Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Just for the craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭wowzer

rasher_m wrote: »

Heya Wowzer, saw you on the other thread there, i hope your training goes well for you this year and the injuries stay away. Should get a really good time if the Gods permit.
    Hi rasher_m, thanks.. Fingers crossed that I can keep the injury at bay this year.

Thursday 14th March 2013

6.52miles in 57.24 avg pace 8.48

Skipped the club session tonight because of a race at the weekend so I knocked out a few very slow easy miles. I still find these kind of runs awful, I know they serve a purpose but I find it hard to keep running at an easy pace. Something in me thinks I must push myself in every run I do, I really need to get over this and enjoy these easy runs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

You any goal time in mind for the 5 mile in Meath in a few weeks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Just picked up on your thread now. Training seems to be going very well. Did you manage to keep the mass on or are you now a stickman?!

tang1 wrote: »
    You any goal time in mind for the 5 mile in Meath in a few weeks?
    Nothing in mind at all tang, not even 100% percent sure I'm doing it yet, club are trying to get a few lads together for a B team so I don't know if we've got enough. If I do it Ill be very disappointed if I don't pb. I'll finish a good half mile behind you thats for sure.

Gavlor wrote: »
    Just picked up on your thread now. Training seems to be going very well. Did you manage to keep the mass on or are you now a stickman?!
    Cheers gavlor, I'd be divorced if I dropped the muscle, So I'll never be a stickman.
    Not lifting as much or as heavy these days but the hard work is gaining the muscle, it's easy enough to maintain it if you eat right.
    So I still have a decent amount of muscle and I'd probably run a bit quicker if I lost a bit but I wouldn't be happy to look like a proper runner and be skinny & scrawny.
    Been watching your log, serious running from you. Fair play man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

wowzer wrote: »
    I wouldn't be happy to look like a proper runner and be skinny & scrawny.

OI! Nothing wrong with that!:D

Cheers gavlor, I'd be divorced if I dropped the muscle, So I'll never be a stickman.
    Not lifting as much or as heavy these days but the hard work is gaining the muscle, it's easy enough to maintain it if you eat right.
    So I still have a decent amount of muscle and I'd probably run a bit quicker if I lost a bit but I wouldn't be happy to look like a proper runner and be skinny & scrawny.
    Been watching your log, serious running from you. Fair play man.

It's easier to do it with my build!!

A nutritionist friend of mine recommended pea protein instead of whey as a means of keeping some sort of muscle/weight on. Would you have a preference of protein??

blockic wrote: »

OI! Nothing wrong with that!:D
    Ha sorry no offence intended, now go eat something ;-)

It's easier to do it with my build!!

A nutritionist friend of mine recommended pea protein instead of whey as a means of keeping some sort of muscle/weight on. Would you have a preference of protein??
    Protein is protein regardless of source, well thats my take on it. I generally try to eat my protein but do use shakes and bars too if I haven't hit my 200grams a day. Eggs, fish, beef, milk and chicken are your friend if you wanna build up or maintain. Protein also helps with recovery too.
    Debates on protein supplements have been done to death on these boards,it's all about your own personal preference and whatever works for you might not suit the next person.
    I will say this, if you wanted to take a protein shake I'd recommend a casein protein before bed, it's a slow release protein that feeds your muscles all throughout the night when you can't eat.

Protein is protein regardless of source, well thats my take on it. I generally try to eat my protein but do use shakes and bars too if I haven't hit my 200grams a day. Eggs, fish, beef, milk and chicken are your friend if you wanna build up or maintain. Protein also helps with recovery too.
    Debates on protein supplements have been done to death on these boards,it's all about your own personal preference and whatever works for you might not suit the next person.
    I will say this, if you wanted to take a protein shake I'd recommend a casein protein before bed, it's a slow release protein that feeds your muscles all throughout the night when you can't eat.

Do you find it hard to digest when taken so late?? I've struggled over the years to find a protein that doesn't burn dirty. I get a fair bit naturally thru my diet but my metabolism is ridiculously fast!

No not at all, it would probably be ideal for you actually especially if you got a fast metabolism. At least it will stay in your system while your asleep.

Saturday 16th March 2013

Malahide park run 5k total 6.5 miles with warm up/cool down.

5k in 20.07 by my watch official time not yet available. Never been so disappointed to run a pb in a race, it's only a pb by 7 seconds but it's still a pb all the same. Really thought I was in shape to finally get that sub 20 monkey of my back.
    Mile 1 & 2 perfect, flying along sub 20 in the bag I thought then mile 3 hit me like a ton of bricks. I ran my last mile in the ballycotton 10 last week quicker than that last mile today. Ah well I'll get it next time..

Sunday 17th March

11.18 miles 87.46 min avg 7.51

Nice steady run today, felt good today till I hit the deck around mile 10. Was supposed to do 13 but blood was pissing from my knee and I was soaked and covered in muck after the fall so I said feck that and decided to take a shortcut and head for home.

Gonna take it relatively easy for the week as I wanna give the dunboyne 4 miler a good lash next week.

Scheduled rest day tomorrow so with the day thats in it it would be terrible to miss out on the opportunity to get a few scoops in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 788 ✭✭✭rasher_m

Sunday 17th March

11.18 miles 87.46 min avg 7.51

Nice steady run today, felt good today till I hit the deck around mile 10. Was supposed to do 13 but blood was pissing from my knee and I was soaked and covered in muck after the fall so I said feck that and decided to take a shortcut and head for home.

Gonna take it relatively easy for the week as I wanna give the dunboyne 4 miler a good lash next week.

Scheduled rest day tomorrow so with the day thats in it it would be terrible to miss out on the opportunity to get a few scoops in.

Hope you're ok. you cant keep your eyes off our ****ty paths for a second as ive learnt myself a few times.

rasher_m wrote: »

Hope you're ok. you cant keep your eyes off our ****ty paths for a second as ive learnt myself a few times.

Cheers rasher, I'll survive :-) it wasn't the first time and it won't be the last time I have a fall.

Tuesday 19th March

7.42 miles 58.37 mins avg pace 7.52

Easy enough run tonight, did miles 3 & 4 in 6.31 & 6.27 just to keep a bit of speed in the legs. Rest of the run was at an easy pace. Track at the club is wrecked with this brutal weather so did this run on my own.

Wednesday 20th March

5 miles in 42.18 avg pace 8.28

Recovery/easy lunchtime run today.

Sunday 24th March 2013

7 miles in total Dunboyne 4 mile race

4.04 miles in 26.11 avg pace 6.29

Good race today, really enjoyed it even though it was freezing and windy. Splits were 6.23, 6.32, 6.33, 6.29 and 12 seconds for the .04 mile.
    I only ever did one other 4 mile race and that was this race last year, i did it in 28.36 so took a good chunk off the PB, i'm little disappointed not to dip under the 26 mins but with the conditions today it was a good run overall.

MOnday 25th March

5.15miles in 42.06 avg pace 8.11

Was supposed to be run at recovery pace but this was a bit quicker than recovery pace today, but who knows what is recovery pace any more?? All this talk on the novice threads of HH and P&D and running slow and tapers has me all confused.. Feck the lot of them, i'm on me own from here on in as all ive learned or though i learned about running over the last few years seems to be wrong...

Tuesday 26th March

6 miles in 48.05 avg pace 8.01

Last minute decision to run home today from work. Feckin teenage son changed his mind about something so it was run home from work to suit himself or no run at all. So no club session tonight, at least I'll get to see the match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 992 ✭✭✭dazza21ie

MOnday 25th March

5.15miles in 42.06 avg pace 8.11

Was supposed to be run at recovery pace but this was a bit quicker than recovery pace today, but who knows what is recovery pace any more?? All this talk on the novice threads of HH and P&D and running slow and tapers has me all confused.. Feck the lot of them, i'm on me own from here on in as all ive learned or though i learned about running over the last few years seems to be wrong...

Based on your Dunboyne time McMillan calculator suggests recovery pace for you between 8:40 & 9:21 :D

Cheers daz, generally I do my recoveries somewhere between 8.30 and 9., but I find these recovery pace runs awfully boring and I find it difficult to hold that easy pace.. also me being quite an impatient lad probably has something to do with how I feel about recovery runs ;)

Wednesday 27th March

8.27 miles in 70.50 mins avg pace 8.34

Lovely run in to work at 6.45am in near blizzard like conditions. Running through the phoenix park was the highlight, it really was a winter wonderland, at times I could barely see 10 feet in front of me.

Thursday 28th March

5.55 miles in 43.16 avg pace 7.47

Went to the club tonight, track is still fcuked so no session again tonight. Hopefully when the hour goes forward we can get the sessions done on the roads while the track is like this.
    Added bonus tonight though as I found 20 quid while we were out doing our run..

Saturday 30th March

6 miles in total, 5k Malahide Parkrun, 3 miles warm up/cool down.

5k done in 20.05, didnt happen again for me. at least the time is slowly creeping down.

Sunday 31st March

13.62 miles in 1.42.32 avg pace 7.31 per mile

Quite happy with todays run, I had intended to do 13 but got my calculations of distance wrong so it went a bit over. I felt like pushing myself a bit today and I ended up getting unofficial half marathon pb of over 4 minutes too, nice to do it on a training run. I felt good and strong despite the breeze and could have gone on at that pace for a couple more miles.

Tuesday 02nd April

6.33 miles in 43.56 avg pace 6.56 per mile

Club tempo session tonight. 2.3 miles warm up @ 7.30 pace followed by 4 tempo miles.
    Miles to be done at hm pace, 10k pace, hm pace and then 10k pace. Splits were 7.06 (was chatting to someone for this mile), 6.28, 6.48 & 6.29. Had to leg it after so no time for a cooldown.

Wednesday 03rd April

6 miles in 47.43 avg pace 7.57 per mile

Nice easy run today, was supposed to be recovery pace but only have an hour for lunch so had to go a bit quicker. Nice to get out and run in some sunshine for a change, but that feckin breeze was a killer today. I can't remember the last time I ran when there was no wind, it always seems to be windy.

Thursday 04th April

6.27 miles in 44.39 avg pace 7.07

2 mile warm up followed by the club session, the session was 8x600 off 60 seconds recovery. Was running these reps at 5.45 pace and was completing them between 2.18 and 2.21. Was a tough session but got through it ok. 1 and a bit mile cooldown after.

Friday 05th March

6.71miles in 53.39 avg pace 8.01 per mile

Lunchtime run today, really enjoyed this one even though the legs were a bit heavy after the 600s last night...