Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

It makes stuff taste like ice cream.

All the same though, Weissbiers and IPA's or you can go home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Katunga

i know a few people that used a lwb land cruiser as a camper with out doing any thing can't get any cheaper.

• Administrators Posts: 55,125 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

awec wrote: »
    I just posted my log book to Shannon to get the address updated on it.

How long should I expect to wait to get it back?

About two weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

awec wrote: »
    I just posted my log book to Shannon to get the address updated on it.

How long should I expect to wait to get it back?

2 weeks or there abouts

I totally forgot about that haha, yes pictures!! LOTS!! :D love the budget haha

Didn't really set a budget to be honest. Was just going with the flow. Got most stuff for free thanks to adverts and friends/family. For example, the brother got a new carpet fitted in his house last week and had a big chunk left over. No prizes for guessing where that ended up. Got a free futon couch bed thing delivered to my front door from adverts. I love freebies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

i think this is the one posted on here before or maybe similar ?

http://www.donedeal.ie/campers-for-sale/racecoach/5326242

View2-21432356.jpeg

shaaane wrote: »
    Didn't really set a budget to be honest. Was just going with the flow. Got most stuff for free thanks to adverts and friends/family. For example, the brother got a new carpet fitted in his house last week and had a big chunk left over. No prizes for guessing where that ended up. Got a free futon couch bed thing delivered to my front door from adverts. I love freebies!

Speaking of adverts, I might try pillage an astra bumper from it there now :D

Like I said though it's different and I love it :)

i think this is the one posted on here before or maybe similar ?

http://www.donedeal.ie/campers-for-sale/racecoach/5326242

View2-21432356.jpeg

Thats better than my house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

I love the idea of driving something like that legally on a B license with cheapo tax and insurance !

My box had shower once, now I have no box and no shower

Katunga wrote: »
    i know a few people that used a lwb land cruiser as a camper with out doing any thing can't get any cheaper.

At least it was a lwb. I was at the same festival last summer that i'm going to next weekend and a couple parked next to us stayed in a swb land cruiser with all their gear/drink/food for the 3 nights. I'd say they were crippled towards the end of it. Still beats a tent in a semi flooded field though :p

I love the idea of driving something like that legally on a B license with cheapo tax and insurance !

I don't think a B would cover it. That thing must be over 3.5 tonnes.

Also, if any of ye are fellow festival goers and are attending next weeks festival in Mitchellstown and you see me and my white "camper beast" in the car park, feel free to drop over to say hello and have a beer with us :D Another friend is bringing his transit which has nothing done to it as he actually has a life! Sun lounger and sleeping bag is the best he'll do :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

Sometimes when I start my car (mk IV Golf) it will cut out.

1. Turn Ignition
    2. Into first gear
    3. Move off
    4. Travel about 1-2 meters and cuts out unless I put my foot back on the clutch then it'll stop cutting out.

I only have the car about 2 months and it seems to have started the last 4-5 days. Sometimes it doesn't happen but when it does it feels like its lacking power and the car is laboured. A friend told me it could be the lambda sensor? Another said it could be the spark plugs.

Any ideas lads?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Ronnie Beck

1. Turn Ignition
    2. Into first gear
    3. Move off
    4. Travel about 1-2 meters and cuts out unless I put my foot back on the clutch then it'll stop cutting out.

I only have the car about 2 months and it seems to have started the last 4-5 days. Sometimes it doesn't happen but when it does it feels like its lacking power and the car is laboured. A friend told me it could be the lambda sensor? Another said it could be the spark plugs.

Any ideas lads?

Needs plugged in to decent software to be sure, but I would suspect the coil pack and spark leads. The coolant temperature sensor and the imobiliser too.

Sooo I almost have everything I've been after for my mini overhaul, went and got a front bumper today, needs a bit of work, if anyone has any filler they'd like to generously donate, feel free to throw it my way

In the bad news, I lost my rear reg plate trying to get above mentioned bumper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭tossy

1. Turn Ignition
    2. Into first gear
    3. Move off

Any ideas lads?

What engine is it ? Where are you based?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Erp? Lost the numberplate, the rear one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Sooo I almost have everything I've been after for my mini overhaul, went and got a front bumper today, needs a bit of work, if anyone has any filler they'd like to generously donate, feel free to throw it my way

In the bad news, I lost my rear reg plate trying to get above mentioned bumper

Where ya based man, think I have a tub of fibreglass here.
    We should have a post showing where we live it'll mean we'd know who we might be able to help out or whatever.
    And who I can call on when I feck up :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

YbFocus wrote: »
    We should have a post showing where we live it'll mean we'd know who we might be able to help out or whatever.

I know theres good thought behind that idea but I wouldn't want people knowing where I'm based specifically :) unless I'm asked in a pm or whatever my madhouse must remain with no address in Bravo city.... Or just outside Navan whatever suits :pac:

Oh yeah not an exact address or anything, but like portarlington or navan that kind of thing.
    Just an idea thrown out there :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Yeah it's a nice idea but not suitable for a public forum...

Telling people town/county is fine IMO:)

dgt wrote: »
    Erp? Lost the numberplate, the rear one?

Yeah haha the new one that I don't like is on it now :pac: it'l do for the time being

Well I'm only up the road from yourself in the curragh area soooo? Pm? ;)

Yeah haha the new one that I don't like is on it now :pac: it'l do for the time being

Well I'm only up the road from yourself in the curragh area soooo? Pm? ;)

I'll have to get home and see can I find it :)

Lovely, sure no hurry :) I got the bumper, complete with fogs :D and there's a bit of a hole in the centre, so I want to fill that in before I go priming and spraying it

I'll fire you a pm anyhow man, I might not get to you tonight though. Was at Mondello today and not home yet!

Sure no hurry like I said :)

How was mondello?

Sure no hurry like I said :)

How was mondello?

Wet and cold, Never anyother way :)
    Good day was had!

Wet and cold, Never anyother way :)
    Good day was had!

Thats the way you want it, I went rally driving before in the rain and epic would be an understatement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,552 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Got a small intestine disorder? Need a toyota?

Get a toyota celiac!

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/04-toyota-celiac-leather-taxed-nct/5413795