Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FIXERUPPER of the week/day

• Registered Users Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4861633

another xantia. galactic mileage, needs front wheel bearings. 6 weeks tax and test :) would need to get a little off the price admittedly.

• Registered Users Posts: 333 ✭✭mondymike

barura wrote: »
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4852298

Mx5 for 325? Need battery but if it runs, a great start. :)

mx3 not an mx5. Not such a bargain after all

• Registered Users Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4861633

another xantia. galactic mileage, needs front wheel bearings. 6 weeks tax and test :) would need to get a little off the price admittedly.

Repost, but great minds think alike :D:D:D

not the end of the world, but on that first volvo, should the steering wheel center not be cream too? i know its a 500 quid car with a quarter of a million miles but it might have had its bags out at some point.

Looks strange alright but a bit of googleing turned this up so it might be ok??

48209694.jpg

jaysus i don't know if i could hack that wheel, looks very out of place!

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4868449
    i reckon this is still a 4a-fe model, sunroof is a nice touch, good colour too. i reckon if you got €50 off the asking price, it'd be sound with a new set of hubcaps :) doubt it'd take much to test it.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4550161
    admittedly a skangers dream, but... a recent list of work completed in the last 5k miles including timing belt and water pump, full service, gearbox oil, coolant renewed, brake fluid renewed, new pads, new hand brake cables, and power steering fluid renewed (for some reason).

also a japanese import so probably has an ok spec with the likes of a/c, electric windows and power folding mirrors etc kind of justifies the asking price of 850. might look ok with a smaller set of wheels. probably owned by an eastern european (not that that's a bad thing, just they seem to be the only lads willing to maintain an older car)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4550161
    admittedly a skangers dream, but... a recent list of work completed in the last 5k miles including timing belt and water pump, full service, gearbox oil, coolant renewed, brake fluid renewed, new pads, new hand brake cables, and power steering fluid renewed (for some reason).

also a japanese import so probably has an ok spec with the likes of a/c, electric windows and power folding mirrors etc kind of justifies the asking price of 850. might look ok with a smaller set of wheels. probably owned by an eastern european (not that that's a bad thing, just they seem to be the only lads willing to maintain an older car)
    Hmmm the clocks have been out of that at some stage, and if NCT'd the seller will be looking for 1500, I wouldn't fancy it at all tbh

not being cheeky as i generally see eye to eye with you John. but the clock have clearly been out to witch to those (awful) aftermarket indiglo dials, i'd be surprised if it was clocked. that said i know its a wildcard and certainly not to everybodys taste, but i personally feel i wouldn't be too quick to judge a book by its cover on this one.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

not being cheeky as i generally see eye to eye with you John. but the clock have clearly been out to witch to those (awful) aftermarket indiglo dials, i'd be surprised if it was clocked. that said i know its a wildcard and certainly not to everybodys taste, but i personally feel i wouldn't be too quick to judge a boot by its cover on this one.
    Your probably correct, Changing the dials is just a pet hate of mine really, having owned a few standard Civics in the past :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭00833827

avensis doesnt look too bad, it ifs got the 4afe, then it may do another 190k

• Registered Users Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭serious3

barura wrote: »
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4852298

Mx5 for 325? Need battery but if it runs, a great start. :)

wheres the mx5? that's an mx3 in the pic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭barura

serious3 wrote: »
    wheres the mx5? that's an mx3 in the pic
    My eyes ain't as sharp as others in this thread. :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Diesel
    Full-19064436.jpeg

May need diff and tyres :pac:
    Full-19052142.jpeg

Needs CV joint (first one I've ever heard of going :eek::eek::eek:) and bumper

NCT till Nov!!!
    Full-17946336.jpeg

NCT till June, 250

Dayyyyyysel, needs a wing
    Full-19105802.jpeg

I am soooo tempted.... :o

• Registered Users Posts: 478 ✭✭Matthewjohn

No nct or tax but the spec is huge and it looks clean enough.
    View2-19166752.jpeg
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4885472

WOW that volvo is clean, a bit dear maybe but exactly the sort of thing this thread is about :cool::cool:

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4902049

looks low enough spec and not tested, but full service history and 1 owner from new, wonder if/what the catch is? or is it just worthless with no tax and test.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4901263

no tax, test, needs a wing. get a bit off the asking, might be ok?

hard to get a feel for a good fixer upper if i'm honest :P

I'd forget the wing and shovel in a DT lump to match the wheels :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

OWE0MWU3MTcxYWI0ZTk2ZGM4MzVhYTc1OGI3OGJlNTYc7Q3rK3AQi6u6TVN65sDSaHR0cDovL21lZGlhLmFkc2ltZy5jb20vNjY3YjYwM2Q1NDYyYzAxNTIzN2ZiNGYyNmYxN2Q1ZTA0ZDIwMDQ1OGYxNTI1MGYxZGIwODk0ZDRjMzQzOGQ3Zi5qcGd8fDI5NHx8fHx8aHR0cDovL3d3dy5hZHZlcnRzLmllL3N0YXRpYy9pL3dhdGVybWFyay5wbmd8fGh0dHA6Ly93d3cuYWR2ZXJ0cy5pZS9zdGF0aWMvaS9jYXItaW1hZ2UuanBnfA==.jpg

€750 or a swap.Needs bushings.

http://www.adverts.ie/car/honda/hr-v/swap/2962549

• Registered Users Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

zerks wrote: »
    OWE0MWU3MTcxYWI0ZTk2ZGM4MzVhYTc1OGI3OGJlNTYc7Q3rK3AQi6u6TVN65sDSaHR0cDovL21lZGlhLmFkc2ltZy5jb20vNjY3YjYwM2Q1NDYyYzAxNTIzN2ZiNGYyNmYxN2Q1ZTA0ZDIwMDQ1OGYxNTI1MGYxZGIwODk0ZDRjMzQzOGQ3Zi5qcGd8fDI5NHx8fHx8aHR0cDovL3d3dy5hZHZlcnRzLmllL3N0YXRpYy9pL3dhdGVybWFyay5wbmd8fGh0dHA6Ly93d3cuYWR2ZXJ0cy5pZS9zdGF0aWMvaS9jYXItaW1hZ2UuanBnfA==.jpg

€750 or a swap.Needs bushings.

http://www.adverts.ie/car/honda/hr-v/swap/2962549

No offence intended, but I hate those yokes. My girlfriends Mother has one and it's just a heap of junk. I mean it's super reliable and everything but it's dog slow, has a crappy interior and eats fuel like it's going out of fashion. Driving position is awkward and it doesn't drive well either.

I know it has no bearing on the thread and at €750 if it needs just bushings it mightn't be a bad bet but I just can't stand 'em! Sorry! :o:D

i like their interior. but i am a fan of japanese blandness.

I normally hate them, but in red with white wheels I have to say that I think it's actually really cool looking. What's wrong with me :o

Once on donedeal asking €1400 a few months back, now it's back for less than half that with naff all NCT.

Uncanny resemblance to mine, same original wheeltrims, yellow fogs, right down to the aero wipers and fuel flap!!! :eek:

Full-19231959.jpeg

A savage auld bus for 295, whack a clutch in and enjoy the lashings of room!!!

Petril though...
    Full-19248627.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 4,385 ✭✭✭pred racer

dgt wrote: »
    I'd forget the wing and shovel in a DT lump to match the wheels :pac:

Dont bother, they were an awful bucket of ****e;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

One for you dgt!

View2-19385229.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4933317

Mmmmm leather :D

^^^^^
    Tempting :D

Full?id=19408223

Ultimate bog trotter car, just check out the tow hitch!!!
    Full-19173444.jpeg