Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Keep Calm And Discuss Retro Generally!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Mr.Saturn

I'd echoed the point about Knack looking interesting. The Witness looks like it could make for a few enjoyable hours too.

Beyond that, we've a new pad and a few tech-demos from 3rd parties.

I did enjoy the dev VT, where they had Tim Schafer followed by David Cage, which strikes me as something like Neil Gaiman followed by Dan Brown. On the one hand you've a guy who gets what it is to make a compelling, sensible videogame story whilst still making a game, and on the other, you've got David Cage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 knuckles89

Cart only:

190274_554743531212146_399426686_n.jpg

Hello all, was in a retro games shop in Amsterdam a year or so ago and a cart only wily wars was on offer for 190 beans, so things could always be worse. About a quarter of the label was missing too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭Nerdkiller1991

Thought the conference was pretty boring. Was weird seeing killzone 4 not using black and white tone and actually had colour but i wasant impressed by its scale.

Alot of mehs and hmm but overall im not excited for it
    Well, I was impressed...but I'll only be interested in the multiplayer if it comes with a server browser. No matchmaking for me at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

Doesn't look like it was aimed at the shareholders anyway... Stock took a nosedive:

Mmah3Xu.jpg

Mr.Saturn wrote: »
    I'd echoed the point about Knack looking interesting. The Witness looks like it could make for a few enjoyable hours too.

Beyond that, we've a new pad and a few tech-demos from 3rd parties.

I did enjoy the dev VT, where they had Tim Schafer followed by David Cage, which strikes me as something like Neil Gaiman followed by Dan Brown. On the one hand you've a guy who gets what it is to make a compelling, sensible videogame story whilst still making a game, and on the other, you've got David Cage.

I really find this guys games highly overrated, omnikron I barely remember, farenheit the story ridiculosly turned into the matrix all of a slap and heavy rain (aka inhaler simulator 2010) was extremely boring with an awful story to boot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

knuckles89 wrote: »
    Hello all, was in a retro games shop in Amsterdam a year or so ago and a cart only wily wars was on offer for 190 beans, so things could always be worse. About a quarter of the label was missing too

One big rip off doesn't make a smaller one any less so.

Re the Sony video, still havn't watched it...hardly surprising it was full of marketing horsesh1t. I'll watch the main bits today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 knuckles89

EnterNow wrote: »
    One big rip off doesn't make a smaller one any less so.
    Agreed, just though ye would have found the excessive price tag interesting. Not trying to justify rages prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

The only games that interested me were drive club and watch dogs. I also don't like the whole social aspect of it. I'd rather not spam my Facebook page with updates on everything I do in game. Also, what if you have no friends?

Yep. It's funny. You have both Watchdogs and Infamous being about surveillance. The guy doing the intro for Infamous was almost crying talking about big brother and cameras everywhere... all while the console itself puts a camera in your living room and a share button on your controller.

Wonder if the share button will also share all your credit card details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,275 ✭✭✭MrVestek

So here was me thinking I was getting a good deal on Moonwalker for Mega Drive at a non silly price (ohhh MJ, why did you have to go and die on us?). Aherm anyway even though I have feck all cash I grabbed it at £4.95 including delivery.

Bargain. Or so I thought... when I went back to view the auction it turns out that I've just purchased an A4 advert for the game. Whoops.

Ahh sure stick it in a frame and hang it on the wall of the soon to be games room. Not a total loss.

I also don't like the whole social aspect of it. I'd rather not spam my Facebook page with updates on everything I do in game. Anyway I don't have any friends so...

Fix'd that for ya! :P

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,606 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

There's an hilarious yet also extremely depressing 'argument' waging on RAGE's facebook about a competition they just ran to win a copy of Lode Runner 3D. Well worth a read out of sheer morbid curiosity. Some gamers really do give us all a bad name.

Ha.. Spotted that a guy answered Loderunne r3-D and they didn't give it to him and thought that would cause trouble.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,754 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Maybe they'll announce LoD 4 for the PS4 and LoD 2&3 will be on the Vita? To try and get some momentum behind the unpopular handheld!

4 friends in common.

Ahh jaysus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

Achilles wrote: »

Fix'd that for ya! :P

Hey!!

Will you be my friend?

Hey!!

Will you be my friend?

Ahh sure why not? At least then you'll have one. Like for like. Sub for sub. MySpace the... something...

Yeh.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,606 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

DinoRex wrote: »
    Ha.. Spotted that a guy answered Loderunne r3-D and they didn't give it to him and thought that would cause trouble.

The winner's eventual comment had me in stitches.

Oh yeah... he just kept on digging.

Guess which comment is mine :P

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,754 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

So, members of the Billy No Mates Association seem to be spamming this thread!
    Back on topic!
    Keep your sad lives to yourselves!

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    So, members of the Billy No Mates Association seem to be spamming this thread!
    Back on topic!
    Keep your sad lives to yourselves!

Will you be my friend? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭CosmicSmash

That's so funny, some of the comments:pac:

Will you be my friend? :P

Ehh, no....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,432 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Ehh, no....

004966_3.jpg

Ehh, no....
    Fine, I'll go get my own friends! With blackjack... and hookers... in fact, screw the friends!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭CosmicSmash

Fine, I'll go get my own friends! With blackjack... and hookers... in fact, screw the friends!

50504_317956429542_2846824_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭Jack burton

I was away from home the last 2 days so i just googled ps4 to see what info i could get fast, here's the first line i got

"PS4 is powerful, always-connected and ready for the online world"

just wow.....how innovative Independent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭Jack burton

Also Kenji Eno died!

:(

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,312 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Also Kenji Eno died!

:(

Seriously? Ah balls. The man was an absolute legend.

Warp made some of the weirdest most f-ed up games around. Even still they were never as strange as the man himself. His interview with 1up was legendary, the stunts he pulled were insane. Giving Sony the finger and announcing Enemy Zero for the Saturn at a Sony event and then basically taking Michael Nyman hostage until he agreed to do the soundtrack for Enemy Zero. The industry is full of ass lickers and needs for no nonsense crazy bastards like him.

Also this is the guy that gave Fumito Ueda his big break.