Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

.....You just dont want me ordering you around the place like a cnut! :pac:
    First order.....attack that Bravo! Steyrs at the ready lads! :D

I'd get the 84 and watch it go in a blaze of glory :pac:

Speaking of that van, we used to be the 65th inf bn B company Navan (yeah abbreviations :D ) before the restructuring and amalgamation.... Yada yada yada I shall not talk further about that :pac: one camp we were back from a few of the privates sat in the boot and the rest of the entire unit sat around it for a group photo (minus the.... Um.... Er.... Who sat in the passenger seat!)

The irony of that pic: Bravo company sitting in the company Bravo :p

Edit: As for the Steyr, your challenge is to beat my record of assembly in a minute 20 and disassembly in 50 seconds...... Blindfolded :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

dgt wrote: »
    For my sins of being a c*nt I have to repeat an exam in August. Yeah :(

Everyone seems to be getting there results. I'm not getting mine till 26th. Hopefully ill pass them all but there's a few I'm worried about 57.5% fail rate on one exam :( best of luck with the repeat at least you have a good bit of time to prepare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Here's all yous getting you're results and crack, and I'm eating me fingers at this stage to see if I got a course. At the interview I was told "within two weeks" and that was nearly 2 and a half months ago!

Bpmull wrote: »
    Everyone seems to be getting there results. I'm not getting mine till 26th. Hopefully ill pass them all but there's a few I'm worried about 57.5% fail rate on one exam :( best of luck with the repeat at least you have a good bit of time to prepare.

Cheers man! :D hope you get the results you were looking for :cool:

Seems that a lot of my class failed, only 3 got results with a repeat exam. At least 2 have to repeat modules :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Hi ya!

Hi ya!

Oh-Haaaay.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Oh-Haaaay.jpg

Oh noooooooo now I can't stop talkin' like him! That's ok though cuz everyone likes his soft tones ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

OSI wrote: »
    Reading all these posts about exam results and courses, while I'm sitting at my desk enjoying my coffee and cake has me feel incredibly..... smug :D

Bastager I'm only in work an hour and the arms are hanging off me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Reading all these posts about exam results and courses, while I'm sitting at my desk enjoying my coffee and cake has me feel incredibly..... smug :D

And growing less qualified by the day.

The times are a changing. You need to keep on top of things to stay up to date. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Please use your lights, it's hard enough to see with the rain but not using lights makes it more difficult :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

I hate selling sh1t :pac:

Caller: Hi do you still have the xantia
    Me: Hi yes i do
    Caller: What colour is it
    Me: Eh.. grey or silver, whatever you want to call it
    Caller: Oh, never mind, i wanted a red one
    Me: Ahm, did you not see the pictures in the ad?
    Caller: Well yeah i did, but just thought it might be a different colour

Will one of ye sane people just buy it off me :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Ah yes, the old education is the only way to keep up to date adage.

That's why despite dropping out of college, I have a better job than anyone I know that finished it ;)

Some better themselves by learning. Others, by doing.

Same here! A lot of my friends who finished college are working abroad, others don't have a job and are going back to college just to pass the time. I did German in college and I was put into the 4th year class of it when in 1st year so I finished that and got an A in it but didn't finish the Business Studies course I started. Instead I was offered my previous job and I took it.

Ah yes, the old education is the only way to keep up to date adage.

That's why despite dropping out of college, I have a better job than anyone I know that finished it ;)

Some better themselves by learning. Others, by doing.

True that, I know a chap that got into insurance at the right time and has a lot to show for it, only has a leaving cert...

I find in Ireland its not what you can do but the piece of paper that says you can do it (lets not muddy the waters with who you know too)

For example, would a garage take me on in as an apprentice? Not that I want to anymore but not 1 would entertain the it despite knowing who I am and my background.....

College is the only thing I have left. It was my final option, I looked into what was on demand and went for networking. If I'm honest that's all that's keeping me in Ireland....!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Issue is lads, sometimes moving on to other places and getting their attention and even an interview requires some letters after the name.

Sad but true !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

True that, I know a chap that got into insurance at the right time and has a lot to show for it, only has a leaving cert...

I find in Ireland its not what you can do but the piece of paper that says you can do it (lets not muddy the waters with who you know too)

For example, would a garage take me on in as an apprentice? Not that I want to anymore but not 1 would entertain the it despite knowing who I am and my background.....

College is the only thing I have left. It was my final option, I looked into what was on demand and went for networking. If I'm honest that's all that's keeping me in Ireland....!

desperate isn't it. the way i look at it though is when we get that piece of paper then hopefully i will be wealthy enough to waste all my money on cars :D

my dad and grandad were mechanics, i've been tinkering with cars since i was a young fella. worked in a motor factors every summer since i was 14. done my leaving and got a start in the trade (which is what i always wanted to do). got let go after a year, then spent 2 years bouncing from pillar to post in motor factors, tyre centers, valeting, you name it, hoping to get in somewhere. just gave up eventually.

said i'd become an architectural technician instead, said there'd be way more jobs in that :pac:

MugMugs wrote: »
    Issue is lads, sometimes moving on to other places and getting their attention and even an interview requires some letters after the name.

Sad but true !

Not necessarily, a lot of employers are more likely going to hire someone who has previous experience working with a certain system or in a certain field instead of someone who has these letters after their name.

Obvious reason being that the person with experience can start working straight away whereas the other guy has to be trained in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

2.1 degree bitchessssssssss! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭kilianmanning

Anybody here know any good good bright h1 bulbs for reasonable money?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

I think I'll go dancing tonight

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d84z_TFkeNU

Cheensbo wrote: »
    I hate selling sh1t :pac:

Caller: Hi do you still have the xantia
    Me: Hi yes i do
    Caller: What colour is it
    Me: Eh.. grey or silver, whatever you want to call it
    Caller: Oh, never mind, i wanted a red one
    Me: Ahm, did you not see the pictures in the ad?
    Caller: Well yeah i did, but just thought it might be a different colour

Will one of ye sane people just buy it off me :pac:

Soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooolllddd :cool:

Buyer collecting in the morning, good deal for him and a good deal for me :)

Hope it continues to have an easy life :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Katunga

Any of you using the no nonsense smart driver? I,m very tempted they are the cheapest I found for my insurance so far and I'v tried a good few. The next cheapest is my current insurer only 70 more (have to contact them) . every else is 300 +more than them. 123 is more than double fbd.

Anybody here know any good good bright h1 bulbs for reasonable money?

The place in Kells I got my yellows.... I can't remember the name of it! :(

Or if you want "offroading quality" lights I have 100w Xenon blues in H1's.... ;)

Anyone here at a modified car meet in Thurles tonight by any chance?? I was in the car waiting for someone to move from a petrol pump so I could pull up to it. 3 people walked in front of the car, one of whom said "That's MM from boards" or something like that.

My question to that person is this: why in the name of god are you wasting your time in this town on a Friday night?? :pac:

Be honest he said, "Jaysus thats that Dave fella driving around in his BM thinking he is fecking Liberachi, the head on him hah"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

First class honours degree:D

The skangermobile thread has nothing on the yokes in Bolivia. Fook me!

Pics Pics Pics

Or Dgt won't be able to sleep tonight

Congrats! :D

I can only imagine what the cars are like.... I have been to Hong Kong and Manila you know :pac:

421325_405182476162297_149872276_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Congrats! :D

I can only imagine what the cars are like.... I have been to Hong Kong and Manila you know :pac:

421325_405182476162297_149872276_n.jpg

Wannabe 240Z?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

Get that Punto on the road laaaaad so i don't have to drive to midway like a big loner by myself :p

Sorry dude, but I think I'll pass on the meet..... Maybe next time.
    CianRyan wrote: »
    BW: Wow! Long hours, man. I hope you're doing well off it!
    Fair play, I had a few weeks of that kind if time doing the phone books. It's not easy but everything afterwards is piss easy. :)

Eh ya, long hours indeed, it's getting to a stage now where people owes me money from last week for work, I'll have to see how it goes. Not much time for boards any more though...

BX 19 wrote: »
    Tick the box for W. I'm pretty sure your entitled to it, I did get it on my licence anyways.

You've up to ten years to renew your licence after it expires after which you've to take the test again.

Cheers will do that.

10 years, I see. I was kinda hoping it to be a few months. I would LOL if the parents had to sit the driving test. As they got there DL way back when the RSA had a back log or something like that, so they didn't have to sit the driving test.

Slightly emotionally (very alcoholly :o) charged post from me here folks,

As some of you may have picked up, im leaving tomorrow, heading to "travel" i.e. typical SE Asia and Australia malarkey, but as Ive said to others, I've not done it yet, so I don't give a f*ck if millions of others have done it already.

However, I'm very sad as I will not be frequenting boards, mainly: the motors forum which I enjoy so much, it (and particularly you regular posters) has kept me sane through long days in work, and even longer nights at home. I've learned a crazy amount about motors, and specific motors in my time here, and it has truly rekindled my love affair with the common banger, hell, i even tried to talk the lad who was buying my Xantia out of it, as - he wasn't going to be doing "diesel mileage" - but alas, it's sold, and I'm off, for a year at least.

But, I will be back, not only to share misguided (and generally mis-) information, and my non tax compliant ways, but to revel in the fact that there are people who love motors and the art of driving just as much as I do and for nothing more than what they are, I cannot properly phrase what they are, but those of you who understand - you know what i mean.

I know a lot of you will be gone, and many will have re-reged ;) but, please, try make it obvious to me :pac:

Btw: If I dont come back fiancially ruined, ill be buying a 535d