Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare Daly - she's bloody intolerable

• Registered Users Posts: 534 ✭✭✭James Jones

She was interviewed in Hot Press recently:
    "The Socialist TD also offers herself as a champion of fathers' rights, saying, “I have met many men who I believe have been seriously hard done by, by the courts and by the system. I think there are people in the campaigns for fathers’ rights who maybe don’t help the cause because of the way in which they conduct themselves, but I do think there is a problem there, absolutely, that needs to be articulated

She then followed through as follows:
    Hospital Services
    School Enrolments
    Gender Discrimination
    Human Rights Issues
    Equality Issues
    Health Services

There are other (male) TD's who simply won't ask these questions.
    Excellent post, however one thing leaps out.

Is she as concerned about peoples responsibilities as peoples rights?

Just that there seems to be one theme going through her excellent series of questions.

As most of these questions referred to Guardianship (the legal relationship between a child and their parents), do you not think that making decisions about a childs education, health and welfare are "responsibilities" or do you measure responsibility only in monetary terms, i.e. paying child maintenance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Fr.Harry Bell

As most of these questions referred to Guardianship (the legal relationship between a child and their parents), do you not think that making decisions about a childs education, health and welfare are "responsibilities" or do you measure responsibility only in monetary terms, i.e. paying child maintenance?

Actually, I was referring to a much wider summation of Ms.Daly, on a much more general basis.

Of course those questions are important, i totally agree on that.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,182 ✭✭✭Good loser

Clare Daly believes in a culture of entitlement - it's someone else's responsibility to get people out of whatever poor circumstance they're in.

Primarily the State.

Put another way - give her power and we would be like those Greeks in jig time.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,176 ✭✭✭nyarlothothep

I think she's hot

• Registered Users Posts: 10,509 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

I think she's hot

In that Commissar wannabe kind of way.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,029 ✭✭✭Lockstep

I think she's hot

She'd nationalise ya.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭mystic86

she really really annoys me

one of those people who really don't have a bloody clue!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

She once had an election poster on a pole outside my bedroom window.

It was scary.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,699 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

And just to clear up an issue raised earlier in the thread, Clare was last seen smiling sometime around may 1997

310.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭gazzer

ColHol wrote: »
    And just to clear up an issue raised earlier in the thread, Clare was last seen smiling sometime around may 1997

310.jpg

So she does actually smile then? Actually I have never seen Joe Higgins smile either so that photo is a double whammy :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

gazzer wrote: »
    So she does actually smile then? Actually I have never seen Joe Higgins smile either so that photo is a double whammy :D

Photoshopped i reckon

I lived in a cul-de-sac a few years back when she was active in a bin charges campaign .

Rubbish piled up and we asked her to leave us alone for a week but it was not to be.

Anyway, when she lost by 2 votes in the GE 2007 I knew why.

I wonder if the boundary change will affect her support in the next election.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭Duke Leonal Felmet

A two faced, moaning liar. The second moaniest politician in Ireland behind Sir Boyd-Barrett-Boyd.

I remember her championing the cause of Metro North when it was being cut, despite the fact that it cost the most and would have wrecked Stephens Green for 20+ years. She kept throwing around made up figures and back up the most optimistic estimates for completion and the restoration of Stephens Green (sure its in the southside, near banks, who cares?). You know fully well that any such project would have led to some opposition on her part, as she would have a moan at anything. So why was she so for this project? Wouldn't happen to have anything to do with the fact that this would have led to Swords and have **** all to do with socialism or national interests, would it?

Hmm, one wonders...

Sleepy wrote: »
    NinjaK wrote: »
    I like her.She gives an opposing viewpoint to the right wing middle class consensus that runs in Irish politics. Im guessing thats why she is hated so much on boards.
    There's a right wing, middle class consensus running Irish politics?

Since when?

Have we a balanced budget? A flexible, non-unionised, public sector earning realistic wages? Affordable welfare rates?

Or are the middle class still paying most of the taxes towards a bloated public sector, overly generous welfare rates and interest on our vast over-spending?

Sigh, I wish we could sticky posts like this...

• Registered Users Posts: 9,543 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Aye. they socialist party hacks like Higgins and Daly always bang on about only taking the average industrial wage and "donate" the remainder to the party.
    What a load of arse gravy! .

I presume they also accrue pension entitlements based on the €100k figure?!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

Aye. they socialist party hacks like Higgins and Daly always bang on about only taking the average industrial wage and "donate" the remainder to the party.
    What a load of arse gravy! If they are Dontating it to the party they are accepting it and its just that they decide to spend that money on their hobby, which happens to be left wing extremism.

The fact that it returns to the party, to fight (oh sorry we cant say fight as implies we intend violence:rolleyes:) for the issues the ELECTORATE voted them in for seems fair to me, would you not agree that it is the greatest way you could give something back to the people who voted for you? By using the money to camapign on the issues they want campaigned?
    I presume they also accrue pension entitlements based on the €100k figure?!

http://www.joehiggins.eu/2011/02/pension-solidarity-fund-report-2010/

Why are the ULA so moany, though? Other opposition parties and independents seem to be able to get a point across (sometimes passionately), without seeming like a whiney, whinging, self righteous twat. Why not the ULA?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,373 ✭✭✭Dr Galen

I've already asked posters not to let this thread become about silly things, like her lack of smiling etc etc

As I'm prone to saying these days.....make your point in the proper fashion, as is expected on this forum, or don't make it at all

Cheers

DrG

• Registered Users Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

Why are the ULA so moany, though? Other opposition parties and independents seem to be able to get a point across (sometimes passionately), without seeming like a whiney, whinging, self righteous twat. Why not the ULA?

Have you ever seen the Doc, 'The GAMA Strike'?

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-8522850390691204183

Joe certainly doesnt come across whiney or self righteous, it was a real victory against exploitation, that wasnt about scoring political points, even on the subsequent release of the documentary that was crammed into 1 hour.

I remember her championing the cause of Metro North when it was being cut, despite the fact that it cost the most and would have wrecked Stephens Green for 20+ years. She kept throwing around made up figures and back up the most optimistic estimates for completion and the restoration of Stephens Green (sure its in the southside, near banks, who cares?).

Wouldn't happen to have anything to do with the fact that this would have led to Swords and have **** all to do with socialism or national interests, would it?

Hmm, one wonders...

An interesting point of view.

Are there any example of fictitious/ludicrous claims by her?

Are there any examples of causes campaigned for by her that have happened and benefited Swords. Lots of politicians promote their own areas and I am interested to see if she has actually done so sucessfully.

(My contact with her on the rubbish protests was negative but I am open minded)
    She was interviewed in Hot Press recently:

"The Socialist TD also offers herself as a champion of fathers' rights, saying, “I have met many men who I believe have been seriously hard done by, by the courts and by the system. I think there are people in the campaigns for fathers’ rights who maybe don’t help the cause because of the way in which they conduct themselves, but I do think there is a problem there, absolutely, that needs to be articulated

There are other (male) TD's who simply won't ask these questions.

Has she actually done or said anything on this issue ?

What is her record ?

Have you ever seen the Doc, 'The GAMA Strike'?

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-8522850390691204183

Joe certainly doesnt come across whiney or self righteous, it was a real victory against exploitation, that wasnt about scoring political points, even on the subsequent release of the documentary that was crammed into 1 hour.

But wasn't the upshot of this that the Turkish workers lost their jobs ?

If I remember rightly the Turkish workers were also paid tax free outside Ireland.

Hardly a successful outcome .

• Registered Users Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

Love Clare Daly, doing great work for north dublin.

Leftist wrote: »
    Love Clare Daly, doing great work for north dublin.

In what way ?

• Registered Users Posts: 789 ✭✭✭damoz

fliball123 wrote: »
    I know 3 / 4 people screwing it and I would bet everyone on this board knows at least one person screwing it...

https://www.welfare.ie/EN/Secure/Pages/ReportSuspectFraud.aspx

The biggest problem we have is turning a blind eye to fraud. If everyone who knows someone whos stealing money form the state (and by default from you) then report them. Simple.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

CDfm wrote: »
    In what way ?
    In a respectful way, obviously.

In what way ?

Shame you couldn't follow her lead, on that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Benny_Cake

What a load of arse gravy! If they are Dontating it to the party they are accepting it and its just that they decide to spend that money on their hobby, which happens to be left wing extremism.

And on that point I think that extremist parties like the socilaists, SWP, Eirigi and communist party should be banned outright.
    They are far left extremeists and often their policies border on the promotion of violence. SP and SWP constantly talk about "fighting" the government and I think it would not be too OTT to think that they would perhaps encourage violence against the state if it were to break out.

We don't allow right wing extremism such as Nazism, White Supremacy parties so it makes sense to also ban left wing extremism.
    Either that or we allow Nazism and WS to exists also. - The situation at present is pure hipocracy.

As for the party members themselves, they are the biggest bunch of begrudgers i'ver ever come across. They hate and despise anyone who has been succesful in life and earns good money. Sheer sour grapes.

They are still in a early 1900's minset of exploiters and exploited and giving it to "the man". Total dinosaur politics. This opressed masses and working class they talk of simply no longer exists. People nowadays want to make big money and be successful, not just get by with a few handouts. And this means free enterprise is the only way forward.

Their website often states that socialism is the only way and the 21st century will be socialist - LOL. They only get a peanuts vote %. Good luck to them. We are quite safe though, I mean I know many poorer and what they describe as working class people, think that the SP are absolutely nuts.
    Thankfully they will never get power.

Right wing extremism isn't illegal in this country - it is to the credit of the Irish people that it has never gained ground in this country, on a political level at least. In my view an organisation should only be banned if they are planning the overthrow of the state by force.None of the organisations you mentioned are doing that to the best of my knowledge,nor would they have the slightest chance of succeeding even if they did.

As for dinosaur politics, the ULA went from zero seats in the last election to five in the most recent one. It's a minority view,but it exists and I'd rather hear a few alternative voices in the Dail as opposed to yet another FG or Labour backbencher. By the way, the working class is still very much in existence - and if you think people aren't being exploited in the 21st century then you're living in a different world to me.

That's OK if you don't want to answer.

I am interested in her as she is the TD for my constituency.

Benny_Cake wrote: »

As for dinosaur politics, the ULA went from zero seats in the last election to five in the most recent one. It's a minority view,but it exists and I'd rather hear a few alternative voices in the Dail as opposed to yet another FG or Labour backbencher. By the way, the working class is still very much in existence - and if you think people aren't being exploited in the 21st century then you're living in a different world to me.

Can you define working class for me as I am always a bit confused as to what is meant by it.

Is there a financial earning ceiling or whatever ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Benny_Cake

Can you define working class for me as I am always a bit confused as to what is meant by it.

Is there a financial earning ceiling or whatever ?

Well,there wouldn't be any open and shut definition, some would describe it as anyone who must sell their labour to someone else, others would say it's people working in unskilled or manual labour. To be honest, I just find it strange that everyone these days seems to consider themselves to be middle class. In some of the Sunday newspapers you read stories of "middle class" families who had to forego horse-riding lessons or the third family holiday of the year,and on the other hand there are also people struggling in very low-paid jobs that would also maintain that they are middle class!