Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Convective/Thunderstorm Discussion 2013/14

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,068 ✭✭✭Iancar29

It looks to be coming my way, I'd swear I heard a small rumble about 10 mins ago, temperature dropping slowly. Hope it doesn't miss me I need the water!

I hope you have a camera ready! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭mountainy man

Iancar29 wrote: »
    I hope you have a camera ready! :D

yep I have, torrential rain at the mo, lovely:D

edit: rain stopped now, can hear thunder to the east of me

• Registered Users Posts: 17 oi softlad

any chance of lightning in galway city do ye reckon lads!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,991 ✭✭✭Storm 10

Well the sky over Galway Bay is gone very black so there could be a chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Theoretically I am / was right under this and should have seen some real action ...

263672.JPG

in practice all we got (so far) was just enough heavy raindrops to turn the thick layer of dust on the car into muck ...nothing else, no thunder, no lightning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭mountainy man

Well it did look better on radar than on the ground, got a good heavy shower out of it and collected 150 litres in an IBC off the back of the house so I'm happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭redsteveireland

Aannnnddd Shannon is down... FFS!
    My mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,266 ✭✭✭✭km79

Aannnnddd Shannon is down... FFS!

Hit by lightning sure ;)
    Sky is clouding over here

km79 wrote: »
    Hit by lightning sure ;)
    Sky is clouding over here

If only. They might actually replace it then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,134 ✭✭✭✭maquiladora

Shannon isn't down, their feed is going into the displays on Raintoday and Netweather etc.

Problem must be on the Met Eireann website so. Not much happening anyway by the looks of it.
    It's the easiest one for me to access at the moment so I didn't try the others, cheers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Harps

That shower looks to be headed in my general direction, the HiRLAM chart I posted earlier had the heaviest precip right where I am so keeping a close eye on things and hoping it doesn't fall apart. 23C and very humid at the moment with that hazy 'thundery' type of sky, still plenty of heat around to keep it fed

Harps wrote: »
    That shower looks to be headed in my general direction, the HiRLAM chart I posted earlier had the heaviest precip right where I am so keeping a close eye on things and hoping it doesn't fall apart. 23C and very humid at the moment with that hazy 'thundery' type of sky, still plenty of heat around to keep it fed

Looks like it should be passing right over Killybegs now.

Looks like the part that was headed for me has weakened, the active cell is on course to move out to sea but its changing on every radar update so staying hopeful

Hard to believe anything is on the way at the moment, its totally calm with little to no cloud movement. Still plenty of people on the beach who could be in for a bit of a surprise

Looks like the part that was headed for me has weakened, the active cell is on course to move out to sea but its changing on every radar update so staying hopeful

Hard to believe anything is on the way at the moment, its totally calm with little to no cloud movement. Still plenty of people on the beach who could be in for a bit of a surprise

That cell really fired on the 19:30 update when it reached the sea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,116 ✭✭✭Mech1

http://www.raintoday.co.uk/

Says its raining here, its not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,346 ✭✭✭highdef

Mech1 wrote: »
    http://www.raintoday.co.uk/

Says its raining here, its not.

Ditto - actually, it shows that it has just cleared. I think it may have evaporated before it got to the ground

highdef wrote: »
    Ditto - actually, it shows that it has just cleared. I think it may have evaporated before it got to the ground

Yep, thats probably the case.

Looks to be headed out to sea, bit of a waste. I can actually see that area if I drive just 5 minutes away but I'm tied up for the next hour so no luck

• Registered Users Posts: 186 ✭✭shmaupel

Looks to be headed out to sea, bit of a waste. I can actually see that area if I drive just 5 minutes away but I'm tied up for the next hour so no luck

Rain here in Rossnowlagh. Incredibly hot.

There's a small but intense shower west of Ennis that looks like it might do something. I don't see much else happening on the radar at the moment though.

That storm in the northwest is still producing lightning but is out at sea now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭hotwhiskey

Meanwhile in England. Lightening hits a house in Durrington.

792984895.jpg?1374522374

I hope later on tonight or early morning we see some action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭rhonin

Huge downpour now in Collooney.

rhonin wrote: »
    Huge downpour now in Collooney.

Yeah I see it just popped up in the space of 15 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭rhonin

Yeah I see it just popped up in the space of 15 minutes.

Got dark very quickly too. No thunder from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,991 ✭✭✭Storm 10

Is that rain approaching the West Coast likely to have sparks tonight

Storm 10 wrote: »
    Is that rain approaching the West Coast likely to have sparks tonight

It's possible but more likely from early morning onwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Have been watching the BBC/ITV/Sky weather bulletins this evening and they all point to the possibility of fierce isolated thunderstorms poping up in southern/western parts of Britain over the next few days > then I watched the RTE weather forecast with Siobhan Ryan, and there is no mention of Thunderstorms over Ireland, just the odd thundery downpour.

Is a thundery downpour the same thing as a Thunderstorm?

Click play on the animation and look at the precip forecast for us at 10am tomorrow and then later in the afternoon too. Could be....interesting....if its right.

http://www.metoffice.gov.uk/public/weather/forecast/#?tab=map&map=Rainfall

I assume a thundery downpour means a front/system moving across that might brew up some electricity, a thundery storm is an actual thunderstorm in itself.

Things really exploded over England and Wales in the last couple of hours!
    http://brunnur.vedur.is/athuganir/eldingar/i_dag_na.html?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭dopolahpec

Yes UK are getting some battering, a huge band of thunderstorms fanning out northwards across England and Wales. Much quieter on this side of the Irish Sea.

• Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭snowjon

Just had a burst of tropical monsoonal rain here in Bangor with a rumble of thunder!

Thunder rumbling away in the distance now the rain has stopped!

snowjon wrote: »
    Just had a burst of tropical monsoonal rain here in Bangor with a rumble of thunder!

Yeah was watchin that crossing over, passed over the Isle of Man.

http://www.sat24.com/en/gb

Yeah was watchin that crossing over, passed over the Isle of Man.

Certainly woke me up anyway!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭dopolahpec

MT seems to think severe thunderstorms will be widespread today and tomorrow in Ireland. I'm not so sure myself that the energy is here to spark them...that's just my lousy hunch not based on much more than the feel of things. We will wait and see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭delw

Look at all that action over the UK.

This. feckin. island. :P
    Sparks everywhere,lucky feckers

dopolahpec wrote: »
    MT seems to think severe thunderstorms will be widespread today and tomorrow in Ireland. I'm not so sure myself that the energy is here to spark them...that's just my lousy hunch not based on much more than the feel of things. We will wait and see.

Always hard to forecast. Estofex had us under a level 1 area yesterday yet only 2 storms popped up and quickly went out to sea.

There will be a lot more showers around today, how many of them become electric is the question. Conditions favorable to thunderstorms should firm up as the morning and afternoon goes on. I wouldnt expect we'll see anything like whats going on in the UK but we should see some storms. Radar and satellite watching. Southwest might be first.

GO home lightning detector... your drunk!

263744.png

GO home lightning detector... your drunk!

263744.png

Ran out of space to put it on the UK map!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,328 ✭✭✭sunbabe08

Ugh not fair. What r the chances for the southeast today???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,623 ✭✭✭eigrod

Look at all that action over the UK.

This. feckin. island. :P

A terribly British thing to welcome the new royal.

sunbabe08 wrote: »
    Ugh not fair. What r the chances for the southeast today???

Not great to be honest , more so the West again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭whitebriar

Not great to be honest , more so the West again.

Hmmm,the usually pin accurate bbc news 24 graphics has showers travelling up east Leinster too during the day.
    There's certainly enough humidity,lets see?

Well the Met Office rainfall prediction model from last night showing a huge area of heavy precip over the midlands at 10am....was very wrong. Even hi-res models like UK4 can really struggle with convective showers.

HIRLAM picked up the TS in the north west yesterday, its showing some showers in the west and midlands later but doesn't look like anything too severe

http://www.weatherweb.net/wxwebchartshirlamopukrain.php

Lightning detected from a shower approaching the southwest coast now. We'll see if its isolated or builds into something.

Edit : Didn't develop any further.

Im in D15, the sky has gone really dark, like the heavens are about to open.

edit:) and now they have opened, lovely beautiful rain ::)))))) The garden is singing