Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 162: Silva vs Weidman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,977 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Was he in control of it? He lost the first round and wasn't dominating the second.

I think he was in control, yes. He survived the ground assault in the first, got back up and started to control the striking. In the second he stuffed the takedown and was in relax mode.

No excuses, he still should have just wised up and gone for the kill but I do think that he was cruising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,440 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Serra KO'd GSP.

Weidman KO'd Silva

My money is going on Ray Longo to beat Jon Jones!

His previous fights were not against top quality fighters, but against good grafters who were at the tail end of their careers anyway.

What's that got to him being too small? The guys be fought are huge LHWs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭jodaw

Just such a surreal fight is right. Shame his reign ended in such a way.

When Silva has time to reflect on this after the dust settles he will realise what an entirely terrible way to end his legacy and all of his own doing.

Greatest ever??? Hmmm i think he really began to believe the hype...

Jon Jones might have something to say about that title by the time his career ends and JJ is going about it in a lot more ruthless fashion. Just could not imagine him messing about in such a way!!!

Time will tell

Tif he doesn't want a rematch, it leaves Silva with all sorts of options of what to do in the future.

Does it?

The wind has gone out of the "Superfight" sails, and Silva doesn't want to chase the LHW title either.

I think he's going to hassle Dana to make the Roy Jones Jr fight but beyond that what are these options?

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Tainted? Not a hope!

The vast majority of fights are finished because of one guy exploiting a mistake made by his opponent.

This is only different because the mistake was so pronounced.

It was very, very weird. Almost 'Anderson wanted to lose' weird. Weidman will earn his stripes in his future defences.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Tainted? Not a hope!

Seems very tainted. He didn't bother his arse and he was happy enough to concede after the fight. He wasn't outskilled or outmatched. It's not a title win for the ages in the least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Jizzear

lads yere crazy, ya cant control a fight by throwing no offence bar afew leg kicks, weidman even landed with a few clean shots in the 1st when silva was on with his carry on,

anyways lets all thank the gods it was weidman and not bonner who caught him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭Andersonisgod

DrPhilG wrote: »
    Does it?

The wind has gone out of the "Superfight" sails, and Silva doesn't want to chase the LHW title either.

I think he's going to hassle Dana to make the Roy Jones Jr fight but beyond that what are these options?

RJJ is the one he really seems to want, if it results in Silva being motivated to take a fight seriously then that could only possibly be a good thing.

The GSP super fight maybe, though admittedly that could take a lot of effort to get together. Perhaps some fights at LHW, probably not for the title but some exhibition fights.

At the end of the day, he's 38 years old, his words before the fight, his performance during the fight and his words after the fight indicate just how mentally exhausted he seems to be having been champion for so long. That he doesn't want a rematch only attests to that.

like when anderson pulled the same **** hes goat but when he gets caught he "wanted to lose"....holy **** lads give weidman a break,

In my mind not atall tainted, domination!

How is it tainted? Silva acts that way in every fight. Weidman finished the fight definitely!

If he'd cheated or fails his drug test, then it's tainted. But you can't call it a tainted victory just because Silva decided to act the maggot and got caught!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Name Changed

What's that got to him being too small? The guys be fought are huge LHWs.

How many did he have? I can only remember Bonnar and Forrest, neither of whom are huge LHWs.

What is in it for Anderson to go to 205? Jones would absolutely smash him to pieces. There would be some great match-ups there against the likes of Machida, Shogun and Wanderlei, but if he's not going to look for the title, why move?

There are plenty of fights for him at 185. Bisping, Hendo again, Evans if he drops.

I just can't see Anderson putting extra pressure on himself going up a weight when his heart clearly isn't in it, and he isn't too big a middleweight as it is.

Was I dreaming or did Rogan say something earlier about an announcement regarding GSP to come later?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Weidman is going to end up fighting Belfort now and I don't give Weidman a chance in that fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Name Changed

DrPhilG wrote: »
    I think he was in control, yes. He survived the ground assault in the first, got back up and started to control the striking. In the second he stuffed the takedown and was in relax mode.

No excuses, he still should have just wised up and gone for the kill but I do think that he was cruising.

Yeah I agree mostly, but Anderson wasn't getting in too much offence himself. Dancing around acting the eejit wasn't going to score him points. He started getting a few strikes in but Weidman was also still connecting, even though Anderson was letting him.

It was just ridiculously stupid.

Jizzear wrote: »
    like when anderson pulled the same **** hes goat but when he gets caught he "wanted to lose"....holy **** lads give weidman a break,

In my mind not atall tainted, domination!

Nobody said he 'wanted to lose'.

How many did he have? I can only remember Bonnar and Forrest, neither of whom are huge LHWs.

261525.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Ray Mond

I didn't believe the hype about weidman before this fight and I still don't. Anderson is a fucccccking idiot for messing around like that. He could have put the pressure in and stopped him!
    I hope vitor gets his shot and knocks weidman clean out.
    Anderson should be fined by Dana it was a disgrace.

Forrest is a huge LHW

Ray Mond wrote: »
    I didn't believe the hype about weidman before this fight and I still don't. Anderson is a fucccccking idiot for messing around like that. He could have put the pressure in and stopped him!
    I hope vitor gets his shot and knocks weidman clean out.
    Anderson should be fined by Dana it was a disgrace.

Ha the hype surrounding weidman up to this fight was that he had a chance to win, seeing as he just finished him its fairly ridiculous that you dont believe it :P

I don't believe he's the top MW or top contender either he got a take down in the first round. Other than that he looked ****t.!
    Vitor will not ****k around he will take his head off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

Ray Mond wrote: »
    I don't believe he's the top MW or top contender either he got a take down in the first round. Other than that he looked ****t.!
    Vitor will not ****k around he will take his head off.

Come on now lad, he looked ****? because he avoided basically all of anderson strike attempts, and so what he couldnt take silva down against the cage when anderson was just waiting to dig those underhooks in?

He won the 1st against anderson silva and finished him in the 2nd, one of the least **** performances of all time

Dana will be fuming if Silva doesn't take the rematch.

Come on now lad, he looked ****? because he avoided basically all of anderson strike attempts, and so what he couldnt take silva down against the cage when anderson was just waiting to dig those underhooks in?

He won the 1st against anderson silva and finished him in the 2nd, one of the least **** performances of all time

Avoided his strikes ? Ha I don't think he through one punch! He through a couple of leg kicks that's it.
    Fair play to him for winning but I think he'll be found out soon enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 ReDdevil87

Anderson f***ed around one too many times against a good, but not great,fighter. Weidman new he was trying to draw him into a stand up brawl and he called his bluff and got the win. Fair play to him. However, will he not dominate the middle weight division like Silva did no chance. I reckon Vitor would get the better of him and that fight should happen before a rematch with Silva. As for Dana saying there will be no super fight, that is a load of f**king s**t, belt or no belt a catch weight fight between GSP vs Silva would still be the biggest fight the UFC could ever put on. With that said though there is some cracking fights to come, GSP vs Hendricks(had to happen at some point) and Bones Jones vs Gustafsson what a fight that'll be.
    With all of that said however watch out for Erick Silva over the next year or so I have a feeling he is gonna rule the Welter weight division in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,416 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

If he'd cheated or fails his drug test, then it's tainted. But you can't call it a tainted victory just because Silva decided to act the maggot and got caught!

Did Chris win fair and square? Yes.
    Was Silva giving it 100%? No

I don't think you can disagree with either of those statements.

In my opinion the UFC champ should be the best in the world.
    Right now Chris Weidman is the champ, but based on statements above there is no way to say with confidence that he is undoubtly the best 185lb fighter in the world. Therefore, it's a tainted win for Chris.
    Had Silva gone to war, or had he took him down at will and destroyed him. He would feel much more like a champ right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,416 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Seriously!
    Two of the biggest LHWs ever.
    I just can't see Anderson putting extra pressure on himself going up a weight when his heart clearly isn't in it, and he isn't too big a middleweight as it is.
    ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 ReDdevil87

I think he should drop down to welter weight. Anderson is 6'2'' and there is plenty of fighters at WW that are the same height, John Hathaway, Carlos Conduit, Mike Pyle(6'1'') and Seth Baczynski is 6'3''. My point is he'd fit right in, Anderson Silva is not the most cut fighter out there if he lowered his body fat and leaned up a bit he'd be perfect for the Welter Weight division. Silva's body fat looks around the 12% mark, compare that to GSP who looks around 5%BF when he's fighting. If he lost a few lb's it would be great to see him in the WW division. 10 more fights left on his contract, lets see if he can be the second fighter to win a title in 2 different divisions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Weidman easily took him down and upset him with hard ground and pound, almost got a knee bar and heel hook and land more strikes than Silva

Silva's antics where a deflection tool as he was dominated, people forget about the minute before and just remember Silva been disrespectful and they make it out to be great, it's not, it's disrespectful and i'm delighted he got punished for it

Weidmans clinch was quite awful with that said.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.