Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare Daly - she's bloody intolerable

• 10-11-2011 12:41am
    Registered Users Posts: 5,862 ✭✭✭

Does anyone find this woman totally intolerable ?
    I hear her spouting idealistic nonsense constantly always with a huge chip on her shoulder towards anyone that earns above the minimum wage.
    She is also consistently making up figures to support her argument and seems to have little or know knowledge or at least ill conceived ideas.

I wonder how she sleeps at night when she earns 100k per annum and most of the people who voted for her are on the bread line ?

Mod Addition

By all means feel free to criticise Ms Daly's policies and views, but lets have no more of this cheap and petty namecalling nonsense.

Either make your point in a reasonable and adult fashion, or find somewhere else to make it

Cheers

DrG

• Registered Users Posts: 10,508 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Since when does she earn 100k :eek:

Either way yes, very annoying. Though I fondly remember her grim black and white election posters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Has a picture of her smiling ever been found? I think I've only ever seen one

A real socialist, always miserable.
    She needs a holiday or something

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,667 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

mikemac wrote: »

A real socialist, always miserable.
    She needs a holiday or something
    People can afford holidays?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,862 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

dsmythy wrote: »
    Worse still as a TD she is earning 100k+ of your taxes - makes me sick, she is a class A idiot in my opinion, always trying to make out anyone that has done well for them selves and earns a decent wage is some sort of tyrant while there isn't a single person on the dole or any form of welfare that isn't totally deserving of every penny :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Shes the definition of a moanbag.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,508 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

RobAMerc wrote: »
    Worse still as a TD she is earning 100k+ of your taxes - makes me sick, she is a class A idiot in my opinion, always trying to make out anyone that has done well for them selves and earns a decent wage is some sort of tyrant while there isn't a single person on the dole or any form of welfare that isn't totally deserving of every penny :rolleyes:

I think she only takes the average wage or something. Don't know what she does with the rest of the money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

She is also consistently making up figures to support her argument
    I wonder how she sleeps at night when she earns 100k per annum
    “I hereby pledge that, if elected as a Socialist Party TD, I will accept only the wage of an average worker. I will donate the balance of my salary to be used to assist in building the Socialist Party and other campaign groups fighting on behalf of ordinary working people.”
    her argument and seems to have little or know knowledge
    It appears you two have something in common so.

mikemac wrote: »
    Famously yes, for the Fingal council family portraits. It was an expensive smile too.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭AG2R

Anytime I've seen her on tv she comes off looking worse than before, always finds a way to get herself into some sort of trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭psychward

Clares' strong ''Dublin working class'' accent is freaky considering she is apparently from Kildare. How do Kildare people typically sound when they speak ?
    However considering the type of politicians we have endured and continue to endure we could have a lot worse. Regardless of my opinion of her politicial views I think it's good for democracy if we have a few people in the Dail who don't sing from the same hymn sheet as the rest of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭femur61

dsmythy wrote: »

Either way yes, very annoying. Though I fondly remember her grim black and white election posters.

Well she got elected = TD's wages.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,888 ✭✭✭Terrontress

Being a constituent I have given her my number 1 in every election since I registered to vote. I correctly called her as an irritating hatchet and thought she'd be ideal to break up any cosy backslapping sessions.

Long may she continue to harrass, complain and irritate.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

Its embarrasing that people from my constituency voted for her tbh

• Registered Users Posts: 485 ✭✭the bolt

i would much prefer someone like her who has moral backbone and is honest than some of the main stream politicans who say whatever they think people want to hear.might not agree with her allways but at least you she not in it for brown envelops.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭Uriel.

the bolt wrote: »
    i would much prefer someone like her who has moral backbone and is honest than some of the main stream politicans who say whatever they think people want to hear.might not agree with her allways but at least you she not in it for brown envelops.
    ??

She does the same. Proclaims all these wonderful socialist ideas and how things should be done because its popular with the unthinking voter who's concerns only stretch to them and their family, without heed for the bigger picture.

Ireland can be described as being on a downhill slope right now, no doubt, but if we implemented her bullsh1t "policies" we'd remain on the down ward slope but this time we'd have a steam engine strapped to us ensuring a free fall descent.

Anyone with any sense of initiative and entrepreneurialship would be gone under her policies, so would all the multinationals, all the while protecting trade unionism and ensuring that those people in companies whose jobs have disappeared are kept on and paid

It's very easy to be in the type of opposition that is so minor that you can say what ever you want knowing that you'll never be held to account on the other side of the table

• Registered Users Posts: 9,536 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Notice how she refuses to condemn welfare fraudsters as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭vektarman

Notice how she refuses to condemn welfare fraudsters as well.
    Any links to this?

vektarman wrote: »
    Any links to this?

She was on Vinnie Brown spouting it last night - saying there is no welfare fraud :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,445 ✭✭✭fliball123

vektarman wrote: »
    Any links to this?

She was on Vinny B doing this exact thing..spouting that she doesnt know anyone who is screwing the system..the dizzy bint..they are hardly going to go up to her Hi Claire I am screwing it over..I know 3 / 4 people screwing it and I would bet everyone on this board knows at least one person screwing it...

She spouted ahh we need jobs...and when asked what was her way of creating these jobs.....Well Vinny B the private sector has seen their capital cut from 54billion to 17 billion so the private sector is not going to do..So the gov need to do it.?? So how does that work claire were do we get this money..Lets tax more.....She was shown by the other lad who has the book out that we are past the point of diminishing returns with tax and it was also pointed out that if a wealth tax is put on the richest will take their assets and cash out of Ireland...The demo left totally derived of any ideas to get us out of the mire...Also claire please wash your hair love

fliball123 wrote: »
    She spouted ahh we need jobs...and when asked what was her way of creating these jobs.....

Don't forget her plan to spend borrow billions on building septic tanks!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 963 ✭✭✭NinjaK

Does anyone find this woman totally intolerable ?
    I hear her spouting idealistic nonsense constantly always with a huge chip on her shoulder towards anyone that earns above the minimum wage.
    She is also consistently making up figures to support her argument and seems to have little or know knowledge or at least ill conceived ideas.

I wonder how she sleeps at night when she earns 100k per annum and most of the people who voted for her are on the bread line ?

I like her.She gives an opposing viewpoint to the right wing middle class consensus that runs in Irish politics. Im guessing thats why she is hated so much on boards.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,934 ✭✭✭20Cent

I think she is great, if it wasn't for her and a handful of others there would be no opposition speaking out against the Gov. Didn't vote ULA but if FG/Lab continue behaving like FF then they could be contenders.

NinjaK wrote: »
    I like her.She gives an opposing viewpoint to the right wing middle class consensus that runs in Irish politics. Im guessing thats why she is hated so much on boards.

She isnt hatted..I dont like her demeaner when asked questions she keeps on the same track..She was shown for what the demo left are .. A party who have no credible idea on how to get us out of the mess..Dont get me wrong it would be great to have a wealth tax and get bilions off the guys with all the money but reality is that they would just move the wealth out of the county..this was her response when asked where she would get the money for her "the gov has to create jobs"

Same as her their are feck all on the dole creaming it...Now thats just head in the sand time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭anbrutog

Holy Jebus. A reprehensible piece of pond life like Barry Cowen and Clare Daly both appear on a show and all the talk is about Clare Daly.

Now, first of all , I'm not a fan of hers and certainly dont agree with everything she says.

But dear Lord , get some perspective folks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

the bolt wrote: »

Your confusing shrill self righteousness with moral backbone

anbrutog wrote: »
    Holy Jebus. A reprehensible piece of pond life like Barry Cowen and Clare Daly both appear on a show and all the talk is about Clare Daly.

Now, first of all , I'm not a fan of hers and certainly dont agree with everything she says.

But dear Lord , get some perspective folks.

I aggree that Cowen was not much better.....and his handling of VBs question as to his bros pension was cringing.....It was well there is nothing that can be done...Tell that to the banking lads who had a 99% tax on their bonuses a few years ago..Kenny must tackle this and increase taxes paid on Public sector pensions and not on the contribution side but on the payment side...and if done in a scaled system ala

anything over 20k 5% more
    anything over 40k 10% more
    anything over 60k 20% more
    anything over 80k 40% more
    anything over 100k 80% more
    anything over 150k 90% more

this will bring the likes of ahearn and biffo back into the Ireland that they created its time these fcuks shared the pain..Do the right thing Enda

• Registered Users Posts: 24,151 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

There's a right wing, middle class consensus running Irish politics?

Since when?

Have we a balanced budget? A flexible, non-unionised, public sector earning realistic wages? Affordable welfare rates?

Or are the middle class still paying most of the taxes towards a bloated public sector, overly generous welfare rates and interest on our vast over-spending?

Sleepy wrote: »
    There's a right wing, middle class consensus running Irish politics?

Since when?

Have we a balanced budget? A flexible, non-unionised, public sector earning realistic wages? Affordable welfare rates?

Or are the middle class still paying most of the taxes towards a bloated public sector, overly generous welfare rates and interest on our vast over-spending?

Hit the nail on the head sleepy the ones being slapped with the majority of this bill are the middle earning families...No other sector in society has taken more pain and yet they will target the same people again in the next budget

• Registered Users Posts: 19,018 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

Are you for real? A decade of populist FF and now what looks like more of the same from FG/LAB.

If Ireland was being run by the real middle classes I can guarantee you welfare and PS rates of pay wouldn't be so high and there'd be no such thing as a government job for life!

Look around you. The government is bending over backwards to maintain pay and conditions of unionised public sector workers and social welfare recipients.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

Don't forget her plan to spend borrow billions on building septic tanks!

Oh aye, she seems to be absolutely fixated on septic tanks and how they're going to save the country.

She was asked by Vinny B last night how much money her wealth tax would net and she went "ah ah 2 billion" and when pressed by Vinny that she was just plucking the figure from thin air she couldn't answer. She came off looking like a bit of a thicko tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,018 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

Oh aye, she seems to be absolutely fixated on septic tanks and how they're going to save the country.

She was asked by Vinny B last night how much money her wealth tax would net and she went "ah ah 2 billion" and when pressed by Vinny that she was just plucking the figure from thin air she couldn't answer. She came off looking like a bit of a thicko tbh.
    Wonder where she plans to get the other 10.6bn from anyway, seeing as she only ever seems to mention this wealth tax when asked about possible revenue streams to fund her "plans".

If Clare Daly & Co. were actually running the show, things would rapidly deteriorate, even faster than at present.