Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 162: Silva vs Weidman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭Grudle

Just finished watching the fight. Delighted Silva got knocked out, that stuff is disrespectful. Silva been doing that for too long, about time he got caught out. Well done Weidman, deserved champion, wasn't in trouble at all in the fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,977 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

ReDdevil87 wrote: »
    lets see if he can be the second fighter to win a title in 2 different divisions.

Third.

BJ Penn and Randy Couture already did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,988 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

DrPhilG wrote: »
    Third.

BJ Penn and Randy Couture already did.

4th, Chael P won the MW & LHW ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,439 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Just watched it there.
    Still in a bit of shock! I knew Weidman was dangerous and was a big threat to Silva, but I wasn't expecting that.

Silva either really underestimated Weidman, or really got carried away with his own hype. He tried to mess around and showboat too much and he got severely punished for it.

Silva clearly didn't even try. He went in there thinking he could mess around and end the fight whenever he wanted. You can't do that against a fighter of Weidmans caliber. He thought he was a god and he got spanked for it.

Taking nothing away from Weidman though. Credit to him for not letting Silva get in his head. He could have easily got frustrated and got caught by Silva. Weidman is a beast and ill be interested to see how he defends the belt. I don't believe he'll be a hugely dominant champ but fair play to him nonetheless. He deserved the win tonight.

On another note, I'm delighted to see Edgar winning again. That was a great fight and I hope Edgar can put together a few wins from here.

Also really impressed with the ever improving Cub Swanson. Brilliant performance from him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭pablohoney87

ReDdevil87 wrote: »
    I think he should drop down to welter weight. Anderson is 6'2'' and there is plenty of fighters at WW that are the same height, John Hathaway, Carlos Conduit, Mike Pyle(6'1'') and Seth Baczynski is 6'3''. My point is he'd fit right in, Anderson Silva is not the most cut fighter out there if he lowered his body fat and leaned up a bit he'd be perfect for the Welter Weight division. Silva's body fat looks around the 12% mark, compare that to GSP who looks around 5%BF when he's fighting. If he lost a few lb's it would be great to see him in the WW division. 10 more fights left on his contract, lets see if he can be the second fighter to win a title in 2 different divisions.

Anderson is 38 years old now. If hes changin weight it'll be going up. That sh1t takes its toll on your body

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

darced wrote: »

He tried 1 takedown in the 2nd and was landing more strikes, Silva like he done with Maia just doesn't like engaging grapplers, personally I think weidman was to happy to stay standing but it paid of this time

Silvas not the best mma fighter ever to me, has fought a lot of very average strikers and only a few grapplers he barely engaged with

GSP is probably the true greatest and yo add to that I think would go through Silva.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭cypressg

Is this what happens when a speed and reflex based fighter gets old?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

cypressg wrote: »
    Is this what happens when a speed and reflex based fighter gets old?

Can be alright, plus getting dropped by Chael with light punches and ko'd by a not to powerful punch last night tells you his punch resistance could be gone/going

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,297 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

In shock here.

Disapointing to see Andersons title reign end like that but he has no one to blame but himself. He has shown a lack of respect and interest before and last night he paid for it.

The gloss is taken off it a bit for Weidman, I'm sure he would rather have won it similar to the first Sonnen fight with total domination but fair play to him for keeping his cool and getting the job done.

Really don't know where Anderson goes from here.
    Surely when the dust settles a rematch will be sorted out.

I wonder what impact his temperment will have on whether he retires or not.
    I can see him retiring,it seems fairly clear that he has little respect for the sport and fans.

darced wrote: »
    It never happened when he was stupid and arrogant before though?
    He used bring fighters into the matrix with impunity before and now he gets caught by a fairly sluggish striker?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,988 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Delighted Silva finally got what was coming to him, he still has the speed and power yet once again didn't bother his rse to use it much, IMO i reckon he could have finished that fight any time he wanted, if he'd just stopped fcukin about and being disrespectful to a dangerous guy.

Very odd after interview, i reckon this is the last we've seen of him in MMA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,103 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

Weidman is going to end up fighting Belfort now and I don't give Weidman a chance in that fight.

me neither and belfort will be a juicy price if that happens

from here we go again to lights out
    I still can't believe it

I never laughed as much after a fight
    Not sure why so many pros picked weidman but he delivered anyway even
    if it wasn't looking likely

delighted for swanson as he's much better than siver

herman surely getting his p45 after that

delighted for frankie as ever, always root for him,

no sure where this loss will put leben, think he's pretty much done myself

4 straight for pierce but will that get him off the prelims for his next fight? can't understand it
    should be getting a bigger name next

delighted munoz got the win, an all round nice guy.

I thought the kennedy gracie fight would never end, gracie doesn't belong in
    the ufc, should stick to competing in jj

parkes did well and his opponent could fairly take a punch

I see weidman go ko of the night honours also (can only imagine what price that was)

what I can't understand is how they decide that one over
    gonzagas ko unless because it was the main event

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭stiffler123

Incredibly sad seeing Anderson get knocked out. It was the same feeling I got when Fedor got subbed by Werdum. The end of an era. I hope he takes a rematch and retires as champion.

Fair play to weidman though, there will always be question marks after Anderson fecked around in the cage so much but he did what was asked of him so fair play.

Munoz looked fantastic, good to see him back in form again. And that takedown by Swanson in the second round was a thing of beauty.

Incredibly sad seeing Anderson get knocked out. It was the same feeling I got when Fedor got subbed by Werdum. The end of an era. I hope he takes a rematch and retires as champion.

not sad at all the way it happened but I guess a silva fan might
    see it different
    I just lost more respect for him for all his clowning around

fedor a different story, I wouldn't want to see someone
    like fedor lose but he had his day
    silva would win a rematch anyway imo and could still be champ
    for another year or two which is saying something at 38

Fair play to weidman though, there will always be question marks after Anderson fecked around in the cage so much but he did what was asked of him so fair play.

Munoz looked fantastic, good to see him back in form again. And that takedown by Swanson in the second round was a thing of beauty.
    Yeah a real tragedy,couldn't have happened to a more humble likeable fighter:D
    Check out Silvas shad face lol
    http://forums.sherdog.com/forums/f2/silva-face-there-you-finally-have-2503871/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,836 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Just finished watching it. I haven't laughed like that at a KO since Kongo-Barry. I'm really glad that Silva got KO'd, but I really don't like that his streak and championship was thrown away in that manner.

Also delighted to see Herman lose. Tbh, the stoppage was early and I would have liked Gonzaga to lock in some sort of sub, but I won't complain.

Oh, and great victory for Parke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

I absolutely love Anderson Silva. Easily one of the greatest MMA fighters I've ever seen but he paid for his cockiness.

I didn't particularly believe the hype surrounding Weidman but fair play to him. Didn't look too phased by Silva's antics and got his just reward.

Great to see Frankie Edgar winning. He's a personal favourite of mine so hopefully he finds a bit more success in future fights in this division.

Happy for Munoz too. Seems like a nice guy so glad to see him look motivated after his bout of depression.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,391 ✭✭✭Scar Tissue

Anderson no hespect Weidman during the fight, and rightly paid for it

I didn't know you spoke Portuguese!
    :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,456 ✭✭✭califano

Bonnar will be kicking himself he didnt bink the punch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭billy2012

Anderson looked like he was playing around but I don't think he was. It wasn't a thing of disrespect. He was clearly worried about Weidman on the ground. He was just trying to mind **** him and he was doing a decent enough job. He got caught and that's the end of it.

SAD SAD SAD DAY.

billy2012 wrote: »
    Anderson looked like he was playing around but I don't think he was. It wasn't a thing of disrespect. He was clearly worried about Weidman on the ground. He was just trying to mind **** him and he was doing a decent enough job. He got caught and that's the end of it.

SAD SAD SAD DAY.
    It might be a sad day for his fans, but it was inevitable. Most people knew it would happen at some stage down the line.
    No matter how good you are, you can't expect to mess around like that forever without getting put on your arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭billy2012

El Guapo! wrote: »
    It might be a sad day for his fans, but it was inevitable. Most people knew it would happen at some stage down the line.
    No matter how good you are, you can't expect to mess around like that forever without getting put on your arse.

I respect Silva alot more than the likes of GSP.

SIlva goes out to put on a show for the fans, setting crazy records along the way. The man is my fav fighter of all time and I don't think anyone will ever coming come close to what he has achieved.

GSP just tries to not loose fights. ZZZZZZZzzzzzz