Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Just for the craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭wowzer

Cheers tang, hope tomorrow goes to plan for you too...

BHAA 5k in irishtown in 20.14 still can't go sub 20 but a pb by 17 seconds so happy and disappointed at the same time. I think on a course with less sharp turns and less congestion at the start I would have had that sub 20 today. Ah well my times are heading in the right direction so all is good.

Total mileage today is 6.5 miles as I did a mile and a half warm up and 2 miles cooldown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

wowzer wrote: »
    BHAA 5k in irishtown in 20.14 still can't go sub 20 but a pb by 17 seconds so happy and disappointed at the same time. I think on a course with less sharp turns and less congestion at the start I would have had that sub 20 today. Ah well my times are heading in the right direction so all is good.

Total mileage today is 6.5 miles as I did a mile and a half warm up and 2 miles cooldown.

Hard luck on the sub 20 attempt. Took me while to get under it to, just keep logging the miles.

Thanks tang, i will get it next time. how did you go yourself??

19.55, happy out with it as i hadn't run since last Thursday due to sore arches in my feet. Trip to Amphibian King on Saturday hopefully will sort that out.

Good lad tang, 2 sub 20's in a row, impressive..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

BHAA 5k in irishtown in 20.14 still can't go sub 20 but a pb by 17 seconds so happy and disappointed at the same time. I think on a course with less sharp turns and less congestion at the start I would have had that sub 20 today.

Yeah, I'd say the course cost me about 20 seconds last night so in a faster race you should be fine.

Cheers ray, that huge rain/hail shower didn't help the times either, although it was great for cooling us down.

Thursday 12th July 2012

8.07 miles 62.27mins avg pace 7.48per mile.

Decided to try something different and run without my watch as i look at the stupid thing every 30 seconds when running so i turned it on and put it in my pocket and headed out for this run. I'm a numbers geek and it would kill me to do a run but have no data to analyse later so i just had to bring the watch with me somehow. had no real plan, just wanted to run by how i felt and get the 8 miles done. Luckily there is a park beside where i live where i have a 2 mile circut mapped out so i knew 4 laps would be my 8 miles.

Was quite surprise to look at the run stats when i uploaded the data from the watch. I really didnt expect to have done it so quick with an avg pace of 7.48 per mile especially after racing last night. While I felt like I was working a little harder than usual I still didnt feel too labored and I wasnt tired by the end of the run. I'm still not sure of my marathon pace but have been thinking somewhere between 7.45 to 8 mins would be it so i'm happy with my workout today.

Friday 13th July 2012

7.87 miles in 70.39 mins avg pace 8.59 per mile

run at recovery pace today, nothing to report.

Sunday 15th July 2012

14 miles 119.50 mins avg pace 8.33per mile

Nice LSR today with a mate who lives over near Clarehall so we ran out to Howth and back. Was a good run this morning, the furthest ive gone in a while, was a bit breezy in places along the coast to make things feel tough at times but over all I enjoyed that run today.

Monday 16th July 2012

3miles 26.07mins avg pace 8.37 per mile

Easy recovery run today after yesterdays 14 miles, felt good and strong and was really struggling to keep the pace down.

Tuesday 17th July 2012

6.35miles 52.12mins avg pace 8.20 per mile

Easy pace run today, easy running all week in the run up to the race series 10k on sunday. Run today felt a bit tougher than it should, did a good weight session in the gym earlier so that may have something to do with it...

Thursday 19th July 2012

8.20 miles in 73.40mins avg pace 9 min per mile.

Another easy run today run at recovery pace. Thats it now till Sundays 10k, gonna take the next 2 days off running. Havent had 2 days off in such a long time, not sure how the mind will cope with it...

Best of luck Sunday, any time in mind for it?

tang1 wrote: »
    Best of luck Sunday, any time in mind for it?
    Thanks tang, my pb at 10k is 42.51 so I'll be happy with anything under that. I've only ever ran 1 race at this distance and didn't really enjoy it so not sure how Sunday will go.. my 1st wedding anniversary is on Saturday too so out for a meal on Saturday, will have to try very hard to avoid the wine. Ah sure ill give Sunday my best shot regardless and hopefully i can set a new pb for myself.

Sunday 22nd July 2012

9.5 miles in total, 6.2miles Race Series race in 44.45 avgpace 7.10 per mile, 3.3 miles warm up and cool down. Almost 2 mins off my pb :(

Awful race for me, it just didnt happen today at all. Course was very hilly in parts and running up a very long uphill drag approx 2k against the breeze was a killer. i knew after the first mile it was gonna be one of those days as i looked at the watch at mile 1 and saw 7.15 on the clock and knew then it wasnt going to happen for me today. Managed a couple of sub 7 miles but also a 7.59 mile too:eek: most people i talked to agreed that it was very tough today and a pb would have been very hard to come by. I dont know swords at all so was completely unaware what the course was like. excuses over i still enjoyed the work out and the race was very well organized. just wasnt meant to be today.

Tough luck, looking at the thread on the race it wasn't a course or weather for a PB. Alot of Boards lads good sub 40 runners running over 40 mins says a bit about it.

yeah i saw that alright tang, don't feel so bad about it now. finished ahead of a few people who normally beat me too so im not all that disappointed.

Monday 23rd July 2012

5miles 42.52mins avg pace 8.34

easy recovery paced run today made difficult by another bout of plantar fasciitis :mad:

I had suffered from it in my left foot about 5 months ago but it faded away and i thought everything was fine until the cool down after yesterdays race when it started to niggle at me. Iced it and stretched it yesterday and it felt ok last night but when i got out of bed this morning it was killing me. Last time i had it i was able to run on it as after about a mile the pain would seem to ease off but not today :mad:

The bro is does sports massage so gonna go see him later.

Worst nightmare has been confirmed, out for 2 weeks with this bloody plantar fasciitis. Man i am seriously pi55ed off.... Hope it doesnt ruin my 3.30 hopes for the marathon.

You still laid up, after getting dose of plantar fasciitis myself.

Well it's been 8 months,the injury is gone, so time to start logging again.
    Was basically out till second week of November with that awful nasty plantar fasciitis. I was very unfit so had to build up a base of fitness again. All was great so in January I decided to join a club. Best decision ever. Really enjoy running with the club and the training sessions are super, I would never push myself as hard on my own.

So what's next? I did ballycotton 10 last week, got around in 71.40 was delighted with that as it's a tough course and it was my first race in a long time. Next up I'm planning to do the 5k parkrun on Saturday, dunboyne 4 mile the following week then maybe the fr Murphy 5 mile the week after. See how I go in them and then set goals from there.

Training consists of 2 club sessions a week 2 easy runs and and lsr, about 40 miles in total.
    It's great to be back.

Welcome back, good to see you running again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

+1 Good to see you back. Hopefully we might see you on the novice thread again this year to take care of some unfinished business!

Cheers man, smashing run by you at the weekend,very impressive progress.

blockic wrote: »

+1 Good to see you back. Hopefully we might see you on the novice thread again this year to take care of some unfinished business!
    Thanks blockic, will be back on that novice thread with a vengeance this year. Have to get that marathon out of the system. Great running by you these days, I have a bit to go before I catch up with you and tang.

Tuesday 12th march 2013

7 miles in total, 1 mile @ 7.45, 5 miles @ 6.45, 6.39, 6.28, 6.29 & 6.28 then 1 mile at 8.05.

Club tempo run tonight, felt good and strong tonight despite the cold.

Definitely enjoying getting back into the swing of things.

Wednesday 13th March 2013

5.86 miles in 49.31 avg pace 8.26

Easy recovery pace run today, legs a bit heavy after yesterdays tempo run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 788 ✭✭✭rasher_m

Wednesday 13th March 2013

5.86 miles in 49.31 avg pace 8.26

Easy recovery pace run today, legs a bit heavy after yesterdays tempo run.

Heya Wowzer, saw you on the other thread there, i hope your training goes well for you this year and the injuries stay away. Should get a really good time if the Gods permit.