Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 162: Silva vs Weidman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

It would be interesting to see if he did get a rubber match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Silva apparently stated in a Brazilian magazine interview that the rematch would happen on December 28th.

Haven't seen it confirmed anywhere yet, could just be lost in translation.

I remember watching a Dana blog for one of the year end events and how fighters end up missing christmas with their family and the weight cut is tougher.The 28th is 3 days after christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

Dana confirms rematch for Dec 28

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

BREAKING NEWS!! UFC 168: Weidman vs Silva II takes place December 28th at MGM Grand Garden Arena! Rousey vs Tate will be the co-main event

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Gilbert Grape

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭Stuxnet

Keno 92 wrote: »
    BREAKING NEWS!! UFC 168: Weidman vs Silva II takes place December 28th at MGM Grand Garden Arena! Rousey vs Tate will be the co-main event

sweeeeet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭billy2012

wonder what the odds will be??

Silva's -170 i heard still favourite not sure what that works out as in fractions but you must put 170 euro down to win a 100

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,103 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

that would make silva 7/10 so weidman should be 11/10 or 6/5

it's one i'd be staying well clear of anyway even if silvas price looks tempting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Junior D

I thought Silva said he didn't want the title rematch?
    Must be non-title then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Be like Nutella

Dunno if I can trust hime tbh.
    He says that now, and even though he might mean it, in a few months he could be thinking in a completely different direction.

He can be so completely off the wall that I wouldn't trust anything he says until I'm watching with my own eyes what he's at in the octagon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,439 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

he doesn't just go around pulling out of fights. The humiliation of the KO alone will set a fire under him I reckon

MrStuffins wrote: »
    he doesn't just go around pulling out of fights. The humiliation of the KO alone will set a fire under him I reckon

I think it could but I'm still not sure.
    It's his demeanour and attitude after the loss that has me so unsure. He said himself he's tired after all these years, and he just looked as if he'd had enough. To me it really looked as if he didn't want or care to win that fight, that his hunger looked gone. I really thought and still think, that if he wanted to finish Weidman off he could've done so with ease.

But then again, maybe its only now after the loss and the manner of the defeat that he can look back and realise that he was wrong and that he still has the fire in his belly.

I'm pretty excited to find out either way, and just hope he still has it!

virtually nobody will agree with this but it's not just to be controversial either.

After watching the fight a few times I reckon Silva should, and will, take almost the same approach (maybe minus a little disrespect which was present in his behavior at the end of the first round i.e. the kissing etc..) in the rematch.

It's a fight and anything within the rules goes for me - anything at all including clowning around like a fool which he sort of did... sort of.

He's the best striker in martial arts history bar none without a shadow of a doubt so he can employ just about any strategy he wants and usually it works as we know... it didn't this time but when you look at how he wins fight it's usually when he's dancing on the very edge, in the pocket, making a joke out of peoples reactions and silly attempts to hit him. Weidman is completely ****e on his feet compared to Silva of course there's no argument there so why did he lose? He lost because he got caught... BUT.... he drew Weidman in perfectly IMO (who was doing his utmost to remain calm in the face of ridicule but gave-in in the end!) and just needed to catch him with a totally relaxed but brilliant counter which he so often does so effortlessly... not this time though but so what!

That type of mind frame - that type of freedom within the cage in a pro mma fight is completely unheard of but he is capable of pulling it off as he has done before and when it works we don't complain and we put it down to genius. Now he DID push the whole mockery thing up a notch in this particular fight but he could so easily have won it if he moved a half inch here or there in those final moments on the feet. It was perfectly set up for Silva to do what he does - Weidman had finally committed to swinging for his chin which is exactly what Silva needed and banked upon!
    See he knew with the hype and age and fight smarts and confidence that Weidman was coming into this fight with, that he needed another little edge... something left field and he found it on the night by being completely ridiculous - an idiot - and in my opinion it was the perfect thing to do - it was asymmetric and not what Weidman expected at all or anyone else for that matter - it was in essence taking the p1ss and nearly paid off perfectly... except that it didn't : )... but he lives in the land of nearly...as in you NEARLY hit him but he knocks you out!

What I'm saying is Silva has ALWAYS done exactly what he wants to do, no matter what logic or experts dictate or prescribe and he has always said the same things in the build up - that he enjoys to fight and will just do what he does best and trust his own abilities yada yada and of course what he's really saying IMO is that his talent is to have NO game plan and to just do what he 'feels' like doing and that he trusts himself to work it out while he's there, in the moment, living on the edge - and that includes the play-acting and the messing and the clowning and the expressions - all of it - it's like a whole Musashi samurai approach (not waxing here look it up if you don't know) - not just physical fighting but... as many writers have said before - he beats guys before the fight starts or beats them mentally in the cage before they even really swing for him because he makes them believe/fold in their hearts that they can't hit him and so they beat themselves, on the feet, where every fight starts (with the single exception of Chael Silva 1) and I genuinely believe that he went in to the Weidman fight with no game plan at all ! not a single pre planned element. He keeps his mind completely free and simply does what he was put on this earth to do - to fight - in the purest total most complete sense of the word - not just getting good at kicking and punching and evading, but REAL LIFE Bruce Lee theory put into action - completely free and open to anything, any move, any strike any psychological game, totally unpredictable and way ahead of his opponent - and he usually is.

Silva was just Silva and he got caught - and that is literally all there is to it... Weidman shouldn't take a goddamned thing from that fight. He knows Silva played his game and just got caught but odds are he doesn't next time and Weidman knows that. While we're at it Weidman was static and readable on the feet in almost every way, his ground and pound was made look poor by Silva's ability to move with strikes from any angle and his sub attempt was weak and easily dealt with - in fact he looked nervous even going for it and Silva just naturally moved with it and pulled out and stood up with space so I don't fear a total mismatch between them on the deck NOR will Silva for their next fight. I also think Silva was able to use his power against Weidman when they clinched and that Weidman was stupidly saving energy which could have ended with him KO'd at a few points in the fight all of which Silva will see on the tape. Silva will be embarrassed with his performance and will simply clown him next time the way he very nearly IMO clowned him this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,416 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Junior D wrote: »
    I thought Silva said he didn't want the title rematch?
    Must be non-title then?

BFVvtE6CYAA_fv_.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,491 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

He seriously needs to consult Usher before doing anything rash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Jizzear

While we're at it Weidman was static and readable on the feet in almost every way, his ground and pound was made look poor by Silva's ability to move with strikes from any angle and his sub attempt was weak and easily dealt with - in fact he looked nervous even going for it and Silva just naturally moved with it and pulled out and stood up with space so I don't fear a total mismatch between them on the deck NOR will Silva for their next fight.

Its amazing how ppl can watch a fight and see what they want to see but anderson silva fans are taking this to a new level now....

Its amazing how the "static and readabe" weidman completely dominated the striking bar silvas few leg kicks, hit anderson more than many seem to care to admit and made anderson miss on numerous occasions

As for the ground, weidman hit anderson with a couple of bombs and luke thomas from mmafighting is on the record as saying that a couple of high level bjj blackbelts have commented to him that they were very impressed by weidmans sub attempts so fair play to silva for getting out. Regardless pretty sure anderson doesnt want to be near the ground with weidman and that was pretty clear with him trying to get weidman to stop shooting, which he did successfully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,456 ✭✭✭califano

Be like Nutella secretly likes virtually nobody agreeing with him!. makes him feel like a one in a million kinda guy:pac:.

I still think Silva will with the rematch.

However, I hope Weidman does. It seems that everyone is attributing a case of the Frankie Edgars to him. He won fair and square but nobody wants to give him the credit. Look at what happened to Edgar. Even when he beat B second time around he didn't get the respect he deserved.

Weidman finished the fight and people still want to attribute it solely to Silva messing around. No! Weidman won fair and square.

And i'm a SIlva fan btw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Fall_Guy

I still think Silva will with the rematch.

However, I hope Weidman does. It seems that everyone is attributing a case of the Frankie Edgars to him. He won fair and square but nobody wants to give him the credit. Look at what happened to Edgar. Even when he beat B second time around he didn't get the respect he deserved.

Weidman finished the fight and people still want to attribute it solely to Silva messing around. No! Weidman won fair and square.

And i'm a SIlva fan btw.

BUT you still pick Silva to win the return, so you must somewhat understand people's feelings that while Weidman won the fight, Silva is still the better fighter (in their eyes)....I feel the Edgar comparison is a little off, as Edgar's gameplan in the Penn fights led to a bit of resentment from some (mainly longtime BJ fans) but he did (in the second fight at least) clearly show that BJ did not have an answer for him at that time in his career. To many (including you, it would seem), there is still a belief that Anderson is a better fighter than Weidman. I don't think saying that discredits Weidman's completely deserved victory on the night though.

Of course, that could even prove to be wrong, for all I know Weidman will ground Silva and outgrapple him comprehensively in the next fight!

Nice jab but I don't have this opinion just to be different Rounders123 I supported what I said as much as I could and I stick by it.

Weidman ain't nothin special and he'll get schooled on the feet in the next fight if he chooses to stand like that again and the thing is - he'll be forced to chicken out of his takedowns... again... because he'll respect Silva's ability to evade and counter those takedowns, which is exactly what happened this time. He basically hesitated and bottled his shots and ended up mostly standing with Silva which was pure stupid but luckily Silva pushed the boat a little too far standing there ducking strikes for fun and Weidman did the only thing he knows how to do when striking - swing big unskilful hay makers - and one of them caught Silva - luckily for him. That's what happened. Next time will be different.

Silva won't change a thing... he'll get in there and fight naturally without a plan again and clown Weidman with strikes. Weidman is a blip... I hope they do a rubber match next year too and really bring this thing back to earth.

Fall_Guy wrote: »
    BUT you still pick Silva to win the return, so you must somewhat understand people's feelings that while Weidman won the fight, Silva is still the better fighter (in their eyes)....I feel the Edgar comparison is a little off, as Edgar's gameplan in the Penn fights led to a bit of resentment from some (mainly longtime BJ fans) but he did (in the second fight at least) clearly show that BJ did not have an answer for him at that time in his career. To many (including you, it would seem), there is still a belief that Anderson is a better fighter than Weidman. I don't think saying that discredits Weidman's completely deserved victory on the night though.

Of course, that could even prove to be wrong, for all I know Weidman will ground Silva and outgrapple him comprehensively in the next fight!

I believe Anderson is the better fighter. But just because that may be the case, that doesn't make Weidman's victory any less of a victory.

Matt Serra beat GSP. GSP is, and was at the time, clearly the better fighter. Does that mean Serra shouldn't have won the fight? Of course not. He won fair and square, within the rules, by a TKO. He beat GSP until he was unable to defend himself and won the fight. GSP showed his class second time around but that doesn't diminish the fact that Serra beat GSP.

It's why bookies have odds. Even when Silva fought Bonnar, Bonnar was a 7/1 underdog. That's the bookies acknowledging that should they fight 8 times, they'd expect Bonnar to win one of the fights. Nobody is unbeatable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Fall_Guy

I believe Anderson is the better fighter. But just because that may be the case, that doesn't make Weidman's victory any less of a victory.

Matt Serra beat GSP. GSP is, and was at the time, clearly the better fighter. Does that mean Serra shouldn't have won the fight? Of course not. He won fair and square, within the rules, by a TKO. He beat GSP until he was unable to defend himself and won the fight. GSP showed his class second time around but that doesn't diminish the fact that Serra beat GSP.

It's why bookies have odds. Even when Silva fought Bonnar, Bonnar was a 7/1 underdog. That's the bookies acknowledging that should they fight 8 times, they'd expect Bonnar to win one of the fights. Nobody is unbeatable.

Agreed on all that. I think that is the view most would take. If there are people who are saying Weidman didn't deserve to win that's nuts, of course he deserved to win. I think the comparison to Serra is a closer one than the Edgar comparison, because I believe Edgar got a raw deal from some fans. In this case I think most (unless I'm interpreting their opinions wrong) would have a similar opinion to you. Silva better fighter than Weidman, Weidman better on the night.

Edit: Having gone back in the thread I see that in the aftermath of the fight people really WERE saying it just as you said, apologies, can see where you are coming from saying people were discrediting Weidman's victory now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,491 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

You'd swear Silva was actually winning that fight before getting knocked out the way some people are talking.

it's not as simple as that... Silva was simply messing with Weidman's head hard enough and long enough to eventually get Weidman to swing which he did... so in my book as far as Silva's style goes - he got what he wanted... except then he simply flew too close to the sun and got clipped. There is no 'winning a fight up to that point' with Silva I reckon... he doesn't get hurt bad on the ground, he absorbs and moves his head better with strikes than anyone in the history of the game and he's still in it til the last minute as we saw with Chael. Weidman certainly wasn't being as successful in that fight as people are saying - his shot was messy and lucky, his strikes were readable hence Silva was standing directly in front of him and avoiding and absorbing the vast majority of them for fun like they were nothing... and again he pushed it too far and Weidman caught him after throwing a few ugly swings... which is the most embarrassing part for Silva - he got KO'd by a positively normal striker -

1 time

in 38 fights !!!!!

A statistical blip - Weidman got lucky... he didn't fight a great fight, he didn't do what he planned on doing, he didn't do much damage on the ground and he couldn't keep Silva down... he simply swung at a guy standing directly in front of him and instead of getting poleaxed like every other Silva opponent he swung and got lucky! and you can be absolutely sure he knows that !

So, a win that doesn't go along with your game plan doesn't count?

Also, what's all this lucky business? How is it lucky exactly. He threw a punch intended to land on the chin and do as much damage as possible and that's exactly what happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Jizzear

Id pick weidman in a rematch, any criticisms of his performance (warranted or in many cases not) could be aptly described of him having room to improve especially considering the long lay off, injury, and the jitters he may have felt with it being his 1st time big stage etc ;) .....also 6 months more for weidman to get better and silva to get slower

I give Weidman credit for winning I do, you have to, a win is a win is a win - it's just that he knows himself that in essence he was in fact lucky to get that win.. that he caught Silva while in matrix-mode when most times he would be clowned by Silva - he doesn't take from that fight that he can stand with Silva at all - he's not stupid - therefore he figures he stood up to Silva and threw some punches as well as he could and got lucky - relatively speaking - compared to others who have tried the same thing and ended up looking like a fool. That's kind of all I mean. Weidman can't stand with Silva... he did... but in general he can't... therefore he goes in there to set up take downs and control him on the ground hopefully to do damage and get a sub or TKO - that was his entire strategy BEFORE he got hit with the Silva-effect - and basically bottled it and hesitated and became slow and tight and readable which he did in this fight and I'm sure he'd admit as much watching the tape. His first take down was so clumsy and hesitant he nearly ended up under Silva but in the chaos of the scramble he got top position. He didn't show an ability to break Silva's guard completely and get top mount, he couldn't neutralize Silva's bottom game the way GSP does so well... Silva was striking and evading most of his power shots and then he went for a leg - which is what a high level grappler does to a low level grappler - Silva dealt with it easily, rolled and pulled out and stood back up with no pressure on his space.... again because Weidman was not firing on all cylinders - he was hesitant and focused on trying to 'seem' like he was remaining cool and conservative with all Silva's clowning around - all the while staying on his feet to the confusion of the commentary... which was pure stupid. This fight demanded that he fire off couple straight punches and go straight for a powerful take down as soon as physically possible. He didn't do that. In the end he won but his game was off, he was hesitant and in the end he took Silva's bait and swung for the fences which could so easily have ended up with him KO'd so in actuality Weidman WAS lucky to get the win... no way he went in there to stand with Silva.