Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

FIXERUPPER of the week/day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Hmmm let me know.

Right back from the NCT.
    The Puma failed, which was expected. BUT good news is it failed only where I was expecting it to fail, which is its useless handbrake. The emissions has in fact gone down since last year! Looks like the supercharge engine oil treatment did the trick. Its not burning through as much oil as it used to either. Previously it needed oil top up every 500miles, now I've driven about 1000miles since the oil treatment and top up and its still got plenty of oil!

So yeah, as it seems to be only a small fix which shouldn't cost too much, I guess the best thing is that I'll stick with the car for another year. No point giving it away supercheap while its still running strong. Would be cool if I can make it to the 100K miles mark on it, which I should probably be able to by the end of this year if I keep it going!

Also how is it that a 1.2l Fiesta with a blown head gasket is more expensive than a working 1.7l Puma???
    Imo the Puma is much better looking, more powerful and more fun to drive than the Fiesta.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,694 ✭✭✭flutered

that fiesta is a money drain, the cost of the hg added on to the car price makes it a crusher imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

flutered wrote: »
    that fiesta is a money drain, the cost of the hg added on to the car price makes it a crusher imo

Hence the optional Puma 1.7 instead ;)

Oblig car

I don't think we got the non turbo here... Unless it means the turbo's gone :p

Pictures are arseways so won't host

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

This is my contribution for the day :D

A Xantia that needs a wheel bearing and probably a bit more. Small bit of tax and test.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4861633

Full-19014146.jpeg

Laguna with a bit of tax and a long test. The damage doesn't look too extensive but only a close look will tell.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4863733

Full-19025242.jpeg

And a Seat toledo that probably needs a turbo.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4794091

Full-18973839.jpeg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4863649

View2-19024803.jpeg

But you'd have to wonder whats really wrong with it !

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4844039

was tempted to bangernomics it, but it just didn't feel right :P

the good : 4 months NCT, cheap for a starlet
    the bad : glanza alloys, glanza spoiler would be concerning
    the funny : "clutch only 2 years old"

be worth a hack for €500 if it drives ok :)

Saab Ed wrote: »
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4863649

View2-19024803.jpeg

But you'd have to wonder whats really wrong with it !

A bit over budget but very nice looking. You really would wander what could be wrong with it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭barura

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4852298

Mx5 for 325? Need battery but if it runs, a great start. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

dgt wrote: »

Needs some assembly

Jesus , I've a 00 reg Xantia with Leather and only 70k miles , albeit its a 1.8 petrol, that only needs a pinhole in the exhaust fixed (nissandoctor has seen it and can vouch for it being a little hole :@-) ) that I was going to try sell for €500ish. Might be an easier sell than I thought. Especially with the extras bits and pieces I have and having a complete history.

another xantia. galactic mileage, needs front wheel bearings. 6 weeks tax and test :) would need to get a little off the price admittedly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭mondymike

barura wrote: »

mx3 not an mx5. Not such a bargain after all

another xantia. galactic mileage, needs front wheel bearings. 6 weeks tax and test :) would need to get a little off the price admittedly.

Repost, but great minds think alike :D:D:D

not the end of the world, but on that first volvo, should the steering wheel center not be cream too? i know its a 500 quid car with a quarter of a million miles but it might have had its bags out at some point.

Looks strange alright but a bit of googleing turned this up so it might be ok??

48209694.jpg

jaysus i don't know if i could hack that wheel, looks very out of place!

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4868449
    i reckon this is still a 4a-fe model, sunroof is a nice touch, good colour too. i reckon if you got €50 off the asking price, it'd be sound with a new set of hubcaps :) doubt it'd take much to test it.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4550161
    admittedly a skangers dream, but... a recent list of work completed in the last 5k miles including timing belt and water pump, full service, gearbox oil, coolant renewed, brake fluid renewed, new pads, new hand brake cables, and power steering fluid renewed (for some reason).

also a japanese import so probably has an ok spec with the likes of a/c, electric windows and power folding mirrors etc kind of justifies the asking price of 850. might look ok with a smaller set of wheels. probably owned by an eastern european (not that that's a bad thing, just they seem to be the only lads willing to maintain an older car)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4550161
    admittedly a skangers dream, but... a recent list of work completed in the last 5k miles including timing belt and water pump, full service, gearbox oil, coolant renewed, brake fluid renewed, new pads, new hand brake cables, and power steering fluid renewed (for some reason).

also a japanese import so probably has an ok spec with the likes of a/c, electric windows and power folding mirrors etc kind of justifies the asking price of 850. might look ok with a smaller set of wheels. probably owned by an eastern european (not that that's a bad thing, just they seem to be the only lads willing to maintain an older car)
    Hmmm the clocks have been out of that at some stage, and if NCT'd the seller will be looking for 1500, I wouldn't fancy it at all tbh

not being cheeky as i generally see eye to eye with you John. but the clock have clearly been out to witch to those (awful) aftermarket indiglo dials, i'd be surprised if it was clocked. that said i know its a wildcard and certainly not to everybodys taste, but i personally feel i wouldn't be too quick to judge a book by its cover on this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

not being cheeky as i generally see eye to eye with you John. but the clock have clearly been out to witch to those (awful) aftermarket indiglo dials, i'd be surprised if it was clocked. that said i know its a wildcard and certainly not to everybodys taste, but i personally feel i wouldn't be too quick to judge a boot by its cover on this one.
    Your probably correct, Changing the dials is just a pet hate of mine really, having owned a few standard Civics in the past :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭00833827

avensis doesnt look too bad, it ifs got the 4afe, then it may do another 190k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭serious3

barura wrote: »

wheres the mx5? that's an mx3 in the pic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭barura

serious3 wrote: »
    wheres the mx5? that's an mx3 in the pic
    My eyes ain't as sharp as others in this thread. :/

Diesel
    Full-19064436.jpeg

May need diff and tyres :pac:
    Full-19052142.jpeg

Needs CV joint (first one I've ever heard of going :eek::eek::eek:) and bumper

NCT till Nov!!!
    Full-17946336.jpeg

NCT till June, 250

Dayyyyyysel, needs a wing
    Full-19105802.jpeg

I am soooo tempted.... :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭Matthewjohn

No nct or tax but the spec is huge and it looks clean enough.
    View2-19166752.jpeg
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4885472

WOW that volvo is clean, a bit dear maybe but exactly the sort of thing this thread is about :cool::cool:

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4902049

looks low enough spec and not tested, but full service history and 1 owner from new, wonder if/what the catch is? or is it just worthless with no tax and test.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4901263

no tax, test, needs a wing. get a bit off the asking, might be ok?

hard to get a feel for a good fixer upper if i'm honest :P

I'd forget the wing and shovel in a DT lump to match the wheels :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

OWE0MWU3MTcxYWI0ZTk2ZGM4MzVhYTc1OGI3OGJlNTYc7Q3rK3AQi6u6TVN65sDSaHR0cDovL21lZGlhLmFkc2ltZy5jb20vNjY3YjYwM2Q1NDYyYzAxNTIzN2ZiNGYyNmYxN2Q1ZTA0ZDIwMDQ1OGYxNTI1MGYxZGIwODk0ZDRjMzQzOGQ3Zi5qcGd8fDI5NHx8fHx8aHR0cDovL3d3dy5hZHZlcnRzLmllL3N0YXRpYy9pL3dhdGVybWFyay5wbmd8fGh0dHA6Ly93d3cuYWR2ZXJ0cy5pZS9zdGF0aWMvaS9jYXItaW1hZ2UuanBnfA==.jpg

€750 or a swap.Needs bushings.

http://www.adverts.ie/car/honda/hr-v/swap/2962549

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

zerks wrote: »
    OWE0MWU3MTcxYWI0ZTk2ZGM4MzVhYTc1OGI3OGJlNTYc7Q3rK3AQi6u6TVN65sDSaHR0cDovL21lZGlhLmFkc2ltZy5jb20vNjY3YjYwM2Q1NDYyYzAxNTIzN2ZiNGYyNmYxN2Q1ZTA0ZDIwMDQ1OGYxNTI1MGYxZGIwODk0ZDRjMzQzOGQ3Zi5qcGd8fDI5NHx8fHx8aHR0cDovL3d3dy5hZHZlcnRzLmllL3N0YXRpYy9pL3dhdGVybWFyay5wbmd8fGh0dHA6Ly93d3cuYWR2ZXJ0cy5pZS9zdGF0aWMvaS9jYXItaW1hZ2UuanBnfA==.jpg

€750 or a swap.Needs bushings.

http://www.adverts.ie/car/honda/hr-v/swap/2962549

No offence intended, but I hate those yokes. My girlfriends Mother has one and it's just a heap of junk. I mean it's super reliable and everything but it's dog slow, has a crappy interior and eats fuel like it's going out of fashion. Driving position is awkward and it doesn't drive well either.

I know it has no bearing on the thread and at €750 if it needs just bushings it mightn't be a bad bet but I just can't stand 'em! Sorry! :o:D

i like their interior. but i am a fan of japanese blandness.

I normally hate them, but in red with white wheels I have to say that I think it's actually really cool looking. What's wrong with me :o

Once on donedeal asking €1400 a few months back, now it's back for less than half that with naff all NCT.

Uncanny resemblance to mine, same original wheeltrims, yellow fogs, right down to the aero wipers and fuel flap!!! :eek:

Full-19231959.jpeg

A savage auld bus for 295, whack a clutch in and enjoy the lashings of room!!!

Petril though...
    Full-19248627.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

I'd forget the wing and shovel in a DT lump to match the wheels :pac:

Dont bother, they were an awful bucket of ****e;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

One for you dgt!

View2-19385229.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4933317

Mmmmm leather :D

^^^^^
    Tempting :D

Full?id=19408223

Ultimate bog trotter car, just check out the tow hitch!!!
    Full-19173444.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

^^^^^
    Tempting :D

Ultimate bog trotter car, just check out the tow hitch!!!

That's not a tow hitch, thats a reinforced reversing sensor

Lancer could be a good deal, if it was any way tidy

It worries me how much I like those Ventos :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,174 ✭✭✭Top Dog

I got thrown out of the bangernomics thread with this, so maybe I'll be accepted here :o

Wondering if heating up could simply be a thermostat/radiator issue rather than gasket worry? Viscous fan maybe?

Granted its the weedy 1.6, and reasonably high miles, but if the heating is a small issue then I reckon you could do a lot worse for €650. Nice colour, nice wheels, m-sport bodykit (I think?)

View2-19335909.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4685943

Have also learned that the NCT is valid to Feb 2014

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭ian87

Breaking that e36 would surely get you a lot of that back. They are getting rarer and rarer... Would make a very clean donor car by the looks of it.

Petril and NCT'd....
    Full-19610111.jpeg

Also for 250....

Full-19614043.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Think i might have owned that before :D ,

Wasn't much better back then :pac:

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4884830

View2-19132195.jpeg

No NCT, no mention of service history, someone might save it from the scrap yard :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

RoverJames wrote: »

View2-19132195.jpeg

No NCT, no mention of service history, someone might save it from the scrap yard :)

Was up for much more than the €1000 asking it is now a while back IIRC, not quite sure what's going on with the back two wheels though, look strangely out of proportion.

Take all the tat off it and get it back to standard and might be a nice example. All guesswork of course. Fairly overpriced as it is though. I did look into it alright...

RoverJames wrote: »

View2-19132195.jpeg

Black, Zender kit, 20mm lowered, Xenons..... Nice! :cool:
    166man wrote: »
    Was up for much more than the €1000 asking it is now a while back IIRC, not quite sure what's going on with the back two wheels though, look strangely out of proportion.

Take all the tat off it and get it back to standard and might be a nice example. All guesswork of course. Fairly overpriced as it is though. I did look into it alright...

Use of lower profile tyres, possibly cheaper than the 215/55 originally meant for it.... 195/45's are significantly cheaper for example!