Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Bad form and grunting

• Registered Users Posts: 236 ✭✭imnothim

Da Za wrote: »

I'll be in on Thursday Night to pull if you're around.

that would be graet daza, what time are training at?

today was good.

squat
    60 x5
    80 x3
    100 x3
    120 x2
    140 x2
    150 x1
    160 x1
    170 x4 x6

bench
    60 x5
    80 x3
    90 x2
    100 x2
    105 x2
    110 x5 x5

bent rows
    100 x5 x5

dips
    +15kg 5x5

70kg clean x1, i think il enter the leinsters.

• Registered Users Posts: 435 ✭✭Turbo_diesel

How are you finding the Power shrugs? Tried them before but never felt like I was doing them right. Do you do them with straps?

power shrugs i like. il probably get a load of your doing it wrong messages after i say this, but i am very concious not to do a clean high pull, so i start with the bar at arms length ( rather than above the knee ) so it only travels about 3-4" but i "power" it through my legs and hold at the top for 3 - 5 seconds. i use straps too.

• Registered Users Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Da Za

imnothim wrote: »
    that would be graet daza, what time are training at?

I'm in 2nite benching too.

Around 7ish 2nite and Thursday.

squats
    60 x5 x2
    80 x3
    100 x3
    120 x3
    140 x3
    150 x2
    160 x2
    170 x2 x6

bench
    60 x5
    80 x3
    100 x3
    105 x2
    110 x2
    115 x3 x3

chins

powershrugs
    145 x5 x3

the chins surprised me, i kept pretty good form for all of them, i could probably have done a couple more sets.
    the power shrugs kept catching on my which was very distracting. i must dress to suit in future.

i worked in with some of da za's training tonight. it was a good workout, which included a dubious pb that im going to claim. it was a good eye opener for me in relation to my own d.l, there were 2/3 points/weaknesses in the lift where i can improve which he pointed out to me. im going to finish my coan programme over the next 4-5weeks and then hopefully we can work together a bit more consistantly , i have no problem in admitting that i wouldnt be able to do both in the same week.

deads - i had planned on doing more watching than lifting.
    60 x5 x2
    100 x5
    140 x3
    180 x3
    200 x3
    220 x1
    240 x1
    260 x1 pb i was told this wouldnt pass in comp. i wasnt in comp tonight.
    260 xf

band assisted deads
    277.5 x1 x4 - these are great

thanks again da za

i was tight for time today ( and bollixed ) so ...

squat
    60 x5
    80 x3
    100 x3
    120 x3
    140 x3
    150 x1
    160 x1
    170 x5 x6 - these were average at best

bench
    60 x5
    80 x3
    100 x3
    105 x1
    110 x5 x5 - im happy with how my bench is coming along, these were really solid.

sat 27-4-13

coan deadlift week 6

60 x5
    80 x3
    100 x3
    120 x3
    140 x3
    160 x2
    180 x2
    200 x1
    210 x1
    220 x1
    230 x1
    237.5 x2 - had a bit of a battle with the second rep, it was down to a fatigue from the last few days.
    195 x3 x3

powershrugs
    155 x5 x3

stiff legdeads - bent rows - chinups - goodmornings x5 each x3

squats
    60 x5
    80 x3
    100 x2
    120 x2
    140 x2
    160 x2
    170 x2 x6 - i done these on 90sec intervals for the humour.

bench
    60 x5
    80 x3
    100 x3
    105 x2
    110 x2
    115 x3 x3
    102.5 x5 x3

pulldowns - chinup type of movement
    80 x5
    100 x5
    110 x5 x3

dips 5x5 - tried to load these, but bw was all i could muster

im getting killed with work this week, i had to pick either sleep or training this afternoon. i compromised and just squatted.

squats

60 x5 30 sec pause each
    80 x3 30 sec pause each
    100 x3 30 sec pause each
    120 x2
    140 x2
    150 x2
    160 x2
    170 x6 x6 - this was a major head war. i was really reaching for excuses to stop but shame won the day and i finsihed.

coan deadlift week 7

60 x5
    80 x3
    100 x3
    120 x3
    140 x3
    160 x2
    180 x2
    200 x1
    215 x1
    230 x1
    240 x1

main set was meant to be a double, i missed lockout on rep 2, so i took a minute and got it as 2 singles

252.5 x1 +f
    252.5 x1
    210 x3
    210 x3
    210 x3

powershrugs
    60 x5
    100 x5
    140 x5
    170 x5
    170 x5
    170 x5
    140 x10

stiffleg deads
    100 x5
    100 x5

bentrows
    100 x5
    100 x5

chingrippull downs
    100 x5
    100 x5

g00d mornings 2 x 5

so tired, so little time...

squats
    60 x5
    80 x3
    100 x2
    120 x2
    140 x2
    150 x1
    160 x1
    170 x2 x6

bench
    60 x5
    80 x3
    100 x3
    105 x2
    110 x2
    115 x3 x3

skwaaats
    60 x5
    80 x3
    100 x3
    120 x3
    140 x2
    150 x1
    160 x1
    170 x1
    180 x5 x5 -this was actually grand, and depth was good throughout. i dont think iv done a 5x5 at 180 before, so im happy.

bench press
    i threw out the programme that i was following mianly because i wasnt really following it. im trying a different one now which includes a bit more assistance work

60 x5
    80 x5
    100 x3
    105 x2
    110 x2

115 x1 x5
    105 x3 x3
    95 x7 x4

overhead log press
    50 x7
    55 x7
    55 x7
    55 x3 + 4pushed

bent rows
    90 x7 x4

lying tri extensionz
    35 x7 x4

curls d.b
    22 x7 x4 e/s

squats
    60 x5 x2
    80 x5
    100 x3
    120 x2
    140 x2
    150 x2
    160 x1
    at this point i lost all ability to keep track of what i was doing, it was meant to be a 6x2 @ 170, long day...
    160 x2 ?
    160 x2 ?
    170 x4 ?
    170 x3 ?
    170 x3 ?
    170 x2
    170 x2
    i kept all the rest on these around 60 sec.

bench
    60 x10
    85 x7 x4

inc db press 30's 3x10

front raise/push down/curls all 3x10's puuuuuuumppumppumpitup

coan deadlift week 8

60x5
    100x5
    120x3
    140x3
    160x2
    180x2
    200x1
    220x1
    235x1
    245x1
    255x1 - this was not textbook

ok so i knew this was going to happen when i started this programme but as the weeks went by i genuinely believed i could complete it. i have a lot of excuses as to to why i missed my lifts today but the bottom line is that i wasnt ready.
    i had a few guys watching today and the consensus was that i have no problem the strenght part of the lift but the technical part is really lacking. brute strenght and ignorance has got me to a 260kg deadlift but to go forward from here i have a lot of work to do.

265 - fail, one of my hands opened
    265 - i didnt reset from the miss. mistake#1. i think i would have got it had a few other things on the day been a bit different, food, sleep, work all that lark, fact is though, i missed.

200x3
    200x3
    200x3

powershrugs
    180 x5x2

stiff leg deads
    140 x5x2

pendlay rows
    120 x5x2

chinup grip plate loaded pulldown bro
    100kg x5x2

its a few hours since training now, and im actually happy that i got found out. im going to compete at the idfpa single lifts later in the summer so i know what i have to do between now and then to not make a disgrace of myself.
    it is now time to get over myself and get ready to squat tommorow. heavy.

squats
    60x5 (15sec pauses)
    80x5 (15sec pauses)
    100x3 (10sec pauses)
    120x3 (5sec pauses)
    140x2
    150x1
    160x1
    170x1
    180x1
    190x4
    190x4
    190x4
    190x4

bench
    60x5
    80x5
    100 x5x7sets

behind neck press
    50kg 7x4

skwatz
    warm up and 6 doubles @ 170kg

binch
    i been reading a lot about bench set ups and decided to actually apply some, mahoosive difference. i felt manly.
    60x10
    80x6
    100x3
    110x2
    120 x1x5
    110 x3x3
    97.5 x7x4

logpress
    60 x7x4

bender rows
    90 x7x4

pumppumppumpitup front guns and also back guns

squats
    60x5
    80x5
    100x3
    120x3
    140x2
    150x1
    160x1
    170x1
    180x1
    190x1
    200x3rep pb
    200x3
    200x3

*i joined a weightlifting club*
    its a plan, went through a load of drills and got a programme.
    i was breathing heavily.

good mornings 3x5 @60kg, lots of room to load these up

rack pulls
    140x8
    180x5
    200x3
    200x3
    210x3
    220x3

back extensions, reverse hypers sets of 8xnot as many as intended.

boom.

i was in no humour today, doms galore in my lowerback. i gradually got into it but i felt like was going half pace.

squats - warm up + 6 doubles @ 170kg

bench - warm up + 7sets of 5 @ 102.5kg

behind neckpress - 4sets of 7 @ 52.5kg

dips 4x7

then squats again with some olypmic* lifters
    *may not feature in actual olympics

110x3
    130x3
    140x3
    150x3
    160x3
    170x1

i done week 8 last week and uncovered a major flaw in my technique, so im going back to the start and fix the problem, i hope.

70x5
    110x5
    150x3
    180x2
    205x2

165x3 - 8sets

i glossed over the assistance the first time around. im going to push it a bit harder now

stiffleg deads
    150 8x3

bentrows
    90 8x3

goodmornings
    90 8x3

il bump weight on these each week, iv no history of gm's or sld's so im feeling them out as i go.

i done this session 2months ago at a much lower intensity and it wrote me off for about 2 days. today was very easy. this pleases me.

squats - last week of russian squat programme.

60x5
    80x5
    100x3
    120x3
    140x2
    150x2
    160x1
    170x1
    180x1
    190x1
    200x1
    210x2 new max
    210x2 again

max effort day on fri, i cant wait.

bench
    60x5,
    80x5
    100x3
    110x2
    115x1
    120x1
    125x1 x5sets - this is my current max, so yeah
    110x3 x3sets
    100x7 x3sets

cablepushdowns
    full stack 5x5, major showing off

• Registered Users Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭RidleyRider

Nice going man. What squat programme are you on?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭Pavel66

Very nice! Definitely more in the tank...

Nice going man. What squat programme are you on?

http://www.exrx.net/WeightTraining/RussianSquatProgramGenerator.htm

i couldnt train since monday because of work which fooked up my mojo a bit so i tried to cover a bit of everything to make up for it.

squat
    tested max at the start of april was 205kg, i got 210kg on monday.
    60x5
    80x5
    100x3
    120x3
    140x3
    150x2
    160x1
    170x1
    180x1
    190x1
    200x1
    210x1
    215x1 pb

220x1 pb

230x1 pb - bit of a battle, but battles are good craic when you win

25kg pb in around 7 weeks, im very happy with this.

goodmornings
    60x5
    80x5
    100x5 x3

rackpulls, above knee
    220x3
    230x3
    250x3

bench
    110x8
    110x8
    110x6

gunshow with elite level weightlifters
    loads of swole x pump

• Registered Users Posts: 435 ✭✭Turbo_diesel

imnothim wrote: »
    i couldnt train since monday because of work which fooked up my mojo a bit so i tried to cover a bit of everything to make up for it.

squat
    tested max at the start of april was 205kg, i got 210kg on monday.
    60x5
    80x5
    100x3
    120x3
    140x3
    150x2
    160x1
    170x1
    180x1
    190x1
    200x1
    210x1
    215x1 pb

220x1 pb

230x1 pb - bit of a battle, but battles are good craic when you win

25kg pb in around 7 weeks, im very happy with this.

goodmornings
    60x5
    80x5
    100x5 x3

rackpulls, above knee
    220x3
    230x3
    250x3

bench
    110x8
    110x8
    110x6

gunshow with elite level weightlifters
    loads of swole x pump

Great battle on the squat PB Shane fair play.

im going to run the russian squat programme again but not for a couple of weeks, im switching my main focus to deadlift from now untill the idfpa single lifts in august(i think).
    having said that i done no deadlifts tonight and attempted a squat session that makes me think i was under the influence of something when i planned it.

squats
    60x5 30sec pauses
    100x5 3x30sec pauses
    120x5
    140x10
    160x10
    180x20*
    160x10

bench
    60x10
    80x8
    100x5
    110x3
    115x2
    122.5x1
    127.5x1 x5
    117.5x3 x3
    102.5x7 x4

my bench is improving a bit ahead of what i expected, loads of reps + loads of weight seems to be a good combo. i think 127.5kg might be a pb too.

pull downs + push downs. heavy, 3 sets each, 5-8 reps per set.

*planned 180x20 squat, may have actually been 180x3

coan deadlift week 2

the difference to doing this programme while pushing myself hard and basically not are immense. by correcting my technique the speed deads are fast, but the consequence of giving it welly on the speed deads is that i was running on fumes for the rest of the assistance work, grip-forearms-hammy's-brain all took a bit of a beating so i missed reps, dropped weight, took multiple attempts to finish sets etc.
    i think some sort of re-feuling during this workout is going to have to be put in place from now on.

deads
    60x5
    100x5
    140x5
    180x3
    200x3
    220x2

speed deads
    180x3 x8

stiffleg deads
    160x8
    160x8
    160x4 + 160x3

bent rows
    90x6
    90x7
    90x5
    these were meant to be 8's

pulldowns
    8x3 40kg!

goodmornings
    80x8 x3

i got this session going and got called to work. i got a good warm up and good first set, 90 min break, and a poor enough attempt to rescue the rest of it. i ran out of steam in a big way. again, food would have made a difference here.

bench
    60x5x2
    80x5
    100x5
    110x5
    i planned 120 5x5 and felt good for it.
    120x5
    *break*
    100x5
    110x3
    120x2
    120x2

rack pulls - from the knee
    120x5
    140x5
    180x5
    200x3
    220x3
    240x3
    260x2
    280x1
    280x1
    280x1
    280x1
    280x1
    from here i was planning 260 3x3 and 240 5x3 but i was done, i couldnt actually move the 260.
    240x3
    200x5
    180x5

heard a good one today, deadlifting is getting banned in my gym :eek: