Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

They are, I think they're one of if not BMW's best at the moment, in my opinion of course.

I dunno if its a 'best of a bad bunch' type thing, but they are class, the boss has an f10 5 series parked outside my window as i type this, and tbh, my xantia has more character..

There's also a Jag XF v6 diesel here too, now, thats a serious motor :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Cheensbo wrote: »
    I dunno if its a 'best of a bad bunch' type thing, but they are class, the boss has an f10 5 series parked outside my window....

I'm a big fan of the F10 M-Sport but I hate the regular SE one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Saw some nice cars today, a vintage Mustang (have a pic of it), two 12 BMW 640D's and what I think was a 3.2 Brera as it had quad exhausts unless that was standard on all Brera's.

All Brera's have quad exhausts. Was it red by any chance?

Edit: Should point out that they are actually twin exhausts with quad tailpipes...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Got a job today! :D

Means I won't be able to get those compressors off you on Tuesday Ardenne but sure, thems the breaks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

CianRyan wrote: »

Well done.............

.............. continue.

Means I won't be able to get those compressors off you on Tuesday Ardenne but sure, thems the breaks.

Where? ;)

166man wrote: »
    Where? ;)
    MugMugs wrote: »
    Well done.............

.............. continue.

Hotel room cleaner in town. Was told I'd be playing at house porter too.

I'll be seeing a lot more of a certain boardsie now. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

The awkward moment when a subframe falls over and knocks one to the ground, making it a right arse to move...... It was too hot to work anyway, time for some afternoon drinks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Skirting Boardsie? With one of these?

FeatherDuster.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

All Brera's have quad exhausts. Was it red by any chance?

Edit: Should point out that they are actually twin exhausts with quad tailpipes...;)

You know what I meant :P

Nah it was a 06 C Silver one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

dar83 wrote: »
    Skirting Boardsie? With one of these?
    I think you're losing your touch. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I hope you going to get French maiden outfit too!

Happy to hear, that CV worked wonders! You should get plenty of hours though and once you have a few months experience might move on to something else! One things for sure you'll have plenty of work all year round...:)
    dgt wrote: »
    The awkward moment when a subframe falls over and knocks one to the ground, making it a right arse to move...... It was too hot to work anyway, time for some afternoon drinks :)

Jaeger? I'm dying for a beer now actually...:o
    You know what I meant :P

Nah it was a 06 C Silver one.

Lovely stuff, most likely a 2.2 unless it was the loudish daysul. Very few 3.2's sold here - Crap engine, crap economy, crap tax!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Jaeger? I'm dying for a beer now actually...:o

Nah didn't bother, my body somewhat recovered and I carried on! Found out the local Supervalu (not in Johnostown/J-Town) has 1 litre of Smirnoff for €20 quid, nice and cool by from being in the fridge. Bliss :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Got reminded of why i don't park my car on the road outside the house anymore.

Neighbours doing a dallas impersonation with 20 cattle stampeding back and over the road, 10 of them made a break for the auld lads brand new avensis as he was giving it it's bi monthly wash :p

The look on his face

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,085 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Renault4CV_OL.jpg

I'd imagine they'd be horribly expensive?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

@SH - Best of luck with the new gaff. :)

Congrats dude, got some work there myself. Not a 9-5 job, just different work with different neighbors. working between about 7.15/7.30 till 11pm. That's why Iv'e not been around here the last 4ish days. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Fir play Cian, more money to piss away on the car is always good news :P

Get that Punto on the road laaaaad so i don't have to drive to midway like a big loner by myself :p

Fir play Cian, more money to piss away on the car is always good news :P

And it will be pissed away! :p

I can't wait to start saving.
    PLANS!! :pac:

BW: Wow! Long hours, man. I hope you're doing well off it!
    Fair play, I had a few weeks of that kind if time doing the phone books. It's not easy but everything afterwards is piss easy. :)

Forgot to say Fair play Cain. Those who look for job will always find ;).

Speaking of jobs,

I'm finishing up work at lunchtime :)

Cheensbo wrote: »
    Speaking of jobs,

I'm finishing up work at lunchtime :)

Take a spin to galway and buy a sofa off me tbh

Retail therapy only job tbh get you out of that awful sunshine :p

Take a spin to galway and buy a sofa off me tbh

Retail therapy only job tbh get you out of that awful sunshine :p

I meant for good :pac: not just for the day :o

Have ye any sofas that will fit in a backpack? :p

Or will ya swap a few for a citroen xantia? :pac:

Headed off to Montpellier this morning at 6am. Have eventually arrived here and just chillin' in a local cafe in the sun. Checked my exam results there too from college and all went very well, all passed with honours. On course for my 2:1 now.

Delighted, now to go for a few beers...:D

*Motoring related - parked the 156 for a week in the long term car park for €30. :pac:

Aviva insurance has some thickest customer support ever...

Misses needs to change address due to moving. She got her tax disc and called them. They refused to do anything by using account number and said that name and surname is "account number"
    So she is not great at spelling. After few fails she said that she will give it to a co-worker ( Irish) to spell it for her. The lass on the other end of the phone completely refused that, she said my misses has to do it her self. She got completely thick! Even when misses gave phone to a friend ( coworker) just to explain it and she refused to talk to him and demanded to out her back to my misses...

So half an hour and nothing done. In fact could not even find account...

OSI wrote: »
    Have you tried changing it through the website?

not yet, but that's an idea, cheers. Won't be easy to do with phone though. And since I moved my broadband is still not activated...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Aviva insurance has some thickest customer support ever...

Misses needs to change address due to moving. She got her tax disc and called them. They refused to do anything by using account number and said that name and surname is "account number"
    So she is not great at spelling. After few fails she said that she will give it to a co-worker ( Irish) to spell it for her. The lass on the other end of the phone completely refused that, she said my misses has to do it her self. She got completely thick! Even when misses gave phone to a friend ( coworker) just to explain it and she refused to talk to him and demanded to out her back to my misses...

So half an hour and nothing done. In fact could not even find account...

Your misses can't spell her surname!?! :eek::eek::eek:

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Your misses can't spell her surname!?! :eek::eek::eek:

She is not used to it. She never properly learned English in school. She learned English in Ireland. She can speak good, but she can't spell at all. The way you say individual letter is different from Lithuanian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

She is not used to it. She never properly learned English in school. She learned English in Ireland. She can speak good, but she can't spell at all. The way you say individual letter is different from Lithuanian.

I was only kidding - I thought it was the address she couldn't spell! :(