Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Just for the craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭wowzer

Sunday 7th April

12 miles in 1.35.55 avg pace 7.59 per mile

Horrible run today, hated every step of it. felt tired, sluggish and heavy, probably something to do with the Indian, half a tub of Ben & Jerrys, creme egg, wispa and the 6 beers I had last night ;-)

Tuesday 9th April

6.43 miles in 43.29 avg pace 6.45

Club run tonight was 18 min tempo followed by 6x200 I think they were more like 250 meters though

During the tempo I covered 2.82 miles, splits were 6.25, 6.18 and .82 mile was at 6.15 pace. Stuck with a few lads that are stronger than me so I was pushing it a bit to stay with them. I did the 200's between 36-39 seconds.

Tough enough run overall but I enjoyed it.
    Couple of detectives at the club sussed me out from this training log, good work lads haha. I didn't think many people read these things. Good thing I don't bitch about people haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭happygoose

Amateur slueths in DAC alright, we've little to be up to! Good aul sessions lately since we're back on track, literally. The log makes for good reading you're getting great sessions in keep it up!

happygoose wrote: »
    Amateur slueths in DAC alright, we've little to be up to! Good aul sessions lately since we're back on track, literally. The log makes for good reading you're getting great sessions in keep it up!

Ha cheers, I think we all have little to be at if we are posting on this.

Wednesday 10th April

8.23 miles in 70.09 avg pace 8.31

Nice easy run to work, not sure I like these early morning starts though (6.45am). Takes a couple of miles before I start to feel human and I love me grub so running on an empty stomach kills me.. Good to get the run over with early though.

Thursday 11th April

6.73 miles in 54.56 avg pace 8.10 per mile

Cant make it to the club tonight as i have to go to a funeral so it was an easy lunch time run for me today. Wasnt in the mood for this at all as i got soaked on my cycle into work and wasnt looking forward to going out in it again. Was grand though once i got going. Think I'll go out to malahide for the parkrun on Saturday to make up for missing the session tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭ELFOYZER

wowzer wrote: »
    Think I'll go out to malahide for the parkrun on Saturday to make up for missing the session tonight.

Absolutely Wowzer. Sub 20 min written all over this one for sure!

ELFOYZER wrote: »
    Absolutely Wowzer. Sub 20 min written all over this one for sure!

Cheers, there's no pressure now ;-)

Saturday 13th April

6.3 miles incl 5k malahide parkrun

5k done in 19.47, fcuking delighted with this as I've been trying to get under 20 for ages.. I was 18 seconds quicker today than I was 2 weeks ago.
    Going out today I wasn't feeling it at all and wasn't expecting a good run, so happy days..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Well done on getting the sub 20 monkey off your back.

tang1 wrote: »
    Well done on getting the sub 20 monkey off your back.

Cheers tang, took me long enough.. Now I want to go sub20 in a proper race.

Today was 27 seconds quicker than my best 5k last year before I got injured. The club sessions are certainly paying off..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭ELFOYZER

Cheers, there's no pressure now ;-)

Get in there Wowzer- told you it was on. Well done!

ELFOYZER wrote: »
    Get in there Wowzer- told you it was on. Well done!

Nice one elfoyzer, that little bit pressure ya put on me must've spurred me on...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 788 ✭✭✭rasher_m

Today was 27 seconds quicker than my best 5k last year before I got injured. The club sessions are certainly paying off..

Well from what I hear, its not a pb course so you've every chance of improving on your latest time in a race.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭statss

Nice one on the sub 20.

Monday 15th April

8.22 miles in 69.50 avg pace 8.30 per mile

Easy run into work today. Missed yesterdays long run due to laziness, it was one of them days that I just couldnt be @rsed running. Got up at my usual time and went through the usual routine before my long run but when it got to getting up off the sofa I just couldnt bring myself to do it. So a good chunk of season 3 of Dexter was watched instead. Eventually managed to get up off the sofa to cycle up to the park to watch the GIR, when I got there I was delighted I didnt enter it, that breeze was brutal..
    Samsung 10k is next up for me, i did this last year in 42.53 i think so hopefully i can knock at least a minute off that.

Bob Heffernan 5k Tues 21st May Enfield ya'll knock another hole into it Wowzer its a super fast course!

Nice one I'll keep that in mind, the missus is due a baby on the 22nd though so it may be a bit tricky getting out the door for that one.

Ya'd be a brave man to land yourself down in Enfield so!

very interested to see how the training goes post baby! It's my biggest fear....potential baby "ruining" my running "career"...:pac:

statss wrote: »
    very interested to see how the training goes post baby! It's my biggest fear....potential baby "ruining" my running "career"...:pac:

I'm a little worried about it myself but sure you can only play the hand you are dealt so I'll just have to make the time for running.

Luckily I'm in a position to run to or from work so maybe I'll just have to miss a few club sessions here and there. getting out for the long run will probably be the hardest to manage especially during marathon training.

The wife is pretty easygoing so that will help.

Tuesday 16th April

6.58 miles in 45.18 avg pace 6.53

Club session tonight, Tuesday is normally some form of tempo run but not tonight. The session was done a bit quicker than 5k pace, 3mins with 45secs recovery then 90secs with 2min recovery. we did that 4 times. for the 3 min reps I was getting around 750meters done and 400 meters for the 90seconds.
    Tough but enjoyable session, not sure I fully understand the reasoning behind it though.

Wednesday 17th April

6.36 miles in 51.36 avg pace 8.06

Easy lunch time run today, made that little bit harder by the breeze..

Thursday 18th April

5.29 miles in 33.29 avg pace 6.18

Actually ran over 6 miles but the Garmin took over 3 laps of the track before it located satellites. Decent warm up done in a massive downpour.
    Session tonight was 14x400 off 45secs recovery. There was also a 3 min recovery after the 7th.
    Really wasn't expecting this session tonight after Tuesdays session and when I heard what we were doing I was very tempted to duck out and do a tempo run on my own. However I stuck with it and I'm happy I did. I was hitting the 400s consistently between 83 and 86 seconds.
    No time for a cooldown today, I'm sure I'll feel the effects of that on my run to work in the morning.

Friday 19th April

8.24 miles in 70.04 avg pace 8.31

Easy run to work today, nice to run with no breeze for a change. just noticed that today's run brings my total for the year so far to 551 miles.

Sunday 21st April

12.19 miles in 97.47 avg pace 8.01

Into the park for this one, there is a 2.5mile loop that takes in the Khyber so I ran that loop 4 times and added on 2 miles at the end. Plan for today was just to keep a consistent pace, first 2 times up the Khyber were fine but had to work hard to maintain the pace for the last 2. Happy overall as I need to start adding a few hills to my training.

Tuesday 23rd April

8.31 miles in 61.09 avg pace 7.21 per mile

Club session tonight was a ladder of 2,3,4,5,4,3,2 min at 10k pace with 2 mins between at hm pace.. Spent the afternoon sitting in holles street with the wife, horrible places them maternity hospitals, so I knew going up to the club I wasn't in form and I was fcuked after the first couple of 10k pace sections.. So for the first time since I joined the club I pulled out of the session and just did the rest run at hm pace..
    Sometimes you just have to listen to your body and mine was screaming at me to slow it down tonight so I don't feel too bad about it. Think I'll just go easy for the rest of the week before the 10k on Sunday.

What time you aiming for on Sunday?

statss wrote: »
    What time you aiming for on Sunday?

My 10k pb is 42.51 so anything under that and I'll be happy. But I'm gonna aim for 41 mins, I need to do a bit more training before I have a crack at going under the 40 minutes.
    Based on a recent 4 mile race where I held a steady 6.30 pace I reckon I could hold that pace for at least 5 of the 6 miles this Sunday. So my plan is to go out at 6.30s and hold on as long as I can.. If I blow up then so be it, this race was never gonna be a target race for me anyway, I'm just doing it because I enjoyed it last year.