Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The "Today I did something to my car" thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

To the garage.... To the remains of the Transit pump!

Meh, it's more me dicking about dismantling the pump as opposed to an update but I'll shove it here anyway :)

First, pressure control valve
    Image553.jpg

These can give trouble if the collar slides out, low case pressure which leads to poor starting and running (pressure is needed to move the timing piston to advance it for cold starting, load etc)

Collar was in this one though
    Image554.jpg

Removing the govenor shaft/sleeve/flyweight assembly
    Image556.jpg
    Image557.jpg

Time to move the timing piston
    Image558.jpg

Further tool fabrication
    Image559.jpg

My improvised tool worked. $60 + shipping saved!
    Image560.jpg

Once the main driveshaft has been removed, remove the pressure plate
    Image562.jpg

Revealing the vane pump
    Image563.jpg

Which through lack of use will seize meaning no start or no revs higher than tickover. To free it means you have to dismantle the pump.... :mad:

I'm putting this one to one side tough, it's free
    Image564.jpg

Finally for now, the driveshaft seal
    Image565.jpg

And all that's left is the stator ring
    Image566.jpg

I'll be rebuilding this one to my own spec in due time... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Today I put fresh oil in the Trans Am, fitted new filters and an exhaust manifold gasket then put it up on Done Deal for sale!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Paddy@CIRL

Dr.Rieux wrote: »
    Paddy, I cannot think of anything I wouldn't sell to own that car. I include family in that :pac:

Any good looking females of age maybe considered.
    tossy wrote: »
    Was the car up north at Dubshed Paddy?

It sure was, looking a state.
    transam wrote: »
    mighty fine 3series , what is she Paddy ? 330d?

320D, the thoughts of paying pre-08 3.0 litre tax rates on a diesel makes me feel ill. €710 is bad enough as it is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭kuro2k

Got the Hilux Surf back on friday with a new stainless exhaust

P4141575_zps2454b04f.jpg

P4141579_zpscbe50d0a.jpg

P4141580_zpsc047bdaf.jpg

P4141585_zps0994b40c.jpg

P4141586_zps82f5e4ee.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

^^ nice job, was it expensive to get done? 3"?

So since a few days offroading, and the below;

img1635l.jpg

My surf's engine bay has been left manky, so i got a bottle of green gunk this morning and used my engine cleaner spray gun from aldi i gave it a quick sprucing, no before pic unfortunately.

photo1fy.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭tossy

Paddy@CIRL wrote: »
    It sure was, looking a state.

Yeah i was thinking that as i was looking at it - the state of that i said,you'd think he'd clean it :P Will you stop.... it looked well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭kuro2k

Cheensbo wrote: »
    ^^ nice job, was it expensive to get done? 3"?

Thanks, its a 2 1/2" pipe. Yea it was expensive, way too much to be spending on a 17 year old surf but I plan on keeping it for good so I'll get good use out of it, just need to get it through the nct next month now.

Very nice surf you have, you don't see too many good ones around anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,360 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

not really much about car itself, but my work colleague well over mid age, came over to me, as his car wont connect automatically with blue tooth to his phone, have to do manually, it is very inconvenient for him , as he cant grab in hands properly small objects and press buttons.
    Connection was working long time good, and when it happen first time(didnt connect automatically), he went to dealers , where he bought car brand new (5 years ago). Dealers book in him for repairs, and at the end he paid something 60 euro.

Now that happen again, he asked me, would i know what the problem is... thats with his phone (most simplest nokia) or with the car.
    I looked on phone, went in to blue tooth pairing settings, where is his car blue tooth connection saved, and set that connection as authorized, lil lock appeared at his paired device connection.

he went off to check with car, and reported, it back again working.

His words was that he will never go near that dealer.... i thought actually he just got wrong sales person, which caused less one costumer.
    i thought myself, that dealer could do that connection for free of charge, and would keep regular costumer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

got the car programmed for US style lights, new pdc unit coded also (thank you rebel.ranter), fitted the lamin-x on the front and side indicators, finished off the wiring for the angel eyes so they dim on/off with the remote and fitted the smds everywhere in the interior :)
    oh, and ordered a boot lip too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭thecomedian

I decided to start cleaning the car today.
    So far, washed it, detared it (I think), and got the bonnet and wing clayed before the feckin rain came.
    Still to finish the clay, polish and wax. Do the wheels then the seats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

More diesel boringness....

Another pump. Sofim 2.8D. Requires special tools to get the pump off...
    Image580.jpg

Like f*ck it does :pac:
    Image581.jpg

Still a pig to remove! Either way, you can see it pissing diesel everywhere, I'm going to strip it and rebuild it to my specs for the 406 :)

Yes, another pump is being built :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭Jordan5372

painted some interior parts of the car today and also the front scuttle panel just below the wipers, here are some pics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭Jordan5372

Today i also started spray painting the wheel arches black, here is the results of the first attempt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,919 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Jordan5372 wrote: »
    Today i also started spray painting the wheel arches black, here is the results of the first attempt.

Chinese state circus visits Navan?! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

I decided to start cleaning the car today.
    So far, washed it, detared it (I think), and got the bonnet and wing clayed before the feckin rain came.
    Still to finish the clay, polish and wax. Do the wheels then the seats.

Rain came? Get an umbrella out and man the Feck up! :D

On another note, claying is one of the best things you can do to a car. I really would recommend it to everyone. It makes such an amazing difference when you see before and after shots. :)

• Moderators Posts: 12,424 ✭✭✭✭Black_Knight

I know one of ye got some nice carbon fiber wrap before. Just wondering where ye ordered it from?

Looking to get some Anthracite coloured contact for the silver trim in the car. Its never looked right to be as it is.

249765.jpg
    *obviously not my actual pic

The silver on the door (C) ties in ok actually, but the silver trim the runs across the dash (A) looks out of place. Im afraid if I start, ill have to carbon wrap all the silver, at least A and B, but if I did A and B, C would just look out of place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Got me some of those bosch areo wipers :)

And a nice big crack in my windscreen for my trouble....damn pothole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭bop1977

I changed an oil breather hose on my octavia. Seems to drive a little better with no more. Hopefully my mpg will improve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Today I'm giving my car (me) a rest day :D

Covered nearly 1000 miles over the last few days, took a trip over to Lydden hill race circuit for BDC round 1... which means ferry!

MVqG2Dd.jpg

Obviously my car is an inexperienced sailor, so we found someone that looked like they knew their way around the seas :pac:

YFtRxYe.jpg

Typically enough, had no sooner hit land when the car started making a new noise.... a lovely metallic grinding noise somehow related to the rear wheels

Popped into BMsport near London when I got a chance on the way home, and I have to say these lads aren't lying when they say they're bmw specialists. Yard is flooded with old M5's, Alpinas, M3's and their own M3 race car. Few minutes on the lift and they reckoned it was the handbrake backplate that was shagged, unfortunately didn't have the time to let them do the work on it due to needing to order parts...

The very very surprising thing they also found, is that my left rear eibach spring is broken. Eibach are meant to be so great they've put a million mile warranty on all their springs, these haven't even done 20k miles! :mad:

Also found a rather disturbing thing on a menu.... Ardennes pate :eek:
    lZ1bmW4.jpg

Overall though had a great weekend. Also the motorways in the UK are fantastic, particularly for MPG. Ended up getting 54MPG on the run from Pembroke to Dover. That's 750 miles to a tank :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭JoePie

I've now got two working electric windows on my crappy, crappy, cstupid, old Nissan Micra.

In total: 2 brand new regulators and motors, one new passenger side glass, one new passeneger side electric switch, screws and bolts. An absolutely ludicrous amount. My door insides are now worth more than the car. Best part of €400 maybe? Damn, is that new passenger glass shiny though.

Only problem is that one of the rubber runners in the driver door is just that damn old and worn from wear and tear that it's never going to be perfectly working again. It'll do for the NCT anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

I got a call on Monday from my engine builder to tell me my block was shagged. So a few frantic calls later I had another empty block, down to Trident with it and the pistons to have it bored and honed to match my oversized pistons

17218_10151422139352825_170444048_n.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭furtzy

Chinese state circus visits Navan?! :eek:

So no chance of them seeking asylum in that craphole :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭Killinator

I know one of ye got some nice carbon fiber wrap before. Just wondering where ye ordered it from?

Looking to get some Anthracite coloured contact for the silver trim in the car. Its never looked right to be as it is.

249765.jpg
    *obviously not my actual pic

The silver on the door (C) ties in ok actually, but the silver trim the runs across the dash (A) looks out of place. Im afraid if I start, ill have to carbon wrap all the silver, at least A and B, but if I did A and B, C would just look out of place.

EBay is where I got mine, the 3M stuff seems to be great quality.
    Not sure whether you'll get the colour but I'm sure a bit of searching will find close, you should be able to find both plain and carbon textured styles aswell

Out of sheer curiosity (and the first time I've spotted it) I picked up some turtle wax ice wheel cleaner over the weekend in halfords - what caught my attention was the iron-x effect

Figured for a few quid it was worth a shot, and it's much easier to get hold of than iron-x etc.

Y54R1sN.jpg

XCF5e96.jpg

D2WUSw4.jpg

BMBuCR7.jpg

After a very quick test on 1 wheel... it actually seems to work fairly good, considering its turtle wax :D And its a 750ml bottle so it'll get quite a bit of cleaning from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭JerCotter7

Made an Corsa/E30 steering UV joint to pass the exhaust manifold.

Made a spacer so the clio server would be able to reach the master cylinder.

Time for a test drive tomorrow. I'll post up some pictures of it all tomorrow then if it works:D

Decided because my car was only washed last week, turtle wax wheel cleaner needed a better challenge....

Some rover wheels that've never been properly cleaned? Caked in brake dust? Perfect.
    Z6cZ0bf.jpg

ovwNE4P.jpg

BfiT1TY.jpg

aWtHjoS.jpg

eIFhJlT.jpg

I actually can't believe how well this stuff works. Literally spray on the wheel, leave for 3-5 mins, I'm agitating slightly because I'm only using a garden hose to wash it off rather than powerwasher. It's cheap, you get loads and it's pH neutral...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I have to clean my wheels every few days to keep them white, I think I need this stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭Killinator

Black_Knight look up carbondesigns_eu on ebay,
    Does 3M vinyl( what I used), very good, quick postage and good value and available in anthracite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭tossy

CianRyan wrote: »
    I have to clean my wheels every few days to keep them white, I think I need this stuff.

What you need Cian is poorboys wheel sealer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

tossy wrote: »
    What you need Cian is poorboys wheel sealer.

Looks good, I must grab some and spend a day on them. Better brake pads are on the list too.