Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,842 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Bought a Grand Cherokee today. :)

You're just copying the late lamented RJ.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

The OH is about to take possession of a 2000 E class.

I'm suffering from a rare moment of practicality and thinking of selling the GTV and using his C5 that he has now for a few months :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Stheno wrote: »

I'm suffering from a rare moment of practicality and thinking of selling the GTV and using his C5 that he has now for a few months :eek:

Get a hold of yourself woman!! That's normal person sensible talk!! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Unless you plan on using that money to buy a V6, get a hold of yourself. :p

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Get a hold of yourself woman!! That's normal person sensible talk!! :pac:
    CianRyan wrote: »
    Unless you plan on using that money to buy a V6, get a hold of yourself. :p

well you are kind of there Cian.

The C5 is an 03, it's in good nick, very reliable been serviced when we've had it etc.

It also accomodates the vast amount of gear I need for sailing/gym.

Haven't driven the alfa in months, OH has been driving it, as I've been travelling for work and it's more practical to take the C5, and then if I'm sailing, the chuffing gear takes up the whole of the backseat.

Now the alfa is off for the respray this weekend, I suspect I'll fall in love with it again, but it will be easier to sell I think than the C5 and I can chunter around in a boring practical car for a few months, then look at gt type cars

Thoughts?

I'll definitely miss the road hugginess, the C5 feels like it's going to capsize when I drive it like the alfa :(

The C5 is an 03, it's in good nick, very reliable been serviced when we've had it etc.

Haven't driven the alfa in months, OH has been driving it, as I've been travelling for work and it's more practical to take the C5, and then if I'm sailing, the chuffing gear takes up the whole of the backseat.

Now the alfa is off for the respray this weekend, I suspect I'll fall in love with it again, but it will be easier to sell I think than the C5 and I can chunter around in a boring practical car for a few months, then look at gt type cars

Thoughts?

I'll definitely miss the road hugginess, the C5 feels like it's going to capsize when I drive it like the alfa :(

Just lean out for counter balance. :p
    I haven't been sailing in years, I loved it in college. :/

Make decision on the Alfa once you see it with fresh paint. It'll be liking seeing it again for the first time. :D

• Moderators Posts: 12,425 ✭✭✭✭Black_Knight

Got a sneak peak at my dads new car. Looks like a massive bird shat on it

20130801_164345.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Thoughts?

Dont do it!

I loved my c5 when I had it, but I couldnt go back now. Keep both :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Why the f*ck do people taxing their cars have to brong so much un-necessary sh*te with them to tax a car? And be all snobby about it???

I guess this place brings all the shower of sh*tes under the sun into one big cesspit :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

dgt wrote: »
    Why the f*ck do people taxing their cars have to brong so much un-necessary sh*te with them to tax a car? And be all snobby about it???

I guess this place brings all the shower of sh*tes under the sun into one big cesspit :mad:

Going in this early in the month is always hell, I always wait a week or so to let the place calm down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

You'll find it hard to sell the gtv even with the respray. I'd keep it for weekends of you can afford to (find a way too, there's always a way) and use the c5 during the weekdays.
    Gives you something to look forward to come Friday evening!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Hal1 wrote: »

Was reading that.

They clearly don't want his custom and what they've done is given a quote so one would assume they couldn't be forced to do so should he run to the UK equivalent of the declined cases committee.

Isn't Salford a known hole in Manchester?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

To be fair to the insurance company, they are reducing the population of corsa's. Something maybe our transport minister will be thinking about in his oval office...

Edit: Thor striking his hammer here :O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,732 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

MugMugs wrote: »
    Isn't Salford a known hole in Manchester?

Some parts of Salford are (or at least were - Salford 7 was a notorious Hole), but he's in Salford Quays, which is fairly alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Well I think I'm finally back to normality in civvie land :)

Lots of cars to sort out.... :p

Also, 406 is quite nice to drive as is, I think I'll leave it alone for now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,842 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

R.O.R wrote: »
    Some parts of Salford are (or at least were - Salford 7 was a notorious Hole), but he's in Salford Quays, which is fairly alright.

Surely it's gone downhill sicne most of the BBC moved there....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Katunga

Also, 406 is quite nice to drive as is, I think I'll leave it alone for now :)

:eek: DGT are you feeling ok?

Bit of a status update regarding the bumper and lark at this hoor lovely house

The filler that was in it has given way, and there's a hoor of a crack behind it, so that needs the be taken care of first, so got a fastglas kit along with YbFocus's filler and gona tackle that later on, 95% of the paint is off it now the only area left to do it around where the crack is so In time it'l be done, got my new gearstick and handbrake leather on (with a bit of pikeying) but it looks the shtuff!

In other unrelated stuff, I was sitting outside a doctors when it started thundering and lightning, within 5 seconds of this, thunderstruck by AC/DC came on

I also went to the zoo yesterday :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Bit of a status update regarding the bumper and lark at this hoor lovely house
    got my gearstick and handbrake leather on (with a bit of pikeying) but it looks the shtuff!

In other unrelated stuff, I was sitting outside a doctors when it started thundering and lightning, within 5 seconds of this, thunderstruck by AC/DC came on

I also went to the zoo yesterday :pac:

Whatever medication you're on.........I want some:pac:

pred racer wrote: »
    Whatever medication you're on.........I want some:pac:

.......but I'm not on any :pac:

Would you care for some tea?? You can't be at a tea party without tea!

I think the fumes of the filler and so on have really gotten to me :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

How strict are Gatso vans on nabbing people for breaking speed limits?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

The guards are out in force this evening, makes a change :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Saw some nice metal today, a 650i Vert, 2010 S4 Avant, 2 Classic 911's and yesterday I'm pretty sure I saw Ardennes bate up towards the Airport in the 3er.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Autosport wrote: »
    The guards are out in force this evening, makes a change :D

Passed by 2 Gatso vans on the way home from Thurles, found it most unusual tbh

I was out checking the accuracy of my speedo with a GPS app :o Was chatting to my father and he told me he road, R239, was revised back up from 80kph to 100kph so I was worrying about nothing! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

When I was in Dundalk a few weeks back in the office some aul toff of a woman was trying to tax two cars, one off the road, one going to be off the road, all kinds of crap, didn't know what she was on about. She was announcing everything super loud, about her Saaaaaaab and her Rover 75, the whole place was listening. The other two counters had served two people each and she was still there babbling away!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Saw some nice metal today, a 650i Vert, 2010 S4 Avant, 2 Classic 911's and yesterday I'm pretty sure I saw Ardennes bate up towards the Airport in the 3er.

What time :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

When I was in Dundalk a few weeks back in the office some aul toff of a woman was trying to tax two cars, one off the road, one going to be off the road, all kinds of crap, didn't know what she was on about. She was announcing everything super loud, about her Saaaaaaab and her Rover 75, the whole place was listening. The other two counters had served two people each and she was still there babbling away!

The whole process is alot of jumping through hoops for nothing tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Well theres a way to make sure your dstc and abs are off on your 2004 volvo s80

Rip out the fuses !

Which for some reason also stops the odometer from going higher until its fixed !

Well theres a way to make sure your dstc and abs are off on your 2004 volvo s80

Rip out the fuses !

Which for some reason also stops the odometer from going higher until its fixed !

Do you work across the road from a Superquinn?