Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Just for the craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭ELFOYZER

wowzer wrote: »
    Tuesday 28th May

BHAA 5 Mile Dunboyne

4.99 miles in 32.44 avg pace 6.33

Bit disappointed with this race as I was hoping to go closer to 32 mins. Felt ****ed after 2.5 miles and I just couldn't hold my pace from there, despite elfoyzers efforts to get me to stick with him. It's still a pb by 1 minute 11 seconds so I guess I have to be happy with that..

That's some pb despite being fcuked at the halfway marker. Great running and still on target for a decent smack at Dunshaughlin in a few weeks time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭wowzer

ELFOYZER wrote: »
    That's some pb despite being fcuked at the halfway marker. Great running and still on target for a decent smack at Dunshaughlin in a few weeks time.

Jaysus I don't know about that, I think I have to learn to just harden up and dig in when the going gets tough. I'll get the head down between now and dunshaughlin but I'll have to work hard. Maybe blowing up tonight will give me the kick in the arse that I needed.
    Great run by yourself tonight man, fair play to you, perfect pacing (almost, haha)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,094 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

You really shouldn't under estimate how much upheaval the arrival of a new baby causes. You're functioning on a lot less sleep, energy and more stress than you've been under in a long time. (and you are all of these even if you don't think you are) To continue the training and crack out PB's is outstanding and something to be proud of IMO. Congrats.

It will be easier to dig deep in a few more weeks. :)

You really shouldn't under estimate how much upheaval the arrival of a new baby causes. You're functioning on a lot less sleep, energy and more stress than you've been under in a long time. (and you are all of these even if you don't think you are) To continue the training and crack out PB's is outstanding and something to be proud of IMO. Congrats.

It will be easier to dig deep in a few more weeks. :)

Cheers PM.
    Don't I know it, life has been turned upside down not that I'm complaining.. Sleep is definitely an issue but my biggest issue is food. I'm struggling to eat as good as I used to, its too easy to throw any oul crap in the oven than to make something decent when you are tight for time. And when I'm tired and stressed I reach for the chocolate. So I guess this played a roll tonight. I'll get it all straightened out when the little fella settles into a routine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭Big Logger

Cheers PM.
    Don't I know it, life has been turned upside down not that I'm complaining.. Sleep is definitely an issue but my biggest issue is food. I'm struggling to eat as good as I used to, its too easy to throw any oul crap in the oven than to make something decent when you are tight for time. And when I'm tired and stressed I reach for the chocolate. So I guess this played a roll tonight. I'll get it all straightened out when the little fella settles into a routine.

congrats on your bambino wowser, you're being very modest about your effort at the moment, we all know its not easy for you :D

Big Logger wrote: »
    congrats on your bambino wowser, you're being very modest about your effort at the moment, we all know its not easy for you :D

Thanks BL, it's not easy for any of us. finding the right balance when juggling work, family etc and also trying to train is tough but we all manage it somehow.

Wednesday 29th May

5.04 miles in 38.56 avg pace 7.44

Nice day out there for a run, was meant to do this run at at recovery pace (between 8.15-30 pace) but i felt good and the legs wanted to go so i just went with it. Really enjoyed this run, its great to get out into the sun and feel a bit of heat. I started in Hartstown Park but quickly realized I had to get out as I really hate running in there, i think it brings back memories of 2 years ago when i started out running, slogging it out at 10 & 11 minute miles feeling absolutely horrible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Great going last night, two PB's in a week is great going especially with a new arrival in the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,094 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Cheers PM.

Certainly rings a bell. When my lad came along I was only just back running from the injury and ended up not running at all for for a couple of months (partly a lack of motivation on my part to be totally honest. Baby was the focus if not the excuse and Mrs Messiah needed a lot of help after the C section - I'd say though if I had of been at a reasonable level of fitness in the run into it I'd have been more inclined to run so I have to shoulder some of it :)) At the same time though going for those fast and easy foods. Stick in an oven and come back in 30 minutes. Who has time to prep when a baby is involved ? End result one even fatter <insert your own expletive> than before. :pac:

Routines etc come after 4-5 weeks and it becomes a good bit easier to manage what seemed an impossible juggling act 4 weeks previously. For me progress is defined as being focused and now getting out there 6 days a week. For you who managed to stay focused all the way through (kudos again for that) now is the time your performances will start coming back to their real potential. The sub 32 is almost guaranteed considering your time under the current circumstances.

Thursday 30th May

7.78 miles in 62.59 avg pace 8.06

The wife had the car this evening so I couldn't make it up to the club.
    So my plan for tonight was to run easy for an hour, absolutely perfect weather out there for an easy run so I don't feel too bad for missing Gary's session up at the track.

Friday 31st May

6.26 miles in 47.32 avg pace 7.35

Pretty uneventful run today, didn't feel good or bad and just plodded along nicely.
    where is the sun gone, surely summer isn't over already..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭happygoose

Missed Thursday myself, mightn't have been a bad thing, a balls out 1500m and 4 x 400 hard too. He's really putting us through hell lately but there are pb's arriving for most so whatever he's doing it is working.

happygoose wrote: »
    Missed Thursday myself, mightn't have been a bad thing, a balls out 1500m and 4 x 400 hard too. He's really putting us through hell lately but there are pb's arriving for most so whatever he's doing it is working.

Ha I'm delighted I missed that so, that would have killed me after Tuesdays race. But as you say he is definitely doing something right with us so you cant question his methods. And he is in super form himself lately, what is it 3 or 4 marathon wins this year so far.

Whos that wowzer? Sounds like gary o'h

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

Whos that wowzer? Sounds like gary o'h

I don't know anyone else with 4 marathon wins this year so it must be! Is he going for 5 on Monday wowzer, the one with insider information? :D

blockic wrote: »
    I don't know anyone else with 4 marathon wins this year so it must be! Is he going for 5 on Monday wowzer, the one with insider information? :D

Yeah it is who you are thinking, he takes the Thursday night session.
    I heard up at the club on Tuesday that he is doing cork on Monday.. The man is a machine.

Yeah it is who you are thinking, he takes the Thursday night session.
    I heard up at the club on Tuesday that he is doing cork on Monday.. The man is a machine.

Is that Dunboyne AC then? Hes doing the vets proud so he is

Yep thats the one..

Same as! Thursdays fill me with as much dread as doing races, last Thurs week bet all. Good to have him, knows his stuff and a gent!

Sunday 02nd June

13.01 miles in 1.47.33 avg pace 8.16

Fancied a change of scenery for today's long run so I met with a mate at Sandymount and we headed out through blackrock then on to dalkey and back through dun laoghaire. most of the run was along the coast.
    Was a really enjoyable run, sometimes running in a different place makes a huge difference to how you feel.

Tuesday June 04th

5.02 miles in 36.59 avg pace 7.22

BBQ and beer is on the agenda for this evening and I wont make it up to the club so got my run in early before it got too hot. Lovely steady run, I was sweating buckets by the time I was done.

Wednesday 05th June

7.13 miles in 58.12 avg pace 8.09

First couple of miles were tough today after last nights beer and bbq, but once i hit 3 miles I was fine.

Back to work tomorrow after being off for 3 weeks, hopefully i will be able to settle into a more structured training routine as the last few weeks have been quite erratic. Eating has been all over the shop too so have put on a few pounds, getting back to my cycle commute should sort that out though as its 85 miles a week of calories that i haven't burned over the past 3 weeks.
    Not sure when I will race again, was hoping to give Dun Shaughlin a sub 40 attempt but i feel that is beyond me with the few weeks I've just had as I missed a few quality sessions and the extra weight certainly wont help either. Think I will concentrate on nailing down a routine before the marathon plan starts as that is my number 1 goal for the year, a sub 40 10k can wait a while.

Right not to worry about the 10k time it will come flying down when the marathon mileage kicks in, most of our crew doing Dublin will do the Donadea 10k two weeks out from the marathon, you'll be way beyond sub 40 once it comes around.

happygoose wrote: »
    Right not to worry about the 10k time it will come flying down when the marathon mileage kicks in, most of our crew doing Dublin will do the Donadea 10k two weeks out from the marathon, you'll be way beyond sub 40 once it comes around.

That sounds like a plan.. I just know I'll be setting myself up for a disappointment if I do dunshaughlin and then I'd spend the summer chasing the sub40. Its time to start focusing on getting this marathon done.

Thursday 07th June

4.33 miles in 28.52 avg pace 6.39

Back to the track tonight, the session was:

4 x 200m off 90 secs for 3 sets with 3 min recovery between sets

Felt good tonight despite being tired.

Friday 07th June

8.21 miles in 70.14 avg pace 8.33

Run to work this morning, forgot how tough running can be at 6.30am with a bag on my back and no breakfast.. Didn't enjoy this one at all...

Sunday 09th June

13.51 miles in 1.47.55 avg pace 7.59

Went to the park this morning with the intention of doing 12-14 miles on my own at around 7.30-45 pace but bumped into a few lads from the club after about 2.5 miles so I jumped in with them. I really enjoyed this run and bumping into the lads was probably a blessing as I wouldn't have stuck at the pace I had intended to do as it got very warm out there and no doubt I would have cut the run short. Having company on the run was great, the miles ticked along nicely without too much effort.

Monday 10 June

5.13 miles in 41.47 avg pace 8.09

Easy lunch time run today in the sunshine, ran 5 laps of the mile loop (.97 of a mile) from Butt bridge up to the Samuel Beckett bridge cross the Liffey and back down to Butt bridge. Dont normally enjoy laps but I liked this today as the sun was out and there was a nice refreshing breeze for a portion of each lap.

Tuesday 11th June

6.06 miles in 44.39 avg pace 7.22

Had to run at lunch again today as the baby isn't settling too well the last couple of days so it wouldn't be fair on the missus for me to leg it out to the club session as soon as I got in from work this evening.
    Tried to push the pace a bit today but it wasnt in the legs at all, I think the combination of a sleepless night last night and being back on the bike took its toll today. I still enjoyed the run all the same, took in a different route this time and headed out towards Fairview Park for a chage of scenery.

Wednesday 12th June

5.24 miles in 43.02 avg pace 8.13

Easy run today at lunch time to take me over 800 miles for the year. Its very warm out there today even though the sun is not out.