Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How did you score in your last round? ... 2013.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭DuckSlice

big_drive wrote: »
    They don't take average of the three just the best one. So the 79 will count

Was thinking they just take the best card. Single figure handicap I would imagine. What used you play off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭Fergus_Nash

• Closed Accounts Posts: 836 ✭✭✭OilBeefHooked2

You can say goodbye to that and say hello to no higher than 8.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭scubapro

34 points in the captains qualifier on Saturday, had 8 up and downs so delighted with that aspect of my game, could of really been more as I was late on the teebox and ended up scratching the first and third holes and had a stupid scratch on the 11th, still happy with making the cut.

Played the open singles tonight and shot 38 points off the blues, happy enough because the front 9 my driving was all over the shop and on another day 4 or 5 putts would of dropped, still good for a .6 cut though:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,632 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Had a lovely round of golf today in Tullamore with Slave1 and Eagle Eye in the open singles!

Had 35 points myself, with a 4 putt on the last after being on it in 2.

Also 3 putted the 11th from 15 feet for a 6.

had 3 birdies though. Birdied 1,10 and 15.

Come on yayabanana, how could you not birdie 15, it was totally on for it today! :D

I can safely say that slave1 is some bandit aswell and the way he "pulled" on some of those holes out there today was scandalous! ;)

Wonderful round of golf in great company and I cant wait to do it again :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

Had a lovely round of golf today in Tullamore with Slave1 and Eagle Eye in the open singles!

Had 35 points myself, with a 4 putt on the last after being on it in 2.

Also 3 putted the 11th from 15 feet for a 6.

had 3 birdies though. Birdied 1,10 and 15.

Come on yayabanana, how could you not birdie 15, it was totally on for it today! :D

I can safely say that slave1 is some bandit aswell and the way he "pulled" on some of those holes out there today was scandalous! ;)

Wonderful round of golf in great company and I cant wait to do it again :)

Pin on 11 was on a small bit of a slope, nearly 3 putted it myself. What time were ye out at? The heat was horrendous when I was out. I was on the fringe of the 15th in 2 after 2 well hit 3 woods, missed from inside 3 feet for a birdie. Hope the sanding of the fairways wasn't too much of a distraction.

YayaBanana wrote: »
    Pin on 11 was on a small bit of a slope, nearly 3 putted it myself. What time were ye out at? The heat was horrendous when I was out. I was on the fringe of the 15th in 2 after 2 well hit 3 woods, missed from inside 3 feet for a birdie. Hope the sanding of the fairways wasn't too much of a distraction.

i cant blame the slope on 11 unfortunately - Didnt realise it till the round was over but i started moving on my putts. from the 11th onwards, i started to shunt a few putts right and couldnt figure out why until I was in the car on the way home. I was moving my head on the putts. idiot I am. could have easily shot 40 points myself. but oh well :D

missed an 18 inch putt on 16 for par ;)

Heat was tough, no doubt about it. We didnt get off till about 4 PM cause 'somebody' got lost on the way over ;)

pin on 15 was in a tough spot aswell though, on the side of a slope. I holed my birdie putt from about 10 feet, but I had to aim about 9 inches left of the hole.

Sanding was grand. Actually stopped my ball from going into heavier stuff on a few occasions :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭matt-dublin

There's something wrong with me.... 22 points in dh today. With two birdies!

Over confidence in my swing and rushing I think.

Striking the ball extremely well over the last few days so I think I rushed in this evening and started over hittinge with poor tempo all day! I hate rushed rounds and hayfeever got the better of me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

I had the strangest game today.

I was 3 over after 6 holes only to birdie 7,8 and 9. Level par for the front 9.

Had a 10ft birdie putt on 10 but 3 putted for bogey. That set the tone for the back 9 where I only had 1 par. Wtf!!!! All I could do was laugh afterwards.

The greens were the fastest greens I've ever putted on. Near impossible to leave stone dead if any putt was down hill.

I played newlands by the way.

Finished 8 over in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

Over confidence in my swing and rushing I think.

tell me more about this. I'm struggling to continue momentum after good starts in rounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭matt-dublin

uberwolf wrote: »
    tell me more about this. I'm struggling to continue momentum after good starts in rounds.

Every round I've played in the last few weeks has been the same, start off really well and then around 10/11/12 I start bursting the ball for no apparent reason and just gnat get it back together till about 15/16

Might be worth a chat with the pro to get some tips

Just thinking about it, yesterday was the first time I ever had a realistic pop at all 3 par 5's in Tullamore.
    4th I finished in the bunker right of the green.
    7th just short
    15th, skewed it right but got up and down.

the 14th was still out of range though despite me taking the tightest line I could realistically take. Eagle Eye took a tighter line, god only knows how he knew exactly where to hit it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭neddynasty

Played Muskerry GC on Sunday. 4th round of the year and played well to my surprise. Had 38 points off 18. The round included 2 scratches and 3 birdies. Best round I've played in a long time. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

Ilik Urgee wrote: »
    Played in a 3 ball better-ball in Cork GC today.Played well with 1 scratch and finished with an individual score of 35. That's with 3 gimme's though:D
    Got on the card at the first which is always good to settle in.First time out there, I rate it ahead of Fota as a golf course, great challenge.

Just got a phone call saying there's a €75 SuperValu voucher waiting for me. Still don't know where we finished:confused:
    Or was it last?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

Ilik Urgee wrote: »
    Just got a phone call saying there's a €75 SuperValu voucher waiting for me. Still don't know where we finished:confused:
    Or was it last?

Mrs will be sending you out playing every week:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

Just thinking about it, yesterday was the first time I ever had a realistic pop at all 3 par 5's in Tullamore.
    4th I finished in the bunker right of the green.
    7th just short
    15th, skewed it right but got up and down.

the 14th was still out of range though despite me taking the tightest line I could realistically take. Eagle Eye took a tighter line, god only knows how he knew exactly where to hit it :)

The wind should have been helping on all the par 5's, usually they play into the wind. 14 was playing very long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,944 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Managed to swing a half day from work yesterday & got out to play the open singles in Grange Castle.

Had 35 points, 84 strokes, 33 putts.

Again, the final 2 holes were costly, only added 2 points to my score. Its frustrating have parred the index 2 16th, to finish bogey bogey on the index 18 & 16?

Ah well, hit the buffer so can't complain too much, especially playing golf in that sun :cool:

Pulled a serious number of putts, even a number of short ones, which I have been comfortable over of late. I can't really explain why it happened, guess it was just one of those days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

Anyone else find playing in that heat that they finish poorly?

Even taking on fluids constantly and a bit of grub mentally and physically I'm still felt drained yesterday on the last few holes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,924 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

ForeRight wrote: »
    Anyone else find playing in that heat that they finish poorly?

Even taking on fluids constantly and a bit of grub mentally and physically I'm still felt drained yesterday on the last few holes.

Id love a bit of rain at this stage .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭the lawman

Casual round in Grange Castle this evening.

82 strokes for 39 points off 13. Obviously ball going miles so score better than perhaps should be. Delighted though as first round under handicap since I made some big changes earlier this year.

9 Pars
    8 Bogies
    1 Double
    50% FIR
    50% GIR
    36 Putts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,070 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

the lawman wrote: »
    Casual round in Grange Castle this evening.

82 strokes for 39 points off 13. Obviously ball going miles so score better than perhaps should be. Delighted though as first round under handicap since I made some big changes earlier this year.

9 Pars
    8 Bogies
    1 Double
    50% FIR
    50% GIR
    36 Putts

Even calling it a "big change" is a bit of an understatement there Lawman, that is some shooting from a guy who has went from cack handed to normal in such a short period of time...

Thanks AJ fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭TheRoomWrecker

After two poorish rounds after I was cut to 11.8 (hopefully was just tiredness and a getting to grips period with the lower handicap) got the head down and some good practice in. played a casual 18 around my own course Rathcore to get a bit of confidence back, out in 38, back in 38 for my lowest gross ever around there , needless to say im chuffed!!! had two decent eagle attempts too as the ball is traveling so far in this weather a drive and 7iron to the back of the green on 18!!! Long may it continue:-)

That's great scoring Thomas. Obviously in great form so hope it continues.

7 iron through the green on 18 is very impressive.

Congrats on the cuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭bigtimecharlie

Casual round in Fernhill, new 60 lob wedge to try out.

3 pars and 2 bogies the highlight for the 106 blows it took. Wayward driving (all with 3wood) meant alot of chip-out's.

Massive runs on the fairways, 300+ according to http://www.gmap-pedometer.com/ on the 9th (par) and 10th (bogie) when the driving was spot on.

Onwards and upwards.

41 points in athlone today in the open day - 1 over par with 4 birdies and 100% fairways hit! /flex.

Will just miss out on a prize but hopefully be cut back to 5 after that :)

41 points in athlone today in the open day - 1 over par with 4 birdies and 100% fairways hit! /flex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭levitronix

-1 over par ? 1 over or 1 under

Either way great shooting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

Had my lowest round ever last week shooting 92 strokes and 38pts in home open singles in Blarney, some cock up with system means they have given me 0.1 back at the moment instead of giving me my first ever cut, must ring pro tomorrow.

Continued that fine form tonight with 32pts for 14 holes around Waterrock which included 4 pars and a birdie, unfortunately had to finish after 14 due to persistent neck injury flaring up!! Only had 70 strokes to that point so 90 was defo on :-(

levitronix wrote: »
    -1 over par ? 1 over or 1 under

Either way great shooting

1 over

that was a hyphen in an unfortunate position ;)