Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Just seen a strange case of blatant racism on the bus home!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

Eramen wrote: »
    Heh, lay off the cool-aid people. Actually in a survey released just this week we can see that it's not the Irish who are the most 'racist', especially in relation to living near different races (which is the basis of the study). So maybe you should lay off the Irish and hunt for your imaginary racism elsewhere? Or is it the case that if you can't find a problem, simply make one up? Who would have guessed? :rolleyes:

Ireland weren't included in the study? Look at the map. We're greyed out. Not that I'm saying we are much more racist than the top 5 or anything but this doesn't really serve to prove any point?. This study is a questionnaire saying would you mind living next to someone of another race. You can hate particular races and still be a racist while liking certain races.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

I imagine there were cases of birth tourism as it's such an obvious thing to do if possible.

The law was changed, probably more on the strength of popular insular demand than anything else, but what are we saying here???

Is trying to make a start in a new country, or get your family a foothold in a flourishing economy something to be sneered at??

Racism is alive in Ireland. It's been heightened by immigration and is probably most prevalent amongst those who see immigrants as direct competition for employment. This is all fairly obvious stuff I would have thought.

Heh, lay off the cool-aid people. Actually in a survey released just this week we can see that it's not the Irish who are the most 'racist', especially in relation to living near different races (which is the basis of the study). So maybe you should lay off the Irish and hunt for your imaginary racism elsewhere? Or is it the case that if you can't find a problem, simply make one up? Who would have guessed? :rolleyes:

Again, it the so-called 'anti-racists' who have no respect for any culture that are most guilty of keeping the racist agenda alive in the West and attempting to do so internationally.

Where in many cases most people accept human nature and our cultures when it comes to social interaction and preferences, the anti-racist is quick always bring up the 'race issue' as the principle problem of human society - which 99 times out of 100 is little more than a self-made fantasy and at worst an integral part of a utopianistic, naive ideology making a claim to some sort of perverse 'moral-superiority' as we see time and time again.

Whereas people of all races are very intent to move on in many parts of the world, the anti-racist racists simply will not let us, holding us back with self-made problems accompanied by racial quotas, enforced sensitivity training, and a profound lack of respect for other people's choice and practice of cultural custom.

The anti-racists negate our rich cultures, our familial bonds, sex, history, ideals and languages for the sake of a monocultural globalisation, because this economic/cultural globalisation [aka nation-robbing] can only take place in a rootless society where people have no unifying values or common interest. Thus we have this cultural Americanisation which is a boring, obscene and superficial 'replacement' for actual culture. It is patently anti-diversity as unique peoples are emancipated from their identities.

Make no mistake about it, the Anti-racists are racists and their political ideology plays an integral part in damning our society to a rootless, samey, non-cultural state of existence by claiming that 'there are no ethnic groups/races' and if there are 'we are all the same anyway'. Yeah right.. dream on.. hypocrites.

Can you make a valid point or else just start another thread or perhaps a blog about your anti-racist racist ideas. I'm not sure what you're trying to add?

gosplan wrote: »
    Can you make a valid point or else just start another thread or perhaps a blog about your anti-racist racist ideas. I'm not sure what you're trying to add?

Just to add are you saying that people shouldn't be treated equally or are you just pontificating??

Also, the basis of your daily mail study are a bit questionable. It's whether or not people selected 'people from another race' as someone they don't want next door. I'm wondering was it an exclusive choice and what the other options were?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

Hi, I was just wondering if anyone else has experienced a similar encounter with open racism in front of everyone.

On the bus coming home yesterday evening, I was waiting to get off and I was queuing behind a couple that spoke with Southern African accents, one of them chats to the driver about there travel around Europe.

Then drops this bombshell "Yeah I like Ireland, not too many black people eh?"
    I was really shocked that he said it, so to was the driver who spoke how great black people like Phil Lynott were in reply to him. Then the backpacker said "well I don't like em".

It happened so quickly in a bus full of people, he wasn't joking, he was serious.

to be fair, they have a much different slant on it then we do.

culture doesnt always match the place the person is in. Hell, you should go to a mosque and try and tell some of the people there to let thier women show a bit of cleavage and see how that goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

gosplan wrote: »
    Just to add are you saying that people shouldn't be treated equally or are you just pontificating??

Also, the basis of your daily mail study are a bit questionable. It's whether or not people selected 'people from another race' as someone they don't want next door. I'm wondering was it an exclusive choice and what the other options were?

I don't want junkies ,drug dealers ,welfare scroungers ,
    General scum , living beside me I'd say a lot of people would agree ,

wonder if that above was on the list mentioned in the survey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭Gott

You'd think they had institutionalised racism or something

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

He'd have had a nervous breakdown on the Ongar bus!.

You think thats bad?

Have you been on the 38a recently?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Gatling wrote: »
    I don't want junkies ,drug dealers ,welfare scroungers ,
    General scum , living beside me I'd say a lot of people would agree ,

wonder if that above was on the list mentioned in the survey

I dont want anyone living near me. I hate everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,024 ✭✭✭Plazaman

The white south african accent always remind me of this.

Erik Van Der Meering : What are those blick things out in the water?
    Brucey : They're buoys mate. They're holding up nets to keep the sharks out of the bay.
    Erik VDM : Blick boys holding up nets to keep sharks away? We'd never git away with dit in South Africa.

That and yer man Wikus in District 9 (Fook, fook, fook it......)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

The one thing I hate is racism !! And that's typical of the South Africans . :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

Is your name Monkeys napper or Monkey snapper?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭REXER

Page 35 of this Irish document looks pretty racist to me. Unless those folks doing their shopping via the car window are regular Dubs. It may be but I doubt it some how. :eek:

http://www.besmart.ie/fs/doc/drivers%20handbook%20nov%2023%20online.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Eramen

The one thing I hate is racism !! And that's typical of the South Africans . :)

Hold on there. You say that you hate racism above all yet you single one nationality out as being a typical example of a racist.. right. I hope this is a bad joke.

Anti-racist racists never make any sense. Intelligent people should not take their B-rate theories seriously and don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

.......... Intelligent people should not take B-rated theories seriously and don't.

Theres Irony.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

an anti............racist.......I see....Is that the term for

*head explodes*

youll be typing google into google next :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭maddragon

I like Ireland, there's not that many Irish here.

Hold on there. You say that you hate racism above all yet you single one nationality out as being a typical example of a racist.. right. I hope this is a bad joke.

Jokes were never my strongest point , :)

Is your name Monkeys napper or Monkey snapper?

I photograph monkeys , so do you kill wenches

Anti-racist racists never make any sense. Intelligent people should not take their B-rate theories seriously and don't.

Ha ha. You're really trying to make a fight out of this, aren't you.

There's the anti-racist racists and then there's you, although I've no idea what your point is beyond pigeon-holing many of the people in this thread into some category that you clearly have a beef with. And despite repeated requests you refuse to give your view on things you choose to bring up such as racism and equality.

But congratulations, haven't seen this combination of gusto, evasiveness and faux intellectualism since reading the creationism and prophecy thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Pro-racists do make sense though?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 448 ✭✭tunedout

An unreferenced mention of "media reports" on a wikipedia page isn't good enough. I'm not disputing that it's legally possible for people to engage in birth tourism. But can you provide any evidence (not Irish media reports) of this being a widespread practice?

Are you for real?

Do you want him to take you on a time machine trip to Dublin Airport arrivals 06/07 prior to the constitutional amendment that was enacted to deal with the problem.

I'm sure anything short of that you wont consider as 'evidence'.

Your looking to draw out an already dead argument on semantics of whats considered as 'proof'. Go back to sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

tunedout wrote: »
    Are you for real?

Do you want him to take you on a time machine trip to Dublin Airport arrivals 06/07 prior to the constitutional amendment that was enacted to deal with the problem.

I'm sure anything short of that you wont consider as 'evidence'.

Your looking to draw out an already dead argument on semantics of whats considered as 'proof'. Go back to sleep.

It's... it's before my bedtime. :confused:

To simplify, I'd accept actual evidence as evidence. Semantics doesn't really come into it where proof is concerned, mercifully.
    Now I understand that in this case there's not much evidence to get, which is why I think it's better not to make vague references along the lines of "we've all heard the stories..." They don't really add anything.

Did a small number of people avail of the legal entitlements of "birth tourism" to gain a better life, and did this number decrease after the amendment?
    Undoubtedly.

Did any of this have a significant impact on our country, and is their any sense in blaming foreigners for racism?
    No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

I photograph monkeys , so do you kill wenches

Define kill.

To simplify, I'd accept actual evidence as evidence. Semantics doesn't really come into it where proof is concerned, mercifully.
    Now I understand that in this case there's not much evidence to get, which is why I think it's better not to make vague references along the lines of "we've all heard the stories..." They don't really add anything.
    Probably a lost cause on you but anyway..
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/births-give-rights-to-asylumseekers-26250564.html
    Did any of this have a significant impact on our country, and is their any sense in blaming foreigners for racism?
    No.

LOL. Your taking the Michael.

K-9 wrote: »
    Pro-racists do make sense though?

I don't think he's pro-racist.

Worse!! He's an anti-multicultural multiculturalist.

Like by denying multiculturalism and pointing out the difference between individual races, he's actually promting diversity and in turn modern multiculturalism.

God, I REALLY hate when people do that. But I'm not going to really explain why or suggest any alternative.

(I think this is how it works)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭REXER

Racist Ireland does exist, its just a bit more subtle but just as insidious.

Here is the image from an official Irish document that is endorsed by the HSA, RSA and Garda.

http://www.besmart.ie/fs/doc/drivers handbook nov 23 online.pdf

Below is the image from page 35 of the document where they are covering vehicle safety and security.

Somehow these lads don't look like your typical locals?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,658 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Considering dublin property prices are lower in areas of high immigration and multi culturism, it would seem many Irish people also prefer to live in areas of low immigration.....if they can afford it of course.
    But damn if they'll admit it.

Or possibly there is a large proportion of immigrants who work in lower paying jobs, and cannot afford to purchase/rent homes in more affluent areas.

The segregation is probably less to do with race and more to do with the more affluent not wanting to live in a perceived "poorer" area.

REXER wrote: »

What are you saying?
    The men should be Irish?
    Is that not also racist?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,352 ✭✭✭gallag

REXER wrote: »
    Racist Ireland does exist, its just a bit more subtle but just as insidious.

Here is the image from an official Irish document that is endorsed by the HSA, RSA and Garda.

http://www.besmart.ie/fs/doc/drivers handbook nov 23 online.pdf

Below is the image from page 35 of the document where they are covering vehicle safety and security.

Dont see anything wrong with that, the guy in the photo looks mixed race so its quite pc lol. You do know that black people commit crime also? Infact a black person is more likely to commit crime than a white person ! ( that will be about 20 pages of me being called a racist now even though its fact, and I am also aware this is down to social/economic reasons as well as young black teenagers being involved in gang culture, just pointing out it is not racist to use a photo of a mixed race man in a crime scene)