If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,594 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Gilroy sounds deflated. I'm sure they are getting strong reaction inwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

gimmick wrote: »
    The over reaction here is absolutely hilarious. Well done lads, ye truly have put a grin on my ace on this bleak hungover Monday. I am sure Newstalk will be devastated at losing a few interweb fanboys.

Kudos.

What? the majority of posters here really liked the show and felt a bit of an attachment to the presenters after listening to them for nearly a decade.

If you don't feel the same then fair enough,but it's a bit much for a mod like you to be calling posters here ''interweb fanboys'' ,as you so eloquently put it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

I know Ger Gilroy was the Original Anchor, but this is like Pete Best getting a few of his mates together and pretending to be The Beatles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,430 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

The over reaction here is absolutely hilarious. Well done lads, ye truly have put a grin on my ace on this bleak hungover Monday. I am sure Newstalk will be devastated at losing a few interweb fanboys.

Kudos.

This coming from a Pro Wrestling Mod, an area full of fanboys. I suppose you should know a fanboy when you see one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

Kudos.

Congratulations, on being the one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

I think the station will lose a lot of what you could call casual sports fans/listeners. I've no interest in soccer and my interest in GAA has wained but I'd still listen to those segments on the main show as I found the team entertaining. With any other show, and even on the extended sports bulletins during the way, I switch over.

If the show stays the way it is this evening (I understand Ger was thrown in at the deep end at short notice) i.e. a bit too clinical I won't be a regular listener

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Gift Grub does Off The Ball :D

http://t.co/JcMH4n2k
    i wonder if it widely known within Marconi House that the lads were getting ideas above their station and this sketch was a lighthearted dig at them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

I know Ger Gilroy was the Original Anchor, but this is like Pete Best getting a few of his mates together and pretending to be The Beatles.

Ha, well put.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

I actually really like Ger Gilroy , but on his show at the weekend. During the week I'm looking for something a little more.

Ken and the lads offered us something different. It almost felt like I was sitting beside them in their football and sport discussions.

It was (how would you put it) intimate. It was a like a group therapy session for all thing sports. It was something for the lads. I could listen whilst out for a run and was never overly quizzed about what was going on by the other half.

They never took themselves to seriously, but took all things sport seriously which is what I loved.

It will genuinely not be the same without them.

It was like sitting on the high stool shooting the breeze with the boys, grand and relaxed with plenty tangents to the main topic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

If it was about the timing I think the lads may have misjudged their demands and subsequent actions.

4 hours is too long. In the summer months the show is cut back to two hours - no Football show.

While the lads are great sport broadcasters I think the 7 to 10 slot is a major part of the shows success. I started listening when I had to spend over an hour driving home after staying late in work. If my wife is working late I still put the show at home.

Can't imagine how they'd drag it out for another hour!

It is possible that the crew are all part of a "consultancy company" and decided to leave en masse.

They must have something else lined up somewhere but can't imagine it being RTE. O'Brien owns Today FM and 98 so it can't be there. If its not today FM or RTE it's a Dublin commercial station so immediately the potential audience is significantly reduced. This means less €€€€ for the lads.

Will they be able to being the regular contributors with them too?

Seriously think they have jumped the gun on this one. Interesting to see how it plays out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

What? the majority of posters here really liked the show and felt a bit of an attachment to the presenters after listening to them for nearly a decade.

If you don't feel the same then fair enough,but it's a bit much for a mod like you to be calling posters here ''interweb fanboys'' ,as you so eloquently put it.

My being a mod on a different forum has nothing to do with this.
    This coming from a Pro Wrestling Mod, an area full of fanboys. I suppose you should know a fanboy when you see one.

LOL. What does that have to do with anything. As always, when someone disagrees with me who is unfamiliar with me, the first thing they attack is the fact I am a PW mod. Honestly, is that the best you can come up with?
    Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Em...i'd say a radio station probably should be concerned about losing some interweb fanboys. Or "listeners" as they probably call them.

The fact is they will not lose any listenership of any big degree unless Early and co end up competing on another station. Like everything else, people willget used to what is there and move on. It is still a sports show on at a time when people have little else to listen to.

For the record - I always enjoyed the show apart from Ken Early. Found him to be very very overbearing. I just do not see this as a life changing disaster as many proclaim this to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭Doctor Strange

dvcireland wrote: »
    i wonder if it widely known within Marconi House that the lads were getting ideas above their station and this sketch was a lighthearted dig at them

Doubt it. Have met the lads a few times, and they are ridiculously down-to-earth. Like at the roadshows, even though they're under no obligation to, they hung around for a few pints and banter with the fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭omerin

Eoin's face is on the live stream, so he hasn't gone away :)

I'd guess that it was a money issue, they were probably told to take a paycut (its happened at Newstalk in the past) and to compensate for the loss in pay they offered to start an hour earlier. Management couldn't upset the larger listenership show (Hook) and lose revenue from advertising generated so it wasn't an option. I don't know if they told management to accept or we leave or were going to use it as part of a negotiation strategy. Once the option wasn't viable management had no choice but to let them go immediatley.
    I have heard on different shows on NT that guests are given very little money and that the presenter had to pay himself for the Sunday papers.

I doubt if they have something lined up.

I will miss the show and the updates on Sadlier's dog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭Doctor Strange

BTW, gimmick, you're coming off as a bit of a condescending arse in your posts, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Alpha Dog 1

Hopefully 2fm will have them lined up. They make for a great team.
    Big loss to the radio station, midweek evenings won't be the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭drogdub

Aidric wrote: »
    Gilroy sounds deflated. I'm sure they are getting strong reaction inwards.

I'm not surprised always seemed that Gilroy was good friends with the OTB lads. I think the programme will be fine. Gilroy is the original host and built it up to must listen radio in the first place, even if it did improve when Eoin took over. Not buying this 6 o'clock stuff, seems to much of an overreaction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

LOL. What does that have to do with anything. As always, when someone disagrees with me who is unfamiliar with me, the first thing they attack is the fact I am a PW mod. Honestly, is that the best you can come up with?

The fact is they will not lose any listenership of any big degree unless Early and co end up competing on another station. Like everything else, people willget used to what is there and move on. It is still a sports show on at a time when people have little else to listen to.

For the record - I always enjoyed the show apart from Ken Early. Found him to be very very overbearing. I just do not see this as a life changing disaster as many proclaim this to be.

I disagree,I'd always imagined that a mod would have a bit of basic cop on,like not resorting to name calling like you did in your previous post.

I was wrong obviously.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,258 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

PADDY POWER:

Off the Ball’ RTE Radio 6/4, Talksport 3/1, 98fm 5/1, TV3 TV show 6/1, RTE TV show 8/1, Today FM 10/1, BBC Five Live 16/1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 354 ✭✭The Guardian

very badly advised if they walked out after being shot down on the 6pm start
    this was never gonna happen, nor should it in my opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

very badly advised if they walked out after being shot down on the 6pm start
    this was never gonna happen, nor should it in my opinion
    That was never realistic. They were offered better terms elsewhere and needed an excuse to jump ship and that was it. They'll be elsewhere soon enough and not drawing the dole with everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,430 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

You're correct I am unfamiliar with you. Similarly you are unfamiliar with the lads on here.

It's not ok to call anyone fanboys, particularly coming from a part of the forum where you Moderate nothing but fanboys and is for the most part fictional sports entertainment.

I'm sorry but if you come on here being condescending expect people to pull you up on what you moderate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

The well-wishing texts seem to have dried up!

I don't get it...why would the lads want to start at six?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,756 ✭✭✭Dubh Geannain

Won't be the same without them. Even Murph. You can't simply replicate a lisp that cool.

@Gimmick. They will lose listenership. There's not too many radio shows people go out of their way to listen to. This is one of those shows. The guys would sell out venues for broadcasts on tour. I'll give the new setup a chance but i'm not expecting it to be miraculously as good as what it has been.

Might go light a few candles this evening :(

BTW, gimmick, you're coming off as a bit of a condescending arse in your posts, tbh.

Why? Because I happen to disagree with the over reaction here?

Its bad for the show and possibly the station, but most likley only in the short term.
    I'm sorry but if you come on here being condescending expect people to pull you up on what you moderate.

By that logic I should just accuse you of trolling because of your username!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Very sad to lose that team of lads, can only hope they stick together and start up shop elsewhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭Ultimate Ultan

It does seem that they wanted the 6-9 slot, which they were never going to get. They should've known that, and either thought they were bigger than they were, or they were badly advised to hard ball.

Sad really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 354 ✭✭The Guardian

nullzero wrote: »
    That was never realistic. They were offered better terms elsewhere and needed an excuse to jump ship and that was it. They'll be elsewhere soon enough and not drawing the dole with everyone else.

inclined to agree with ya
    2fm prob the only option
    wont float outside ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

No matter how good the new set up is the 'nostalgia is not what it used to be' types will always be overly critical which is why I think its destined to untimely fail.

nullzero wrote: »

That sounds about right to me. Whether people love or hate George Hook he is one of their flagship "attractions". Trying to shunt him was not going to work.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭opinionatedfan

no Shane Horgan tonight even though he is a monday regular, would point to something more considering his brother was the producer.

i really doubt it came down to the timeslot