Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardaí handle difficult situation

1235»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭hedgehog2

Yepp I would have set the dog on thrm within 10 seconds.
    Nice to see the recent African immigrant youths are not creating any trouble while here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Correct me if I'm wrong but was the garda with the alsatian knocked to the ground?Absolutely no sympathy for these teenagers.Totally unfair that families etc going to Portmarnock beach have to deal with this.It has to be said that the gardai are vastly outnumbered,pretty scary situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

I understand that people see the arrest as aggressive,as it is intended to be. About the worst outcome in situations like that are when the bystanders get too close, usually a female,either gf or sister or friend will physically try to get the young buck out of his predicament,the girl is in turn arrested and then it kicks off.

Or even if the cops let his buddies to get too close,it takes just one to pop a cop on the chin,and it turns into a free for all brawl.

Credit to An Garda Siochana for their actions in the video

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭rambutman

Looked OK to me...............yer man looked like he got a couple of digs across the legs with the baton (or something like that) - looked well placed, and there was plenty of provocation there. These little scumbags didn't look like it was a peaceful protest they were at that day, so leave it off - ya want to get involved in something like that - you deserve what you get. I'd have taken the baton to a few more of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

My opinion? They did their job. Fair play.

The lads in the video were muppets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭crazy cabbage

Odysseus wrote: »
    Video is ver poor, however, did it really need 3 garda to use the ASP to control that tennager. I have not problem with force being used when needed, was it need there?

It is alot safer having multiple gards dealing with someone than just one. If there is just one gard then alot can happen. The gard could be overpowered or not be able to hold person down properly or any number of thing which is unsafe for all parties. The safest way to deal with anything is to have multiple gards dealing with one person. safer for the person and the gards involved and the people around

not to mention that he was resisting arrist by running away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭For Paws

bigroad wrote: »
    This situation would not happen like that in the uk .The guards here are not trained to the proper level.The fact that when they had the teenager on the ground ,then the three of them felt the power ,and with no danger to themselves they started to baton him.Its handy doing that in a middle class area .They woudnt be so quick in a lower class estate because they would be nervous of the locals.
    That situation could of being controlled quiet a lot easier with some brainpower on the job.

I'm not usually one to totally disregard the opinions of other boardsies.
    Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, and so on.

But on this occasion ....

On what basis are you stating that 'the guards here are not trained to the proper level' ?

Are you a former or serving Garda ?
    Are you also a former or serving police officer in the U.K. ?
    When was the last time you had to apprehend & safely neutralise another person ?

What level of 'brainpower' equals 1 correctly used ASP ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Chinaman666

I've no sympathy for the little toerag. It's a shame he was black because if he wasn't he might well have got another few flakes of the baton.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Pappa Charlie

For Paws wrote: »
    I'm not usually one to totally disregard the opinions of other boardsies.
    Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, and so on.

But on this occasion ....

On what basis are you stating that 'the guards here are not trained to the proper level' ?

Are you a former or serving Garda ?
    Are you also a former or serving police officer in the U.K. ?
    When was the last time you had to apprehend & safely neutralise another person ?

What level of 'brainpower' equals 1 correctly used ASP ?

He watches SKY, he's fully trained to judge!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭**Vai**

Loving the irony of the guy with the scumbag accent calling the cops scumbags. Brilliant.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,554 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

This situation would not happen like that in the uk .The guards here are not trained to the proper level.The fact that when they had the teenager on the ground ,then the three of them felt the power ,and with no danger to themselves they started to baton him.Its handy doing that in a middle class area .They woudnt be so quick in a lower class estate because they would be nervous of the locals.
    That situation could of being controlled quiet a lot easier with some brainpower on the job.

Absolutely clueless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,236 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Just because someone has a rich mammy and daddy doesn't mean they can't be just as big a scummer as anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,264 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I'm not one to automatically jump to the defence of Gardai and would call foul if I seen it as such, but I really don't see very much wrong in that video. They were asking your man to roll over and he was refusing / struggling against them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭yore

Hmm. I'm sure that's what the deciding factor was for the guards.
    "Hey, we're surrounded by probably hundreds of drunk skangery bastards. but's it's alright here as the frightened people barricading themselves into the neighbouring houses are middle-class so we'll be safe."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭tiger55

There were thousands at the beach today enjoying the sun, but many were forced to flee as between 75-100 Irish and African youths began lobbing glass bottles at each other before fighting erupted.

The police chopper hovered overhead and the gardai waited in their squad cars until the public disorder unit arrived on the scene. The brawl lasted a good ten/fifteen minutes. This was not a case of drunks being drunks. The fight was organised through social media beforehand.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/gardai-attend-dublin-beach-as-fine-weather-leads-to-public-disorder-596115.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭tiger55

I'm not one to automatically jump to the defence of Gardai and would call foul if I seen it as such, but I really don't see very much wrong in that video. They were asking your man to roll over and he was refusing / struggling against them.

You cant judge the whole situation based on the video.

What happened before they started filming?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Is there a backstory here? Why were the gardai involved in the first place, what were the lads doing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

tiger55 wrote: »
    There were thousands at the beach today enjoying the sun, but many were forced to flee as between 75-100 Irish and African youths began lobbing glass bottles at each other before fighting erupted.

The police chopper hovered overhead and the gardai waited in their squad cars until the public disorder unit arrived on the scene. The brawl lasted a good ten/fifteen minutes. This was not a case of drunks being drunks. The fight was organised through social media beforehand.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/gardai-attend-dublin-beach-as-fine-weather-leads-to-public-disorder-596115.html

The "breaking" news story you're reading is 4 months old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

tiger55 wrote: »

No mention of either bolded section in the news article.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 919 ✭✭✭wicklowstevo

this is some bull **** , your damned if you do and damned if you don't ,
    " the gardas were sitting in their car not doing anything " " the garda was to aggressive in arresting people"

Irish people are such dick heads when it comes to policing ,

if you did that on a beach in spain you would spend three months on remand in some hell hole.