If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Anglo Irish Tapes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭NORTH1

I'm just going to leave this here as a recap of how the civil servants where sucked in by this robbery/scam....

http://www.rte.ie/news/player/2011/0208/2902180-patrick-neary-prime-time-2-october-2008/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

I was Listening to the Matt Cooper show yesterday and a guest claimed that PWC who were employed by the tax payer told John Bowe to jump sit to avoid"Blame Ireland"..that pi$$ed me right Off

Also the fact that the Guards and the Fraud squad has these tapes ove 3 years and zero has been done would suggest that its going to very difficult to bring charges..thats If they want to bring charges of course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭caff

bumper234 wrote: »
    I think interpol would be a better choice they cannot/will not be bullied by the Irish government and after all this did turn into international fraud?

Could a case be brought by the Garda Ombudsman to investigate possible obstruction during the investigation of the tapes by the Garda as it seems they have been sitting on them for 4 years without any sign of progress?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Just listened to a clip of the Oliver Callan programme to be broadcast tonight at 6.30p.m. Very very funny about the tapes and the Germans.
    I don't usually like this lad's work but this was enjoyable.

What programme? TV, radio, where?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Alan Shatter was on Ray Darcy's show today and he says they are working on it.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

geeksauce wrote: »
    No we all didnt buy into the celtic tiger, there are many that didn't and these people are now being asked to pay for those that did.

I'd only completed my Leaving cert the year of the bank guarantee :(

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

Sky King wrote: »
    Alan Shatter was on Ray Darcy's show today and he says they are working on it.

Haha.Tommy Tiernan is that you? working on what,their breakfast

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

What programme? TV, radio, where?

RTE radio 1 at 6.30

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/comedy/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

caff wrote: »
    Could a case be brought by the Garda Ombudsman to investigate possible obstruction during the investigation of the tapes by the Garda as it seems they have been sitting on them for 4 years without any sign of progress?

This is an unknown factor. There could have been THOUSANDS of hours of tapes to listen to and who knows haw many guards listening? 1? 3? 6?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

this is the real scandal

who is behind this?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

Hootanany wrote: »
    Can we report these tapes as a crime to the Garda.

here ye go. I have an appointment at 4pm today with the local Super

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 finton

Quote Irish Examiner

"The number of people jailed last year for the non-payment of TV licence fines jumped by almost 50%, new figures show.According to figures provided by the Irish Prison Service, the number of people jailed for non-payment of TV licence fines last year rose from 183 to 272 — a jump of 89, or 48.6%"

Puts things into context in our fair little Isle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭who_me

Is that genuine? If so, legend!

I can't see you getting anywhere, mind. But credit to you for trying.

bumper234 wrote: »
    This is an unknown factor. There could have been THOUSANDS of hours of tapes to listen to and who knows haw many guards listening? 1? 3? 6?

Its known fact that these tapes have been in the guards hars over 3 years..Each Recording is timestamped..Surely the high Priority tapes would be closer to date that the bank went under No?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 wotaccent

well no one held guns to their heads,they all bought into thehype and now they have to pay the piper sorry,but thats my opinion

Are you for real? When we were looking for a mortgage, we were practically turned away by one particular bank because we wanted to borrow much, much less than they wanted to loan us. If we were a couple of youngsters looking to set up home together, it could have been classed as bullying. Luckily we didn't play ball, so then, all of a sudden, we were deemed too old (in our mid-forties) and our life insurances would be sky high. Funny how these weren't considered if we'd accepted 200% more than we wanted. Unfortunately for us, all this was verbal.

And the only reason we considered buying was because rents kept going ridiculously high, at an alarming rate. At one point, we were paying €1,800 p/m for what was basically a doll's apartment. Plus another hundred for self-storage as we couldn't put everything in it. Repeat this story for thousands of others.

So people may not have had a real gun to their heads, but the pressure was the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

geeksauce wrote: »
    No we all didnt buy into the celtic tiger, there are many that didn't and these people are now being asked to pay for those that did.
    I know that it's tiresome when people say that we all went mad - but it's true that very large numbers of people lost the run of themselves, so the responsibility for getting things wrong can not be limited to people such as bankers, regulators, developers, administrators, and politicians. Joe Public was in the mix also.

It derails general discussion when people get indignant and say "I never went mad". Maybe you didn't, but there was a general madness about, and the odds are that many of the people around you did get involved in the craze.

the banks were only doing their jobs which was to make profit for the shareholders.we need to stop whinging and blaming the banks.we all bought into the celtic tiger bs,got the lavish morgatges cars holidays ect

If their job consists of making money for shareholders by taking it from the taxpayer, then they need a new job. Preferably, one that doesn't involve defrauding every taxpayer in the state.

By the way, can I get rich now by investing in Irish bank shares? No, because they ****ed up their job of 'making profit for the shareholders'. You can't run a business by focusing on immediate profits and no mid/long term plan. But that's exactly what they did, and by any free-market principle the banks should have failed.

"Doing their job" would require having adequate risk-assessment measures in place to ensure the bank isn't exposed to the possibility of a mountain of bad debt suddenly appearing on its books. By not even attempting to do this, they failed the shareholders as much as anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

I am pissed at this. But i am more pissed that nobody took a look at their books before handing over even 7 billion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭AnOrdinaryJoe

I was in IKEA today looking for an inexpensive arse file.

I move around a lot and I though it might be handy, and a handy anti theft aid, to be able keep my data, Anglo Irish style, up my arse.

Initially I thought I might be able to get a really expensive one of the sort high faluitin' and highly paid banksters might use, maybe a Burberry one, but then I thought no, a cheap one would do as the natural disintegration rate might be fairly rapid.

But IKEA didn't have any..... and they can't advise where I might get one,

Can anyone point me in the right direction, or if anyone might know any of the Anglo Irish boyos, maybe you would ask them for me.

Thanks for any assistance given.......... I really want one.

I know that it's tiresome when people say that we all went mad - but it's true that very large numbers of people lost the run of themselves, so the responsibility for getting things wrong can not be limited to people such as bankers, regulators, developers, administrators, and politicians. Joe Public was in the mix also.

It derails general discussion when people get indignant and say "I never went mad". Maybe you didn't, but there was a general madness about, and the odds are that many of the people around you did get involved in the craze.

Everyone who worked or ran a business in this country in the last 10-20 years benefitted from the Celtic Tiger in some way - there was more money in the economy which you benefitted from. Even if you personally didn't get any credit, your customers/clients did and spent it with you.

But I don't see how that has ANY relevance to this thread. How many "Joe Public"s applied for a loan with no intention of paying it back? Are you suggesting that since someone might have 'gone mad' and built a barbecue (in a country that always rains) in their back garden, or upgraded their car, or added an extension - they've no right to complain about bankers who failed at their jobs, lied to the Government and bankrupted a nation?

who_me wrote: »
    Everyone who worked or ran a business in this country in the last 10-20 years benefitted from the Celtic Tiger in some way - there was more money in the economy which you benefitted from. Even if you personally didn't get any credit, your customers/clients did and spent it with you.
    I fully agree. My income rose during the tiger years. So did my cost of living, but by a good deal less than my income rose. So even though I did not expressly participate in the property-driven bubble, it did have an effect on my life.
    But I don't see how that has ANY relevance to this thread. How many "Joe Public"s applied for a loan with no intention of paying it back?
    Few or none - probably none. But very many people borrowed recklessly. Yes, the lenders often encouraged them and conspired with them in making dodgy applications. But many people applied for loans with false or unreliable income figures, and they did so knowingly.
    Are you suggesting that since someone might have 'gone mad' and built a barbecue (in a country that always rains) in their back garden, or upgraded their car, or added an extension - they've no right to complain about bankers who failed at their jobs, lied to the Government and bankrupted a nation?
    Not at all. Of course they have a legitimate complaint. What I am saying is that the responsibility for what went wrong should be more widely distributed: tens, perhaps hundreds, of thousands of members of the ordinary public also contributed to the problem.

When individuals protest "not me, I did nothing" they may be right about their individual cases, but they feed a perception that Joe Public was entirely blameless. Joe Public, as a collective representation of the people, was an active participant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,692 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Another post disguised as "please don't make life tough for Fine Gael "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

EyeSight wrote: »
    I am pissed at this. But i am more pissed that nobody took a look at their books before handing over even 7 billion.

Wouldn't have mattered a jot.

They were transferring debt to other banks when books were examined then transfer it back when the spotlight was off them.

Common practice back in the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

Yea yea, so many up in arms now that we have been shamed by these morons, but so many times on AH and other forums, every-time without fail German people or German was mentioned there were extremely derogatory remarks cheaply thrown in as if the norm. These boy'oos clearly felt that deluded ignorance. Irish arrogance.

was using phone, was unable to edit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Printed & signed im going to drop it in my local Police station this afternoon.

Cheers

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,119 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

The Super requesting a meeting means nothing will happen. You sent in a written statement, you should get a written response back - to ensure there is a clear paper trail. That's my opinion anyway

Another post disguised as "please don't make life tough for Fine Gael "
    I don't know where you get that from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

So when I hand it in do I ask for written receipt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

I don't know where you get that from.
    Didn't you know? If you take the bigger picture into account on these discussions, you're automatically a FG supporter.

Raging and sickened as I am by what's being said on those tapes, the fact virtually nobody was complaining during the "boom" can't be ignored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

BREAKING NEWS!
    Charles McAwfully owner of the Tit Bit Gastropub has stumbled across a 5 year old tape recording in his establishments store room. The tape appears to involve clientele hatching a plan to defraud a number of banks, just as Irelands financial crisis was unfolding. Today we publish the transcripts. Reacting to the recordings, Tainaste and Labour Party leader, Eamonn Gilmore said he was in utter shock. "Shocking. These people deliberately set out to engage in a process of deceit against honourable financial institutions." "I can fully appreciate the rage members of the banking sector are feeling right now", he added.

Transcript:

Sounds of glasses clinking and a door closing.

VOICE1: ****in freezing out there. Bollox to that wanker Martin and his smoking ban.

VOICE2: Just sit the **** down will ye. I want to show you something. Got these today.

Sound of something being dropped on a table and a glass falling over.

VOICE1: For ****s sake, me Heino. Jaysus.

VOICE2: Shut up. I'll get you another one. Hope they take credit cards.

Both laugh heartily

VOICE2: Look at these. Got them at wiggers BMW dealership today

VOICE1: **** me theyre lovely motors. Here, turn the page. Whats the deal on credit?

VOICE2: No ****in sweat. Piece of piss. You can afford one too.

VOICE1: **** OFF!

@ (name of bank) Play it real cool. Spell it out. Our neighbours just changed their cars and we need to keep up. Now we both have big **** off loans with this bank. In for a penny, in for a pound and all that buzz.

VOICE1: Its a lot of dough. Not sure I can pay it back.

VOICE2: Pay it back me bollox. Keep rolling it over. Top it up. No ****in problem. Move from bank to bank. Just give me the moolah.

The both laugh.

VOICE1: Get that Heino in.

Voice1 is heard singing

"A nation once again....a nation once again"

They are both heard laughing out loud.

Recording ends.