Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dash cam saves your ass (no Roundabout stuff please :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭BohsCeltic

Then drives in the bus lane :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

Legally, there's a 'No right turn' onto the quays, but nothing banning a U-turn, not sure if that Bus lane is in operation either , buses in it find it difficult make the left turn in it at the Ferryman as it's too tight ( overall, a BAD design of bridge - only in Ireland :mad: )

What make of dashcam / where'd you get it ?

Capri wrote: »
    Legally, there's a 'No right turn' onto the quays, but nothing banning a U-turn, not sure if that Bus lane is in operation either , buses in it find it difficult make the left turn in it at the Ferryman as it's too tight ( overall, a BAD design of bridge - only in Ireland :mad: )

What make of dashcam / where'd you get it ?

You sure thats a legal manouvre? - but not the best idea to pull into traffic either (as you agree ;)

Cameras a Blackvue DR400G , it came from eBay from the country it was made (South Korea)...theres newer and better design available from same manufactoerer, but they are a good camera

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

You sure thats a legal manouvre? - but not the best idea to pull into traffic either (as you agree ;)

Cameras a Blackvue DR400G , it came from eBay from the country it was made (South Korea)...theres newer and better design available from same manufactoerer, but they are a good camera

The 'Law' is a strange thing - the hatching is broken white lines and there's no 'No U-turn' sign. Coming from the port side theres THREE 'No left turn' signs :eek: , and people still turn left ! Once I get my dash-cam you'll see some drivers/cyclists/pedestrians ( I call my windscreen my 'Wide screen reality TV' :P:P )

good stuff, thats nearly the worst ive encountered in a long time, so im not doing to bad ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭mb1725

Maybe he/she is a bus driver and forgot what they were driving! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Kevin3

Yes, but it's illegal to drive in hatched markings. Broken or not makes no difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

Kevin3 wrote: »
    Yes, but it's illegal to drive in hatched markings. Broken or not makes no difference.
    if there was no functional difference between hatchings with a solid white line and a broken one, why would both types exist instead of just one?

I don't know for sure that the Irish rules are the same as the UK ones, but in the UK, you can drive over broken white lines (inc. ones with hatchings) legally as long as it is safe to do so. whether or not the manoeuvre in the video was safe or not would be open to interpretation.

From the Highway code (http://www.highwaycode.gov.uk/10.htm):
    109: Areas of white diagonal stripes or chevrons painted on the road. These are to separate traffic lanes or to protect traffic turning right.

If the area is bordered by a broken white line, you should not enter the area unless it is necessary and you can see that it is safe to do so.
    If the area is marked with diagonal stripes and bordered by solid white lines, you should not enter it except in an emergency.
    If the area is marked with chevrons and bordered by solid white lines you MUST NOT enter it except in an emergency.
    Laws MT(E&W)R regs 5,9,10 & 16, MT(S)R regs 4,8,9 & 14, RTA sect 36 & TSRGD 10(1)

Well whatever about the hatched markings, there is a no right turn sign so the manoeuvre was illegal.

nice try, lol. :rolleyes:

the sign is clearly showing that there is no right turn at the junction, which is also confirmed by the road markings.

And looking at the junction on street view, I don't think it is a broken line around the hatched markings but rather the gaps are where there is a ramp and where there is a drain so the original point still stands.

bingo, we have a winner! :D

yes, on closer inspection you're clearly right, i guess we just see what we want to see.

badly done road markings though, although with the bridge joins, I'm not sure how else they could have done it, it would be an easy mistake to make (as we've seen!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

will deffo be investing in one of these.how much would they set you back?had a tip not long ago and nearly sure the other person was at fault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

Full video of the garda car overkill video

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=348732355255455&set=vb.100003560792541&type=2&theater

While they shouldn't of blown the airhorn there was no need for that kind of stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Yet another video of a boat load of idiots on all ends!

Although, that driving from the Gardaí was a disgrace

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Full video of the garda car overkill video

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=348732355255455&set=vb.100003560792541&type=2&theater

While they shouldn't of blown the airhorn there was no need for that kind of stop.
    I have never seen such a badly positioned dashcam as that.

pmcmahon wrote: »
    I have never seen such a badly positioned dashcam as that.
    It's not a dash cam, It's a GoPro lashed onto the dashboard

would they be expensive?

Yes, about €300

I remember a similar incident happening to myself and a mate nearly 10 years ago, he had a supped up car like that lad and nearly rammed an unmarked car because of it's driving...shame we didnt have a cam because the garda was the biggest asshat ive ever met.

FULL DISCLOSURE: we were at a cruise at the time but we weren't acting the michael :pac:

Tallon wrote: »
    Yes, about €300

it could save you a lot more in the long run,i hit a car that was pulling out of space,dont know if they had on indicators or not:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=348732355255455

The full video. Blares an air horn at the cops. What the funk did he think was going to happen?

He can see that the cops were following them. You can hear the sirens, and they knew that they were been chased, but didn't pull over and stop until the Garda car stopped in front of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

the_syco wrote: »
    https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=348732355255455

The full video. Blares an air horn at the cops. What the funk did he think was going to happen?
    Is balring the air horn at the cops a crime?

He can see that the cops were following them. You can hear the sirens, and they knew that they were been chased, but didn't pull over and stop until the Garda car stopped in front of them.

You can hear the sirens from 1:24 in the movie and you can hear they are getting closer.
    During all that time driver was slowing down.
    Only 6 seconds later garda car is overtaking and at 1:32 is stopped still in front of them.

IMHO that is very far from professional behaviour of the garda.

And from reading this forum I see it's quite normal that gards don't behave professionally in this country.

I was lucky so far I never encountered them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

CiniO wrote: »
    Not really, but acting a muppet whilst driving a modified car is a quick way to get the Gardai to be interested in you.
    I won't disagree, but I find they don't really trouble you unless you break the law and/or you piss them off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭Tea drinker

You can hear the sirens from 1:24 in the movie and you can hear they are getting closer.
    During all that time driver was slowing down.
    Only 6 seconds later garda car is overtaking and at 1:32 is stopped still in front of them.

And from reading this forum I see it's quite normal that gards don't behave professionally in this country.

I was lucky so far I never encountered them.
    Sure the lads are down there all the time rallying around, no respect for authority and in fact thumbing their nose at them with the air horn.

Great job by the Guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Those lads were driving like arseholes. Delighted the Gardai pulled them over and delighted to see they weren't so tough when they were stopped compared to 30 seconds previously where they were calling them pr1cks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭Taylor365

Can be seen as breaching the peace so they can act on it.

I've had air horns confiscated, much to do with sport and being out too late :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 BC1987

Footage while passing through Tallaght in Dublin from earlier today.

BMW driver was undertaking and overtaking all the way up the N81...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭Sterling Archer

At least he's indicating :D