Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off-Topic Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭Monotype

Can you do both? Spend €800-1000 on a medium laptop with a ~660M and then the rest on upgrades?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Medium laptops are horribly slow for me to be honest. GT660M would be absolute minimum I'd be looking for. And Mono, you are the devil in disguise! If I go for a Haswell upgrade I'll probably go upgrade my GTX 570 also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,181 ✭✭✭Serephucus

Really? Well then I suppose a high-end laptop is in order. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭Monotype

Well you could just throw an SSD into a medium range laptop. It makes much of the slowness go away. While games don't look the best, they do load fast for a fairly pleasant experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Tea_Bag

Serephucus wrote: »
    You didn't look very hard. :P Dabs and Overclockers both stock it.
    hmm. was out of stock on Dabs yesterday, now one available :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

Tea_Bag wrote: »
    hmm. was out of stock on Dabs yesterday, now one available :o

have you got an M-ATX board? what are you planing now given that there are like 10 pc cases in your sitting room (being honest its closer to an internet cafe than a sitting room at this statge :p)

And hey, if you happen to have a spare Z77E-ITX lying around...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

gavmcg92 wrote: »
    XBMC is working for me know. It's a fantastic piece of software.

I was never really pushed on XBMC but I got an old PC running with freenas in my gaming room now and with thanks to 3 Raspberry Pi's every tv I can stream to every tv in my house, and myself or my bird can control everything from our phones.

Just waiting on Netflix to support Linux and I'll be lauging

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

Thinking of selling my two Nvidia 680's GTX's about 3 months old PWO. what is a fair price for both?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Fiver each. I'll take them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Thinking of selling my two Nvidia 680's GTX's about 3 months old PWO. what is a fair price for both?

That is a very good question. 680 price did not droped much and we got GTX 770 out, which is pretty much 680, but in early stage of drivers, so i would not be surprised it to go over 680 performance. then we got 7950 on top of that to spit on nvidia from performance/euro point of view.

I would like to get a second 680 down the line, but with current prices, Nvidia can feck off.

Fiver each. I'll take them.

Three euro each!

Oh wait...

I was thinking 350 each or 650 the pair....thoughts?

If you can sell them now, you might get away with that, just bear in mind that the 760 Ti (670) will probably be coming in around that price, if not slightly less.

Maybe 600 the pair then, pretty good value seeing as a 690 still costs a grand and sli 680's perform better. One is a overclocked EVGA too.....maybe somebody on the forum with one already would go tri-sli? ;)

I think you could stretch over 600 for the next 2/3 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Squaredude

Just put in a step up request to evga. If i get approved I get a 780 for €285.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭Gumbi

Squaredude wrote: »
    Just put in a step up request to evga. If i get approved I get a 780 for €285.

Up from what, a 680?

Up from a 670

Squaredude wrote: »
    Up from a 670

Very nice, considering a 780 is 650 plus new. I mean 670s are around 350 quid themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,729 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Lads when will I beable to upgrade from 2 x 670s where I can see a noticeable difference?

Just got better,got an email from evga saying the total price to me will be $296 which is around €227 probably a typo though.

Right, can't figure this out.

Seagate's new "Video" hard drives, how long is the warranty? They go out of their way to not specify it on their site.

http://www.seagate.com/internal-hard-drives/consumer-electronics/video-3-5-hdd/

I think you could stretch over 600 for the next 2/3 weeks.

Yeah no rush, Nvidia will have brought out 6 more cards by then anyway. I am really hoping a dual GPU 780 or titan single card comes out, thats worth waiting for. Except for crysis 3 nothing taxes a 680 at the moment unless you game a huge resolutions. Even then by knocking the shaders from ultra high to high in crysis 3 leaving everything else on ultra high will give you 10 more fps at no visable quality difference....I dont know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭glynf

Lads, what do you think is a fair price for a 7970? Thinking 300 each.

glynf wrote: »
    Lads, what do you think is a fair price for a 7970? Thinking 300 each.

What model? You might get a touch more if it's an Asus one or something.

Hows it Gumbi,

Both cards are reference models, one is a Sapphire and the other an Asus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Bank Transfer.

AFAIK its usually bank transfer with hardwareversand, there are a lot of posts on this forum about same. A quick search should bring up a few relevant threads.

Talking to a couple of people that have done FT03 WC builds. I think I see an FT03 Mini build in my future. :)