Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare Daly - she's bloody intolerable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

Boards.ie in anti socialist shocker :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

Right, but they havnt been prosecuted, as to why, i cant tell you 100%, but from the evidence of what occurred at the time they covered a lot of legal loopholes so as to not leave them open to prosecution.
    Bertie & Co are all crooks of the highest order & really should be put away for years along with GAMA.

Probably the reason they haven't been prosecuted is because things are not as clear cut as all that.

And, I have no doubt that there were a lot of shenanigans I am not so sure you can be so clear about who did what.

I do not share your point of view on Bertie being involved though and it does not do your point any justice to bring that up irrespective of your feelings about Mr Ahern and his former colleagues however much one might feel about them.

Their mismanagement of the economy included excessive spending on things such as public sector pay and capital projects.

They and others that served on state boards , including David Begg of ICTU at the Central Bank were less than vigilant.

Some people, me included, feel that the public service had a huge role to play in this. I would not differentiate between those in the social partners and the politicians and they are all the same in my book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Cardinal Richelieu

CDfm wrote: »
    Thats ok.

She has seemed to build her swords support at the airport or so i have heard .

Any thoughts ?

Thats about right, made her name at the Airport then built up a supporter base in Swords. Over the last two runs at the Dail she has tried to branch off into Donabate, Lusk, Rush, Skerries areas by supporting any local issue campaigns such as objections to Local Area Plans. Feedback to her involvement in Donabate LAP here . She seems to work better at objecting to schemes rather than doing anything constructive. That said unlike other local TDs like James Reilly she still continues to raise questions in the Dail about the Eirgrid East-West Interconnector while Mr Reilly continues to fudge remarks he made concerning moving the route of the cable in a pre-election promise. He backtracked on leaving cabinet over Metro North in another pre-election promise will only drive more voters to other candidates such as Daly in the next election.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

Ye, those Socialist party TD's, off the wall they are, in Cloud cuckoo land

You can't ignore them as they were elected so deserve to be discussed seriously.

Apologies for being so sarcastic, just astounded me today when reading that, you have to admit though, Leo really plays a blinder when it comes to not being in touch with reality.

I think the guy who built the Henge in Achill disagrees with Leo.

Whatever your politics , you gotta admit that it is a neat piece of civil engineering and the logistics, skill etc showed what he & his mates can do and there is no work or paychecks for them.

No economists or public servants were injured by the lack of banking regulation but builders have gone bankrupt and their workers and those of their suppliers are unemployed.

Achillhenge is a statement .

I think the guy who built the Henge in Achill disagrees with Leo.

Whatever your politics , you gotta admit that it is a neat piece of civil engineering and the logistics, skill etc showed what he & his mates can do and there is no work or paychecks for them.

No economists or public servants were injured by the lack of banking regulation but builders have gone bankrupt and their workers and those of their suppliers are unemployed.

Achillhenge is a statement .

I agree 100%, i think the achill henge should be granted retrospective planning permission & allowed to remain as a reminder in 50 - 100 years of what not to allow your country/public reps do.

It should stand as a testament against unregulated neo liberal policies that encourage no sustainable way of living or security for the people of the states they are enforced in.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,509 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

She's ruining my enjoyment of watching Joe Costello squirm on Vinny B :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Cardinal Richelieu

dsmythy wrote: »
    She's ruining my enjoyment of watching Joe Costello squirm on Vinny B :mad:

Where has her fake north co dublin accent gone? She already slipped in a yeay tonight, no one says that here. Is she the only Dublin North TD to appear on the show since the election?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭COYW

Politically, I am at the opposite end of the spectrum to Clare but I do think that she is sincere in her views. Breaking out with a smile now and again would do her no harm but I certainly wouldn't categorise her as embarrassing.

For me Joan Collins is utterly embarrassing. Along with her partner, who she hired as her assistant, they take home €120K before expenses and what do we get in return? A politician who has little or no understanding of what is going on. Her grasp, or lack there of, of economic matters is shockingly bad.

COYW wrote: »
    Politically, I am at the opposite end of the spectrum to Clare but I do think that she is sincere in her views. Breaking out with a smile now and again would do her no harm but I certainly wouldn't categorise her as embarrassing.

For me Joan Collins is utterly embarrassing. Along with her partner, who she hired as her assistant, they take home €120K before expenses and what do we get in return? A politician who has little or no understanding of what is going on. Her grasp, or lack there of, of economic matters is shockingly bad.

And who was in the papers this week telling us we will all be able to take a holiday in the new year as the budget wont be all that bad??

I'll give you a clue, he was also on the vincent brown show saying he didnt understand how a rise in VAT would effect the poorest in Society.

She may not articulate herself in the manner you are used to hearing from seasoned parlimentarians, but you would be very naive to think she doesnt understand the economic matters of her constituents.

Unless of course you are saying that all members of all parties should be experts on the macro economics we have unfolding (or collapsing to be more accurate) before us? But that would be just plain silly.

Well as an elected public representative who only ever appears on TV (from what I see) speaking, or attempting to, about economics I would expect her to have a respectable level of knowledge on the subject, wouldn't you?

To go back to the point i made, she is part of a wider organisation, other elected reps within said organisation would be more knowledgable on economics & would be noted as being the 'finance spokesperson' from that party/organisation.

The other point i made was in comparison to little leo she has a better grasp on the economics that effect her constituents & ordinary people.

So we could say that we can leave the macro economics to be spoken on behalf of the ULA from say RBB or Joe higgins & in FG Noonan.

So you see what i am getting at really is she may not be as up to speed on macro economics, but does she need to be as part of a larger organisation? She can focus on her constituents & do a damn good job of it, no?

For anyone who wants this its here as we discussed the GAMA strike earlier in the thread, CDfm it worth a read, Cllr Mick Muurphys account from the time of how events unfolded,

Diary of the GAMA Struggle

For anyone who wants this its here as we discussed the GAMA strike earlier in the thread, CDfm it worth a read, Cllr Mick Muurphys account from the time of how events unfolded,

Diary of the GAMA Struggle

An interesting read and the visit to Holland showed the guys there had substantial funds in their accounts.

I don't want to rely on it as it may be a biased account though my knowledge of the building industry is that collective agreements wages and payslips go hand in hand and the rates are fixed.

GAMA should have expected a reaction if they tried to buck the system.

The building industry has a history of being lax with tax compliance and its C2 and registered contractor system is there to ensure it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Jolly Red Giant

An interesting read and the visit to Holland showed the guys there had substantial funds in their accounts.

I don't want to rely on it as it may be a biased account though my knowledge of the building industry is that collective agreements wages and payslips go hand in hand and the rates are fixed.

GAMA should have expected a reaction if they tried to buck the system.

The building industry has a history of being lax with tax compliance and its C2 and registered contractor system is there to ensure it.
    You can take the account as accurate.

GAMA thought they would get away with it because they had the backing of Mary Harney and the government.

Yes collective agreements existed, yes payslips are a legal requirement - if you know the law. None of the workers employed by GAMA could speak English, none of them knew anything about the collective agreements or the wage rates. The reason why the workers contacted members of the Socialist Party was because the Socialist Party printed leaflets in Turkish outlining the wage rates and the legal entitlements of the workers.

Even with this they were absolutely terrified to talk to anyone. Myself and a number of other Socialist Party members met with a couple of GAMA workers from one of their compounds to discuss their situation (we had a Turkish translator). The workers wouldn't meet us any where in public, we met them at the back of an abandoned building and they posted a lookout to make sure they weren't found out.

We eventually managed to organise a larger meeting of the workers. Again they wouldn't meet anywhere in public and we managed to persuade a guesthouse to rent us the use of one of their rooms to hold the meeting. 120 people crowded into a room that measure 15X15. We were there for over four hours as the workers went through how they were treated. Labourers were paid €2.20 per hour for 80 hours. They should have been paid €14 per hour for a 40 hour week and then overtime rates. Engineers and quantity surveyors were paid €3.20 per hour. No one ever received a payslip - the payslips were keep to show Labour Inspectors.

The government claimed there was nothing wrong, the Dept of Labour claiemd there was nothing wrong, SIPTU claimed there was nothing wrong (GAMA was paying union subs for the workers). Yet the Socialist Party managed to expose the biggest employment scandal since the disgraceful treatment of the workers building the Ardnacrusha power station in the 1920's.

The end result was €40million in hidden funds. GAMA were forced to pay the wages owed but much more that was owed in overtime was not paid as no records were kept by GAMA in relation to the actual time workers for each worker (GAMA claimed that the workers only worked a 40 hour week).

• Registered Users Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭mystic86

I see Clare Daly is part of the 9 TD's who are saying they won'y pay the household charge (of course she is)

I also note the potential for these TD's to end up in jail for non conformance.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

mystic86 wrote: »
    I see Clare Daly is part of the 9 TD's who are saying they won'y pay the household charge (of course she is)

She's on Prime Time now.. she must be the biggest whinge bag ever to have walked through the doors of Leinster House..... Expects dole and benefits to be kept at current levels, free health, free education etc... and for her supporters to pay nothing ... Just have the "rich" pay for it all....

• Registered Users Posts: 6,747 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

And shes at it again;

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/oireachtas/daly-attacks-slobbering-over-obamas-1.1435094
    “We’ve had separate and special news bulletins by the State broadcaster to tell us what Michelle Obama and her daughters had for lunch in Dublin, but very little questioning of the fact that she was having lunch with Mr Tax Exile himself,” she said in reference to U2’s Bono.
    She said, with her best friend and convicted tax evader Mick Wallace sitting beside her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Pete_Cavan wrote: »
    And shes at it again;

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/oireachtas/daly-attacks-slobbering-over-obamas-1.1435094
    She said, with her best friend and convicted tax evader Mick Wallace sitting beside her.

She said more than that, and it all made sense.

• Registered Users Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Alias G

Pete_Cavan wrote: »
    And shes at it again;

I think she is spot on here. The media fawning over Michelle Obama was nauseating. And it would be more than welcome if Boner paid some tax here although he is entitled to use whatever legal loop-hole to avoid paying tax that he likes.

Alias G wrote: »
    The media fawning over Michelle Obama was nauseating.

It really annoyed me, I have to admit. Way too much made of the whole thing. Michelle should have spent time in N.I. where the summit was. The children were bored silly according to the news in the USA. Her rushing down here is a slap in the face to the people of N.I. They put a lot into that summit and she should have visited the tourist attractions up there.

Clare made a very good point imo in relation to the visit. However, the tax exile remark from Clare was a bad mistake and is ridiculous considering the history of her closest ally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 TheSB

Nobody should be fawning over the Obama's. This is the guy who has a file on YOU with all your internet history and telephone records; what you searched online, what emails you wrote, what you bought on Amazon, what type of porn you watch. He should have been told to fock off out of this country.

• Registered Users Posts: 656 ✭✭✭TOMASJ

She was a breath of freash air on the radio today, well worth listening to if her speech is available online,
    Wish some of the men in the Dail had as much balls

• Registered Users Posts: 3,182 ✭✭✭Good loser

TOMASJ wrote: »
    She was a breath of freash air on the radio today, well worth listening to if her speech is available online,
    Wish some of the men in the Dail had as much balls

Dunno. Was it not predictable (from her) and pointless posturing? Narrow, parochial opinions. Did she pick it up from VB last night? Why not Putin; he is a much more menacing figure than Obama. And kills far more.

To me it seems she has no idea how big power politics works. If she was speaking to the US Senate would she have made the same speech?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭bmaxi

I have to agree with Clare Daly. There is something humiliating in watching a foreign politician trotting out a hastily learned and soon forgotten "cupla focal" to an ecstatic crowd of simpering idiots, most of whom don't even know what they mean anyway. It's an indication of the lack of self confidence endemic in the Irish people, a craving for praise from the top table.
    As for the Wallace/Bono thing, it's possible that Daly sees a distinction here, Wallace having got to his position by default whereas Bono got there by design.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭RandomName2

Clare made a very good point imo in relation to the visit. However, the tax exile remark from Clare was a bad mistake and is ridiculous considering the history of her closest ally.

Maybe in relation to her, but surely the point still stands?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,556 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Fair play to Claire Daly on what she said, its good to see a TD actually stand up in the house and be honest for once and talk straight. Something that the government parties cant seem to do, they can talk alright but it is usually a load of nonsense and they never answer a question and I think the public are going to start turning on this government unless the government can change their behaviour. For me FG are as bad if not worse that FF and it makes me sick to my stomach to say that.

As for Claire Daly, if I was in her constitunency I would be giving her my first preference vote in the next election and I base that on the good work that she did on highlighting what was going on with Penalty Points being written off. It is unfortunate though that this work is being undermined by the behaviour of Wallace and Ming Flanagan. I hope Claire keeps on ruffling feathers in the Dail, long may it continue and lets hope some more politicians grow a pair and stand up in the Dail and tell this government whats what. Its about time we get some straight talking and straight answers in the Dail.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,747 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

She may have raised a valid point in relation to Syria, but only following a quite broad, irrelevant rant before she finally got around to the question. The question related to the governments position on the arms embargo in Syria, although she already knew the answer as she mentioned Gilmores comments on the issue. In response to Kenny, she says the side she is on is that of Oxfam, which is basically the Irish governments position (that arms should not be supplied to the rebels). She also only mentioned Obama in the rant, no mention of anyone else, not even Putin who is arming al-Assad. This is more an anti-American agenda than humanitarian concern.

As for "prostituting ourselves in return for a pat on the head”, the UK hosted the summit north of the boarder, although some delegations stayed in the south, Michelle Obama and the Japanese Prime Minister were the only ones to come south on official visits. She also nominated Obama for the "hypocrite of the century award" while she gets digs in about Bonos (perfectly legal, although questionable ethically) tax affairs yet refused to criticise Wallace over his totally illegal actions. As for "very little questioning" of the fact that Mrs Obama had lunch with Bono, what questions are there to be asked about them having lunch? Most of this was irrelevant to Leaders Question Time and she just threw in these things to appeal to those who like to get angry over everything.