Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardaí handle difficult situation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Where was he baited or battered

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Odysseus wrote: »
    Video is ver poor, however, did it really need 3 garda to use the ASP to control that tennager. I have not problem with force being used when needed, was it need there?

What is ASP?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,554 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

BlimpGaz wrote: »
    If it was night time, he could claim the young black man was transparent, and he was simply attempting to kill a bug on the ground. But unfortunately in reality it was a bright sunny day, and he was just pissed off about having to work his menial job during it.

Hope you're proud of making posts like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

Isn't it their job to handle difficult situations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

The use of the baton when the young man has been apprehended by another officer on the ground; I wonder if it was necessary.

He wasn't arrested at that stage though, they were in the process of arresting him. He could still be fighting on the ground, not letting them cuff him. In this case a strike of the baton is mild. If they let the dog on him while he was on the ground that would be excessive.

Again the video is not conclusive, but just because you are on the ground, doesn't mean the situation is resolved.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 86 ✭✭BlimpGaz

I don't see why it would be considered a difficult situation, he didn't do anything wrong.

I dunno, I can easily imagine some liberal shrew misrepresenting "Go home!" to mean go back to the warmer continent he racially originated from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

A great job by the Gardai.

Commenting on videos like this is always silly. It's impossible to know the complete circumstances around the arrest based on the footage. Perhaps he had a weapon or had been behaving in such a way as to require extra force than would normally be the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Problem123456

To everyone saying the guards were too heavy handed.
    Go do what those scumbags were doing in another country and you will soon forget about how bad the guards are...
    What do people expect them to do? They are out number so they have to be aggressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭mad turnip

He was hit maybe 3-5 times MAYBE likely less. Too bad there was too many witnesses to hit him another few times.

I dunno, I can easily imagine some liberal shrew misrepresenting "Go home!" to mean go back to the warmer continent he racially originated from.

That would be a fairly stupid misinterpretation to make.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭HurtLocker

A lot of stupid people out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

No I want to use the minimum of force which is what they are supposed to. I not sure if three adults all needed to use ASPs to restrain that guy.

As I siad the quality is poor, but as they are trained in control and restrain practices I am not really sure if it need that level of force.

I acknowledge that it is not always possible to strictly apply the minimum of force required to control someone, but that is the way they are required to work. Hence, I have a question about excessive force here, not the use of force, excessive use of it.

You have to look at it this way - Gardai have to look after themselves in these situations. Which is safer for a gardas personal safety - tackling a man alone, or with two men assisting? Do you think it should be 1 on 1? I reckon that if it was a pair of gardai or even a lone garda, his friends would intervene and possible assault the gardai, knowing the garda are in a precarious and overwhelmed position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Marsden

The guards were dead right here. The lad was shouting at him and was told to go away several times, while resisting arrest he sent the guard flying. I'd say if there was no cameras around he'd get more than a tip on the leg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭MikeD22

People only react to force. You show weakness in a situation like that they walk all over you. Gardai's job is to take control of the situation and they did just that. Don't want to get hit with a baton, then don't act like a d!ckhead and leave when you are told to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

mikemac1 wrote: »
    What is ASP?

The extentable baton the Garda are now issued with. I use to train with such baton in a different country where it was legal for me to own one. There is a big difference between a ASP baton and a wooden one. You can easily do a lot of damage with one. They can break bone a lot easier than the old wooden type.

[With I say train I used to do a lot self defense training.]

Doesn't mean they have to believe it! Just means there's so little evidence for "white male privilege" that they have to fabricate whatever they can. Think it doesn't happen all the time? Have you been living under a rock?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭Finnbar01

Video is ver poor, however, did it really need 3 garda to use the ASP to control that tennager. I have not problem with force being used when needed, was it need there?

By the looks of it, yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

MikeD22 wrote: »
    People only react to force.

Righttttttttt..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Doesn't mean they have to believe it! Just means there's so little evidence for "white male privilege" that they have to fabricate whatever they can. Think it doesn't happen all the time? Have you been living under a rock?

Whats this? The whole thing was a gathering of militant feminists?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

He wasn't arrested at that stage though, they were in the process of arresting him. He could still be fighting on the ground, not letting them cuff him.
    I said apprehended, not arrested.

Nobody doubts the need to use restraint, except I would struggle to describe what we saw here as "restraint"... it's not clear, it's too hard to say what was happening on the ground. I'm just saying it looks bad.

It's the job of the Gardaí to bring people into detention and process them; it's the job of the law to prosecute. That's directed more at the "I'd set the dogs on them" crowd than it is at the Gardaí, because the Gardaí (usually) appreciate this fact already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Gatling wrote: »
    Where was he baited or battered
    Portmarnock, seemingly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

In fairness to the guards,if you act like scumbags prepare to be treated with a heavy hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

discus wrote: »
    You have to look at it this way - Gardai have to look after themselves in these situations. Which is safer for a gardas personal safety - tackling a man alone, or with two men assisting? Do you think it should be 1 on 1? I reckon that if it was a pair of gardai or even a lone garda, his friends would intervene and possible assault the gardai, knowing the garda are in a precarious and overwhelmed position.

Of course, I have no problem with any Garda protecting himself. I do however, expect Garda to act with the rules of force that they are required to operate within.

I am not saying they where excessive here, as I have said the quality is poor and most importantly we where not present to see what happend.

However, with say that, I still wonder if that level of force was appropriate? It is a question rather than a statement, and members of AGS should always be questioned when they have to use force.

As citizen we should never be afaird to question the garda, yet, as citizens we should also be supportive of them and acknowledge the difficult situations in which they have only a second to decide on how they will respond.

Nodin wrote: »
    Whats this? The whole thing was a gathering of militant feminists?

Nah, militant feminists just sit at home and complain about things on the internet. Thing is, in today's age everything is video recorded, therefore everything is "patriarchy".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭Razleavy

Fair play to the Gardaí, might teach the little fecker some manners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Nah, militant feminists just sit at home and complain about things on the internet. Thing is, in today's age everything is video recorded, therefore everything is "patriarchy".

You're an odd fellow, I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭thetl

Garda were dead right these total scumbags were asked repeatedly to leave the area.Who the f### are these scumbags black or white to destroy a lovely day at the beach for families and law abiding people

thetl wrote: »
    Who the f### are these scumbags black or white to destroy a lovely day at the beach for families and law abiding people

Answered your own question there. As to why scumbags are scumbags? My answer is GMO in the food, and degeneracy in the music and television. Crime hardly existed before the 20th century.

Quite the historian it appears.