Maggie Thatcher death discussion thread - Mod rules in first post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭AEDIC

Hidalgo wrote: »
    While goods were imported to both Irl and the UK form South Africa, she went a bit further than Irish Taoiseach's by labeling Mandela a terrorist.

She described the ANC as 'a typical terrorist organisation' up to the point it dropped it campaign of violence. From that point on she openly and on many occasions pressed for the release of Mandela from incarceration and used it as a condition in many of the dealings with the SA govt at the time.

On his release in 1990 Mandela himself said 'We regard the attitude of the British Government on the question of sanctions as of primary importance ... My release from prison was the direct result of the people inside and outside South Africa. It was also the result of the immense pressure exerted on the South African Government by the international community, in particular from the people of the UK.'

Taking events out of context and forgetting other events of the time dont make for a convincing history lesson.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Happyman42 wrote: »
    Depending on where you live of course. She 'improved' things by making the rich richer and the poor poorer. That is why she is still reviled to this very day, and it is that revulsion which illuminates her failure.
    Her death should have been that of a benign retiree whose influence had long faded but her influence and effect has not faded...hence the hatred and objection to the pathetic attempts to elevate her to the status of a 'good leader'. You cannot witness what is happening as a result of her death and come to that conclusion with any shred of credibility.

On the contrary, it is very very credible to reach the conclusion the UK is a far better place in 2013 than 1979. In fact, any other conclusion is a nonsense. The wealth imbalance and rich-poor divide has grown exponentially in most western capitalist democracies.

In 1979, the UK was an unmanageable country, the poor were still poor, there were far less rich due to the taxation measures. Anyone with money was getting out. Today the basic standard of living across the board is good compared to 1979, the rich have got richer, yes, the poor have got richer, comparatively. The fact of the matter is the gap between rich and poor has widened.

If you look at the cold hard figures, you're far better off being poor in 2013 UK than you were in 1979.

As for the geographic divide, the north-south wedge has deepened and widened, no doubt. I've family in both regions, in Hull and Bradford and in London and Oxford. But even Hull in 2013 is in a much better state than it was when i first visited in the early-80s as a child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

But....Mandela was, for part of his life, a terrorist.

He co-founded Umkhonto we Sizwe (Spear of the Nation) and masterminded the attacks on Dec 16th, 1961 where 57 bombings took place in one day.

When Margaret Thatcher referred to him as a 'terrorist', it would be no different from anyone in 1997 (or even today) referring to Martin McGuinness as a terrorist. You can renounce violence and become a politician, no problem, but the past doesn't always disappear in everyones mind. For some, McGuinness will always be a terrorist. That's just life.

After he had given up all hope that peaceful resistance would bring an end to the apartheid system of government in SA. His aim was sabotage not death (pretty naive when you deal in bombs, people will die).
    Its understandable why he chose such a path.

Of course, the founding fathers of America would also be terrorists.

AEDIC wrote: »
    She described the ANC as 'a typical terrorist organisation' up to the point it dropped it campaign of violence. From that point on she openly and on many occasions pressed for the release of Mandela from incarceration and used it as a condition in many of the dealings with the SA govt at the time.

On his release in 1990 Mandela himself said 'We regard the attitude of the British Government on the question of sanctions as of primary importance ... My release from prison was the direct result of the people inside and outside South Africa. It was also the result of the immense pressure exerted on the South African Government by the international community, in particular from the people of the UK.'

Taking events out of context and forgetting other events of the time dont make for a convincing history lesson.
    True. Also in later life, she became quite friendly with Mandela, having him around for tea and stuff a few times.

She overwhelmingly supported South Africa, consistently criticised Apartheid. Just on a political level wanted an internal solution to the conflict. It's all well and good when we at home had the likes of George Mitchell helping us out to an extent, but Thatcher felt the solution should come from within, not from sanctions from outside.

Hidalgo wrote: »
    After he had given up all hope that peaceful resistance would bring an end to the apartheid system of government in SA. His aim was sabotage not death (pretty naive when you deal in bombs, people will die).
    Its understandable why he chose such a path.

Of course, the founding fathers of America would also be terrorists.

Whatever his motivations, when you organise 57 bombs going off it's an act of terrorism. We can all mitigate based on political ideologies - we do it at home, some people sympathise with the IRAs campaign, but it's still an act of terrorism.

Understandable as it may have been, it's still a terrorist act. Sometimes mud sticks. He served his time, reformed etc but for some with long memories he would always have been a terrorist. And for some McGuinness and Adams etc will always be terrorists. Just the way of the world, some people can't move on (or forget).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

On the contrary, it is very very credible to reach the conclusion the UK is a far better place in 2013 than 1979. In fact, any other conclusion is a nonsense. The wealth imbalance and rich-poor divide has grown exponentially in most western capitalist democracies.

In 1979, the UK was an unmanageable country, the poor were still poor, there were far less rich due to the taxation measures. Anyone with money was getting out. Today the basic standard of living across the board is good compared to 1979, the rich have got richer, yes, the poor have got richer, comparatively. The fact of the matter is the gap between rich and poor has widened.

If you look at the cold hard figures, you're far better off being poor in 2013 UK than you were in 1979.

As for the geographic divide, the north-south wedge has deepened and widened, no doubt. I've family in both regions, in Hull and Bradford and in London and Oxford. But even Hull in 2013 is in a much better state than it was when i first visited in the early-80s as a child.

Almost all of Europe and the west has seen exactly the same improvements in living standards. You are gilding her lily like all the other revisionists.
    Thatcher caused division and social strife and has rightfully imo never been forgotten for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

That's a positive thing. The fact some rich people got richer as a by-product of the scheme is nothing new. It happens everywhere, even this country. The rich, the developers, the builders, they will always seize opportunities to snaffle up lots of property.

It wasn't the case of one or two being snaffled up; up to a third of them are now in the hands of landlords with more to eventually follow. You have five million on the waiting list for houses while the government pays exorbitant rents to landlords in the form of housing subsidy for homes that used to be state owned. The fact that many of these are wealthy Tories themselves is the worst kind of opportunism. Much of the housing crisis today could have been alleviated if she hadn't sold off public assets which were later scavenged by the rich to the detriment of the ordinary worker today.
    So, again, the act itself of reaching PM is a huge positive in a male dominated era. The Tory party had (i believe) 13 female MPs in 1979. By 2010 they had 50+. It was 13 out of 344 in 1979 and now it's something like 50 out of 270. It's progress.

This happened all over Europe. It happened in Britain itself largely because of Labour initiatives on women only shortlists. In short, it happened in spite of Thatcher, not because of her. If anything she set the role of women in general back due to the fact her polices made it extremely difficult to pursue a career outside the home.
    Here's the reality: from 1971 the CIA was financing and supporting Pinochet, providing him with weapons, intelligence and material support. This was very much intergral to the overthrow of Allende. From 1973-1980 the CIA continued to support Pinochet, to the extent that many of the Generals were informants.

Maggies role in the Pinochet story really has no relevance. It's a distasteful support for the man based almost solely on the help Pinochet offered the UK in the Falklands War.

If anyone should be ashamed of their actions it's the USA and even they refused to apologise for it (President Obama was asked to apologise and he refused saying "we need to learn from the past").

Eh, you don't need to tell me about the malign role of the US either. I'm fully aware of that fact as well thanks. Thatcher was one of Pinochet's most prominent allies, fact. She also supported Reagan's global initiatives which included attempting to topple people's governments in Central America as well as funding death squads. I think her only problem with his invasion of Grenada was that he didn't ask her first.

Almost all of Europe and the west has seen exactly the same improvements in living standards. You are gilding her lily like all the other revisionists.
    Thatcher caused division and social strife and has rightfully imo never been forgotten for it.

Look, i'm not a fan boy of Maggie by any means. I just believe people take the criticisms of her in a vacuum and not in the context of the day.

Thatcher "caused" division and social strife? Look, before she was elected PM striking and rioting were already epidemic, society had fallen to pieces already. For sure, her policies deepened some of the issues but it needed hardline, drastic change. Someone HAD to be the villain of the piece otherwise the UK would be a rotting mess of a country right now the way things were going in the late 1970s.

Would you honestly want to live in a country with 15% inflation and 90% income tax? It seems unthinkable nowadays. They were heading for BUST before she took over and the sweeping changes she implemented were always going to fragment society but it was either that or bust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

By 1979 when she came to power, there was a consensus that the UK had become "ungovernable". You had epidemic striking, riots, even people working by candlelight because there was no power. Inflation running in the double digits, taxation incredible, basically no private sector to speak of. It's hard to underestimate what an absolute shambles the country was in.

If you look at the country today, not everything is peachy (it's never peachy in any time) but it's chalk and cheese from 1979.

It's easy to trot out the anti-liverpool, anti-working class rhetoric now but of the time the country was gone to the dogs. Almost literally. Rubbish bags piling up in the streets because bin-men were on strike. Dead bodies laying around mortuarys as they couldn't be buried. People not getting to work due to epidemic rail strikes.

People can easily disagree with many of her policies, or even the manner in which she implemented them, but without a politician like her the country would be in bits. It needed someone to do something drastic and she did it. Drastic change will never be popular.

For all its existing failings, the UK of today is in a pretty decent place. In 1979 it was literally on its knees.

very true on the problems in 1979, however economies are cyclical and I doubt that the UK would have remained in the state it was in 1979 today whoever got in. The world had economic problems not just Britian. The world had an economic boom in the 80's which would have happened was she there or not. Keynesism was falling out of favour because of high inflation all over the world.
    The unions did hold too much power at the time, however I think some of her economic policies were ideologically based rather then economics. Otherwise why was military spending so high when she agreed with cutting public spending. I don't agree with her methods, they were too quick and there was too much de regulation, the recent problems with the banks illustrate this.
    I would not be of the subsidise every industry to keep it alive or keep all welfare high but I think she went too far too quickly with little regard for human cost.

FTA69 wrote: »

It wasn't the case of one or two being snaffled up; up to a third of them are now in the hands of landlords with more to eventually follow. You have five million on the waiting list for houses while the government pays exorbitant rents to landlords in the form of housing subsidy for homes that used to be state owned. The fact that many of these are wealthy Tories themselves is the worst kind of opportunism. Much of the housing crisis today could have been alleviated if she hadn't sold off public assets which were later scavenged by the rich to the detriment of the ordinary worker today.

This happened all over Europe. It happened in Britain itself largely because of Labour initiatives on women only shortlists. In short, it happened in spite of Thatcher, not because of her. If anything she set the role of women in general back due to the fact her polices made it extremely difficult to pursue a career outside the home.

Eh, you don't need to tell me about the malign role of the US either. I'm fully aware of that fact as well thanks. Thatcher was one of Pinochet's most prominent allies, fact. She also supported Reagan's global initiatives which included attempting to topple people's governments in Central America as well as funding death squads. I think her only problem with his invasion of Grenada was that he didn't ask her first.
    You're clearly not fully aware of the facts as your previous post suggested Thatcher was a key supporter of Pinochets overthrow of Allende, which is clearly a false statement. She was a lowly education minister at the time and had no dealings with Pinochet until the 1980s. Almost a full decade after the CIA got involved.

very true on the problems in 1979, however economies are cyclical and I doubt that the UK would have remained in the state it was in 1979 today whoever got in. The world had economic problems not just Britian. The world had an economic boom in the 80's which would have happened was she there or not. Keynesism was falling out of favour because of high inflation all over the world.
    The unions did hold too much power at the time, however I think some of her economic policies were ideologically based rather then economics. Otherwise why was military spending so high when she agreed with cutting public spending. I don't agree with her methods, they were too quick and there was too much de regulation, the recent problems with the banks illustrate this.
    I would not be of the subsidise every industry to keep it alive or keep all welfare high but I think she went too far too quickly with little regard for human cost.

Agreed. Even her Finance Minister has said she tried to accomplish things too quickly.

With more foresight, she should have straddled the mine closures or put more thought into back-to-work or retraining schemes for the miners and others. However, the miners were so entrenched i'm sure they would have told her to piss off with her re-education initiatives.

The cuts in welfare were offset by taxation cuts and bringing down inflation - but this only truly benefits the poor if there are jobs out there. It took her a decade to get the unemployment rate cut by 50%, a huge achievement other than in the interim period a lot of families suffered many bleak years by proxy of her changes being too quick.

Changes had to be made but she went big and bold too soon in many areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

I'm glad she is dead. I could never stand her voice. Went right through me like a dagger through the back.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭true

He co-founded Umkhonto we Sizwe (Spear of the Nation) and masterminded the attacks on Dec 16th, 1961 where 57 bombings took place in one day.

And his comrades in the ANC used to put tyres around the necks of its (alive) people it disagreed with, and put them on fire. Charming people. Its ironic Gerry Adams would criticise Mrs T as shameful, when people remember the role he played in Jean McColvilles disappearance / murder / torture, and the Belfast bombings etc.

A lot of coloured, black people , and Irish including some of my friends and relations went to Mrs T's Britain and were treated well, and got on well. A lot better treatment than the victims of the PIRA, the ANC etc got. Fair play to Mrs T. People forget whole classes from schools and universities emigrated in the 80's, and the UK was the most popular destination.

I'm glad she is dead. I could never stand her voice. Went right through me like a dagger through the back.

She had dementia and hadn't spoken in public in donkeys years.....

but whatever keeps you happy!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

Look, i'm not a fan boy of Maggie by any means.

lol your million posts seeking to justify her policies and put a nice revisionist spin on her legacy say otherwise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

She had dementia and hadn't spoken in public in donkeys years.....

but whatever keeps you happy!

I'm on about her famous speaches when she was prime minister.
    I also think she is haunting me I can hear her speaches in my head.

donfers wrote: »
    lol your million posts seeking to justify her policies and put a nice revisionist spin on her legacy say otherwise

i don't know how to count the posts but i've only posted on these threads around 50 times. Defending a person against unfair criticism isn't the same as being a fan.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭jank

I knew her death would have a bit of a reaction but I am very taken aback by the vile that many ill informed people have about her. Apparently every single issue in Britain today she is at fault for...:rolleyes:
    Street parties celebrating a death of a democratically elected PM? I think it says a lot about these people and more about their politics. She is accused of lacking humanity, well where is their humanity?

She was had an iron will and she was right more often than not. Made mistakes of course but I will leave you with three facts.

She had the foresight to see that a single common currency in Europe would be a disaster.
    Top tax rate in 1979, 83% !! :eek: Top tax rate in 1990, 40%
    Lastly, Labour had to re-invent itself as 'new' Labour embracing the free and open market to win power under Tony Blair in 1997 and they even went further with policies she initiated in the 80's.

jank wrote: »
    I knew her death would have a bit of a reaction but I am very taken aback by the vile that many ill informed people have about her. Apparently every single issue in Britain today she is at fault for...:rolleyes:
    Street parties celebrating a death of a democratically elected PM? I think it says a lot about these people and more about their politics. She is accused of lacking humanity, well where is their humanity?

She was had an iron will and she was right more often than not. Made mistakes of course but I will leave you with three facts.

She had the foresight to see that a single common currency in Europe would be a disaster.
    Top tax rate in 1979, 83% !! :eek: Top tax rate in 1990, 40%
    Lastly, Labour had to re-invent itself as 'new' Labour embracing the free and open market to win power under Tony Blair in 1997 and they even went further with policies she initiated in the 80's.

Top tax rate in 1979 was 98% (83% + 15% investment income surcharge) :o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

I don't think Gerry Adams is in any position to call her or anyone else "shameful" considering his own actions in the past.

He did a lot more good for the people of NI than Thatcher ever did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭freddiek

the fawning Anglophile lackeys are very busy on this thread. I'm with Galloway on this one.

http://redmolucca.wordpress.com/2013/04/08/tramp-the-dirt-down/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Martin McGuinness calls for halt to Thatcher celebrations

Martin McGuinness has called on people not to celebrate the death of Baroness Thatcher.

Street parties were held in republican parts of Londonderry and West Belfast following the former prime minister's death.

Mr McGuinness, Sinn Fein's Deputy First Minister at the Northern Ireland Assembly, tweeted: "Resist celebrating the death of Margaret Thatcher. She was not a peacemaker but it is a mistake to allow her death to poison our minds."

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/martin-mcguinness-calls-for-halt-to-thatcher-celebrations-29184933.html

A bit of much needed sense there from the most unlikely of sources!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

i don't know how to count the posts but i've only posted on these threads around 50 times. Defending a person against unfair criticism isn't the same as being a fan.

How is the criticism unfair? It is not us out on the streets of Britain burning her effigy.
    They are not burning effigies of Callaghan, Heath or any other former leader.
    Almost every country in Europe was in one sort of a crisis or other in the 80's all of them came through it and built better off societies, Thatcher failed because she didn't manage to do it without also causing the hate and revulsion and social division.
    She was not a 'good leader' and can never be called that for those reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

When Margaret Thatcher referred to him as a 'terrorist', it would be no different from anyone in 1997 (or even today) referring to Martin McGuinness as a terrorist. You can renounce violence and become a politician, no problem, but the past doesn't always disappear in everyones mind. For some, McGuinness will always be a terrorist. That's just life.

So why didn't she call Saddam a terrorist while he was gassing innocent civilians by the thousand instead of being his mate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭freddiek

She created atmosphere of hatred

Tuesday, April 09, 2013
    Comment by Danny Morrison

WHEN Mark Thatcher went missing in the Sahara while taking part in an international motor race in Jan 1982, his ashen-faced mother, upset and distressed, appeared on television close to breaking down.
    She prayed to God that Mark wouldn’t die, that he would be rescued.

Six months earlier Rosaleen Sands appeared on television, interviewed in the car park of Long Kesh, and prayed for her son Bobby, and asked Margaret Thatcher to compromise and resolve the hunger strike. We all know how Thatcher answered, and the mountain of suffering that nationalists in the North experienced under her premiership.

Ironically, this is the day, 32 years ago, that Bobby Sands was elected MP for Fermanagh and South Tyrone. Thatcher’s mantra to republicans before that was, “‘how can I talk to you, you don’t have a mandate”. But when Bobby got elected (with almost 10,000 more votes than Thatcher got in her constituency), the British prime minister rushed through an amendment to the Representation of the People Act to prevent any other prisoner being elected in his place.

When Gerry Adams, Martin McGuinness, and I were elected to the assembly in 1982, Thatcher issued exclusion orders against us, banning us from entering Britain on pain of a five-year prison sentence. My ban lasted 13 years. In 1988 she introduced the Broadcasting Act banning Sinn Féin elected representatives from being interviewed on radio and television. Yes, she was the Queen of Democracy for sure.

I remember the 10 men who died on hunger strike but also women and children her forces killed with impunity and immunity; people like 14-year-old Julie Livingstone, shot dead by the British army the day Francis Hughes died in jail; 11-year-old Carol Ann Kelly, shot dead a week later while getting milk for a neighbour; and on the morning of Joe McDonnell’s death in jail, my childhood friend Nora McCabe, a mother of three, shot dead seconds after going to buy a packet of cigarettes to calm her nerves.

These are just some of the names. The list runs to hundreds when we add to it those killed by loyalist groups that were rearmed and reorganised by British military intelligence, which reported to Thatcher until her resignation.

Thatcher sanctioned the use of supergrass trials which completely undermined the justice system. She authorised the shoot-to-kill policy and her colleagues subsequently undermined the attempt by Deputy Chief Constable John Stalker to get to the truth. She authorised the attacks on republican funerals and created an atmosphere of hatred and bitterness which ultimately led to the attempt on her life by the IRA in the Brighton bombing in 1984.

Of course, she also destroyed proud working-class communities in Britain with her social and economic policies. And over lunch one Sunday she ordered the sinking of the Argentinian Belgrano during the Falklands War even though it was outside the 200-mile exclusion zone and was sailing away from the area of conflict. More than 323 sailors died, many of them teenage cadets.

When Carol Thatcher, Margaret’s journalist daughter, travelled to the Falklands and Argentina to make a documentary on the 25th anniversary, one woman whose son died on the Belgrano said to her: “I never saw him again because your mother killed him.”

IN 1986 she and US president Ronald Reagan ordered the bombing of Libya, which took the lives of over 130 civilians.

Some have argued that Thatcher stood up to the unionists when she signed the Anglo-Irish Agreement in Nov 1985 and should be given credit. But her motives were two-fold: She expected extradition to be made easier and increased security collaboration in the fight against republicanism. She was, indeed, also responding to the warnings from then taoiseach Garret FitzGerald that something needed to be done to halt the electoral rise of Sinn Féin.

In reality, it was the suffering and determination of the Northern nationalist community which forced change.

When Thatcher became prime minister in 1979 we know that on her desk was a secret assessment of the IRA by Brigadier James Glover, commander of land forces in the North. He said the IRA would continue with its war until there was an acceptable political settlement.

He rejected the official propaganda line which was the basis for the treatment of the men in the H-Blocks and the women in Armagh jail. He said that IRA volunteers were not criminals but were talented and dedicated.

Thatcher put my community through hell and her policies unnecessarily protracted the conflict. When it came to a political agreement on Good Friday 1998, the prisoners in the H-Blocks were given early release (an “amnesty”) which was recognition that the British knew they were political prisoners all along.

I was in jail (again as a result of her dirty war and use of agents provocateurs) when she resigned in 1990. One newspaper told this story: “‘The bad news,’ said a voice over the public-address system in a north London railway station, ‘is that a signal failure means another delay. The good news is that Thatcher’s resigned! Hip, Hip, Hooray!’ Most of the commuters cheered.”

I once might have cheered her passing. But now I am indifferent — though I will never forget what she did, and all those who died on her watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,006 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

grenache wrote: »
    crushing the unions who at the time controlled the country to its economic detriment. The unions were single handedly responsible for Britain's economic crisis of the mid 1970s. I mean jesus the IMF had to come in to rescue the country.
    yes, crushing the will of the working boys and girls in an aim to turn britain into a sweat shop for which she more or less failed as the unions are still there and protecting the workers and forever may that be
    Production was at an all time low, there were strikes every second week and power outages were common. Thatcher changed all this. Yes she probably went too far but she obviously thought the unions and Scargill had to be defeated for the betterment of the country as a whole.

she did it for her own benefit, and for the benefit of the rich and big business, she sent millions to a life of unemployment just to teach the unions a lesson, thats how much she hated the working class and those who protect them
    I also feel she was 100% correct to defend the Falklands from Argentine aggression. The island's inhabitants have continually voted to remain a British Overseas Territory, they were never even Argentina's to begin with. It was a wholly illegal invasion and Britain was more than within its rights to fight it.
    no she wasn't, argentina were right to invade and should have removed the people from there by force, the people only vote to remain british because britain continues to defend them for nothing in return, the taking over of the falklands by argentina was right and just, and britain had no right to waste money and lives for these 2 little islands.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

freddiek wrote: »
    the fawning Anglophile lackeys are very busy on this thread. I'm with Galloway on this one.

http://redmolucca.wordpress.com/2013/04/08/tramp-the-dirt-down/

So George Galloway and Gerry Adams have spoken out against Thatcher?
    Two individuals I would not piss on if they were on fire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭AEDIC

Zebra3 wrote: »
    So why didn't she call Saddam a terrorist while he was gassing innocent civilians by the thousand instead of being his mate?

Well to be fair she wasnt the only one

http://www.irishcentral.com/news/Former-prime-minister-Haughey-invited-to-Iraq-by-Saddam-Hussein-deputy-136499888.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

no she wasn't, argentina were right to invade and should have removed the people from there by force, the people only vote to remain british because britain continues to defend them for nothing in return, the taking over of the falklands by argentina was right and just, and britain had no right to waste money and lives for these 2 little islands.

And of course her biggest crime was being British.

How is the criticism unfair? It is not us out on the streets of Britain burning her effigy.
    They are not burning effigies of Callaghan, Heath or any other former leader.
    Almost every country in Europe was in one sort of a crisis or other in the 80's all of them came through it and built better off societies, Thatcher failed because she didn't manage to do it without also causing the hate and revulsion and social division.
    She was not a 'good leader' and can never be called that for those reasons.

Callaghan and Heath led the UK into the sorry state it was in circa 1979. They are consigned to anonymity because they did nothing to try sort out the mess. They just tip-toed along accepting the increasingly bleak situation in the UK.

Thatcher did something about it and was re-elected twice. She left the UK a far "better off" society, so you're wrong on that point, every economic metric says that. Whether society was the better for it, is arguable. It was a divided mess before she came into power and still divided when she left power. Just in less of an economic mess.

I'm not sure she was a good leader by any means but drastic change was necessary and she went with drastic change. On a personal level i've always lent towards the left, i'd be more at home with the ideologies of the centre-left like Obama or Blair than the middle-to-far right ideas of Thatcher - but something simply had to be done, had to be done quickly and had to be drastic. She stepped up and did it.