Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

still, custom built jobby. probably not something you are ever going to meet at the lights :P.

i wouldn't hate on something like that. just the lads with the tuning box tdi's. :)

I wasn't arguing the side of Golfs, I was just saying that what is probably the fastest car in the country is probably a Golf!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

166man wrote: »
    TDI?

fry-can-t-tell-meme-generator-can-t-tell-if-being-sarcastic-or-serious-e1372a.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

definitely sarcastic :P definitely.

is it wrong that every time i see a post from 166man now i have a mental picture of you in that sombrero yoke!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

is it wrong that every time i see a post from 166man now i have a mental picture of you in that sombrero yoke!

If it's just the sombrero then definitely wrong pal. Unless you swing that way :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

People who drive german cars think that they're cars are the absolute sh!t. The problem with the majority of them is that they are just SO heavy that they are just not fast unfortunately (obviously the large engined cars are but I'm talking about the everyday things up to 2.5l). However none of these people will believe that my car is faster or as fast as theirs as theirs is a 1.8, 1.8T, 1.9TDI, 2.0, 2.5, or whatever and mine is only a 1.6. I have even had someone tell me that their 1.6 mark 4 golf is faster than my car as german engines are better:rolleyes:.
    Since I got the Levin there has not been one car that raced me off the line that was faster even though they were sure they would beat it (most of them were anyway).

just putting it out there, but i think i would school this car to 120km/h even though it has double the cubic capacity of my car and 50% more cylinders :P *

*I have not even googled stats for that car so i could be wrong
    I like this.... Such a sleeper. Get it for €1k and it could be a bit of fun, is it turbo though? Always thought these were N/A...

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/00-vw-passat/5205105

View2-20793498.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Nah not at all! Sure that hat made it to the South of France for a week and back! It's sitting proud in the car and will be there on the 23rd not to worry!

€2 in a wholesaler! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Nah not at all! Sure that hat made it to the South of France for a week and back! It's sitting proud in the car and will be there on the 23rd not to worry!

€2 in a wholesaler! :D

Get me one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

CianRyan wrote: »
    Get me one.

Will do! I have Andy down for one too whether he likes it or not! :D

Seriously though....I NEED to have this car in my life.....:o

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/alfa-166-facelift-2005-owner-emigrating/5203969

View2-20788121.jpeg

It's just so goddamn nice...

i'm not going to be at the big meet. i'm very sorry. i only work saturdays and sundays so it's very hard to ask for one off :P appreciate the gesture mucho though!

That is fairly sleek looking.
    Needs more liters though!

You can't buy another Alfa unless it has a 3l+ Bussa. ;)

This one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,835 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

just putting it out there, but i think i would school this car to 120km/h even though it has double the cubic capacity of my car and 50% more cylinders :P *

*I have not even googled stats for that car so i could be wrong

How about the Passat W8 4L of a similar vintage to this; 4 wheel drive to put all that power down would presumably help it away at the lights. Can't imagine many were sold in Ireland......

Marcusm wrote: »
    How about the Passat W8 4L of a similar vintage to this; 4 wheel drive to put all that power down would presumably help it away at the lights. Can't imagine many were sold in Ireland......

Come on, but if a difference between the two. :p
    I wouldn't be surprised by the Glanza winning off the line really, the Passat winning after they get up to speed.

CianRyan wrote: »
    Come on, but if a difference between the two. :p
    I wouldn't be surprised by the Glanza winning off the line really, the Passat winning after they get up to speed.

i looked up the stats :)

pisshat does 0-100km/h in 7.7
    glanza 0-100km/h in 8.2

so the glanza is half a second slower. i still fancy them chances :) my biggest flaw would be being restricted to 180km/h when the passat can do 230.

Nothing in that. Claimed times are hugely down to having pro drivers and perfect conditions.
    I'd waver a Jap head might be snappier than the average Passat head. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

i looked up the stats :)

pisshat does 0-100km/h in 7.7
    glanza 0-100km/h in 8.2

so the glanza is half a second slower. i still fancy them chances :) my biggest flaw would be being restricted to 180km/h when the passat can do 230.

You could pop in a cheeky boost controller. Pisshat wouldn't know what hit it :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Katunga

9061352562_8000bd06bf_c.jpg IMAG1208 by Katunga9, on Flickr

Broke this while cleaning the EGR on my TDI.
    Reparied the EGR anti-shudder valve arm with superglue and Speed tape AKA 600mph tape.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

So as some people seen yesterday I put a picture of my mileage and a full tank of explosive dinosaurs, here it is again just...cuz :P
    This was yesterday...

2ro4zub.jpg

On another thread, some people were questioning my ability to rack up high mileage in a short amount of time

I give you this :pac: One day later
    qxw3t0.jpg

533 miles in over the course of two days

I'll be on my way :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

^^^^
    One day I went from my haus to Strabane then Banbridge, then Dublinia, then Gorey and back home in a day. So about the same mileage in a day ;)

One weekend not too long ago I did well over 1k miles in a weekend.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

So as some people seen yesterday I put a picture of my mileage and a full tank of explosive dinosaurs, here it is again just...cuz :P

On another thread, some people were questioning my ability to rack up high mileage in a short amount of time

I give you this :pac: One day later

533 miles in over the course of two days

I'll be on my way :cool:
    Did you put petrol in the tank since it couldn't be doing that kind of miles to one tank ?

dgt wrote: »
    ^^^^
    One day I went from my haus to Strabane then Banbridge, then Dublinia, then Gorey and back home in a day. So about the same mileage in a day ;)

One weekend not too long ago I did well over 1k miles in a weekend.....

There's nothing like it

I went Kildare - Monaghan - Kildare - Wicklow - Dublin - Naaaaaavan (some place) - Monaghan - Kildare

Bpmull wrote: »
    Did you put petrol in the tank since it couldn't be doing that kind of miles to one tank ?

Yep, there was 80 quid in it, and that got me most of the way, just filled it up to get home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Once i was going to a motors meet got lost and drove home, didn't take pics though :p

Bray is pretty nice at 1am mind and the chips in wicklow aren't the worst

Once i was going to a motors meet got lost and drove home, didn't take pics though :p

Bray is pretty nice at 1am mind and the chips in wicklow aren't the worst

I remember that, and I'm pretty sure I seen you, were you driving a silver focus?? I seen one snooping around glendalough carpark for a while haha

It's not colourless silver ;)

Ah well then it wasn't him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Yep, there was 80 quid in it, and that got me most of the way, just filled it up to get home

It's amazing what you can clock up in a few days. The place my dad works for gave him a 131 kuga for a few days as he had to tow a boom lift around the country he put up 2.5k km in it in under 3 days towing a fairly big boom lift.

Bpmull wrote: »
    It's amazing what you can clock up in a few days. The place my dad works for gave him a 131 kuga for a few days as he had to tow a boom lift around the country he put up 2.5k km in it in under 3 days towing a fairly big boom lift.

It's insane alright, I've had my car only one year, 80,000 on the clock when i got it and now 139,000, sooo yeah!

Also on another note, dgt, went go karting at the zone up round your place, I think we should do a thing there, like a boards grand prix or something?

It's insane alright, I've had my car only one year, 80,000 on the clock when i got it and now 139,000, sooo yeah!

Also on another note, dgt, went go karting at the zone up round your place, I think we should do a thing there, like a boards grand prix or something?

The zone in Mullaghboy industrial estate? That could be an interesting idea alright! :D

That's the one! Took daddypickles (sounds like a porno name) ahem. Anyways, yeah took him there for fathers day and epic would be an understatement! They do grand prixs for up to 40 people so I figured, I'll ask on here, maybe after the midway meet sometime?