwing a woman every day is ok, that's a natural reward response. But porn/**** every day will eventually move that reward response over to porn. Many guys on nofap suffer from erectile dysfunction, lack of interest in women or other effects of porn addiction. By completing nofap it resets the body/mind back to a more natural state.

Some of them claim it makes other areas of their life rewarding because it gives them discipline etc... just like training for a marathon or eating healthily can. But that's not why they started. They all started because they were **** too much and this was having a detrimental affect on their lives. Many talk about how they've lost wifes/girlfriends because they were unable to have a healthy sex life. This is because normally their bodies should react to the women in their lives, but because their brains had become attuned to porn rather than real life, they were unable to.

None of them believe that **** is wrong (Well, I've seen a couple of religious people on it and they seem to. but besides the odd few).
    Think of it like a couple of beers. Having a couple of beers on say a monday and wednesday with friends is ok. But if you start your day with a couple, and then have a couple before you cook dinner. Then a few more when you finish dinner, then a few more before you go to bed. And if you do that every day for years and you do it alone without friends, your an alcoholic. The sex equivalent is having an **** or having sex. It's in moderation (the ****) or it's part of a social gathering (Which would be the equivalent of having sex in this analogy). Drinking at home every night alone is the equivalent of a porn addiction. The only way to stop is to just stop and let your body/brain reset. That's the only way to deal with any addiction. afterwards if you can control it, sure have a beer or two. That's what the guys on nofap are aiming for. They are trying to reset their bodies back to a normal sexual response to women as opposed to the unhealthy sexual response to porn.

It's about the trigger that causes the release of dopamine. If you're constantly **** to porn, your body/mind becomes attuned to that. You start getting aroused at the thought of porn, but not at the thought of women. Guys who only **** occasionally (even with porn) are not doing it so much that it changes their brains reward response.

Imagine this scenario, a guy **** so much to porn that he tries to have a **** without porn but can barely get it up. That's because the mind has adapted it's reward response to porn rather than the idea of women. If that guy goes without porn for a while, the body resets itself. That's all this is about. It's about porn addiction.
    A bit of porn every so often is ok, but if a guy constantly watches it and **** his brain will eventually rewire itself to reward one behavior and not another. Eventually the reward response stops rewarding thoughts of women and only rewards for porn. This is because the brain can't tell the difference between something real and something that isn't.

Why not just do it in moderation then? I don't see why a person needs to stop all together. You could also watch porn with your partner

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,026 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Why not just do it in moderation then? I don't see why a person needs to stop all together. You could also watch porn with your partner

The real problem is when you a) can't self-moderate and b) don't have a partner.

Most people here just seem to be doing it for the laugh though. A simple personal challenge, rather than a major intervention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

The real problem is when you a) can't self-moderate and b) don't have a partner.

Most people here just seem to be doing it for the laugh though. A simple personal challenge, rather than a major intervention.

I'm mostly doing it for the laugh/personal challenge. Part of me is also doing it to provide a bit more motivation for myself to go out and get laid (I'm newly single) - if it works, great. If not, at least I've proven to myself I can go without for a while at least if I wanted to.

I don't think having a **** or watching porn is wrong or destructive at all to most people as long as it's done in some sort of moderate way, nor is it destructive to me for that matter (I haven't really been overdoing it - once or twice a day). As I said, I'm mostly just doing it for the simple personal challenge, and for the laugh

Like our insect overlords state, most of these guys don't have partners. But for the ones that do it doesn't matter, because it's still an addiction.

The chemistry of addiction is both complicated but simple. The simple part of addiction is that our body rewards certain behaviors naturally. These are behaviors that are beneficial. eating certain foods, having sex etc... Addictions occur when we overload the response behavior. Foe example bingeing on food or porn.

We wouldn't advise an alcoholic to cut down. This is because they can't. One drink will lead to another. The same for the guys on nofap. If they tried to moderate it would cause three issues.

1) The addiction chain won't be broken. A smoker who cuts down from 20 a day to 5 a day is still an addict. They're just not indulging their addiction as much.

2) it's easier to relapse.

3) even if they do manage to ween down, say in smoking terms from 20 a day to 10 a day over three months, to 5 a day over the next three months, it's just taking forever. The same job could be done in 1 month by stopping completely.

Unlike smoking, **** is healthy in small doses (Smoking isn't at all) so the best way to get rid of the addiction is to stop completly. Hopefully replace **** with sex by getting a relationship. But if not, to avoid porn. Because they are addicts.

CdeC wrote: »
    When did you move to Stepford??

No way, everyone has issues which come and go. Part of life. Maybe your friends don't tell you their issues??

Context is everything. I mean the kind of issues being described on THIS thread in relation to having the kind of addictions THIS thread is about. People have issues of course. But what Eramen is trying to tell us is that "a significant number of young men especially have dealings with porn and **** where it has gone beyond healthy or normal." and he is making that claim off the back of nothing but the kind of friends he personally has.
    It's about the trigger that causes the release of dopamine. If you're constantly **** to porn, your body/mind becomes attuned to that. You start getting aroused at the thought of porn, but not at the thought of women.

Are there citations and studies to back up that this is actually what happens or is this just what you feel has happened to you and/or someone you know? Are there scans and studies showing and of this "rewiring" or is it just a sales pitch that sounds good and convicing on paper?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭fro9etb8j5qsl2

Like our insect overlords state, most of these guys don't have partners. But for the ones that do it doesn't matter, because it's still an addiction.

The chemistry of addiction is both complicated but simple. The simple part of addiction is that our body rewards certain behaviors naturally. These are behaviors that are beneficial. eating certain foods, having sex etc... Addictions occur when we overload the response behavior. Foe example bingeing on food or porn.

We wouldn't advise an alcoholic to cut down. This is because they can't. One drink will lead to another. The same for the guys on nofap. If they tried to moderate it would cause three issues.

1) The addiction chain won't be broken. A smoker who cuts down from 20 a day to 5 a day is still an addict. They're just not indulging their addiction as much.

2) it's easier to relapse.

3) even if they do manage to ween down, say in smoking terms from 20 a day to 10 a day over three months, to 5 a day over the next three months, it's just taking forever. The same job could be done in 1 month by stopping completely.

Unlike smoking, **** is healthy in small doses (Smoking isn't at all) so the best way to get rid of the addiction is to stop completly. Hopefully replace **** with sex by getting a relationship. But if not, to avoid porn. Because they are addicts.

The Allen Carr guide to stopping **** permanently :pac:

Are there citations and studies to back up that this is actually what happens or is this just what you feel has happened to you and/or someone you know? Are there scans and studies showing and of this "rewiring" or is it just a sales pitch that sounds good and convicing on paper?

Why would I be trying to make a sales pitch? Seriously, can you suggest any reason I'd be making this up, or let's face it, you're saying I'm lying.

there have been links provided earlier in this thread. Did you watch/read them? Did you read anything on the nofap board on reddit?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭CastingCouch

I hate the way what's supposed to be a bit of fun (i.e seeing can you abstain from ****, because it's so good) turns into something so unfun.

KingFling wrote: »
    I'm on day 4 now. With the long weekend and being at home for long periods it's been tough. You'll have better sex when the time comes, you be quicker to reload, you'll have huge desire for the other person i.e. less likely to be turned off if they have slight imperfections and don't look like porn stars etc.

You'll feel better for it and as a human you should be able to resist urges to prove to yourself that you are mentally strong. Similar to quitting smoking etc. You won't feel the benefits until you feel them ;)

Question You'll have better sex when the time comes, you be quicker to reload, you'll have huge desire for the other person

THIS is so true I was with someone a few weeks again and my desire was so low cas I masturbate a lot

im on day 2 any who

I except this to happen next time I have sex 0:29

Question You'll have better sex when the time comes, you be quicker to reload, you'll have huge desire for the other person

You'll be quicker to cum more like it. It would be more like the pre-mature ejaculation scene from American Pie. :pac:

Depends on how you have sex!! Foreplay etc. Pre-mature ejaculation is not big deal, just head back down south, more fore play, reload and continue :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Pug160

I can understand why masturbating to porn can become potentially unhealthy but I don't see any problem with masturbating in general. I'm sure that a lot of guys who don't have sexual partners aren't actually choosing masturbation over actual sex. It's a release and it's perfectly healthy. Giving up smoking is not comparable as it's been pretty much established that smoking can be very harmful to your health. The higher testosterone theory is a myth. Also it's been reported that regular ejaculations can be healthy for the prostate and reduce the risk of cancer developing in that area.

If abstaining works for an individual then that's great. But to suggest that it's right for everybody is very poor advice IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

once a day is ok, yeh?

No no, you'll go straight to hell boy.

When I was in school the priest used to say, "If you **** it stunts your growth and you'll go blind." I said, "I'm over here ye short fecker."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Day 5 completed

I think its getting a little easier, I find myself a lot more active over the past few days particularly spending hours a day on my bike or go out socializing.

I can see myself becoming slightly more Alpha male, I'm extremely easy going but over the past few days I've become more assertive. Also I'm texting girls I half know, before I wouldn't be at that much.