Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardaí handle difficult situation

• 01-06-2013 4:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭

Whats you thoughts on this, Gardaí arrest teenager after Portmarnock incident while being called scumbags from the crowd.

Source

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 86 ✭✭BlimpGaz

The only difficult situation is when he gets dubbed a "racist" for simply sorting out dickheadery.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

What are your thoughts OP?

Should a Garda's decision to arrest someone be based on the opinons of those in the vicinity? I don't think so.

BlimpGaz wrote: »
    The only difficult situation is when he gets dubbed a "racist" for simply sorting out dickheadery.

I don't see why it would be considered a difficult situation, he didn't do anything wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,965 ✭✭✭gifted

fair play to the guards...must be hard to keep your temper under control with all that ****e being shouted at you..If it was me I'd have released the Alsatians on the feckers..:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

0:53 and the next few seconds look dodgy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭Prodigious

Bit excessive with the baton, IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Problem123456

Fair play to the guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

0:53 and the next few seconds look dodgy.

Dodgy how?

Dodgy how?

He's baiting him with the baton even though he wasn't resisting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Video is ver poor, however, did it really need 3 garda to use the ASP to control that tennager. I have not problem with force being used when needed, was it need there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭Ideo

Should have locked them all up to be fair

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

I say job well done

But the lot of them at Portmarnock should have been arrested..obviously that's not possible though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭jamaamaj

Get away, Leave the area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭yara

these kids could be starting a revolution but instead do this for craic??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

They should have arrested that fella shouting in the backround as well.

Odysseus wrote: »
    Video is ver poor, however, did it really need 3 garda to use the ASP to control that tennager. I have not problem with force being used when needed, was it need there?
    Of course what do you want them to use pillows?

Prodigious wrote: »

he wasn't resisting because he was getting beat with the batons

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

German shepherds and Africans............. have we learned nothing from George Foreman and the rumble in the jungle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Fair play to the guards.

yup +1 nothing wrong there.

Bunch of scumbags tackled correctly.

I'm usually the first to criticize AGS but here they took the correct COA in the face of abuse and criticism.

Even though your man was a prick in the first place, the guards were totally OTT with the arrest.
    Even though it was total yobs calling them scumbags, they weren't wrong.
    This would have been appropriate:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

Dodgy how?
    The use of the baton when the young man has been apprehended by another officer on the ground; I wonder if it was necessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Bit excessive with the baton, IMO.

Excessive one strike to the leg standard (SOPs)

His mates were lucky though i would have let the dog loose

Even though your man was a prick in the first place, the guards were totally OTT with the arrest.

How exactly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Gatling wrote: »
    Excessive one strike to the leg standard (SOPs)

His mates were lucky though in would have let the dog loose

No suprise there with you.

You can't see if he is resisting or not in the video. I

Resisting is as simple as not presenting your arms so you can be cuffed, or he could have been kicking out. He also ran away from the cops, resisting arrest there.

Either way the Gardai are not going to take the chance he may have a weapon on him. A slap of a baton and you will soon comply.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

gifted wrote: »
    fair play to the guards...must be hard to keep your temper under control with all that ****e being shouted at you..If it was me I'd have released the Alsatians on the feckers..:)
    Hmmm...if you get arrested and then battered with a baton, you might change your tune.. No problem with people getting arrested, but they(Gardai) do tend to get heavy pretty fast, even when no real threat is presented - quite happy to start swinging.

And no, never been arrested, never been batoned - but I've seen plenty of people get arrested and battoned and it's not too pretty.

Not dissing the Gards, they have a job to do and other Police forces are no different or perhaps far worse, but they do get "hittey" very quick, though not so quick when it comes to err, hardier "minorities" - they tend to kid glove those. They're quite "choosey" who they clatter and students and hippie protesters seem to be the target of choice. That and teenagers..

No I want to use the minimum of force which is what they are supposed to. I not sure if three adults all needed to use ASPs to restrain that guy.

As I siad the quality is poor, but as they are trained in control and restrain practices I am not really sure if it need that level of force.

I acknowledge that it is not always possible to strictly apply the minimum of force required to control someone, but that is the way they are required to work. Hence, I have a question about excessive force here, not the use of force, excessive use of it.

The use of the baton when the young man has been apprehended by another officer on the ground; I wonder if it was necessary.

If it was night time, he could claim the young black man was transparent, and he was simply attempting to kill a bug on the ground. But unfortunately in reality it was a bright sunny day, and he was just pissed off about having to work his menial job during it.

feathers even?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Definitely a great perk of being a Garda to be able to take a baton to some of the people in that video.

I might switch careers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Where was he baited or battered

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

What is ASP?

If it was night time, he could claim the young black man was transparent, and he was simply attempting to kill a bug on the ground. But unfortunately in reality it was a bright sunny day, and he was just pissed off about having to work his menial job during it.

Hope you're proud of making posts like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

Isn't it their job to handle difficult situations?

He wasn't arrested at that stage though, they were in the process of arresting him. He could still be fighting on the ground, not letting them cuff him. In this case a strike of the baton is mild. If they let the dog on him while he was on the ground that would be excessive.

Again the video is not conclusive, but just because you are on the ground, doesn't mean the situation is resolved.

I don't see why it would be considered a difficult situation, he didn't do anything wrong.

I dunno, I can easily imagine some liberal shrew misrepresenting "Go home!" to mean go back to the warmer continent he racially originated from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

A great job by the Gardai.

Commenting on videos like this is always silly. It's impossible to know the complete circumstances around the arrest based on the footage. Perhaps he had a weapon or had been behaving in such a way as to require extra force than would normally be the case.

To everyone saying the guards were too heavy handed.
    Go do what those scumbags were doing in another country and you will soon forget about how bad the guards are...
    What do people expect them to do? They are out number so they have to be aggressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭mad turnip

He was hit maybe 3-5 times MAYBE likely less. Too bad there was too many witnesses to hit him another few times.

I dunno, I can easily imagine some liberal shrew misrepresenting "Go home!" to mean go back to the warmer continent he racially originated from.

That would be a fairly stupid misinterpretation to make.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭HurtLocker

A lot of stupid people out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

No I want to use the minimum of force which is what they are supposed to. I not sure if three adults all needed to use ASPs to restrain that guy.

As I siad the quality is poor, but as they are trained in control and restrain practices I am not really sure if it need that level of force.

I acknowledge that it is not always possible to strictly apply the minimum of force required to control someone, but that is the way they are required to work. Hence, I have a question about excessive force here, not the use of force, excessive use of it.

You have to look at it this way - Gardai have to look after themselves in these situations. Which is safer for a gardas personal safety - tackling a man alone, or with two men assisting? Do you think it should be 1 on 1? I reckon that if it was a pair of gardai or even a lone garda, his friends would intervene and possible assault the gardai, knowing the garda are in a precarious and overwhelmed position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Marsden

The guards were dead right here. The lad was shouting at him and was told to go away several times, while resisting arrest he sent the guard flying. I'd say if there was no cameras around he'd get more than a tip on the leg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭MikeD22

People only react to force. You show weakness in a situation like that they walk all over you. Gardai's job is to take control of the situation and they did just that. Don't want to get hit with a baton, then don't act like a d!ckhead and leave when you are told to.

mikemac1 wrote: »
    What is ASP?

The extentable baton the Garda are now issued with. I use to train with such baton in a different country where it was legal for me to own one. There is a big difference between a ASP baton and a wooden one. You can easily do a lot of damage with one. They can break bone a lot easier than the old wooden type.

[With I say train I used to do a lot self defense training.]

Doesn't mean they have to believe it! Just means there's so little evidence for "white male privilege" that they have to fabricate whatever they can. Think it doesn't happen all the time? Have you been living under a rock?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭Finnbar01

By the looks of it, yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

MikeD22 wrote: »
    People only react to force.

Righttttttttt..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Doesn't mean they have to believe it! Just means there's so little evidence for "white male privilege" that they have to fabricate whatever they can. Think it doesn't happen all the time? Have you been living under a rock?

Whats this? The whole thing was a gathering of militant feminists?