Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Football Championship Thread 2013

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Dublin would be handier for a lot travelling from Mayo and to be honest Clones would only serve as an advantage for Donegal so Croke Park suits just grand.

Mayo supporters would far prefer Croker to Clones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭gooch2k9

Mayo v Donegal on Sunday at 4pm.

Seen that on Facebook, any actual confirmation?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭CastingCouch

gooch2k9 wrote: »
    Seen that on Facebook, any actual confirmation?

Confirmation from facebook! haha
    I seen it there too. :) Usually they're reliable.

Confirmation from facebook! haha
    I seen it there too. :) Usually they're reliable.

Seen a comment saying Kerry game at 2pm on the Sunday on Facebook as well, be ideal for me. We'll know soon enough!

Confirmation
    http://www.gaa.ie/gaa-news-and-videos/daily-news/2/2707132212-football-quarter-final-fixture-details/

Saturday, August 3
    Monaghan v Tyrone, Croke Park, 5pm
    Dublin v Cork, Croke Park, 7pm

Sunday, August 4
    Kerry v Cavan, Croke Park, 2pm
    Mayo v Donegal, Croke Park, 4pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Podgerz

Saturday, August 3
    Monaghan v Tyrone, Croke Park, 5pm
    Dublin v Cork, Croke Park, 7pm
    Sunday, August 4
    Kerry v Cavan, Croke Park, 2pm
    Mayo v Donegal, Croke Park, 4pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Having the games over 3 days makes more sense, bigger crowds and less scrambling for tickets, the 4 Ulster counties will bring big support, Monaghan and Cavan especially.

Dublin Cork on the BH, Donegal Mayo should attract a big crowd because of the rerun factor and Tyrone/Monaghan and Cavan/Kerry as a double header.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

None of them will sell out anyway. There will be tickets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭corny

Dublin V Cork: Great draw for Dublin. The tactical naivety of Counihan coupled with the questionable appetite of some of his players means there's only one winner here.

Kerry V Cavan: I wouldn't write Cavan off but you have to favour Kerry.

Monaghan V Tyrone: I know its widely considered Donegal just had a bad day at the office but Monaghan were really good. A repeat performance and they'll take a bit of stopping in this game and the rest of the championship.

Mayo V Donegal: Game could have gone either way last year so Mayo don't have much to make up on form. Donegal don't the same appetite for battle as champions so i can see Mayo doing to them what they did to Dublin last year.

BTW i had to laugh at Kevin McStay on the Saturday Game having a go at Tyrone for the cynical fouling and suggesting Mayo were above that. Semi final last year anyone???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Not that Cork fans travel well anyway, but for those that do having the game at 7 on a Saturday is a bit shít, especially those coming from West Cork. It's only done to suit the Dub fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

My 2 cents on the games today as a neutral.

Cavan/London: Poor game, Cavan looked v nervous, got over the line though and thats all that matters. Cian Mackay is a fantastic player.

Galway/Cork: Cruel on Galway, Meehan, Armstrong and Conroy were fantastic, Conroy is such a leader. Kelly turned the game for Cork. Counihan has no clue what he's doing and I don't think the players play for him. Very pleased to draw them as a Dub with him in charge.

Tyrone/Meath: Referee was abysmal, great effort from Meath, Wallace was fantastic but I think Tyrone were the better team. Just.

Sean Cavanagh was absolutely magnificent. Lit up Croke Park.

Roll on the quarters.

What part of the lower stands are covered over by roof?

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

corny wrote: »
    Dublin V Cork: Great draw for Dublin. The tactical naivety of Counihan coupled with the questionable appetite of some of his players means there's only one winner here.

Kerry V Cavan: I wouldn't write Cavan off but you have to favour Kerry.

Monaghan V Tyrone: I know its widely considered Donegal just had a bad day at the office but Monaghan were really good. A repeat performance and they'll take a bit of stopping in this game and the rest of the championship.

Mayo V Donegal: Game could have gone either way last year so Mayo don't have much to make up on form. Donegal don't the same appetite for battle as champions so i can see Mayo doing to them what they did to Dublin last year.

BTW i had to laugh at Kevin McStay on the Saturday Game having a go at Tyrone for the cynical fouling and suggesting Mayo were above that. Semi final last year anyone???
    As in the Donegal semi where they committed more fouls than Mayo did in theirs? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭Thinkstoomuch

THFC wrote: »
    Not that Cork fans travel well anyway, but for those that do having the game at 7 on a Saturday is a bit shít, especially those coming from West Cork. It's only done to suit the Dub fans.
    Yeah ..its a long day,after midnight when you get home, even if youre in the City or North Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,761 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Cork will do well to have 1000 fans at that.

EVENFLOW

How far back are the best seats?
    What are the best areas in
    A-Z and AA-ZZ

And which are covered by roof?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

THFC wrote: »

I'm from West Cork and will be in Dublin that week but I think I might pop down to the pub and enjoy the craic with other Cork and Dublin fans instead of going to Croke Park and force myself to watch the s^^te with CC and Cork team like today. Not many Cork fans will travel with any expectation.

Neeson wrote: »

I'd be very surprised if the Dublin/Cork and Tyrone/Monaghan isn't a full house.

Donegal, Mayo and Cavan would bring 70,000 between them so that's errr, 70,001.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

What part of the lower stands are covered over by roof?
    Rows EE back, but I imagine the wind would have an effect on that.
    Yeah ..its a long day,after midnight when you get home, even if youre in the City or North Cork.
    Just looking at train timetables as well, last train is 9pm from Heuston, meaning it's not really a viable option, even when leaving on the final whistle and getting a taxi.

With a mix of that and their poor showing today, Cork won't be well supported.

I suppose more will be at Sundays games. Think the upper tiers will open?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,550 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

probley not but you have to allow for the dubs bandwaggon brigade who usaly surface around this time of the year :rolleyes:

Ordered my tickets off tickets.ie there, they only offered Lower Hogan and Cusack. Probably others will become available during week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

yop wrote: »
    As in the Donegal semi where they committed more fouls than Mayo did in theirs? ;)

I think that Mayo's 'cynical' fouling last year was blown out of proportion...mainly by none other than Mr. Joe Brolly (as he loves all northern teams) who I feel brought up the issue before last years final to put pressure on the referee.

A journalist (forget who) after the final analysed both teams in detail and found that Donegal were far more cynical than Mayo in the lead up to the final but Brolly never felt the need to mention that :rolleyes:

Jaysus, I don't remember too much Donegal cynical fouling against Cork, I'm sure there was some but I think Mayo suffered disproportionately for that last year, the other 3 semi finalists would have done the exact same as Mayo in the same position last year, because it had such a novelty factor for Mayo, it stuck out.

Also I had to laugh at Meath being considered the innocent victims when it comes to cynical fouling! Tyrone learnt a thing or two from Meath teams!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭oneillMan999

Looks like a packed house saturday and quite a few empty seats sunday but its prob the best the GAA could do with the fixtures to be fair.

How far back are the best seats?
    What are the best areas in
    A-Z and AA-ZZ

And which are covered by roof?

Row A is at the front,think you have to go quite a few rows for shelter.Long term forecast for rain Neeson?Hoping it won't rain on the Green and Red's parade!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

probley not but you have to allow for the dubs bandwaggon brigade who usaly surface around this time of the year :rolleyes:

yeah lets only give tickets to fans that have attended 6 or more games this year.That way we can have all 4 games together on the same day

Most definitely. I think there'll be a much bigger crowd at this years QFs than last years and at last years the uppers were opened both days iirc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭corny

Sure ones worse than the other! We're above that sort of thing anyway;)

K-9 wrote: »
    I'd be very surprised if the Dublin/Cork and Tyrone/Monaghan isn't a full house.

Donegal, Mayo and Cavan would bring 70,000 between them so that's errr, 70,001.

I'd be surprised if those kind of numbers attend but I hope you're right,nothing worse than a half empty Croker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

seligehgit wrote: »
    I'd be surprised if those kind of numbers attend but I hope you're right,nothing worse than a half empty Croker.

50000 consigned to the lower stands feels like a full house imho